DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Following response to arguments is based on Applicant’s arguments filed on 15 October 2025.
Regarding Previous Claim Objections
Previous objection to claim 16 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the objected claim.
Regarding Previous Rejection Under 35 USC § 102/103
Applicant’s arguments [Pages 7-10] with respect to rejection of claims 1, 13, 20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding claim 1, on pages 9-10, Applicants argue that Chiba fails to teach former limitations from claim 2, “wherein the information about the second core network device corresponding to the terminal device comprises at least one of: an identifier of the terminal device or an identifier of the second core network device, and the identifier of the terminal device is associated with the identifier of the second core network device”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits as follows.
Claim 1 is not providing further details but a general recitation of identifiers, without showing how these identifiers are actually “associated” or what this association is. Furthermore, it is a little bit hard to understand the scope of the claim as there are recited several core network devices, requests, without clearly detailing whom these elements belong; thus, leaving an open interpretation of the limitations.
The Examiner respectfully recommends to clearly disclose the different elements involved in the scope, their functionalities, and specifying whether they belong, for example, to a same network or different network.
For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner is providing a general example of limitations showing a clear scope and functionalities: “a first core network of a first network in communication with a terminal device of a second core network of a second network… wherein a first identifier of the terminal device and a second identifier of the second core network are associated by both identifiers indicating which session management is to be implemented”.
Hence, based on the above reasoning, Chiba discloses that each component of system in Fig. 1 intercommunicates each other (e.g. UE 10 and CNs) [Paragraph 42], and that each of said element comprises an identifier [Paragraphs 46, 96]. Therefore, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that the ID of UE 10 is then associated in a certain way with the ID of the core networks; and that Alam (primary reference) will then have their UE 102’s ID is associated with CN 120’s ID.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, these claims have been amended to incorporate similar limitations to those set forth in independent claim 1, and are rejected based on similar reasoning.
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, the Examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 7, 13, 16 have been amended. Claim 2 has been canceled. Thus, claims 1 and 3-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0176876) in view of Chiba et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0053615).
Regarding claim 1, Alam teaches a session establishment method (Figs. 1, 5 [Paragraphs 19-40, 86-90]), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first core network device (CN 108), a first request from an access network device (request from AN 110), wherein the first request is useable to request to establish a session of a terminal device (UE 102 requesting session connection), and the first request comprises information about a second core network device corresponding to the terminal device (request to be directed to CN 120);
sending, by the first core network device (CN 108), a second request to the second core network device based on the first request (CN 108 communicates CN 120 about the request from UE 102);
receiving, by the first core network device, a second response from the second core network device, wherein the second response is useable to respond to the second request (CN 108 receives acceptance or rejection from CN 120);
sending, by the first core network device, a first response to the access network device, wherein the first response is useable to respond to the first request (CN 108 communicates UE 102 about CN 120’s decision); and
establishing, by the first core network device, the session based on the first response (thus, CN 108 initiates session with UE 102 based on the response from CN 120);
[
.
However, Alam does not explicitly mention: wherein the information about the second core network device corresponding to the terminal device comprises at least one of: an identifier of the terminal device or an identifier of the second core network device, and the identifier of the terminal device is associated with the identifier of the second core network device.
Chiba teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
wherein the information about the second core network device corresponding to the terminal device comprises at least one of: an identifier of the terminal device or an identifier of the second core network device, and the identifier of the terminal device is associated with the identifier of the second core network device (for the disclosed system, when UE intends to connect to second CN via first CN, the UE knows the ID of the second CN [Paragraphs 46, 96]. Additionally, claim 1 is not providing further details but a general recitation of identifiers, without showing how these identifiers are actually “associated” or what this association is. Furthermore, it is a little bit hard to understand the scope of the claim as there are recited several core network devices, requests, without clearly detailing whom these elements belong; thus, leaving an open interpretation of the limitations. The Examiner respectfully recommends to clearly disclose the different elements involved in the scope, their functionalities, and specifying whether they belong, for example, to a same network or different network. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner is providing a general example of limitations showing a clear scope and functionalities: “a first core network of a first network in communication with a terminal device of a second core network of a second network… wherein a first identifier of the terminal device and a second identifier of the second core network are associated by both identifiers indicating which session management is to be implemented”. Hence, based on the above reasoning, Chiba discloses that each component of system in Fig. 1 intercommunicates each other (e.g. UE 10 and CNs) [Paragraph 42], and that each of said element comprises an identifier [Paragraphs 46, 96]. Therefore, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that the ID of UE 10 is then associated in a certain way with the ID of the core networks; and that Alam (primary reference) will then have their UE 102’s ID is associated with CN 120’s ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Alam) by the UE knowing ID of second CN (as taught by Chiba) for the purpose of optimizing and diversifying communication procedure (Chiba – Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 3, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second core network device corresponds to the terminal device, or the second core network device corresponds to a plurality of terminal devices, the plurality of terminal devices comprising the terminal device (CN 120 corresponds to UE 102).
Regarding claim 4, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first core network device is configured to implement at least one of: session management, policy management, charging management, or authentication management ([Paragraphs 23, 34]).
Regarding claim 5, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the first core network device is further configured to implement an access and mobility management function ([Paragraphs 19, 26]).
Regarding claim 6, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second core network device is configured to implement at least one of: subscriber data management, access management, user policy management, charging management, or session management ([Paragraphs 23, 26, 29, 74]).
Regarding claim 7, Chiba further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first core network device is configured to store a correspondence between the identifier of the terminal device and the identifier of the second core network device ([Paragraph 46]).
Regarding claim 8, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the first core network device, the second request to the second core network device based on the first request comprises: sending, by the first core network device, the second request to the second core network device based on the first request in response to the first request being valid ([Paragraphs 19-40, 86-90]).
Regarding claim 9, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second response comprises; first session configuration information useable to indicate session configuration information of a third core network device corresponding to the terminal device (information of other CNs 120(2), 120(N)).
Regarding claim 10, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the establishing, by the first core network device, the session based on the first response comprises: sending, by the first core network device, a third request to the third core network device based on the first session configuration information, wherein the third request is useable to request to establish a session between the terminal device and the third core network device; and receiving, by the first core network device, a third response from the third core network device, wherein the third response is useable to respond to the third request (CN 108 sending and receiving requests/responses to/from CN 120 (N)).
Regarding claim 11, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein before the receiving, by the first core network device, the first request from the access network device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first core network device, a fifth request from the access network device, wherein the fifth request is useable to request to authenticate a network access request of the terminal device, and the fifth request comprises the information about the second core network device corresponding to the terminal device; sending, by the first core network device, a sixth request to the second core network device based on the fifth request; receiving, by the first core network device, a sixth response from the second core network device, wherein the sixth response is useable to respond to the sixth request; and sending, by the first core network device, a fifth response to the access network device, wherein the fifth response is useable to respond to the fifth request (unless further explained, t the mere duplication of parts does not by itself distinguish from the prior art unless a new and unexpected result is produced [see MPEP 2144.04 Section VI-B], thus being applicable to claim 1 [Paragraphs 19-40, 86-90]).
Regarding claim 12, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first request is obtained by the access network device according to a seventh request of the terminal device ([Paragraphs 19-40, 86-90]).
Regarding claim 13, Alam teaches a session establishment method (Figs. 1, 5 [Paragraphs 19-40, 86-90]), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a second core network device (CN 120), a second request from a first core network device (CN 108 sends request to CN 120), wherein the second request is obtained by the first core network device based on a first request of an access network device (the request from CN 108 to CN 120 is based on request from UE 102 via AN 110), the first request is useable to request to establish a session of a terminal device (UE 102 wishes to initiate session), the first request is obtained by the access network device according to a seventh request of the terminal device (UE 102 sending multiple requests), and the first request comprises information about the second core network device corresponding to the terminal device (UE 102 informs CN 108 about establishing communication with CN 120); and
sending, by the second core network device, a second response to the first core network device, wherein the second response is useable to respond to the second request (CN 120 responding to CN 108 about the requests);
[
.
However, Alam does not explicitly mention: wherein the information about the second core network device corresponding to the terminal device comprises at least one of: an identifier of the terminal device or an identifier of the second core network device, and the identifier of the terminal device is associated with the identifier of the second core network device.
Chiba teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
wherein the information about the second core network device corresponding to the terminal device comprises at least one of: an identifier of the terminal device or an identifier of the second core network device, and the identifier of the terminal device is associated with the identifier of the second core network device (for the disclosed system, when UE intends to connect to second CN via first CN, the UE knows the ID of the second CN [Paragraphs 46, 96]. Additionally, claim 13 is not providing further details but a general recitation of identifiers, without showing how these identifiers are actually “associated” or what this association is. Furthermore, it is a little bit hard to understand the scope of the claim as there are recited several core network devices, requests, without clearly detailing whom these elements belong; thus, leaving an open interpretation of the limitations. The Examiner respectfully recommends to clearly disclose the different elements involved in the scope, their functionalities, and specifying whether they belong, for example, to a same network or different network. For the purpose of the examination, the Examiner is providing a general example of limitations showing a clear scope and functionalities: “a first core network of a first network in communication with a terminal device of a second core network of a second network… wherein a first identifier of the terminal device and a second identifier of the second core network are associated by both identifiers indicating which session management is to be implemented”. Hence, based on the above reasoning, Chiba discloses that each component of system in Fig. 1 intercommunicates each other (e.g. UE 10 and CNs) [Paragraph 42], and that each of said element comprises an identifier [Paragraphs 46, 96]. Therefore, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that the ID of UE 10 is then associated in a certain way with the ID of the core networks; and that Alam (primary reference) will then have their UE 102’s ID is associated with CN 120’s ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Alam) by the UE knowing ID of second CN (as taught by Chiba) for the purpose of optimizing and diversifying communication procedure (Chiba – Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 14, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the sending, by the second core network device, the second response to the first core network device comprises: sending, by the second core network device, the second response to the first core network device in response to the second request being valid ([Paragraphs 19-40, 86-90]).
Regarding claim 15, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the second core network device corresponds to the terminal device, or the second core network device corresponds to a plurality of terminal devices comprising the terminal device (CN 120 corresponds to UE 102).
Regarding claim 16, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 13, the first core network device is configured to implement at least one of: session management, policy management, charging management or authentication management ([Paragraphs 23, 34]).
Regarding claim 17, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein the first core network device is further configured to implement an access and mobility management function ([Paragraphs 19, 26]).
Regarding claim 18, Alam further teaches method according to claim 13, wherein the second core network device is configured to implement at least one of: subscriber data management, access management, user policy management, charging management, or session management ([Paragraphs 23, 26, 29, 74]).
Regarding claim 19, Alam further teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the second response comprises: first session configuration information useable to indicate session configuration information of a third core network device corresponding to the terminal device (information of other CNs 120(2), 120(N)).
Regarding claim 20, Alam teaches a session establishment method (Figs. 1, 5 [Paragraphs 19-40, 86-90]), wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a terminal device, [(UE 102 knowing that it needs to finally communicate with CN 120);
sending, by the terminal device, a seventh request, wherein the seventh request is useable to request to establish a session of the terminal device (UE 102 sending requests 124), and the seventh request comprises [(request 124 knowing that it needs to reach CN 120);
receiving, by the terminal device, a seventh response, wherein the seventh response is useable to respond to the seventh request (UE 102 receiving acceptance or rejection from network devices); and
performing, by the terminal device, the session based on the seventh response (thus, CN 108 initiates session with UE 102 based on the response from CN 120).
However, Alam does not explicitly mention: an identifier [of a second core network].
Chiba teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
an identifier [of a second core network] (for the disclosed system, when UE intends to connect to second CN via first CN, the UE knows the ID of the second CN [Paragraphs 46, 96]. Additionally, claim 20 is not providing further details but a general recitation of identifier, without showing how this identifier is actually “corresponding”. Then, as applied to the other independent claims, the Examiner respectfully recommends to clearly disclose the different elements involved in the scope, their functionalities, and specifying whether they belong, for example, to a same network or different network. Hence, based on the above reasoning, Chiba discloses that each component of system in Fig. 1 intercommunicates each other (e.g. UE 10 and CNs) [Paragraph 42], and that each of said element comprises an identifier [Paragraphs 46, 96]. Therefore, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that the ID of UE 10 is then associated in a certain way with the ID of the core networks; and that Alam (primary reference) will then have their UE 102’s ID is associated with CN 120’s ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Alam) by the UE knowing ID of second CN (as taught by Chiba) for the purpose of optimizing and diversifying communication procedure (Chiba – Paragraph 4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
January 10, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633