Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daikoku et al (US 2011/0244740) in view of Korcz et al (US 20140238738) and Marek (US 5371454) and Gretz (US 7009110). With respect to claim 21, Daikoku et al disclose the basic claimed structure including an electric unit for an electrically powered watercraft with an electric box 68 including a side wall, a battery box 62a (note Figure 6C) with an electric component 66 attached to an inner surface of the side wall. Not disclosed by Daikoku et al is a detachable top cover for the electrical box and side wall of sheet metal bent at right angles and the battery box being separate from the electrical box. Marek teaches battery boxes 152, 154 separate from an electrical box 10. Korcz et al teach a detachable top cover 20 for an electrical box 10 and sheet metal (paragraph 0047; steel) sides bent at right angles (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Daikoku et al with a detachable top cover as taught by Korcz et al with a high likelihood of success for ease of access for maintenance, repair and replacement of parts and to have side walls of sheet metal with right angles with a high likelihood of success for ease of manufacture, safety and durability and to separate the battery box from the electrical box as taught by Marek with a high likelihood of success for improved safety. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. It is noted that the electrically powered watercraft has been given weight in the claims because of the watercraft components including but limited to an electrical box, a battery box and an electric component give the watercraft life and meaning. Further Daikoku et al do not disclose an open bottom. Gretz teaches an electrical box with an open bottom (note the Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Daikoku et al with an open bottom as taught by Gretz with a high likelihood of success for ease of cable routing and improved mounting and draining of water. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Additionally, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing electrical boxes in a marine environment before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have some years of experience and would be familiar with various electrical box configuration and would have found the above combinations to have been obvious.
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are allowed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615