DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 and 16-20 in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged with appreciation. Accordingly, claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 17/906,770 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and the reference claims are directed to the same subject matter, which is a composite fiber comprising a porous silicon phase and a carbon phase wherein the silicon phase and the carbon phase form an intertwined network structure in the composite fiber such that each of the silicon phase and the carbon phase is interconnected and continuous throughout the composite fibers and wherein the silicon phase and the carbon phase together constitute at least 50 wt% of the composite fiber.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakshaug (US-2020/0152983).
Claim 1: Sakshaug teaches Si-C composite fibers comprising a silicon phase and a porous carbon phase; the silicon phase is also porous (Sakshaug, para. 0317). Sakshaug teaches making the composite fiber Park comprising infiltrating porous carbon fibers by chemical vapor deposition (“CVD”) of a silicon-based compound gas (e.g. silane, disilane, trisilane, tetrasilane, chlorosilane…) (Sakshaug, para. 0237 & 0251) to fill into the pores and onto the surface of the porous carbon (para. 0326). The method of Sakshaug is similar to the method described in the instant specification at paragraphs 0023-0025. In addition, Sakshaug states that the method provides advantages to “producing homogeneous silicon-composite particles” (para. 0250, emphasis added). Therefore, it is necessarily inherent that the silicon phase and the carbon phase form an intertwined network structure in the composite fiber such that each of the silicon phase and the carbon phase is interconnected and continuous throughout the composite fiber. With regards to the proportions of the silicon phase and carbon phase, Sakshaug teaches that the content of silicon in the composite fiber can range from 75% to 85% (para. 0337) which falls within the claimed range of at least 75 wt%, and carbon content of 30-40 wt% (para. 0378) which falls within the claimed range of 20 to 60 wt%, and based on the aforementioned proportions, the two phases constitute at least 50 wt% of the composite fiber. The silicon crystallites having an average size of 50 nm or less (para. 0537) which falls within the claimed range of 15 to 50 nm;
Claim 2: Sakshaug teaches the composite fiber having a surface area of 10 to 50 m2/g (para. 0348) which meets the claimed range of 0.1 to 0.45 m2/g; and a pore volume 0.01 to 0.2 cm3/g (para. 0340) which falls within the claimed range of up to 0.25 cm³/g. In particular, Composite samples 9, 58 and 59 with SSA of 10, 15, and 12 m2/g, respectively; and pore volume (PV) of 0.016, 0.026 and 0.02 cm3/g, respectively (Page 42, para. 0431, Table 7) fall within the claimed ranges of SSA and PV.
Claim 3: Sakshaug teaches the composite fiber having an average pore size of less than 100 nm (para. 0365) which meets the claimed range of 5 to 80 nm.
Claim 16: Sakshaug teaches an electrode active material comprising the composite fiber (Page 68).
Other Prior Art References
The electrode of Sakshaug produces lower capacity (less than 1000 mAh/g) than the claimed electrode.
PARK (US-2022/0293945): Park teaches a composite fiber comprising a porous silicon phase comprising elemental silicon; a porous carbon phase comprising elemental carbon (Park, para. 0015, 0024). With regards to the structure of the composite fiber, the method of Park comprises chemical vapor deposition of a silicon-based compound gas onto porous carbon based particle (Park, para. 0054-0064). The method of park is similar to the method described in the instant specification at paragraphs 0023-0025. In addition, Park states that the silicon-based compound gas (e.g. silane) filled in the pores and/or onto the surface of the porous carbon (Park, para. 0062). Therefore, it is necessarily inherent that the silicon phase and the carbon phase form an intertwined network structure in the composite fiber such that each of the silicon phase and the carbon phase is interconnected and continuous throughout the composite fiber. However, Park teaches against silicon crystallites having an average size of larger than 7 nm because it could easily cause cracks when making an electrode (i.e. anode) material (Park, para. 0038).
HOA (Holly) LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788