Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 9, filed 16 April 2026, with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The objection to the drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 9, filed 16 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 – 12 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The 112(b) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks page 10, filed 16 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the claimed device is directed to a “unique device for back lighting a specimen cup (and its contents) with diffused light in a dark room environment where a medical procedure is being performed and for substantially containing the diffused light so that the device does not introduce an optical disturbance into the dark room environment” is not persuasive. This argument is directed to the intended use of the device, and has been given the appropriate patentable weight in view of the structural features recited in the claim.
Regarding the applied references, the reference of Tucker et al teaches a container with a panel disposed on ledges, separated from the floor, sized to receive a second container, with a light source disposed within. That is to say, Tucker teaches the basic construction of a device which directs light into a container. Katou et al teaches the construction of both a biopsy cup, a holder for a biopsy cup, and that light may be directed into a biopsy cup. Budike et al teaches the final recited feature, which is the structural limitation of a notch.
Applicant’s argument that Tucker does not teach a transparent panel is not convincing; this is read on the disk that allows light to pass through.
Applicant’s argument that a modification of Katou et al to have an opaque second container is not convincing. Katou et al teaches that a lid may have a transparent portion (see [0078]). A device with a transparent lid and opaque body would still be rendered suitable for purpose.
Applicant’s argument that Budike does not teach a notch in the edge of the panel “such that the panel may be readily lifted/removed from the container thereby making Applicant's claimed device easy to assemble/disassemble to support cleaning and sanitizing operations” describes an intended use of a structural feature. The device of claim 1 only claims “a notch in an edge of said translucent panel.” As Budike teaches the use of a notch in the construction of a device, allowing for components to enter or exit a closed space.
Applicant’s arguments that Tucker et al is non-analogous art is not convincing. While the claimed invention is intended for use in a medical capacity, the primary concern underlying the invention is this; how does one direct light upwards into a container of liquid. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look at the construction of any lighting devices intended to illuminate a container of liquid.
The examiner appreciates applicant’s argument that the device of Tucker et al could illuminate a large area, while the claimed invention seeks to control the amount of light escaping the device. However, the examiner believes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the transparency of such a device according to the desired viewing angles, as inherent in the teachings of Katou et al. Katou et al teaches specifically that “at least a central portion of the inner lid is transparent…” Katou et al’s understanding that at least a portion of the lid must be transparent to allow light to pass inherently recognizes that other portions of the device may be opaque, as deemed desirable.
However, the examiner acknowledges that the combination of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al and further in view of Budike does not explicitly disclose that the translucent panel generates diffuse light. Accordingly, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Walsen (US 3604812 A) as necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tucker et al (US 6065848 A) in view of Katou et al (US 20190185799 A1) in view of Budike et al (US 20100280677 A1) and further in view of Walsen (US 3604812 A).
With regards to claim 1, Tucker et al teaches;
The claimed, “a first container having a floor and walls extending from said floor to an opening in said first container, said opening opposing said floor, said walls including opposing ledges at an interior of said first container” has been read on the taught (Column 5, line 42, “FIG. 1 shows a base, generally designated 10 […] and comprised of a main body 11 in turn comprised of an upwardly disposed side wall 12, […] and a bottom wall 14.”; Column 7, line 45, “FIG. 2 shows base main body 11 whose side wall has an upper edge or lip 72 defining the opening at the upper end of the base, and ledge 51 extending radially-inwardly therefrom.”);
The claimed, “said first container made from opaque materials” has been read on the taught (Column 19, line 16, “Preferably, the base is made of a structural polymeric material... A preferred material is polyvinyl chloride.”; Polyvinyl chloride reads on an opaque material.);
The claimed “a translucent panel,” “said translucent panel disposed on said ledges and spanning said interior of said first container,” and “wherein said translucent panel is spaced apart from said floor of said first container” has been read on the taught (Column 9, line 41, “When the support structure comprises a disc or panel, […] it can support a container thereon and it allows light to pass therethrough including through an aperture thereof to illuminate the interior of a supported container. Thus, the panel or disc can be supported by lip 72 or 72A, ledge 51 or 51A or other structure associated with the base, base bottom wall or sidewall.”; Column 10 teaches the use of a transparent panel. Figure 8 shows the panel being spaced apart from the floor of the container; see also Column 6 line 58’s teaching about support structure height.);
“Wherein said opening of said first container is sized to slidingly receive a second container, and wherein the second container rests on the panel” has been read on the taught (Column 6, line 47, “The base includes support structure to support the container thereon…”; See also Figure 8, which shows container 82 resting inside the lip of the base structure, supported on panel 80);
The claimed “a light source disposed in said first container between said translucent panel and said floor of said first container” has been read on the taught (Column 6, line 24, “Base 10 includes mount structure here comprising a mount secured in any suitable way to a portion of the base for mounting a light bulb, such as 50, preferably in an upward position such that it will direct light or be pointed toward an overlying container bottom wall, (FIGS. 13 and 15) to illuminate the interior of the container when it is supported by the base or when the base is secured to or onto the bottom of the container.”).
However, Tucker et al does not explicitly disclose details of the second container, including a second container having a first open end, sides, and a second end opposing said first open end, said second end having at least one hole adapted to receive a biopsy specimen cup up to an outer annular flange of the specimen cup, wherein said second container is made from opaque materials, wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of specimen cup holders, Katou et al teaches;
The claimed “a second container having a first open end, sides, and a second end opposing said first open end” has been read on the taught ([0076], “…the base member 1 is in the form of a container including a first tubular portion 11 and a bottom portion 12 and having an opening 110 at an upper end of the first tubular portion 11… the bottom portion 12 has a circular through hole 121 that passes through the bottom portion 12…”; Base member 1 reads on a container. Tubular portion 11 reads on sides. Bottom portion 12 reads on a first open end. Opening 110 reads on a second end opposing said first open end.);
The claimed “said second end having at least one hole adapted to receive a biopsy specimen cup up to the specimen cup’s outer annular flange” has been read on the taught ([0080], “…the container body 3 has the bottom wall portion 31, the side wall portion 32 that rises from the peripheral edge of the bottom wall portion 31, and the flange 33.”; [0089], “…the flange 33 of the container body 3 is clamped between the peripheral edge portion of the opening 110 of the base member 1….”; Container body 3 reads on a biopsy specimen cup. Flange 33 reads on an annular flange of the specimen cup. The flange resting on opening 110 reads on the second end having one hole adapted to receive a biopsy cup; See also Figure 4.).
Additionally, Katou et al teaches illuminating the specimen container, as read on the taught ([0160], “…the state in the culture portion 41 of the device 4 can be observed through the transparent bottom portion 12 (the base member 1) and the thin portion 311… irradiation light can be transmitted, and therefore, the cells can be observed using various types of microscopes including an optical microscope and a phase-contrast microscope.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lighting device for a cup as taught by Tucker et al with the specimen cup holding system as taught by Katou et al, for the benefit of observing specimens using transmitted light (Katou et al, [0160], “With such a configuration, regardless of whether a light source is placed above or below the container, irradiation light can be transmitted, and therefore, the cells can be observed using various types of microscopes including an optical microscope and a phase-contrast microscope.”).
The embodiment taught by Katou et al discloses the use of a transparent material for the second container (see [0078]) for the stated purpose of allowing the container contents to be viewed from the outside (see [0148]). According to MPEP 2144.04(II), the omission of an element is obvious if the function of the element is not desired. In the case of the instant invention, if the ability to view a sample through a side wall is not desired, then it would be obvious to eliminate the use of a transparent material in the second container. This would furthermore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of lighting objects given Tucker et al, which teaches that opaque or reflective elements may be used to direct light in a desired direction (see for instance column 4 line 1, which teaches the use of a conical reflector).
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the translucent panel has a notch in an edge, wherein said notch is adjacent to one of said walls of said first container, wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of lighting devices, Budike teaches;
Wherein a lighting device has a housing, and a hole is provided in the housing has been read on the taught ([0012], “The control module may include one or more power supply lines which exit the housing through a first hole and the interface cable may exit the housing through a second hole.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container lighting device as taught by Tucker et al in view of Katou et al with the hole as taught by Budike. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al contains a “base” device of a light configured to hold a container, and a specimen container configured to be lit. The claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” by the inclusion of a notch in the support panel. The prior art of Budike teaches a “comparable” device of a lighting device including a housing, that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention by the inclusion of a notch/hole in the housing. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known technique in the same way to the “base” device, for the predictable result of allowing an external cable to enter the housing.
Tucker et al in view of Katou et al and further in view of Budike does not explicitly disclose wherein the notch is in a panel edge, or wherein said notch is adjacent to one of the walls of the first container. However, this is held to be mere rearrangement of parts, and is prima facie obvious absent some teaching that the location of the notch either modifies the operation of the device or leads to an unexpected result—please see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al further in view of Budike et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of lighting devices for laboratory samples, Walsen teaches;
“Wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 28, “The base housing 2 may also be provided with an opening 8 and internal ledge-type supports 9 for receiving and supporting a light-diffusing plate 10. This plate is positioned between the light source and the lower open ends of the chambers 5 and functions to evenly distribute the light emanating from the light source prior to entry into the chambers.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike with the diffusing panel taught by Walsen, for the predictable benefit of evenly distributing light across the sample (Walsen, column 2, line 28, “This plate is positioned between the light source and the lower open ends of the chambers 5 and functions to evenly distribute the light emanating from the light source prior to entry into the chambers.”).
With regards to claim 2, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen does not explicitly disclose wherein said first container and said second container are rectangular.
According to MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), changes in shape are not sufficient to distinguish a claimed invention from the prior art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. Please see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Accordingly, claim 2’s limitation of “wherein said first container and said second container are rectangular” is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
With regards to claim 3, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Neither Tucker et al, Walsen, nor Katou et al teach wherein said light source is remotely controllable, said device further comprising a remote control operable to control said light source.
Budike further teaches;
The claimed “wherein said light source is remotely controllable, said device further comprising a remote control operable to control said light source” has been read on the taught ([0087], “FIGS. 6A-6B illustrate exemplary arrangements of controls for a lighting system… the wireless signal can come from a remote wireless control device (e.g. […] handheld remote…”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al and further in view of Budike with the use of a remote-controlled light source as taught by Budike. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike contains a “base” device of a light configured to hold a container, and a specimen container configured to be lit. The claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” by the use of a remote controlled light source. The prior art of Budike teaches a “comparable” device of a lighting device, that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention by the inclusion of a remote control. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known technique in the same way to the “base” device, for the predictable result of allowing the light to be turned on or off remotely.
With regards to claim 4, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Tucker et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein said light source rests on said floor” has been read on the taught (Column 9, line 63, “Loop 54A at the end of arm 54A of retainer member 20A extends fully or substantially fully about bulb 50 and thereby mounts the bulb therein, between the batteries and centrally of the base.”; Figure 7 shows the bulb resting on the floor of the base).
With regards to claim 5, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Tucker et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein a portion of said second container extends from said opening of said first container when said second container rests on said translucent panel” has been read on the taught (Column 10, line 18, “The panel is shown supporting a container […] thereon.”; Figure 8 shows lip 72 extending up from the panel, and container 82 extending above the lip.).
With regards to claim 6, Tucker et al teaches;
“A first container having a floor and walls extending from said floor to an open top of said first container, said open top opposing said floor” has been read on the taught (Column 5, line 42, “FIG. 1 shows a base, generally designated 10 […] and comprised of a main body 11 in turn comprised of an upwardly disposed side wall 12, […] and a bottom wall 14);
“A first wall of having a first ledge at an interior of said first container, said first ledge spaced apart from said flood; a second wall in opposition to said first wall, said second wall having a second ledge at said interior of said first container, said second ledge space apart from said floor” has been read on the taught (Column 7, line 45, “FIG. 2 shows base main body 11 whose side wall has an upper edge or lip 72 defining the opening at the upper end of the base, and ledge 51 extending radially-inwardly therefrom.”; Ledge 51 extending radially reads on a first and second ledge. Figures 1 and 2 show the ledge being spaced apart from the floor.);
“Said first container is made from opaque materials” has been read on the taught (Column 19, line 16, “Preferably, the base is made of a structural polymeric material... A preferred material is polyvinyl chloride.”; Polyvinyl chloride reads on an opaque material.);
The claimed “a translucent panel,” “said translucent panel resting on said first ledge and said second ledge, said translucent panel spanning said walls at said interior of said first container,” and “wherein said translucent panel is spaced apart from said floor of said first container” has been read on the taught (Column 9, line 41, “When the support structure comprises a disc or panel, […] it can support a container thereon and it allows light to pass therethrough including through an aperture thereof to illuminate the interior of a supported container. Thus, the panel or disc can be supported by lip 72 or 72A, ledge 51 or 51A or other structure associated with the base, base bottom wall or sidewall.”; Column 10 teaches the use of a transparent panel. Figure 8 shows the panel being spaced apart from the floor of the container; see also Column 6 line 58’s teaching about support structure height.);
“Wherein said opening of said first container is sized to slidingly receive a second container, and wherein the second container rests on the panel” has been read on the taught (Column 6, line 47, “The base includes support structure to support the container thereon…”; See also Figure 8, which shows container 82 resting inside the lip of the base structure, supported on panel 80);
The claimed “a light source disposed in said first container between said translucent panel and said floor of said first container” has been read on the taught (Column 6, line 24, “Base 10 includes mount structure here comprising a mount secured in any suitable way to a portion of the base for mounting a light bulb, such as 50, preferably in an upward position such that it will direct light or be pointed toward an overlying container bottom wall, (FIGS. 13 and 15) to illuminate the interior of the container when it is supported by the base or when the base is secured to or onto the bottom of the container.”).
Tucker et al does not explicitly disclose details of the second container, including a second container having a first open end, sides, and a second end opposing said first open end, said second end having at least one hole adapted to receive a biopsy specimen cup up to the specimen cup’s outer annular flange, and wherein said second container is made from opaque materials, wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of specimen cup holders, Katou et al teaches;
“A second container having a first open end, sides, and a second end opposing said first open end” has been read on the taught ([0076], “…the base member 1 is in the form of a container including a first tubular portion 11 and a bottom portion 12 and having an opening 110 at an upper end of the first tubular portion 11… the bottom portion 12 has a circular through hole 121 that passes through the bottom portion 12…”; Base member 1 reads on a container. Tubular portion 11 reads on sides. Bottom portion 12 reads on a first open end. Opening 110 reads on a second end opposing said first open end.);
The claimed “said second end having at least one hole adapted to receive a biopsy specimen cup up to the specimen cup’s outer annular flange” has been read on the taught ([0080], “…the container body 3 has the bottom wall portion 31, the side wall portion 32 that rises from the peripheral edge of the bottom wall portion 31, and the flange 33.”; [0089], “…the flange 33 of the container body 3 is clamped between the peripheral edge portion of the opening 110 of the base member 1….”; Container body 3 reads on a biopsy specimen cup. Flange 33 reads on an annular flange of the specimen cup. The flange resting on opening 110 reads on the second end having one hole adapted to receive a biopsy cup; See also Figure 4.).
Additionally, Katou et al teaches illuminating the specimen container, as read on the taught ([0160], “…the state in the culture portion 41 of the device 4 can be observed through the transparent bottom portion 12 (the base member 1) and the thin portion 311… irradiation light can be transmitted, and therefore, the cells can be observed using various types of microscopes including an optical microscope and a phase-contrast microscope.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lighting device for a cup as taught by Tucker et al with the specimen cup holding system as taught by Katou et al, for the benefit of observing specimens using transmitted light (Katou et al, [0160], “With such a configuration, regardless of whether a light source is placed above or below the container, irradiation light can be transmitted, and therefore, the cells can be observed using various types of microscopes including an optical microscope and a phase-contrast microscope.”).
The embodiment taught by Katou et al discloses the use of a transparent material for the second container (see [0078]) for the stated purpose of allowing the container contents to be viewed from the outside (see [0148]). According to MPEP 2144.04(II), the omission of an element is obvious if the function of the element is not desired. In the case of the instant invention, if the ability to view a sample through a side wall is not desired, then it would be obvious to eliminate the use of a transparent material in the second container. This would furthermore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of lighting objects given Tucker et al, which teaches that opaque or reflective elements may be used to direct light in a desired direction (see for instance column 4 line 1, which teaches the use of a conical reflector).
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second containers are rectangular.
According to MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), changes in shape are not sufficient to distinguish a claimed invention from the prior art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. Please see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As such, the claimed “a first rectangular container having a floor and four walls extending from said floor” and “a second rectangular container” are obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al.
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the translucent panel has a notch in an edge, and wherein said notch is adjacent to a third wall of said four walls or a fourth wall of said four walls, wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of lighting devices, Budike teaches;
Wherein a lighting device has a housing, and a hole is provided in the housing has been read on the taught ([0012], “The control module may include one or more power supply lines which exit the housing through a first hole and the interface cable may exit the housing through a second hole.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container lighting device as taught by Tucker et al in view of Katou et al with the hole as taught by Budike. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al contains a “base” device of a light configured to hold a container, and a specimen container configured to be lit. The claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” by the inclusion of a notch in the support panel. The prior art of Budike teaches a “comparable” device of a lighting device including a housing, that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention by the inclusion of a notch/hole in the housing. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known technique in the same way to the “base” device, for the predictable result of allowing an external cable to enter the base
Tucker et al in view of Katou et al and further in view of Budike does not explicitly disclose wherein the notch is in a panel edge, or wherein said notch is adjacent to a specific wall of the first container. However, this is held to be mere rearrangement of parts, and is prima facie obvious absent some teaching that the location of the notch either modifies the operation of the device or leads to an unexpected result—please see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al and further in view of Budike does not explicitly disclose wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of lighting devices for laboratory samples, Walsen teaches;
“Wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 28, “The base housing 2 may also be provided with an opening 8 and internal ledge-type supports 9 for receiving and supporting a light-diffusing plate 10. This plate is positioned between the light source and the lower open ends of the chambers 5 and functions to evenly distribute the light emanating from the light source prior to entry into the chambers.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike with the diffusing panel taught by Walsen, for the predictable benefit of evenly distributing light across the sample (Walsen, column 2, line 28, “This plate is positioned between the light source and the lower open ends of the chambers 5 and functions to evenly distribute the light emanating from the light source prior to entry into the chambers.”).
With regards to claim 7, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Neither Tucker et al, Walsen, nor Katou et al teach wherein said light source is remotely controllable, said device further comprising a remote control operable to control said light source.
Budike further teaches;
The claimed “wherein said light source is remotely controllable, said device further comprising a remote control operable to control said light source” has been read on the taught ([0087], “FIGS. 6A-6B illustrate exemplary arrangements of controls for a lighting system… the wireless signal can come from a remote wireless control device (e.g. […] handheld remote…”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen with the use of a remote-controlled light source as taught by Budike. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike contains a “base” device of a light configured to hold a container, and a specimen container configured to be lit. The claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” by the use of a remote controlled light source. The prior art of Budike teaches a “comparable” device of a lighting device, that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention by the inclusion of a remote control. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known technique in the same way to the “base” device, for the predictable result of allowing the light to be turned on or off remotely.
With regards to claim 8, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Tucker et al further teaches;
The claimed “wherein said light source rests on said floor” has been read on the taught (Column 9, line 63, “Loop 54A at the end of arm 54A of retainer member 20A extends fully or substantially fully about bulb 50 and thereby mounts the bulb therein, between the batteries and centrally of the base.”; Figure 7 shows the bulb resting on the floor of the base).
With regards to claim 9, the device of claim 1 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Tucker et al further teaches;
The claimed “wherein a portion of said second container extends from said opening of said first container when said second container rests on said translucent panel” has been read on the taught (Column 10, line 18, “The panel is shown supporting a container […] thereon.”; Figure 8 shows lip 72 extending up from the panel, and container 82 extending above the lip.).
With regards to claim 10, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Tucker et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein said first ledge and said second ledge are equidistant from said floor” has been read on the taught (Column 9, line 47, “Thus, the panel or disc can be supported by lip 72 or 72A, ledge 51 or 51A or other structure associated with the base, base bottom wall or sidewall.”; Figure 8 shows the ledges 51 being equidistant from the floor).
With regards to claim 11, the device of claim 6 is obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike and further in view of Walsen.
Neither Tucker et al, Budike, nor Walsen teaches wherein a bottom of the specimen cup is suspended above said translucent panel when said first open end of said second rectangular container rests on said translucent panel.
Katou et al additionally teaches;
The claimed “wherein a bottom of the specimen cup is suspended above said translucent panel when said first open end of said second rectangular container rests on said translucent panel” has been read on the taught (Figure 20 clearly shows the specimen cup (as read on container body 3), suspended above the bottom of the second container (as read on base member 1).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device including a first and second container as taught by Tucker et al in view of Katou et al and further in view of Budike with the suspended specimen cup as taught by Katou et al, for the benefit of ensuring that the second container does not interfere with the transparent portion of the specimen cup (Katou et al, [0128] “According to this configuration, even when the base member 1 in the form of a container is placed on a flat surface, the thin portion 311 of the container body 3 is not blocked by the base member 1.”).
With regards to claim 12, Tucker et al teaches;
“A first container having a floor and walls extending from said floor to an open top of said first container, said open top opposing said floor” has been read on the taught (Column 5, line 42, “FIG. 1 shows a base, generally designated 10 […] and comprised of a main body 11 in turn comprised of an upwardly disposed side wall 12, […] and a bottom wall 14);
“A first wall of having a first ledge at an interior of said first container, said first ledge spaced apart from said flood; a second wall in opposition to said first wall, said second wall having a second ledge at said interior of said first container, said second ledge space apart from said floor” has been read on the taught (Column 7, line 45, “FIG. 2 shows base main body 11 whose side wall has an upper edge or lip 72 defining the opening at the upper end of the base, and ledge 51 extending radially-inwardly therefrom.”; Ledge 51 extending radially reads on a first and second ledge. Figures 1 and 2 show the ledge being spaced apart from the floor.);
“Said first container is made from opaque materials” has been read on the taught (Column 19, line 16, “Preferably, the base is made of a structural polymeric material... A preferred material is polyvinyl chloride.”; Polyvinyl chloride reads on an opaque material.);
The claimed “a translucent panel,” “said translucent panel resting on said first ledge and said second ledge, said translucent panel spanning said walls at said interior of said first container,” and “wherein said translucent panel is spaced apart from said floor of said first container” has been read on the taught (Column 9, line 41, “When the support structure comprises a disc or panel, […] it can support a container thereon and it allows light to pass therethrough including through an aperture thereof to illuminate the interior of a supported container. Thus, the panel or disc can be supported by lip 72 or 72A, ledge 51 or 51A or other structure associated with the base, base bottom wall or sidewall.”; Column 10 teaches the use of a transparent panel. Figure 8 shows the panel being spaced apart from the floor of the container; see also Column 6 line 58’s teaching about support structure height.);
“Wherein said opening of said first container is sized to slidingly receive a second container, and wherein the second container rests on the panel” has been read on the taught (Column 6, line 47, “The base includes support structure to support the container thereon…”; See also Figure 8, which shows container 82 resting inside the lip of the base structure, supported on panel 80);
The claimed “a light source disposed in said first container and spaced apart from said translucent panel” has been read on the taught (Column 6, line 24, “Base 10 includes mount structure here comprising a mount secured in any suitable way to a portion of the base for mounting a light bulb, such as 50, preferably in an upward position such that it will direct light or be pointed toward an overlying container bottom wall, (FIGS. 13 and 15) to illuminate the interior of the container when it is supported by the base or when the base is secured to or onto the bottom of the container.”).
Tucker et al does not explicitly disclose details of the second container, including a second container having a first open end, sides, and a second end opposing said first open end, said second end having at least one hole adapted to receive a biopsy specimen cup up to the specimen cup’s outer annular flange, wherein a bottom of the specimen cup is suspended above said translucent panel when said first open end of said second container rests on said translucent panel and wherein said second container is made from opaque materials, wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of specimen cup holders, Katou et al teaches;
“A second container having a first open end, sides, and a second end opposing said first open end” has been read on the taught ([0076], “…the base member 1 is in the form of a container including a first tubular portion 11 and a bottom portion 12 and having an opening 110 at an upper end of the first tubular portion 11… the bottom portion 12 has a circular through hole 121 that passes through the bottom portion 12…”; Base member 1 reads on a container. Tubular portion 11 reads on sides. Bottom portion 12 reads on a first open end. Opening 110 reads on a second end opposing said first open end.);
The claimed “said second end having at least one hole adapted to receive a biopsy specimen cup up to the specimen cup’s outer annular flange” has been read on the taught ([0080], “…the container body 3 has the bottom wall portion 31, the side wall portion 32 that rises from the peripheral edge of the bottom wall portion 31, and the flange 33.”; [0089], “…the flange 33 of the container body 3 is clamped between the peripheral edge portion of the opening 110 of the base member 1….”; Container body 3 reads on a biopsy specimen cup. Flange 33 reads on an annular flange of the specimen cup. The flange resting on opening 110 reads on the second end having one hole adapted to receive a biopsy cup; See also Figure 4.).
Additionally, Katou et al teaches illuminating the specimen container, as read on the taught ([0160], “…the state in the culture portion 41 of the device 4 can be observed through the transparent bottom portion 12 (the base member 1) and the thin portion 311… irradiation light can be transmitted, and therefore, the cells can be observed using various types of microscopes including an optical microscope and a phase-contrast microscope.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the lighting device for a cup as taught by Tucker et al with the specimen cup holding system as taught by Katou et al, for the benefit of observing specimens using transmitted light (Katou et al, [0160], “With such a configuration, regardless of whether a light source is placed above or below the container, irradiation light can be transmitted, and therefore, the cells can be observed using various types of microscopes including an optical microscope and a phase-contrast microscope.”).
The embodiment taught by Katou et al discloses the use of a transparent material for the second container (see [0078]) for the stated purpose of allowing the container contents to be viewed from the outside (see [0148]). According to MPEP 2144.04(II), the omission of an element is obvious if the function of the element is not desired. In the case of the instant invention, if the ability to view a sample through a side wall is not desired, then it would be obvious to eliminate the use of a transparent material in the second container. This would furthermore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of lighting objects given Tucker et al, which teaches that opaque or reflective elements may be used to direct light in a desired direction (see for instance column 4 line 1, which teaches the use of a conical reflector).
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second containers are rectangular.
According to MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), changes in shape are not sufficient to distinguish a claimed invention from the prior art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. Please see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As such, the claimed “a first rectangular container having a floor and four walls extending from said floor” and “a second rectangular container” are obvious over Tucker et al in view of Katou et al.
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the translucent panel has a notch in an edge, and wherein said notch is adjacent to a third wall of said four walls or a fourth wall of said four walls, wherein the light source is remotely-controllable, or a remote control to control said light source, wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of lighting devices, Budike teaches;
Wherein a lighting device has a housing, and a hole is provided in the housing has been read on the taught ([0012], “The control module may include one or more power supply lines which exit the housing through a first hole and the interface cable may exit the housing through a second hole.”).
The claimed “a remotely-controllable light source” and “ a remote control operable to control said light source” have been read on the taught ([0087], “FIGS. 6A-6B illustrate exemplary arrangements of controls for a lighting system… the wireless signal can come from a remote wireless control device (e.g. […] handheld remote…”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container lighting device as taught by Tucker et al in view of Katou et al with the hole and remote control as taught by Budike. According to MPEP 2143(I)(C), use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way may be prima facie obvious. In the case of the instant invention, the prior art of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al contains a “base” device of a light configured to hold a container, and a specimen container configured to be lit. The claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” by the inclusion of a notch in the support panel and a remote control. The prior art of Budike teaches a “comparable” device of a lighting device including a housing, that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention by the inclusion of a notch/hole in the housing and a remote control. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known technique in the same way to the “base” device, for the predictable result of allowing an external cable to enter the base, and for remote control of the device.
Tucker et al in view of Katou et al and further in view of Budike does not explicitly disclose wherein the notch is in a panel edge, or wherein said notch is adjacent to a specific wall of the first container. However, this is held to be mere rearrangement of parts, and is prima facie obvious absent some teaching that the location of the notch either modifies the operation of the device or leads to an unexpected result—please see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
However, Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike does not explicitly disclose wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container.
In the analogous art of lighting devices for laboratory samples, Walsen teaches;
“Wherein the translucent panel operable to generate diffused light when one side of said translucent panel is illuminated by light, wherein the specimen cup is back lit with the diffused light generated by said translucent panel when said light source is turned on, and wherein the diffused light is substantially contained within said second container” has been read on the taught (Column 2, line 28, “The base housing 2 may also be provided with an opening 8 and internal ledge-type supports 9 for receiving and supporting a light-diffusing plate 10. This plate is positioned between the light source and the lower open ends of the chambers 5 and functions to evenly distribute the light emanating from the light source prior to entry into the chambers.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tucker et al in view of Katou et al in view of Budike with the diffusing panel taught by Walsen, for the predictable benefit of evenly distributing light across the sample (Walsen, column 2, line 28, “This plate is positioned between the light source and the lower open ends of the chambers 5 and functions to evenly distribute the light emanating from the light source prior to entry into the chambers.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALISON CLAIRE GERHARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/ROBERT J EOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797