DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on November 25, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there is no serious burden in examining the listed inventions simultaneously as a methane conversion reactor is recited in both independent claims of the as-filed application. Further, the office action argues that the method may be distinct because the steps may be performed in a different chronology. Since the method steps recite an ongoing process where the steps essentially occur simultaneously at a steady stage, the chronology of the steps is not relevant.
This is not found persuasive because even both inventions are directed to patentably distinct inventions, Group I, Claims 1-10 being a methane conversion reactor and Group II, Claims 11-20 being a method of converting methane to carbon dioxide and water. As clearly disclosed by the examiner on the restriction requirement, the inventions are clearly independent or distinct, as both invention are classified in two different/separate CPC classes (Group I, Claims 1-10 is classified in B01D53/944 and Group II, Claims 11-20 is classified in B01D53/864). Therefore, the examiner has provided sufficient reasoning for concluding that a serious search/examination burden is present if a restriction was not required, such as carrying out different search queries and searching in different classes/subclasses in view of their different classification. In view of this, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0127336, hereinafter Maldonado) in view of Duesel, Jr. et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0186451, hereinafter Duesel).
In regards to Claim 1, Maldonado discloses a methane conversion reactor for reacting methane with oxygen to convert the methane to carbon dioxide and water vapor, the methane conversion reactor comprising:
a catalytic converter having a housing (#22) defining an enclosure, the housing (#22) having a first face open to atmosphere for receiving air (#20 air intake for receiving air) and having a second face that includes a methane inlet (#24) for receiving the methane into the enclosure defined by the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017]);
a catalyst pad (#26) disposed within the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter for catalytically reacting the methane with oxygen in the air to produce the carbon dioxide and the water vapor (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017]); and
a centrifugal fan (#38) disposed along a side of the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter for forcing the air into the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter to improve reaction efficiency and to cool the catalyst pad (#26) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0022]).
Maldonado fails to disclose:
an electric motor to drive the centrifugal fan in response to a fan control signal; and
a microcontroller for receiving a temperature signal from a temperature sensor and for generating the fan control signal to adjust an air flow rate in response to the temperature signal.
However, Duesel teaches exhaust gas plume mitigation systems. A gas which flows through and out of a fluid scrubber #122 with liquids and solids removed therefrom exits out of piping or ductwork at the back of the fluid scrubber #122 and flows through an induced draft fan #190, i.e. centrifugal fan, of exhaust assembly #124, from where it is exhausted to the atmosphere in the form of cooled hot inlet gas mixed with evaporated water vapor. Induced draft fan motor #192, i.e. electric motor to drive the centrifugal fan, is connected to and operates the fan #190 to create negative pressure within the fluid scrubber #122 so as to ultimately draw gas from flare #130 through transfer pipe #140, air pre-treatment assembly #119 and concentrator assembly #120 (see figures 2 and 3 and paragraph [0036]). Figure 3 shows a control system #300 which includes a controller #302, i.e. microcontroller, connected to the induced draft fan #190 to control the operation of the fan #190. Moreover, the controller #302 is connected to a temperature sensor #308 which receives a temperature signal generated by the temperature sensor #308. The controller #302 may control the speed of the induced draft fan #190 to control the amount of gas that enters the air pre-treatment assembly #119 from the flare #130. The controller #302 may therefore control the temperature and the amount of gas flowing through the concentrator assembly #120 by controlling the ambient air control valve #306 and the speed of the induced draft fan #190 based on, for example, the measurement of the temperature sensor #308 at the inlet of the concentrator assembly #120. This feedback system is desirable because, in many cases, the air coming out of a flare #130 is between 1200 and 1800 degrees Fahrenheit, which may be too hot, or hotter than required for the concentrator #110 to operate efficiently and effectively (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion reactor as disclosed by Maldonado by further including an electric motor to drive the centrifugal fan in response to a fan control signal, and a microcontroller for receiving a temperature signal from a temperature sensor and for generating the fan control signal to adjust an air flow rate in response to the temperature signal, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Duesel teaches exhaust gas plume mitigation systems, wherein a gas which flows through and out of a fluid scrubber with liquids and solids removed therefrom exits out of piping or ductwork at the back of the fluid scrubber and flows through an induced draft fan with a draft fan motor, i.e. centrifugal fan with electric motor, of an exhaust assembly, from where it is exhausted to the atmosphere in the form of cooled hot inlet gas mixed with evaporated water vapor, and a control system which includes a controller, i.e. microcontroller, is connected to the induced draft fan to control the operation of the fan, wherein the controller is further connected to a temperature sensor which receives a temperature signal generated by the temperature sensor and the controller may control the speed of the induced draft fan to control the amount of gas that enters the air pre-treatment assembly from the flare, whereby the controller controls the temperature and the amount of gas flowing through the concentrator assembly by controlling the ambient air control valve and the speed of the induced draft fan based on, for example, the measurement of the temperature sensor #308 at the inlet of the concentrator assembly, and this feedback system is desirable to help the system to operate efficiently and effectively (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039]).
In regards to Claim 5, Maldonado, in view of Duesel, discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1. Duesel further teaches wherein the controller #302 is connected to the temperature sensor #308 disposed at the inlet of the concentrator assembly #120 or at the inlet of the venturi section #162 and receives a temperature signal generated by the temperature sensor #308. The temperature sensor #308 may alternatively be located downstream of the venturi section #162. The controller may operate the speed of the induced draft fan #190, to control the amount of gas that enters the air pre-treatment assembly #119 from the flare #130. As will be understood, the amount of gas flowing through the concentrator #120 may need to vary depending on the ambient air temperature and humidity, the temperature of the flare gas, the amount of gas exiting the flare #130, etc. The controller #302 may therefore control the temperature and the amount of gas flowing through the concentrator assembly by controlling the ambient air control valve #306 and the speed of the induced draft fan #190 based on the measurement of the temperature sensor #308 (see paragraphs [0037]-[0038]). This is considered equivalent to wherein the temperature sensor measures an ambient air temperature, as claimed by the applicant.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion reactor as disclosed by Maldonado, such as including a temperature sensor which measures an ambient air temperature in a space surrounding the methane conversion reactor, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Duesel further teaches wherein the controller is connected to the temperature sensor disposed at the inlet of the concentrator assembly or at the inlet of the venturi section or alternatively may be located downstream of the venturi section and receives a temperature signal generated by the temperature sensor, whereby the controller may operate the speed of the induced draft fan, to control the amount of gas that enters the air pre-treatment assembly from the flare, and as will be understood, the amount of gas flowing through the concentrator may need to vary depending on the ambient air temperature, and the controller may therefore control the temperature and the amount of gas flowing through the concentrator assembly by controlling the ambient air control valve and the speed of the induced draft fan based on the measurement of the temperature sensor (see paragraphs [0037]-[0038]).
In regards to Claim 10, Maldonado, in view of Duesel, discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1. Although Maldonado, as modified above, does not explicitly disclose wherein the centrifugal fan is a squirrel-cage fan extending along an entire bottom side of the housing, changing the type of centrifugal fan to be a squirrel-cage fan and relocating it to an entire bottom side of the housing is a mere engineering design choice, in order to obtain a desired end-result, such a for improved air flow efficiency, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado, in view of Duesel, and further in view of Cedar et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0112187, hereinafter Cedar).
In regards to Claim 2, Maldonado, in view of Duesel discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose a comprising a thermal electric generator for generating electrical power from a thermal gradient in the catalytic converter that is created when the methane reacts exothermically with the oxygen in the art, wherein the electric motor is powered by the electrical power generated by the thermal electric generator.
However, Cedar teaches a portable combustion device and combustion arrangements that provide more efficient overall combustion through the use of a fan that directs a predetermined volume of airflow over the combustible fuel. The direction of airflow is accomplished without the need of external power sources using the combustor’s own generated heat with the aid of a thermoelectric generator (TEG) and a novel heat sink arrangement to generate electricity that powers the fan and drives the airflow. A thermoelectric generator (TEG) is mounted to the wall of a combustion device which generates an electrical output based on a difference in temperature on opposing sides of the thermoelectric device, i.e. thermal gradient, wherein the larger the differential, the larger the electrical output. The fan is powered by the electricity generated by the TEG (see paragraphs [0010]-[0011]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion reactor as disclosed by Maldonado, in view of Duesel, by including a thermal electric generator for generating electrical power from a thermal gradient in the catalytic converter that is created when the methane reacts exothermically with the oxygen in the art, wherein the electric motor is powered by the electrical power generated by the thermal electric generator, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Cedar teaches a portable combustion device and combustion arrangements that provide more efficient overall combustion through the use of a fan that directs a predetermined volume of airflow over the combustible fuel, whereby the direction of airflow is accomplished without the need of external power sources using the combustor’s own generated heat with the aid of a thermoelectric generator (TEG) and a novel heat sink arrangement to generate electricity that powers the fan and drives the airflow (see paragraphs [0010]-[0011]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado in view of Duesel, and further in view of Ohtsuka et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0189523, hereinafter Ohtsuka).
In regards to Claim 3, Maldonado, in view of Duesel discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose a methane flow rate sensor to generate a methane flow signal based on a flow rate of the methane, wherein the microcontroller receives the methane flow signal and adjusts the fan control signal in response to the methane flow signal.
However, Ohtsuka teaches an apparatus for removing methane from a gas. The apparatus #100 includes a blower #1, i.e. centrifugal fan, for introducing a treatment-object gas containing methane to the apparatus #100, an oxidation catalyst #2 for contact-oxidizing methane, a methane concentration detecting means #4, i.e. methane flow rate sensor, upstream of the oxidization catalyst #2, and controlling means #5 for controlling a blowing rate of the blower #1 in accordance with the detection value of the detecting means #4, thereby providing a stable removal performance for an extended period of time without performance deterioration even when the methane concentration varies significantly (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0117]-[0119] and [0174]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion device as disclosed by Maldonado, in view of Duesel, by further including a methane flow rate sensor to generate a methane flow signal based on a flow rate of the methane, wherein the microcontroller receives the methane flow signal and adjusts the fan control signal in response to the methane flow signal, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ohtsuka teaches an apparatus for removing methane from a gas, wherein the apparatus includes a blower #1, i.e. centrifugal fan, for introducing a treatment-object gas containing methane to the apparatus, an oxidation catalyst for contact-oxidizing methane, a methane concentration detecting means, i.e. methane flow rate sensor, upstream of the oxidization catalyst, and controlling means for controlling a blowing rate of the blower in accordance with the detection value of the detecting means, thereby providing a stable removal performance for an extended period of time without performance deterioration even when the methane concentration varies significantly (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0117]-[0119] and [0174]).
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado, in view of Duesel, and further in view of Moneyhun et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0060396, with an effective filing date of August 16, 2022, hereinafter Moneyhun).
In regards to Claim 4, Maldonado, in view of Duesel discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the temperature sensor measures a catalyst pad temperature.
However, Moneyhun teaches a zero emissions blow down system for eliminating methane emissions to the atmosphere. The system #10 comprises a housing defining an enclosure #30 having an inlet #54 for receiving methane gas from a wellhead and catalyst heaters #70, i.e. catalyst pad, disposed within the housing for catalytically reacting methane with oxygen in the air to produce carbon dioxide and water vapor (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0026]-[0030]). The catalytic heaters #70 can have a heat regulator valve coupled to the pipe system to control the feed of production gas to the heater, and a temperature sensor coupled to the heat regulator valve and transmitter to sense a temperature of the heater. The heat regulator valve can have a solenoid coupled to the temperature sensor (see paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion reactor as disclosed by Maldonado, in view of Duesel, by relocating the temperature sensor to measure a catalyst pad temperature, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Moneyhun teaches a zero emissions blow down system for eliminating methane emissions to the atmosphere, wherein the system comprises a housing defining an enclosure having an inlet for receiving methane gas from a wellhead and catalyst heaters, i.e. catalyst pad, disposed within the housing for catalytically reacting methane with oxygen in the air to produce carbon dioxide and water vapor, whereby the catalytic heaters can have a heat regulator valve coupled to the pipe system to control the feed of production gas to the heater, and a temperature sensor coupled to the heat regulator valve and transmitter to sense a temperature of the heater, for efficiently monitoring the catalyst pad temperature to maintain conversion efficiency within the reactor (see paragraph [0034]).
In regards to Claim 9, Maldonado, in view of Duesel, discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising an additional catalyst structure disposed along an upper side of the housing to catalytically convert any unconverted methane that rises unreacted from the catalyst pad.
However, Moneyhun teaches a zero emissions blow down system for eliminating methane emissions to the atmosphere. The system #10 comprises a housing defining an enclosure #30 having an inlet #54 for receiving methane gas from a wellhead and catalyst banks #66 with catalytic heaters #70, i.e. catalyst pads, disposed within the housing for catalytically reacting methane with oxygen in the air to produce carbon dioxide and water vapor (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0026]-[0030]). Each catalyst bank #66 of catalytic heaters #70 can comprise at least two stacks #78 of catalytic heaters #70 arranged in a vertical column, i.e. additional catalyst structure along an upper side of the housing to catalytically convert any unconverted methane that rises unreacted from the catalyst pad (see paragraphs [0032]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion reactor as disclosed by Maldonado, in view of Duesel, by further including an additional catalyst structure disposed along an upper side of the housing to catalytically convert any unconverted methane that rises unreacted from the catalyst pad, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Moneyhun teaches a zero emissions blow down system for eliminating methane emissions to the atmosphere, wherein the system comprises a housing defining an enclosure having an inlet for receiving methane gas from a wellhead and catalyst banks with catalyst heaters, i.e. catalyst pads, disposed within the housing for catalytically reacting methane with oxygen in the air to produce carbon dioxide and water vapor, whereby each catalyst bank of catalytic heaters can comprise at least two stacks of catalytic heaters arranged in a vertical column, i.e. upper side of the housing, thereby ensuring substantial methane conversion within the enclosure (see paragraphs [0032]-[0033]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado, in view of Duesel, and further in view of Hyde et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0147255, hereinafter Hyde).
In regards to Claim 6, Maldonado, in view of Duesel, discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose a carbon dioxide sensor for generating carbon dioxide sensor signal based on a concentration of carbon dioxide, wherein the microcontroller receives a carbon dioxide sensor signal and adjusts the fan control signal in response to the carbon dioxide sensor signal.
However, Hyde which is in the same field endeavor (methane emission abatement), teaches a system for abating waste methane which includes a catalytic combustion device configured to catalytically combust waste-associated methane emissions. The system comprises a catalytic combustion device, i.e. catalytic converter, having a housing defining an enclosure, a catalytic combustor, i.e. catalyst pad, within the enclosure, an exhaust fan connected directly to the catalytic combustion device such that the device is integrated into the exhaust fan system, a processing circuit with a control module, i.e. microcontroller, which controls the operation of the catalytic combustion device, a methane sensor and a product sensor integrated into the catalytic combustion device. The control module may enable/initiate combustion when control module detects a certain concentration of methane, and may also enable and disable the catalytic combustion device based on data from the product sensor of the device. The product sensor includes a sensor component configured to detect carbon dioxide exiting the catalytic combustion device, i.e. carbon dioxide sensor. Based on the product sensor data received by the processing circuit, the processing circuit generates signals necessary to control operation of the catalytic combustion device (see paragraphs [0023], [0025] and [0029]).
Since the control module may enable and disable the catalytic combustion device based on data from the carbon dioxide sensor of the device and the catalytic combustion device is integrated into the exhaust fan system, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the control module will reasonably adjust the fan control signal in response to the carbon dioxide sensor signal, as claimed by the applicant.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion reactor as disclosed by Maldonado, in view of Duesel, by further including a carbon dioxide sensor for generating carbon dioxide sensor signal based on a concentration of carbon dioxide, wherein the microcontroller receives a carbon dioxide sensor signal and adjusts the fan control signal in response to the carbon dioxide sensor signal, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Hyde teaches a system for abating waste methane comprising a catalytic combustion device, i.e. catalytic converter, having a housing defining an enclosure, a catalytic combustor, i.e. catalyst pad, within the enclosure, an exhaust fan connected directly to the catalytic combustion device such that the device is integrated into the exhaust fan system, a processing circuit with a control module, i.e. microcontroller, which controls the operation of the catalytic combustion device, a methane sensor and a product sensor integrated into the catalytic combustion device, wherein the control module may enable/initiate combustion when control module detects a certain concentration of methane, and may also enable and disable the catalytic combustion device based on data from the product sensor of the device, and the product sensor includes a sensor component configured to detect carbon dioxide exiting the catalytic combustion device, i.e. carbon dioxide sensor, whereby based on the product sensor data received by the processing circuit, the processing circuit generates signals necessary to control operation of the catalytic combustion device, thereby maintaining methane abatement efficiency within the system (see paragraphs [0023], [0025] and [0029]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado, in view of Duesel, and further in view of Scharf et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2011/0269389, hereinafter Scharf).
In regards to Claim 7, Maldonado, in view of Duesel, discloses the methane conversion reactor as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the microcontroller is configured to communicate a vent control signal to a vent actuator connected to a vent of a room in which the methane conversion reactor is disposed to thereby increase or decrease ventilation based on the temperature signal and a temperature setpoint.
However, Scharf teaches an environment control system that includes a motorized vent covering configured to control the air flow into and/or out of a room through a vent (see paragraph [0008]). The environment control system includes a controller that is configured to receive data from environment sensors in the room. The environment control system uses data from the sensors to determine whether to activate a motor coupled to a motorized vent covering to open or close the vent in order to allow or restrict air flow through the vent. The environment control system can be configured to receive and process data from environment sensors, such as temperature sensors for detecting the temperature in a room (see paragraph [0020]). The motorized vent covering comprises a frame and an actuator integrated into the frame of the motorized vent covering. The actuator can also include a sensor coupled with a control box and configured to receive command signals for operating the actuator. In this way, the actuator can be controlled via remote control, allowing for easy operation of the motorized vent covering (see paragraphs [0021]-[0026]). The temperature sensor can comprise a programmable thermostat that permits a preferred temperature to be selected, i.e. temperature setpoint. The programmable thermostat can be configured to generate a signal that causes the actuator to open or close the motorized vent covering if the temperature of the rooms falls below or rises above the preferred temperature (see paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the methane conversion reactor as disclosed by Maldonado, in view of Duesel, by having the microcontroller to be configured to communicate a vent control signal to a vent actuator connected to a vent of a room in which the methane conversion reactor is disposed to thereby increase or decrease ventilation based on the temperature signal and a temperature setpoint, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Scharf teaches environmental control of enclosed spaces containing heat-generating equipment and personnel which includes a controller configured to receive data from environment sensors in the room, such a temperature sensors, and an actuator coupled to motorized vent coverings that can be remotely controlled by the controller to open or close based on temperature signals or temperature setpoints, which would improve safety in an enclosed operating environment with the methane conversion device by automatically controlling ventilation based on temperature conditions (see paragraphs [0021]-[0026] and [0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Maldonado et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0127336)-which is considered the closest prior art of record, discloses a methane conversion reactor for reacting methane with oxygen to convert the methane to carbon dioxide and water vapor, the methane conversion reactor comprising:
a catalytic converter having a housing (#22) defining an enclosure, the housing (#22) having a first face open to atmosphere for receiving air (#20 air intake for receiving air) and having a second face that includes a methane inlet (#24) for receiving the methane into the enclosure defined by the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017]);
a catalyst pad (#26) disposed within the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter for catalytically reacting the methane with oxygen in the air to produce the carbon dioxide and the water vapor (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017]); and
a centrifugal fan (#38) disposed along a side of the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter for forcing the air into the housing (#22) of the catalytic converter to improve reaction efficiency and to cool the catalyst pad (#26) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0022]).
Maldonado fails to disclose:
an electric motor to drive the centrifugal fan in response to a fan control signal; and
a microcontroller for receiving a temperature signal from a temperature sensor and for generating the fan control signal to adjust an air flow rate in response to the temperature signal.
Duesel, Jr. et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2012/0186451)-which is considered the second closest prior art of record, teaches exhaust gas plume mitigation systems. A gas which flows through and out of a fluid scrubber #122 with liquids and solids removed therefrom exits out of piping or ductwork at the back of the fluid scrubber #122 and flows through an induced draft fan #190, i.e. centrifugal fan, of exhaust assembly #124, from where it is exhausted to the atmosphere in the form of cooled hot inlet gas mixed with evaporated water vapor. Induced draft fan motor #192, i.e. electric motor to drive the centrifugal fan, is connected to and operates the fan #190 to create negative pressure within the fluid scrubber #122 so as to ultimately draw gas from flare #130 through transfer pipe #140, air pre-treatment assembly #119 and concentrator assembly #120 (see figures 2 and 3 and paragraph [0036]). Figure 3 shows a control system #300 which includes a controller #302, i.e. microcontroller, connected to the induced draft fan #190 to control the operation of the fan #190. Moreover, the controller #302 is connected to a temperature sensor #308 which receives a temperature signal generated by the temperature sensor #308. The controller #302 may control the speed of the induced draft fan #190 to control the amount of gas that enters the air pre-treatment assembly #119 from the flare #130. The controller #302 may therefore control the temperature and the amount of gas flowing through the concentrator assembly #120 by controlling the ambient air control valve #306 and the speed of the induced draft fan #190 based on, for example, the measurement of the temperature sensor #308 at the inlet of the concentrator assembly #120. This feedback system is desirable because, in many cases, the air coming out of a flare #130 is between 1200 and 1800 degrees Fahrenheit, which may be too hot, or hotter than required for the concentrator #110 to operate efficiently and effectively (see paragraphs [0038]-[0039]).
The differences between Maldonado, in view of Duesel, and the instant invention is that Maldonado, as modified above, fails to disclose wherein the microcontroller is configured to receive a vent position signal from a vent controller connected to a vent of a room in which the methane conversion reactor is disposed to thereby increase or decrease the air flow rate in response to the vent position signal.
Applicant discloses on paragraph [0022] of published specification that: “Accordingly, the methane conversion reactor (MCR) 10 may operate in conjunction with a ventilation system of a room or building in which the MCR is disposed to regulate the temperature of the room. As shown in FIG. 4, in such an implementation, the ventilation system of the room or building has a vent that enables air and other gases (e.g. carbon dioxide and water vapor) to exit from the room or building, both for temperature management and for ensuring the breathable quality of the air. The vent may be connected to a vent actuator that can open and close the vent as needed. In this example implementation, the microcontroller may optionally be configured to communicate a vent control signal to the vent actuator (connected to the vent of the room in which the methane conversion reactor is disposed) to thereby increase or decrease ventilation based on the temperature signal and a temperature setpoint. The microcontroller may be communicatively connected to a wireless transceiver 80 to communicate wirelessly with the ambient air temperature sensor 34a and the actuator controller 63. Temperature readings may be received wirelessly by the MCR from the ambient air temperature sensor 34a. The microcontroller compares the temperature reading from the ambient air temperature sensor 34a to a temperature setpoint and then adjusts the ventilation to reach the desired setpoint temperature. The setpoint temperature may be set by a user. The microcontroller and wireless transceiver may be used to interface with a smart phone, mobile device or wireless communication device to receive the setpoint temperature from the user. In this implementation, the microcontroller of the MCR controls the ventilation. However, in another implementation, the ventilation may be controlled by a user or its own programmed controller in which case the MCR can receive a signal from the ventilation system to adjust its fan speed based on the ventilations setting. Alternatively, an external thermostat can provide a signal to the MCR to adjust its fan speed based on the thermostat setting. In these latter examples, the MCR receives a signal to adjust its fan speed based upon an external device. Thus, in this alternate implementation, the microcontroller of the MCR can be configured to receive, for example, a vent position signal from a vent controller connected to a vent of a room in which the methane conversion reactor is disposed to thereby increase or decrease the air flow rate in response to the vent position signal.”
There is no reason, motivation or suggestion in Maldonado or Duesel, alone or in combination, which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to have a methane conversion reactor, with the above configuration as claimed by the applicant, in order to arrive at the claimed invention. For this reason, the above claim has been objected as being allowable.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774