DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 12/22/2025.
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 13-18 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 9, 16, 18 has been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 2-4, 10-12, 19 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/22/2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as
“1. (Currently Amended) A wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal, the method comprising :
receiving, from a wireless network node, a measurement configuration including a beam indication; and
receiving at least one reference signal based on the beam indication of the measurement configuration, wherein the measurement configuration comprises:
at least one physical cell indication associated with the beam indication; and
a plurality of periodicities associated with a plurality of physical cells, wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of the plurality of cells wherein the at least one reference signal of each of the plurality of physical cells is received by the wireless terminal based on the corresponding periodicity, and
wherein the at least one reference signal is received by using the beam indication in the plurality of physical cells corresponding to the at least one physical cell indication.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See YANG et al. (US 20230188281 A1; hereinafter as “YANG”).
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, 9, 16, 18 , which draws to (all emphases below added by examiner)
“…...a plurality of periodicities associated with (1) a plurality of physical cells, wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of (2) the plurality of cells wherein the at least one reference signal of each of the plurality of physical cells is received by the wireless terminal based on (3) the corresponding periodicity, ….”.
There are two indefiniteness issues for this part of the claim :
- regarding (1) “the plurality of cells” (line 10 in claim 1) above, it appears to have inadequate antecedent basis, as it’s unclear whether it refers back to (1) “a plurality of physical cells” (Line 9) or something else. . Under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and in the context of the whole claim, the examiner believes Line 10 refers to Line 0, thus recommend to change Line 10 to “the plurality of physical cells”.
(2) regarding “the corresponding periodicity,” [(Lines 12]), it appears to have inadequate antecedent basis, as it’s unclear what is refers back to as “a corresponding periodicity” . The examiner will interpret as best understood by the examiner.
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, 11, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al. (US 20190037426 A1; hereinafter as “YU”) in view of YANG et al. (US 20230188281 A1; hereinafter as “YANG”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to YU unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 1, YU teaches, a wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal (==Fig. 4: UE 402 ) (fig. 4, Fig. 8: Method for use in UE 102; “FIG. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a beam management procedure with beam indication to facilitate UE measurements. ”: [0028] ), the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless network node (==Fig. 4: BS 401 ), a measurement configuration (==beam measurement configuration ) including a beam indication (see fig. 4 element 421; aforesaid UE 402 receives “BEAM MANAGEMENT CONFIGURATION”) from BS 401 “ In step 421, BS 401 provides beam management configuration to UE 402, e.g., via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The beam management configuration comprises CSI-RS resource configuration, and a mapping table between network TX beams and RS resources, etc. ”: [0028] ; also see fig. 8 element 801, ; UE receives “FIG. 8 is a flow chart of a method of beam indication for beam management from UE perspective in accordance with one novel aspect. In step 801, a UE receives a beam management configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a beamforming wireless communication network. The beam management configuration comprises reference signal (RS) resources configurations for beam measurement, reporting configurations for beam measurement, and a mapping table between a list of beam indication index values (==beam indication ) and configured RS resources. ”: [0035]) and
receiving at least one reference signal based on the beam indication of the measurement configuration (see fig. 4 element 431, “ In step 431, BS 401 performs beam management procedure based on the RRC configuration and transmits downlink reference signals to UE 402 using the configured RS resource …. BS 401 also transmits beam indication information to UE 402. Based on the reference signal transmission and the beam indication information, UE 402 performs corresponding measurements on the transmissions for its RSRP and/or CSI metric (step 432). ”; [0028]; see fig. 8 element 802; “In step 802, the UE performs UE measurements in accordance with a UE measurement procedure by using a set of UE beams. The UE measurement procedure is determined based on the beam management configuration and whether or not a beam indication index signaling is received explicitly. The set of UE beams is determined based whether or not the beam indication index signaling is received explicitly. In one example, the beam indication index signaling comprises one or more beam indication index(es) indicating one or more beam pair links to be used as spatial filtering reference for subsequent beam measurements. The mapping table provides corresponding RS resources of the one or more beam indication index(es). ”: [0035]);
wherein the measurement configuration (==beam measurement configuration ) comprises ; at least one physical cell indication associated with the beam indication ( “… UE receives Beam Management Configuration from eNB (see fig. 4 element 401 element 421, [0035, 0028)). Aforesaid Beam Management Configuration (measurement configuration in claim), also include reference signal (RS) ([0028], 0035]). In paragraphs 0035, YU teaches that “a periodic beam reference signal (RS) resource set can be configured (==Beam Management Configuration as shown above)”” ([0029]). Aforesaid Beam Management Configuration is shown for “each cell” (==physical cell indication ) ([0028]), Thus Beam Management Configuration (==measurement configuration in claim) has periodicity of reference signal (RS) for each particular cell : [0027]-[0029]; “ BS 101 is directionally configured with multiple cells, and each cell is covered by a set of TX/RX beams.”: [0020] ).
YU does not expressively disclose:
a plurality of periodicities associated with a plurality of physical cells,
wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of the plurality of cells, wherein the at least one reference signal of each of the plurality of physical cells is received by the wireless terminal based on the corresponding periodicity, and
wherein the at least one reference signal is received by using the beam indication in the plurality of physical cells corresponding to the at least one physical cell indication.
YANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses: a plurality of periodicities associated with a plurality of physical cells (UE receives “ indication information, where the indication information is used for indicating a periodicity and a position of the reference signal”: [0134]; aforesaid UE’s measurement module “configured to: perform L1 measurement on the reference signal of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP within a measurement time configuration of the reference signal; or perform L1 measurement on the reference signal of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP within and outside a measurement time configuration of the reference signal.”: [0135]; UE receives from network node SSS periodicity of servicing cell and neighboring cells : [0037]-[0038]);
wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of the plurality of cells ,
wherein the at least one reference signal of each of the plurality of physical cells is received by the wireless terminal based on the corresponding periodicity (UE receives from network node SSS periodicity of servicing cell and neighboring cells : [0037]-[0038]); UE receives Reference signal for serving cell and neighboring cells : [0038]-[0041]);
wherein the at least one reference signal is received by using the beam indication in the plurality of physical cells corresponding to the at least one physical cell indication ( “ terminal may perform L1 measurement on the reference signal of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP based on a measurement restriction condition to obtain a measurement result, and send the measurement result to the network side device”: [0036]; “configuration information of the .. control channel for scheduling the reference signal includes the identifier information of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP.”: “ The Layer 1 (L1) beam measurement mentioned in the embodiments of this specification includes at least one of the following: layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement; layer 1 Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR) measurement; layer 1 Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement; beam failure measurement for beam failure recovery; and candidate beam measurement for beam failure recovery.”: [0054]-[0055]; “ The CSI-RS of the first cell is used for L1 beam measurement, and the SSB of the second cell is used for at least one of the following: RLM/BFD/CBD/L1 beam measurement.”: [0101], [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YU to include the above recited limitations as taught by YANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to ensure implementing beam management techniques on the UE side and on the network side for better cell handover : (YANG: [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, YU teaches, A wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node (fig. 4, Fig. 8: Methos on BS 401 in fig. 4), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless terminal (==UE 402 in fig. 4), a measurement configuration (==beam measurement configuration ) including a beam indication ((==beam measurement configuration ) including a beam indication (see fig. 4 element 421; aforesaid UE 402 receives “BEAM MANAGEMENT CONFIGURATION”) from BS 401 “ In step 421, BS 401 provides beam management configuration to UE 402, e.g., via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The beam management configuration comprises CSI-RS resource configuration, and a mapping table between network TX beams and RS resources, etc. ”: [0028] ; also see fig. 8 element 801, ; UE receives “FIG. 8 is a flow chart of a method of beam indication for beam management from UE perspective in accordance with one novel aspect. In step 801, a UE receives a beam management configuration by a user equipment (UE) in a beamforming wireless communication network. The beam management configuration comprises reference signal (RS) resources configurations for beam measurement, reporting configurations for beam measurement, and a mapping table between a list of beam indication index values (==beam indication ) and configured RS resources. ”: [0035]) and
transmitting at least one reference signal based on the beam indication of the measurement configuration (see fig. 4 element 431, “ In step 431, BS 401 performs beam management procedure based on the RRC configuration and transmits downlink reference signals to UE 402 using the configured RS resource …. BS 401 also transmits beam indication information to UE 402. Based on the reference signal transmission and the beam indication information, UE 402 performs corresponding measurements on the transmissions for its RSRP and/or CSI metric (step 432). ”; [0028]; see fig. 8 element 802; “In step 802, the UE performs UE measurements in accordance with a UE measurement procedure by using a set of UE beams. The UE measurement procedure is determined based on the beam management configuration and whether or not a beam indication index signaling is received explicitly. The set of UE beams is determined based whether or not the beam indication index signaling is received explicitly. In one example, the beam indication index signaling comprises one or more beam indication index(es) indicating one or more beam pair links to be used as spatial filtering reference for subsequent beam measurements. The mapping table provides corresponding RS resources of the one or more beam indication index(es). ”: [0035]);
wherein the measurement configuration (==beam measurement configuration ) comprises ; at least one physical cell indication associated with the beam indication ( “… UE receives Beam Management Configuration from eNB (see fig. 4 element 401 element 421, [0035, 0028)). Aforesaid Beam Management Configuration (measurement configuration in claim), also include reference signal (RS) ([0028], 0035]). In paragraphs 0035, YU teaches that “a periodic beam reference signal (RS) resource set can be configured (==Beam Management Configuration as shown above)”” ([0029]). Aforesaid Beam Management Configuration is shown for “each cell” (==physical cell indication ) ([0028]), Thus Beam Management Configuration (==measurement configuration in claim) has periodicity of reference signal (RS) for each particular cell : [0027]-[0029]; “ BS 101 is directionally configured with multiple cells, and each cell is covered by a set of TX/RX beams.”: [0020] ).
YU does not expressively disclose:
a plurality of periodicities associated with a plurality of physical cells,
wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of the plurality of cells, wherein the at least one reference signal of each of the plurality of physical cells is received by the wireless terminal based on the corresponding periodicity, and
wherein the at least one reference signal is received by using the beam indication in the plurality of physical cells corresponding to the at least one physical cell indication.
YANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
a plurality of periodicities associated with a plurality of physical cells (UE receives “ indication information, where the indication information is used for indicating a periodicity and a position of the reference signal”: [0134]; aforesaid UE’s measurement module “configured to: perform L1 measurement on the reference signal of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP within a measurement time configuration of the reference signal; or perform L1 measurement on the reference signal of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP within and outside a measurement time configuration of the reference signal.”: [0135]; UE receives from network node SSS periodicity of servicing cell and neighboring cells : [0037]-[0038]);
wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of the plurality of cells ,
wherein the at least one reference signal of each of the plurality of physical cells is received by the wireless terminal based on the corresponding periodicity (UE receives from network node SSS periodicity of servicing cell and neighboring cells : [0037]-[0038]); UE receives Reference signal for serving cell and neighboring cells : [0038]-[0041]);
wherein the at least one reference signal is received by using the beam indication in the plurality of physical cells corresponding to the at least one physical cell indication ( “ terminal may perform L1 measurement on the reference signal of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP based on a measurement restriction condition to obtain a measurement result, and send the measurement result to the network side device”: [0036]; “configuration information of the .. control channel for scheduling the reference signal includes the identifier information of the neighboring cell/neighboring TRP.”: “ The Layer 1 (L1) beam measurement mentioned in the embodiments of this specification includes at least one of the following: layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) measurement; layer 1 Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio (SINR) measurement; layer 1 Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement; beam failure measurement for beam failure recovery; and candidate beam measurement for beam failure recovery.”: [0054]-[0055]; “ The CSI-RS of the first cell is used for L1 beam measurement, and the SSB of the second cell is used for at least one of the following: RLM/BFD/CBD/L1 beam measurement.”: [0101], [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YU to include the above recited limitations as taught by YANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to ensure implementing beam management techniques on the UE side and on the network side for better cell handover : (YANG: [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, YU teaches, A wireless terminal (see fig. 4: UE 402, Fig. 2 UE 202 : [0026]), comprising :
at least one processor (fig. 202: UE 202 with processors 233 : [0026]) , and
a memory, which is configured to store at least one program (fig. 2: UE 202 with Memory 214 with program 215 [0026]) ;
wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor (program executed in processor and memory: [0026]), enables the at least one processor to:
receive, from a wireless network node, a measurement configuration including a beam indication; and receive at least one reference signal based on the beam indication of the measurement configuration, wherein the measurement configuration comprises:
at least one physical cell indication associated with the beam indication; and
a plurality of periodicities associated with a plurality of physical cells, wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of the plurality of cells,
wherein the at least one reference signal is received by using the beam indication in the plurality of physical cells corresponding to the at least one physical cell indication
(Regarding rest of claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 18, YU teaches, A wireless network node (==BS 401 in fig. 4, Fig. 2: 201: BS ), comprising :
at least one processor (fig. 2: BS 201 with Processor 213: [0026]), and
a memory, which is configured to store at least one program (fig. 2: BS 201 with MEMORY 214 with program 215 : [0026]),;
wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor ([0026]-[0028]), enables the at least one processor to:
transmit, to a wireless terminal, a measurement configuration including a beam indication; and transmit at least one reference signal based on the beam indication of the measurement configuration, wherein the measurement configuration comprises: at least one physical cell indication associated with the beam indication; and a plurality of periodicities associated with a plurality of physical cells, wherein each of the plurality of periodicities is corresponding to one of the plurality of cells, wherein the at least one reference signal is transmitted by using the beam indication in the plurality of physical cells corresponding to the at least one physical cell indication ( Regarding rest of claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9).
With respect to dependence claim:
Regarding claim 5, YU in view of YANG teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YU teaches, The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the measurement configuration is received in at least one of a system information block, an information element in a higher layer signaling or a narrowband internet-of-things system information block ( “FIG. 4 illustrates a sequence flow of a beam management procedure with beam indication to facilitate UE measurements. BS 401 is directionally configured with multiple cells, and each cell is covered by a set of TX/RX control beams. Initially, UE 402 performs scanning, beam selection, and synchronization with BS 401 using the control beams, which include pre-defined or pre-configured sequences for UE to identify its existence. In step 411, BS 401 and UE 402 establish a data connection over a trained dedicated data beam based on a beam training operation (e.g., after performing synchronization, random access, and RRC connection establishment). In step 421, BS 401 provides beam management configuration to UE 402, e.g., via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. The beam management configuration comprises CSI-RS resource configuration, and a mapping table between network TX beams and RS resources, etc. In step 431, BS 401 performs beam management procedure based on the RRC configuration and transmits downlink reference signals to UE 402 using the configured RS resource and over the same or different TX beams ”: [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, YU in view of YANG teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YU teaches, teaches, The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the beam indication comprises at least one of a beam index, a synchronization signal block index, a bandwidth part index, a channel state information reference signal index, a narrow-band internet-of-things system information block index, an anchor carrier index, a non- anchor carrier index or a cell reference signal index (see fig. 4: Fig. 6: Beam Index : [abstract]; BS “provides beam indication index to UE 102 via MAC-CE or DCI. ”: [0022]; [0028]-[0029]; “ FIG. 6 illustrates examples of beam indication indexes and its relationship with RS resources. In general, beam indication indexes are mapped to RS resource sets, which are configured for beam management procedures via RRC signaling. The beam indication index provides spatial quasi-co-location (QCL) information. From UE perspective, the beam indication index informs UE to relate its reception with a previous measurement or report experience. For example, the beam indication index can be used to associate corresponding RS transmission with a previous measurement or used to associate corresponding RS measurement with a previous report. From NW perspective, the beam indication index relates a NW transmission with a previous NW transmission experience. A beam indication index value is a shortened representation of RS resource indication in UE's measurement report. The beam indication index assures an anchoring behavior in a way that if UE can receive a previous transmission indicated by the beam indication index, then UE can assume the same receiving method for new transmission associated with the beam indication index. ”: [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, YU in view of YANG teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YU teaches, The wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring the at least one reference signal according to the measurement configuration (see fig. 2-3: measuring reference signal according to measurement configuration information : [0174], “ S203: The first UE measures a first reference signal and/or a second reference signal based on the measurement configuration information.”: [0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of YU to include the above recited limitations as taught by YANG. The suggestion/motivation would be to ensure communication quality of the millimetric wave: (YANG; [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, YU in view of YANG teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, YU teaches, the invention of claim 7 as set forth above. Further, YU teaches The wireless communication method of claim 7, further comprising: transmitting, to the wireless network node, at least one measurement result of measuring the at least one reference signal (see fig. 4 element 432, 441, : BEAM MEASUREMENT and BEAM REPORTING to BS “UE 402 performs corresponding measurements on the transmissions for its RSRP and/or CSI metric (step 432). In step 441, UE 402 transmits beam report to BS 401. ”: [0028] ).
Regarding claim 17, YU in view of YANG teaches the invention of claim 16 as set forth above. Further, YU teaches, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one physical cell indication associated with the beam indication (UE receives Cell ID from TP/TRP : [0133]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411