DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “driving unit” in claims 1, 4 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korus et al. (20210204612). Korus et al. discloses (claim 1) an electromagnetic induction heating apparatus for heating an aerosol-forming article of an electronic cigarette (Fig. 1), comprising: a power supply unit 104 configured to supply DC power; a power amplifier Fig. 2 including: a switch unit composed of a pair of transistor switches M1,M2 having a differential structure and operating by receiving the DC power from the power supply unit 104, and a LC resonant network composed of a resonant inductor 158 connected to an output terminal of the switch unit and electromagnetically inductively coupled with an inductor component of a heat-generating body 116 for heating the aerosol-forming article of the electronic cigarette and a resonant capacitor 156 connected in parallel to the resonant inductor 158; and a driving unit 110 configured to adjust an operation of the power amplifier to adjust a temperature of the heat-generating body (paragraph [0052] “…The control circuitry 106 may comprise means for monitoring the temperature of components of the device 100…”).
Regarding claim 2, Korus et al. disclose that the power amplifier is a current mode class-D power amplifier (Fig. 2), and the switch unit constituting the power amplifier is configured to induce resonance of the LC resonant network to transfer power to the heat-generating body 116.
Regarding claim 3, Korus et al. disclose that the power amplifier further includes a first choke inductor 161 installed between a drain of a first transistor switch M1 constituting the switch unit and the power supply unit V and a second choke inductor 162 installed between a drain of a second transistor switch M2 constituting the switch unit and the power supply unit V, and the LC resonant network 158 is connected to the drain of the first transistor switch M1 and the drain of the second transistor switch M2.
Regarding claim 4, Korus et al. discloses that the driving unit is configured to estimate a change in temperature of the heat-generating body by calculating a change in resistance value of the heat-generating body according to a voltage of the LC resonant network (paragraph [0111] “…The temperature determiner 106 determines a temperature of the susceptor arrangement 110 based on a frequency that the resonant circuit 150 is being driven at, a DC current from the DC voltage supply V1 and a DC voltage of the DC voltage supply V1…”), and control the operation of the power amplifier according to the estimated change in temperature (paragraphs [0111]-[0131]).
Regarding claim 6, Korus et al. discloses that the driving unit is configured to calculate a change in resistance value of the heat- generating body according to a current used by the power amplifier (paragraph [0111] “…The temperature determiner 106 determines a temperature of the susceptor arrangement 110 based on a frequency that the resonant circuit 150 is being driven at, a DC current from the DC voltage supply V1 and a DC voltage of the DC voltage supply V1…”) and control the operation of the power amplifier according to the calculated change in resistance value (paragraphs [0111]-[0131]).
Regarding claim 8, Korus et al. discloses that an operating frequency of the pair of transistor switches M1,M2 constituting the switch unit is approximately 0.1 MHz to approximately 27.283 MHz (paragraph [0101]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korus et al., as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Stura et al. (20200128878). Korus et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter further including that the power supply unit includes a DC battery. Korus et al. does not disclose that the DC battery is rechargeable.
Stura et al. teaches for an electromagnetic induction heating apparatus for heating an aerosol-forming article of an electronic cigarette (Fig. 1), comprising: a power supply unit 11 configured to supply DC power and that the power supply unit includes a rechargeable DC battery 110 for the purposes of providing a more sustainable and cost-effective alternative to disposable batteries. See Stura et al. paragraph [0057].
Since Korus et al. and Stura et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Stura et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Korus et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the power supply unit of Korus et al to include a rechargeable DC battery for the purposes of providing a more sustainable and cost-effective alternative to disposable batteries.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other electromagnetic induction heating apparatus for heating an aerosol-forming article of electronic cigarettes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvement comprises (claims 5 and 7) a switch driver configured to generate a switch driving signal for differentially driving the pair of transistor switches constituting the switch unit according to the heat-generating body temperature control signal received from the MCU.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
December 11, 2025