DETAILED ACTION
In amendments date 07/01/2026, applicant(s) amended claims 1, 2, 12 and 13; and cancelled claim 2. Claims 1 and 3 – 13 are still pending in this application. A portion of the limitations from the cancelled claim 2 into claim 1 is now partially re-arranged to be broader (loose).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 - 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "the data" in line 13 should be "data" while "data" in line 15 should be "the data". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: "the data" in lines 9 - 10 should be "data" while "data" in line 13 should be "the data". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: "the data" in lines 8 - 9 should be "data" while "data" in line 12 should be "the data". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2017/0116503 A1, previously cited in an Office Action filed on 09/19/2025, hereinafter ‘Kawabata’) in view of Takeya (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2010/0079803 A1, hereinafter ‘Takeya’) and further in view of Higashi et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2012/0063801 A1, hereinafter ‘Higashi’).
With respect to claim 1, Kawabata teaches an image forming apparatus (e.g., an image forming apparatus, ¶0016) comprising: a processor (i.e., a central processing unit (CPU) 201, ¶0045), wherein the processor is configured to: acquire operational log data about an operating procedure of a user who issues an instruction to perform image formation processing and display the operating procedure, in a case where a trouble occurs in the image formation processing and an instruction is issued to acquire the operational log data (e.g., acquire log information from all image forming process including printing data issued from a personal computer (PC) and display operation procedure image(s), in a case when a trouble/error/failure occurs in said image forming apparatus and an operation designating log collection executed to collect the log information, ¶0016, ¶0020, ¶0038, ¶0096, ¶00098 - ¶0099); cause the user to select whether or not the operating procedure is appropriate (e.g., cause a user to select whether or not the operating procedure is corresponding, ¶0060, ¶0067, ¶0075, ¶0080 - ¶0082, Fig. 4); and output data for trouble analysis according to a result of the selection of the user (e.g., display an operation procedure upon determining if the operation procedure is the corresponding, ¶0053, ¶0072, ¶0080, ¶0082, Figs. 8 - 9); but fails to teach
that said operational log data is acquired to be performed on said image forming apparatus by a user who issues an instruction to perform image formation processing; and
that said operating procedure is matched with the operations performed on the image forming apparatus, and wherein in a case where the selection of the user is that the operating procedure does not match with the operations performed on the image forming apparatus by the user, the processor is configured to receive the appropriate operating procedure selected by the user and output the data for the trouble analysis including the received operating procedure.
However, with respect to above difference a), and in the same field of endeavor of troubleshooting or maintenance operation(s) to resolve trouble/failure(s), Takeya teaches acquiring operation log data about an operation procedure performed on the image forming apparatus by a user who issue an instruction (e.g. obtain history information, as log data, that represents history of all apparatus operations of basis of at least a generated image data; the generated image data is issued/executed by the user, abstract, ¶0003, ¶0008, ¶0056, ¶0064 - ¶0066, ¶0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming apparatus of Kawabata as taught by Takeya since Takeya suggested within abstract, ¶0003, ¶0008, ¶0056, ¶0064 - ¶0066 and ¶0076 that such modification of obtaining/reading/acquiring history information of all maintenance operations made would collect useful information previously executed/issued in order to specify reason of all sorts of trouble occurring in the image forming apparatus.
Kawabata, modified by Takeya, fails to teach above difference b). However, also in the same field of endeavor of troubleshooting or maintenance operations to resolve trouble/failure(s), the remaining claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Higashi. In particular, Higashi teaches:
that said operating procedure is matched with the operations performed on the image forming apparatus (e.g., if an operation procedure is up to date (e.g., in terms of matched or corresponding) with operations executed on an image forming apparatus, ¶0043, ¶0086), and wherein in a case where the selection of the user is that the operating procedure does not match with the operations performed on the image forming apparatus by the user, the processor is configured to receive the appropriate operating procedure selected by the user and output the data for the trouble analysis including the received operating procedure (e.g., in a case when a user performs operation by moving (e.g., by “selecting”) an image among plurality of moving images; in a middle of supplying the plurality of moving image, a supplemental image corresponding to an apparatus state is displayed; the supplemental image is displayed when “detection result” doesn’t match with guidance image, ¶0057, ¶0069 - ¶0073, ¶0092, ¶0110 - ¶0113 & ¶0124).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming apparatus of Kawabata in view of Takeya as taught by Higashi since Higashi suggested within ¶0057, ¶0069 - ¶0073, ¶0092, ¶0110 - ¶0113 & ¶0124 that such modification of having the step of Higashi into the step of Kawabata in view of Takeya would reduce number of necessary moving image data in order to prevent user’s confusion about operation much as possible.
With respect to claim 3, Kawabata in view of Takeya and further in view of Higashi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: output the data for the trouble analysis including the operational log data in a case where the selection of the user is that the operating procedure is appropriate (e.g., when it’s determined that the selected operating procedure image is the corresponding, then display the operation procedure according to the operation procedure image selected, ¶0080 - ¶0082).
With respect to claims 4 - 6, Kawabata in view of Takeya and further in view of Higashi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1 – 3, respectively, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire the operational log data including the operating procedure performed in a specified period including at least a period from the occurrence of the trouble to the instruction to acquire the operational log data (e.g., a “Period-designated log collection” is an operation procedure image for requiring an operator to collect log information for a designated period. “Time-designated log collection” is an operation procedure image for requiring an operator to collect log information for a designated time, ¶0091).
With respect to claim 7, Kawabata in view of Takeya and further in view of Higashi teaches the image forming apparatus according to any one of claims 1, wherein the processor is configured to: display a question for the trouble analysis; receive an answer to the question; and output the question and the received answer which are included in the data for the trouble analysis (e.g., design choice: it would any text with a question mark to the text shown (Fig. 6 – element 71) in any operation procedure image in order to request the user/operator responds (answer to the ‘confirmation’ of please; if arguable, then Kodimer, cited in an IDS filed on 02/15/2024, teaches displaying a question for diagnosis and resolution; and receiving an answer to the question; and displaying the question and the received answer which are included in a chat while diagnosing and finding a resolution.).
With respect to claim 8, Kawabata in view of Takeya and further in view of Higashi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the question is a question about an operation performed by the user in a period before and after a time point at which the trouble occurs (e.g. the user/operator can confirm by responding in order to retrieve a period-designated log collection or a time-designated log collection, ¶0090, Fig. 9; if arguable, then Konica, cited in an the IDS filed on 02/15/2024, teaches collecting operation logs, trace logs, and history of jobs and/or components classified into groups while associated with trouble codes before and after the time of the occurrence of the trouble including the time are acquired).
With respect to claim 9, Kawabata in view of Takeya and further in view of Higashi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the data for the trouble analysis includes image formation log data about the image formation processing and control log data about control of the image forming apparatus (e.g., collect all log information associated to process and/or history of various processes performed at the image forming apparatus, ¶0020, ¶0058, ¶0091, ¶0096).
With respect to claim 10, Kawabata in view of Takeya and further in view of Higashi teaches thee image forming apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire the image formation log data about the image formation processing performed in a specified period including at least a period from the occurrence of the trouble to the instruction to acquire the operational log data, and the control log data about the control of the processor performed in the specified period (e.g., a “Period-designated log collection” is an operation procedure image for requiring an operator to collect log information for a designated period. “Time-designated log collection” is an operation procedure image for requiring an operator to collect log information for a designated time, ¶0091).
With respect to claim 11, Kawabata in view of Takeya and further in view of Higashi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire the image formation log data and the control log data after acquiring the operational log data (e.g., e.g., acquire log information from all image forming process including printing data issued from a personal computer (PC) and then display operation procedure image(s), in a case when a trouble/error/failure occurs in said image forming apparatus and an operation designating log collection executed to collect the log information, ¶0016, ¶0020, ¶0038, ¶0096, ¶00098 - ¶0099).
With respect to claim 12, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. The use of a non-transitory computer readable medium executed by at least a computer (CPU) as described in claim 12 is explicitly taught by claim 8 of Kawabata.
With respect to claim 13, this is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1. Therefore, this is rejected for the same reasons as the apparatus claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682