DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 06 Jan 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 15-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pump (claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “gas delivery unit” in claim 1.
The corresponding structure for the “gas delivery unit” is best understood from the specification as at least: gas delivery unit 112 is configured to use valves and/or pressure regulators to control the pressure, flow rate, and/or gas composition of the gas (¶0038 of the PGPub copy of the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doyle et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0123979).
Regarding claim 1, Doyle discloses a mechanical ventilator system (Fig. 1) comprising: a sensor (Fig. 1 #107; ¶¶0035, 0038, 0058, 0060) configured to measure a neurological parameter; a memory device (Fig. 1 #112) storing a closed loop control algorithm (e.g. Figs. 2-6 – looped controls related to patient’s signals) that relates neurological parameter values to ventilation modes including a mandatory breath mode (¶¶0202-0209), a spontaneous breath mode (¶¶0212-0213), and a mixed mode (¶¶0212, 0214); a mechanical ventilator (Fig. 1 #100; ¶0043) including a gas delivery unit (Fig. 1 #102, 104, 108; ¶¶0045-0047) configured to control a flow of gas from at least one gas source to a patient; and a processor (Fig. 1 #116) communicatively coupled to the sensor, the memory device, and the gas delivery unit, the processor configured to: receive respiratory treatment settings for a patient (¶¶0053-0054 – required for operation), at least one of the respiratory treatment settings specifying one of the ventilation modes as a programmed ventilation mode (¶0056 – operator selection), control the gas delivery unit to administer a respiratory treatment according to the treatment settings including the programmed ventilation mode (standard operation), receive a signal from the sensor (¶0060), determine a neurological parameter value from the signal (¶¶0035, 0038, 0058, 0060, 0085-0088, 0110 – fatigue indicator from work of breathing and/or bispectral index), use the closed loop control algorithm and the neurological parameter value to determine the programmed ventilation mode is to be adjusted to another one of the ventilation modes as an adjusted ventilation mode (e.g. Fig. 3C #216; ¶¶0355-0366 – based on fatigue indicator), and control the gas delivery unit to administer the respiratory treatment according to the adjusted ventilation mode (Fig. 3C #216 – mode changed). The portions of Doyle cited herein are meant to be representative of the invention of Doyle and are not to be construed as limiting on the possible reading of further passages on the claim(s).
Regarding claim 7, Doyle discloses the mandatory breath mode includes at least one of an assisted/controlled mechanical ventilation ("A/CMV") mode, a volume control ("VC") mode, a pressure control ("PC") mode, a pressure regulated volume control ("PRVC") mode, and a mode analog to one of these modes (¶¶0202-0209), the spontaneous breath mode includes at least one of a continuous positive airway pressure ("CAPC") mode, a pressure support ventilation ("PSV") mode, a volume support ventilation ("VS") mode, a proportional assist ventilation ("PAV") mode, a high flow oxygen therapy ("HFOT") mode, and a mode analog to one of these modes (¶¶0212-0213), and the mixed mode includes at least one of a synchronized intermittent mechanical ventilation ("SIMV") mode, a bilevel positive airway pressure ("BiPAP") mode, and a mode analog to one of these modes (¶¶0212, 0214).
Regarding claim 8, Doyle discloses the sensor is remote from the mechanical ventilator (¶¶0035, 0038, 0048, 0058, 0060 – attached to the body of the patient) and communicatively coupled to the processor via at least one of a directed wired connection, a wireless connection, or a network connection (¶0049 – the sensor must either be wired or wireless).
Regarding claim 14, Doyle discloses the processor and the memory device are one of: separate from the mechanical ventilator; or included within the mechanical ventilator (Fig. 1; ¶0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doyle et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0123979) in view of Lacey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0395665).
Regarding claim 2, Doyle discloses a bispectral index ("BIS") value (¶¶0058, 0110), wherein the adjusted ventilation mode is the mandatory breath mode (Fig. 3 #216; ¶¶0357-0358 – changed to mandatory mode when patient fatigued), and wherein the processor is configured to switch to the mandatory breath mode when the BIS value falls below a threshold (¶¶0086, 0110 – below normal).
Doyle fails to discloses (i) the sensor includes electroencephalogram ("EEG") sensors to determine the BIS value as the neurological parameter value, or (ii) the sensor includes a BIS monitor that provides the BIS value based on measured EEG signals. Doyle is sent as to whether the BIS value is determined from a measured EEG signal.
Lacey teaches an anesthesia system and teaches it is known in the art to determine a BIS value with a BIS monitor which analyzes the complexity of electroencephalographic (EEG) data (¶0003).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Doyle the sensor includes a BIS monitor that provides the BIS value based on measured EEG signals in order to have specified how the BIS value in Doyle is determined based on the known technique in the art of determining a BIS value with a BIS monitor which analyzes the complexity of electroencephalographic (EEG) data in view of Lacey.
Regarding claim 3, Doyle teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches the threshold is
Regarding claim 4, Doyle teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious the processor is further configured to, after switching to the mandatory breath mode, refrain from performing at least one of: a spontaneous breath trial (¶0229 – no breath trial during rest time), a P0.1 measurement using a pressure sensor of the mechanical ventilatorbreath mode. The claim does not require the P0.1 measurement to need to be performed at any other point in time.
Regarding claim 5, Doyle teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious the adjusted ventilation mode is the mixed mode or the spontaneous breath mode (Fig. 3 #216; ¶¶0357-0360 – changed away from mandatory mode when patient no longer fatigued), and wherein the processor is configured to switch to the mixed mode or the spontaneous breath mode when the BIS value rises above the threshold (¶¶0086, 0110 – rising to be at least normal after having been below normal while fatigued).
Regarding claim 6, Doyle teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious the processor is further configured to, after switching to the mixed mode or the spontaneous breath mode, perform at least one of: a spontaneous breath trial (¶0360 – return setting operation will test for a spontaneous breath when returned to spontaneous mode), a P0.1 measurement using a pressure sensor of the mechanical ventilator (¶0058 – a P0.1 measurement can be performed)
Regarding claim 9, Doyle discloses a bispectral index ("BIS") value (¶¶0058, 0110), wherein the adjusted ventilation mode is the mandatory breath mode (Fig. 3 #216; ¶¶0357-0358 – changed to mandatory mode when patient fatigued), and wherein the processor is configured to switch to the mandatory breath mode when the BIS value falls below a threshold (¶¶0086, 0110 – below normal).
Doyle fails to disclose the sensor includes a train-of-four ("TOF") monitor and the processor is configured to determine, from the signal, a neuromuscular value as the neurological parameter value, and wherein the processor is configured to switch to the mandatory breath mode when the neuromuscular value is indicative of muscular paralysis.
Lacey teaches an anesthesia system and teaches it is known in the art to measure depth of anesthesia of a patient using either of a BIS monitor or a train-of-four monitor (¶¶0003, 0027). Lacey thus teaches that a train-of-four monitor would have been considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious design choice alternative to a BIS monitor.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Doyle the sensor includes a train-of-four ("TOF") monitor and the processor is configured to determine, from the signal, a neuromuscular value as the neurological parameter value based upon an obvious design choice in the art to select between a BIS monitor or a train-of-four monitor when desired to measure depth of anesthesia of a patient in view of Lacey. As Doyle teaches switching to the mandatory breath mode when the BIS value is below normal (¶¶0086, 0110) one of ordinary skill in the art would have obvious expected the value determined from the train-of-four monitor to cause a switching to the mandatory breath mode when it similarly showed a high depth of sedation, particularly a level indicative of muscular paralysis.
Regarding claim 10, Doyle teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious the processor is further configured to, after switching to the mandatory breath mode, refrain from performing at least one of: a spontaneous breath trial (¶0229 – no breath trial during rest time), a P0.1 measurement using a pressure sensor of the mechanical ventilator
Regarding claim 11, Doyle teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious the adjusted ventilation mode is the mixed mode or the spontaneous breath mode (Fig. 3 #216; ¶¶0357-0360 – changed away from mandatory mode when patient no longer fatigued), and wherein the processor is configured to switch to the mixed mode or the spontaneous breath mode when the neuromuscular value is indicative of patient muscular activity (¶¶0086, 0110 – rising to be at least normal after having been below normal while fatigued, will similarly apply to train-of-four measure as to BIS as both are measures of sedation).
Regarding claim 12, Doyle teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious the processor is further configured to, after switching to the mixed mode or the spontaneous breath mode, perform at least one of: a spontaneous breath trial (¶0360 – return setting operation will test for a spontaneous breath when returned to spontaneous mode), a P0.1 measurement using a pressure sensor of the mechanical ventilator (¶0058 – a P0.1 measurement can be performed).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doyle et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0123979) in view of Zhan (U.S. Pub. 2017/0367619).
Regarding claim 13, Doyle discloses the gas delivery unit (e.g. Fig. 1 #104, 108) includes a gas inlet (Fig. 1 from #106) fluidly coupled to the at least one gas source (Fig. 1 #106), a
Doyle fails to disclose a humidifier.
Zhan teaches that during CPAP treatment a humidifier can be included to minimize drying of the nasal mucosa and increase patient airway comfort, particularly in cooler climates (¶0017).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Doyle a humidifier in order to provide the benefit of minimizing drying of the nasal mucosa and increasing patient airway comfort, particularly in cooler climates, when using the ventilator in a CPAP mode in view of Zhan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references. Regarding claim 1 further attention is specifically drawn to Buldeo (U.S. Pub. 2022/0331549) and its teaching of using EEG to control switching between ventilation modes (e.g. ¶¶0065-0067).
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785