DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–11, 13, 17, 23–26, 31 and 34-47 are pending.
Claims 12, 14–16, 18–22, 27–30, 32, and 33 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0318022 A1.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I-A in the reply filed on 25 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 24 March 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD OF FORMING BATTERY INCLUDING FOLDING THREE SIDE FLAPS TO CONTACT POUCH CONTAINING ELECTRODE ASSEMBLY.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The use of the terms Coorstek AD96, Coorstek YZTP, ENrG E-Strate, Aptiv 1102, Victrex 90HMF40, Xycomp 1000-04, Tepex Dynalite 207, Victrex 90HMF40, Xycomp 1000-04, and Kapton (e.g., [0069]), and Coorstek YZTP (e.g., [0070]), which are a trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 sets forth a plurality of steps without each step of the claim being separated by a line indentation. Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 (i). Claim 1 should separate each step by a line indentation.
Claim 26 includes a line indentation between the terms "enclosure" and "layer" of the phrase "the first enclosure layer." A line indentation should not separate the phrase "the first enclosure layer."
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–11, 13, 17, 23–26, 31 and 34-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "flaps extending from the pouch enclosing the electrode assembly." It is unclear if "flaps" or "the pouch" enclose "the electrode assembly."
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein contacting the first side flap and the second side flap with the pouch." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "contacting (A) the first side flap with the pouch … (b) the second side flap … with the pouch." It is unclear if "contacting the first side flap and the second side flap with the pouch" recited in claim 2 is further limiting or referencing "contacting (A) the first side flap with the pouch … (b) the second side flap … with the pouch" recited in claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "folding the first side flap about the first fold line towards the pouch." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "folding (a) the first side flap about the first fold line towards … the pouch." It is unclear if "folding the first side flap about the first fold line towards the pouch" recited in claim 2 is further limiting or referencing "folding (a) the first side flap about the first fold line towards … the pouch" recited in claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "folding the second side flap about the second fold line towards the pouch." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "folding … (b) the second side flap about the second fold line towards … the pouch." It is unclear if "folding the second side flap about the second fold line towards the pouch" recited in claim 2 is further limiting or referencing "folding … (b) the second side flap about the second fold line towards … the pouch" recited in claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "wherein compressing the first side flap and the second side flap against the pouch." Claim 2, which claim 3 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "compressing against the pouch (i) the first side flap and (ii) the second side flap." It is unclear if "compressing the first side flap and the second side flap against the pouch" recited in claim 3 is further limiting or referencing "compressing against the pouch (i) the first side flap and (ii) the second side flap" recited in claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein compressing the first side flap and the second side flap against the pouch." Claim 2, which claim 4 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "compressing against the pouch (i) the first side flap and (ii) the second side flap." It is unclear if "compressing the first side flap and the second side flap against the pouch" recited in claim 4 is further limiting or referencing "compressing against the pouch (i) the first side flap and (ii) the second side flap" recited in claim 2.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wherein contacting the end flap with the pouch." Claim 1, which claim 5 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "contacting the end flap with the pouch." It is unclear if "contacting the end flap with the pouch" recited in claim 5 is further limiting or referencing "contacting end flap with the pouch" recited in claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "wherein contacting to the end flap the first tab and the second tab." Claim 1, which claim 6 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "contacting (I) the first tab to the end flap … and (II) the second tab to the end flap." It is unclear if "contacting to the end flap the first tab and the second tab" recited in claim 6 is further limiting or referencing "contacting (I) the first tab to the end flap … and (II) the second tab to the end flap" recited in claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "folding the first tab and the second tab towards and into contact with the end flap." Claim 1, which claim 6 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "folding the first tab towards and into contact with the end flap and … folding the second tab towards and into contact with the end flap." It is unclear if "folding the first tab and the second tab towards and into contact with the end flap" recited in claim 6 is further limiting or referencing "folding the first tab towards and into contact with the end flap and … folding the second tab towards and into contact with the end flap" recited in claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab." Claim 6, which claim 7 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab." It is unclear if "compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab" recited in claim 7 is further limiting or referencing "compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab" recited in claim 6.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "wherein compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab." Claim 6, which claim 8 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab." It is unclear if "compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab" recited in claim 8 is further limiting or referencing "compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab" recited in claim 6.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "wherein trimming the enclosure." Claim 1, which claim 9 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "trimming the enclosure." It is unclear is "trimming the enclosure" recited in claim 9 is further limiting or referencing "trimming the enclosure" recited in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a fold line." Claim 1, which claim 9 is directly dependent, recites the limitations "a first fold line," "a second fold line," and "a third fold line." It is unclear if "a fold line" recited in claim 9 is further limiting "a first fold line," "a second fold line," and "a third fold line" recited in claim 1.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein trimming the enclosure." Claim 1, which claim 10 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "trimming the enclosure." It is unclear is "trimming the enclosure" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "trimming the enclosure" recited in claim 1.
Claims 11, 12, and 17 are directly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 11, 12, and 17 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 is directly dependent from claim 2, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 23 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24–26, 31, and 34–36 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 24–26, 31, and 34–36 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the second end wall" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38–43 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 37–43 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "a hot press." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a hot press" is indefinite.
Claim 45–47 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 45–47 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, , 5, 6, 9–12, 17, 24, 26, and 34–43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mita et al. (JP 2001-256933 A, hereinafter Mita) in view of Grau et al. (US 2021/0336304 A1, hereinafter Grau).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10 Mita discloses a method of forming a battery, the method comprising:
positioning within an enclosure (2, 3) comprising a pouch (2, 3) coupled with flaps (4A, 4F, 4H) extending from the pouch (2, 3) enclosing the electrode assembly (1, [0020]),
the electrode assembly (1) comprising unit cells (1, [0019]),
each unit cell (1) of the unit cells (1) comprises an electrode structure (11) separated by a separator structure (13) from a counter-electrode structure (12, [0038]);
the flaps comprising a first side flap extending from the pouch at a first fold line, a second side flap extending from the pouch at a second fold line, and an end flap extending from the pouch at a third fold line;
contacting (A) the first side flap (4A) with the pouch at least in part by folding (a) the first side flap (4A) about the first fold line towards and into contact with the pouch (2, 3) such that a portion of the first side flap (4A) extends beyond the pouch to define a first tab (4H), and (b) the second side flap (4A) about the second fold line towards and into contact with the pouch (2, 3) such that a portion of the second side flap (4A) extends beyond the pouch (2, 3) to define a second tab (4H, [0026]);
contacting the end flap (4F) with the pouch (2, 3) at least in part by folding the end flap (4F) about the third fold line towards and into contact with the pouch (2, 3; [0023]); and
contacting (I) the first tab (4H) to the end flap (4F) at least in part by folding the first tab (4H) towards and into contact with the end flap (4F) and (II) the second tab (4H) to the end flap (4F) at least in part by folding the second tab (4H) towards and into contact with the end flap (4F, [0026]);
each of the flaps (4A, 4F, 4H) has a width, measured from a fold line respectively to a free edge of each of the flaps (4A, 4F, 4H), less than or equal to a height of the pouch (2, 3; [0026]),
such that when each of the flaps (4A, 4F, 4H) is folded into contact with the pouch (2, 3), none of the flaps extend beyond the height of the pouch (2, 3; [0026])
Mita does not explicitly disclose:
trimming the enclosure to form the flaps.
wherein trimming the enclosure comprises trimming by die cutting, rotary cutting, reciprocal cutting, laser cutting, fluid jet cutting, or any combination thereof.
Grau discloses a method of forming a battery, the method comprising trimming an enclosure (13, 14) to form the flaps (FIG. 4, [0063]); and wherein trimming the enclosure (13, 14) comprises trimming by die cutting, rotary cutting, reciprocal cutting, laser cutting, fluid jet cutting, or any combination thereof to improve product quality, cycle times and accuracy in production (see die, [0063]). Mita and Grau are analogous because they are directed to methods of forming pouch batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to trim the enclosure of Mita as taught by Grau in order to improve product quality, cycle times and accuracy in production.
Regarding claim 2, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method, wherein contacting the first side flap (4A) and the second side flap (4A) with the pouch (2, 3) comprises:
applying a bonding agent (5) (a) to at least one of the first side flap (4A) and the pouch (2, 3), and (b) to at least one of the second side flap (4A) and the pouch (2, 3; [0023]);
folding the first side flap (4A) about the first fold line towards the pouch (2, 3; [0024]);
folding the second side flap (4A) about the second fold line towards the pouch (2, 3, [0024]; and
compressing against the pouch (2, 3) (i) the first side flap (4A) and (ii) the second side flap (4A, [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method, wherein contacting the end flap (4F) with the pouch (2, 3) comprises:
applying a bonding agent (5) to at least one of the end flap (4F) and the pouch (2, 3; [0023]);
folding the end flap (4F) about the third fold line towards the pouch (2, 3; [0026]); and
compressing against the pouch (2, 3) (i) the end flap (4F), (ii) the first tab (4H), and (iii) the second tab (4H, [0026]),
the compressing being after the first tab (4H) and after the second tab (4H) are folded towards and into contact with the end flap (4F, [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method, wherein contacting to the end flap (4F) the first tab (4H) and the second tab (4H), comprises:
after the end flap (4F) is folded towards and into contact with the pouch, applying a bonding agent (5) to at least one of (a) the end flap (4F) and (b) each of the first tab (4H) and the second tab (4H, [0026]);
folding the first tab (4H) and the second tab (4H) towards and into contact with the end flap (4F, [0026]); and
compressing against the pouch (2, 3) (a) the end flap (4F), (b) the first tab (4H), and (c) the second tab (4H, [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the enclosure (2, 3) comprises a polymer, a resin, an elemental metal, a metal alloy, a composite, or any combination thereof (see exterior material, [0076]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the enclosure (2, 3) includes a first enclosure layer (2) and a second enclosure layer (3) joined with the first enclosure layer (2, [0020]), and
each of the flaps (4A, 4F, 4H) including a first surface defined by the first enclosure layer (2) and an opposing second surface defined by the second enclosure layer (3, [0020]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein compressing against the pouch (2, 3) (A) the first side flap (4A) and (B) the second side flap (4A), comprises compressing while heated at a first temperature for a first compression time (see hot-melt adhesive, [0027]); and
wherein compressing against the pouch (2, 3) (a) the end flap (4F), (b) the first tab (4H), and (c) the second tab (4H), comprises compressing while heated at a second temperature for a second compression time (see hot-melt adhesive, [0027]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method,
wherein a material of the enclosure (2, 3) comprises aluminum, aluminum alloy, or any combination thereof (see exterior material, [0076]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method, wherein the enclosure (2, 3) includes a first enclosure layer (3) and a second enclosure layer (2) joined with the first enclosure layer (3, [0020]), the pouch (2, 3) including
a base (4B) defined by the first enclosure layer (3, [0026]),
a cover (2) positioned opposite the base (4B, [0026]),
the cover (2) being defined by the second enclosure layer (2, [0026]),
a first sidewall (4B) extending from the base (4B) to the cover (2, [0026]),
a second sidewall (4B) positioned opposite the first sidewall (4B) and extending from the base (4B) to the cover (2, [0026]),
a first end wall (4B) extending from the first sidewall (4B) to the second sidewall (4B) and from the base (4B) to the cover (2, [0026]), and
a second end wall (4B) positioned opposite the first end wall (4B) and extending from the first sidewall (4B) to the second sidewall (4B) and from the base (4B) to the cover (2, [0026]).
Regarding claim 34, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the battery (1) is a lithium containing secondary battery (1, [0037]).
Regarding claim 35, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the electrode assembly (1) is operatively coupled with an electrode busbar (4a) and a counter-electrode busbar (4b; [0068]).
Regarding claim 36, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein a first terminal (21) is electrically connected with the electrode busbar (4a), and
a second terminal (21) is electrically connected with the counter-electrode busbar (4b, [0070]).
Regarding claim 37, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the electrode assembly (1) is operatively coupled with a first terminal (21) and a second terminal (21, [0022]),
each of the first terminal and the second terminal extending outward from the second end wall (4B, [0024]).
Regarding claim 38, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the electrode assembly (1) is within a volume defined by a casing (4B) configured to facilitate distribution of an electrolyte solution therethrough (FIG. 6, [0052]),
the casing (4B) being a constraint (FIG. 3, [0020]).
Regarding claim 39, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the pouch (2, 3) is sized and shaped to respectively match an outer surface size and shape of the electrode assembly (1, [0075]).
Regarding claim 40, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein (A) the pouch is gas tight (see air, [0025]), (B) the pouch is liquid tight, or (C) any combination thereof (see moisture, [0077]).
Regarding claim 41, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method
wherein the method is carried out at least in part in a controlled environment (see vacuum state, [0075]).
Regarding claim 42, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method, further comprising:
controlling a temperature and/or a pressure (see reduced-pressure, [0022]).
Regarding claim 43, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the bonding agent (5) comprises adhesive strips, liquid adhesives, or any combination thereof (see adhesive, [0027]).
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 31, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mita (JP 2001-256933 A) in view of Grau (US 2021/0336304 A1) as applied to claims 2, 6, and 26 above, and further in view of Akao (JP 2002-260602 A).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 31, and 44, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a method, wherein compressing the first side flap and second side flap against the pouch comprises:
compressing at a temperature in a range of from 50 degrees Celsius (°C) to 150 °C;
wherein compressing the first side flap and second side flap against the pouch comprises compressing for a time in a range of from 10 seconds to 60 seconds;
wherein (A) the compressing comprises a clamp or a vice and/or (B) the method comprises using a hot press;
wherein compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab, comprises compressing at a temperature in a range from 50 °C to 150 °C;
wherein compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab, comprises compressing for a time in a range of from 10 seconds to 60 seconds; and
wherein compressing against the first end wall (a) the end flap, (b) the first tab, and (c) the second tab comprises applying a compressive force across the first end wall equal to a pressure of at least three (3) pounds per square inch.
Akao discloses a method of forming a battery (FIG. 1, [0037]), the method comprising compressing a side flap (10a) against a pouch (3, [0037]) at a temperature in a range of from 50 degrees Celsius (°C) to 150 °C (see adhesion temperature, [0030]); wherein compressing the side flap against the pouch comprises compressing for a time in a range of from 10 seconds to 60 seconds (see adhesion time, [0030]); wherein (A) the compressing comprises a clamp or a vice and/or (B) the method comprises using a hot press (see adhesion conditions, [0030]); wherein compressing against the pouch (a) an end flap (10b) and (c) a tab (15), comprises compressing at a temperature in a range from 50 °C to 150 °C (see adhesion temperature, [0030]); wherein compressing against the pouch (a) the end flap (10b) and (c) the tab (15), comprises compressing for a time in a range of from 10 seconds to 60 seconds (see adhesion time, [0030]); and wherein compressing against an end wall (14) (a) the end flap (10b) and (c) the second tab (15) comprises applying a compressive force across the first end wall equal to a pressure of at least three (3) pounds per square inch (see pressure, [0030]) to improve the strength of the battery (TABLE 2, [0047]). Mita and Akao are analogous because they are directed to methods of forming pouch batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the battery of modified Mita with the adhesion conditions of Akao in order to improve the strength of the battery.
Claims 25 and 45–47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mita (JP 2001-256933 A) in view of Grau (US 2021/0336304 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 34 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2020/0395593 A1, hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claims 25 and 45–47, modified Mita discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a method, further comprising before the trimming of the enclosure to form the flaps:
positioning an auxiliary electrode within the pouch;
performing a buffer process whereby carrier ions from the auxiliary electrode are transferred to the electrode assembly;
removing the auxiliary electrode from the pouch after the buffer process; and
sealing the enclosure with the electrode assembly positioned within the pouch;
wherein the auxiliary electrode partially surrounds the electrode assembly;
performing buffering at least in part to form a solid electrolyte interface (SEI) on a surface of anode active material of the electrode assembly; and
wherein the battery is configured to undergo an initial formation procedure different from subsequent charge and discharge cycles.
Zhu discloses a method of forming a battery (100, [0030]), the method comprising positioning an auxiliary electrode (108) within a pouch (102) before trimming of an enclosure (102) to form flaps (FIG. 1A, [0030]); performing a buffer process whereby carrier ions from the auxiliary electrode (108) are transferred to an electrode assembly (104, 106; [0030]); removing the auxiliary electrode (108) from the pouch (102) after the buffer process (FIG. 1A, [0030]); and sealing the enclosure (102) with the electrode assembly (104, 106) positioned within the pouch (102, [0030]); wherein the auxiliary electrode (108) partially surrounds the electrode assembly (104, 106; [0030]); performing buffering at least in part to form a solid electrolyte interface (SEI) on a surface of anode active material of the electrode assembly (104, 106; [0086]); and wherein the battery is configured to undergo an initial formation procedure (664) different from subsequent charge and discharge cycles (FIG. 6B, [0061]) to improve the capacity of the battery (see pre-lithiation, [0027]). Mita and Zhu are analogous because they are directed to lithium batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the battery of modified Mita with the auxiliary electrode and buffering of Zhu in order to improve the capacity of the battery.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725