DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-16, and 18-22, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 14-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravichandran (US Publication No. 20200178127) in view of Zhu (US Publication No. 20240049123).
As to claims 1 and 14, Ravichandran teaches a processor of a user equipment and a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1 and fig. 3), comprising: identifying a user event (fig. 1, pp0024, the computing device 108A provides a display (e.g., on the screen of computing device 108A) indicating the break in the connection, and pp0023, allows the user of the computing device to identify a break in connection for the application); enabling a feature configured to alert a user to a change in network coverage (fig. 1, pp0023, pp0024, allowing the user of the computing device to identify a break in connection and change in RAT via the display of the computing device); determining, after the user event has occurred, the change in network coverage from the first type of network coverage to a second type of network coverage (fig. 1, fig. 4, #404, pp0047, pp0050, upon losing connectivity or out of range of the first RAT, detect change in RAT, fig. 2, and pp0024, the computing device 108A provides a display (e.g., on the screen of computing device 108A) indicating the break in the connection and the move to the new RAT); and generating an alert in response to determining the change in network coverage, wherein the alert is configured to notify a user of the UE to the change in network coverage (fig. 1, fig. 4, pp0047, pp0050, notifying user of the change in RAT, e.g. WI-FI to cellular, fig. 2, and pp0024, the computing device 108A provides a display (e.g., on the screen of computing device 108A) indicating the break in the connection and the move to the new RAT). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the second type of network coverage is a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN).
In an analogous field of endeavor, Zhu teaches the concept wherein the second type of network coverage is a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN) (pp0041, terminal outputs the notification information of network switching to VPLMN, and pp0077, pp0079, “You are to be switched to VPLMN X in x minutes/hours.” is displayed on a screen of the terminal). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran with the teachings of Zhu to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably switching network to avoid service interruption and improving user experience in a communication system (Zhu, pp0003).
As to claim 2, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claim as discussed above. Ravichandran further teaches wherein the user event comprises a failure to establish or maintain a session for a voice call (fig. 1, fig. 4, pp0047, pp0010, break in connection of the application and pp0035, e.g. voice call).
As to claim 3, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claim as discussed above. Ravichandran further teaches wherein the first type of network coverage is no network coverage (fig. 1, fig. 4, #404, pp0047, pp0050, upon losing connectivity or out of range of the first RAT, detect change in RAT) and the second type of network coverage comprises a network offering voice call services (fig. 1, fig. 4, pp0047, change to a second or different RAT and pp0035, e.g. providing voice call).
As to claims 6 and 15, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claim as discussed above. Ravichandran further teaches wherein the user event comprises a failure to establish or maintain a session for an application (fig. 1, fig. 4, pp0010, break in connection of the application).
As to claim 7, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claim as discussed above. Ravichandran further teaches wherein the first type of network coverage is a legacy radio access technology (RAT) and the second type of network coverage is a long term evolution (LTE) RAT or a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) RAT (fig. 1, fig. 4, pp0047, pp0050, notifying user of the change in RAT, e.g. 4G to 5G, fig. 2).
As to claim 8, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claim as discussed above. Ravichandran further teaches wherein the alert comprises one of audio output and a vibration (fig. 1, fig. 4, #404, pp0047, pp0050, notifying user of the change in RAT, audio or vibrating notification).
As to claims 9 and 16, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claim as discussed above. Ravichandran further teaches further comprising: performing an operation in response to identifying the change in network coverage without user intervention, wherein the operation comprises one of initiating a voice call, a data session or an emergency call, wherein the operation was previously attempted prior to the change in network coverage (fig. fig. 4, #410, #412, pp0022, application request re-register (i.e. without user intervention) to continue media use by the application and/or continue (i.e. prior communication session) the communication session in a second or different RAT, and pp0052).
Claim(s) 4 and 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravichandran (US Publication No. 20200178127) in view of Zhu (US Publication No. 20240049123) and further in view of Faccin et al. (US Publication No. 20110171925).
As to claim 4, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the user event comprises a failure to establish or maintain a session for an emergency call.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Faccin teaches the concept wherein the user event comprises a failure to establish or maintain a session for an emergency call (fig. 6, pp0193, pp0202, emergency calls established through an H(e)NB might fail). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran and Zhu with the teachings of Faccin to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing emergency services via an H(e)NB or via an (e)NB are desirably supported without difference in user experience (Faccin, pp0003).
As to claim 5, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the first type of network coverage is no network coverage and the second type of network coverage permits UE access to emergency services.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Faccin teaches the concept wherein the first type of network coverage is no network coverage (fig. 6, pp0193, pp0202, emergency calls established through an H(e)NB might fail, e.g. connectivity to the operator core network is interrupted because of a failure in the premises IP connectivity) and the second type of network coverage permits UE access to emergency services (fig. 6, pp0236, reselect supported cell for emergency call). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran and Zhu with the teachings of Faccin to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing emergency services via an H(e)NB or via an (e)NB are desirably supported without difference in user experience (Faccin, pp0003).
Claim(s) 12 13, 19, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravichandran (US Publication No. 20200178127) in view of Zhu (US Publication No. 20240049123) and further in view of Gupta et al. (US Publication No. 20210099936).
As to claims 12 and 19, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the user event comprises receiving user input in response to a request for the user to enable the feature configured to alert the user to the change in network coverage, and wherein the request is displayed at the UE in response to a predetermined condition.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Gupta teaches the concept wherein the user event comprises receiving user input in response to a request for the user to enable the feature configured to alert the user to the change in network coverage (fig. 1, fig. 14, fig. 27, #2716, #2718, user input to notify a user of the poor state of the network, and change the network based thereon, pp0136, pp0078), and wherein the request is displayed at the UE in response to a predetermined condition (fig. 1, fig. 27, and pp0224, the processor 120 may display an interface 2710, displaying an indicator indicating a change to another AP at the time of a backhaul failure). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran and Zhu with the teachings of Gupta to achieve the goal of efficiently providing seamless communication network and selecting the optimal network for the user in a communication system (Gupta, pp0003).
As to claims 13 and 20, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the predetermined condition is based on one or more of a type of network coverage being unavailable, a duration of time the UE is deployed within the first type of network coverage, a number of times a display device of the UE is activated, a number of times the UE is unlocked, a failure to establish a communication session while deployed in the first type of network or a number of times the UE identifies the first type of network coverage within a time window.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Gupta teaches the concept wherein the predetermined condition is based on one or more of a type of network coverage being unavailable, a duration of time the UE is deployed within the first type of network coverage, a number of times a display device of the UE is activated, a number of times the UE is unlocked, a failure to establish a communication session while deployed in the first type of network or a number of times the UE identifies the first type of network coverage within a time window (fig. 1, fig. 27, and pp0224, the processor 120 may display an interface 2710, displaying an indicator indicating a change to another AP at the time of a backhaul failure (i.e. connection lost)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran and Zhu with the teachings of Gupta to achieve the goal of efficiently providing seamless communication network and selecting the optimal network for the user in a communication system (Gupta, pp0003).
Claim(s) 11 and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravichandran (US Publication No. 20200178127) in view of Zhu (US Publication No. 20240049123) and further in view of Toebes et al. (US Publication No. 20130024932) and Chen (US Publication No. 20130162392).
As to claims 11 and 18, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the user event comprises activating a display of the UE or unlocking the UE a predetermined number of times while deployed within the first type of network coverage.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Toebes teaches the concept wherein the user event comprises activating a display of the UE or unlocking the UE while deployed within the first type of network coverage (fig. 1, pp0064, unlocking screen of the computer when the computer is detected within the network, pp0028, defining first range 104 as an area within which Bluetooth communications between a device (not shown) and a token (not shown) may occur, an area within which a wireless network such as a WiFi network signal may be detected). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran and Zhu with the teachings of Toebes to achieve the goal of efficiently and securely avoiding a wrongdoer to have access which may cause significant damage if he or she is able to unlock a smart phone that belongs to someone else in a communication system (Toebes, pp0003). However, they failed to explicitly teach activating a display of the UE or unlocking the UE a predetermined number of times.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Chen teaches the concept of activating a display of the UE or unlocking the UE a predetermined number of times (fig. 1, clm. 1, unlocks the screen when a number of the activation times is the same as a predefined number). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran, Zhu, and Toebes with the teachings of Chen to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably avoiding the need to perform a slide operation on the screen to unlock the screen, thus avoiding frequent slides and damage to the screen (Chen, pp0004).
Claim(s) 21 and 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravichandran (US Publication No. 20200178127) in view of Zhu (US Publication No. 20240049123) and further in view of Stephens et al. (US Publication No. 20180263067).
As to claims 21 and 22, Ravichandran in view of Zhu teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the user event is identified based on user input.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Stephens teaches the concept wherein the user event is identified based on user input (fig. 1, pp0053, pp0057, the user device 102a, can determine if the network device 116 is inaccessible, determining if the network device 116 is inaccessible can include determining that a failed attempt to connect to the network device 116 by the user device 102a has occurred. This determination can be performed in response to a user input indicating that the user device 102a should perform the determination). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravichandran and Zhu with the teachings of Stephens to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably avoiding unpredictable connectivity in communication system (Stephens, pp0001).
Conclusion
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645