DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 19 November 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that because all of the species depend directly or indirectly from independent claim 1, it would be appropriate to examine all of the species/claims. This is not found persuasive because the species require different fields of search including different text search strategies and text search queries. Examination burden comes from developing and analyzing synonyms for each different species. Examination burden would also increase exponentially in subsequent actions as the subject matter further diverges due to increasing specificity of the separately claimed elements.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 19 November 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the poor quality of the drawings, which makes it difficult to interpret Applicant’s invention. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 9, line 1, the phrase “battery pack disposed” should be changed to “battery pack is disposed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morton (US 2017/0232605 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morton discloses a drill press (embodiment of figure 6), comprising: a main housing PT; a drill unit TE supported by the main housing for relative movement therewith; and a base 10 coupled to the main housing, the base includes a magnet assembly 12 to create a magnetic field for magnetically latching the base to a workpiece.
Regarding claim 2, Morton discloses wherein the magnet assembly 12 is rotatably attached to the base 10 (using levers 74 to loosen the shafts of guide bolts 66 and guide bolts 68, and moving the shafts in guide slots 72 between a first position and a second position, see paragraphs [0085]-[0086] and [0090]).
Regarding claim 3, Morton discloses wherein the magnet assembly 12 comprises a shaft (of guide bolts 66 and guide pins 68) and at least one permanent magnet disposed on the shaft (permanent magnets disposed in housing 40, see paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Morton discloses wherein the shaft is rotatable between a first position where the base 10 would not magnetically engage the workpiece and a second position where the base would engage the workpiece (see paragraph [0090]).
Regarding claim 6, Morton discloses wherein the shaft is connected to a lever assembly 74.
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimori et al. (WO 2020/230454 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujimori et al. discloses a drill press 1, comprising: a main housing 10; a drill unit 16 supported by the main housing for relative movement therewith; and a base 12 coupled to the main housing, the base includes a magnet assembly 28/32 to create a magnetic field for magnetically latching the base to a workpiece.
Regarding claim 8, Fujimori et al. discloses wherein the drill unit 16 is powered by a power tool battery pack 14.
Regarding claim 9, Fujimori et al. discloses wherein the power tool battery pack 14 disposed on the main housing 10.
Regarding claim 10, Fujimori et al. discloses further comprising at least one LED 52 disposed on the main housing 10 and electrically powered by the power tool battery pack 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton in view of Otsuka et al. (US 7,936,142).
Regarding claim 5, Morton discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Morton does not disclose wherein the base further comprising a switch assembly for detecting the magnet assembly in at least one of the first and second positions. Otsuka et al. teaches the use of a drill press 1 that comprises a main housing 2, a drill unit 3, and a base 16 comprising a magnet 16 for generating a magnetic force, further comprising a switch 36 for providing power that is used in cooperation with a detector 20 and alarm that is used for detecting when the magnet is in a disconnected position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the drill press of Morton with the switch and detector/alarm assembly of Otsuka et al. in order to be able to automatically determine whether or not the magnetic assembly is in an off or on position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 11 February 2026