DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 16 in the reply filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 3, 5 and 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al. (WO 2021/178623 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Du et al. teach a nanoparticle comprising a mRNA construct comprising:
a first mRNA sequence encoding an agent (an immunogenic polypeptide),
a second mRNA encoding a C3d;
wherein the first mRNA is operably linked via a linker to the second mRNA (parags. 11-14, 18 and 58).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Du teaches that the nanoparticle can encode multiple antigens and comprises at least two mRNA constructs (parags. 56 and 57).
Regarding claim 8, Du teaches that in some embodiments the mRNA is linearized, thus the other embodiments encompass a circular mRNA (parag. 20).
Regarding claim 10, Du teaches that the nanoparticle is ionizable (parag. 61).
Regarding claim 11, Du teaches that the nanoparticle further comprises a therapeutic agent (parags. 56, 57 and 96).
Regarding claim 16, the specification teaches regarding chemically modified that “In some embodiments, the RNA can be chemically modified, for example to improve its properties, e.g, used to improve the properties and efficacy of the RNA. A number of chemical modification have been developed to improve the in vivo properties of nucleic acids. “(parag. 99 lines 1-4).
In this regard, Du teaches modifying their mRNA with nucleoside which will improve the properties and efficacy of RNA (parag. 102).
Thus the teachings of Du clearly anticipate the invention of claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 16.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DAVID A MONTANARI/Examiner, Art Unit 1632