DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an automated retraction/extension mechanism … configured to move the moveable platform” in claim 10, invoking 112(f) for using a generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with functional language of “to move the movable platform”, interpreted according to the instant specification [0051] to be a linear or rotary drive, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azancot (US 20110121660 A1).
Regarding claim 1
Azancot discloses a countertop appliance (a computer 2100, Fig 3, on a flat surface, i.e. countertop, is interpreted to be a countertop appliance, “an appliance” is defined to be an instrument, apparatus, or device for a particular purpose or use, by https://www.dictionary.com/browse/appliance), comprising:
a housing (outer housing of the computer 2100) configured to support the countertop appliance on a countertop (outer housing allows the computer to stay on top of the countertop);
one or more electrical loads (computer screen, internal power cells 2240 are interpreted as the electrical loads) coupled to the housing (outer housing) and configured to perform one or more primary appliance functions for the countertop appliance (computer screen for display and internal power cells to power the computer);
a movable platform (inductive power outlet 2200, annotated in Fig 3, power outlet 2200 may be incorporated into a DVD/CD drive which is retrofitted to the computer 2100, [0043], this indicates that the power outlet 2200 is located a DVC/CD drive which is known to slide in and out of the computer, i.e. movable) and
a wireless power transmitter (primary inductive coil 2220 used to charge a phone 2300, Fig 3, [0043], i.e. wirelessly) supported by the movable platform (2200) and configured to generate a wireless power signal (coil 2220 generates a power wirelessly);
wherein the movable platform is movable between a use position (shown in Fig 3 where the moveable platform 2200 is extended in a use position) and a storage position (since the moveable platform 2200 can be a DVD/CD drive, [0043], the platform 2200 would be in the storage position once retracted within the computer),
wherein
when in the use position (Fig 3), the movable platform (2200 Fig 3) positions the wireless power transmitter (2220) proximate to the countertop (computer 2100 sits on top of a flat surface/tabletop in Fig 3) to power a wirelessly powered appliance (mobile phone) positioned proximate thereto with the wireless power signal (signal from coil 2220), and
when in the storage position (when the moveable platform 2200 is retracted within the computer), the movable platform repositions the wireless power transmitter (2220) to reduce an overall countertop footprint of the countertop appliance (in retracted/storage position, the platform 2200 would be within the computer like a DVD/CD drive, thus reducing the overall countertop footprint of the computer).
Regarding claim 3
Azancot discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Azancot further discloses wherein the movable platform is configured to position the wireless power transmitter under the housing when in the storage position (platform 2200 positions the transmitter coil 2220 under the housing of the computer in retracted/storage position as annotated in Fig 3 above).
Regarding claim 4
Azancot discloses the countertop appliance of claim 3.
Azancot further discloses wherein the movable platform is movable linearly between the use and storage positions (since the movable platform 2200 is retrofitted DVD/CD drive, [0043 bottom], platform 2200 would be moving linearly by sliding in and out like a DVD/CD drive).
Regarding claim 5
Azancot discloses the countertop appliance of claim 4.
Azancot further discloses wherein the movable platform is supported under the housing by a pair of opposing slides (since the movable platform 2200 is retrofitted DVD/CD drive, [0043 bottom], platform 2200 would be sliding in and out of the computer housing via opposing rails, just like a DVD/CD drive).
Regarding claim 10
Azancot discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Azancot further discloses an automated retraction/extension mechanism (112f invoke, since the movable platform 2200 is retrofitted DVD/CD drive, [0043 bottom], platform 2200 would having a sliding mechanism like a DVD/CD drive, i.e. automated retraction/extension mechanism, to retract and extend linearly in and out of the computer housing) coupling the movable platform to the housing and configured to move the movable platform between the storage and use positions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN 101377312 A, translation attached for examination on the merits) in view of Bugaj (US 20190357707 A1).
Regarding claim 1
Lin discloses a countertop appliance (microwave oven 1, Fig 1, bottom of page 2, microwave oven 1 is shown as a standalone appliance, thus can be placed on top of a kitchen countertop), comprising:
a housing (outer housing of microwave oven 1) configured to support the countertop appliance on a countertop (outer housing allows microwave oven 1 to be placed on a kitchen countertop);
one or more electrical loads coupled to the housing (Fig 2 shows several electrical loads being: the control module 21, an output module 22, a display module 23, a contactless power transmission module 24, and microwave heating module 25, all coupled to the microwave oven 1, top of page 3) and configured to perform one or more primary appliance functions for the countertop appliance (to control the temperature, time, and heating of the microwave oven, middle of page 3);
an external platform (a non-contact power transmitter 2 installed outside of oven box body, Fig 1, bottom of page 2); and
a wireless power transmitter supported by the external platform (non-contact power transmitter 2 includes a wireless transmitter of the wireless power of the transmission device, top of page 3) and configured to generate a wireless power signal (wireless power transmitter 2);
wherein when in the use position, the external platform positions the wireless power transmitter proximate to the countertop (wireless power transmitter 2 is next to the microwave oven 1 which is on the kitchen countertop in Fig 1, this transmitter 2 is the same as the contactless power transmission module 24 in Fig 2) to power a wirelessly powered appliance (tableware/sealed containers in Fig 2) positioned proximate thereto with the wireless power signal (Fig 2 is translated and annotated to show that the platform 2/24 is providing wireless power signal to the tableware/sealed containers which is construed as the wirelessly powered appliance).
Lin is silent on the external platform being a movable platform; and
wherein the movable platform is movable between a use position and a storage position,
wherein when in the storage position, the movable platform repositions the wireless power transmitter to reduce an overall countertop footprint of the countertop appliance.
However, Bugaj teaches a wireless power transmitter movable platform (external power source 42 may wirelessly charge the system/cup 10 via external wireless charging elements 50, Fig 2, [0054 top], external power source 42 having a cable to be charged by connecting to a power source 46, [0055], this indicates that external power source 42 is not fixed thus movable),
wherein the movable platform (42) is movable between a use position (use position when platform 42 is charging the cup/system 10 on top, Fig 2) and a storage position (functional language - the movable platform 42 can be unplugged from power source 46 and stored away),
wherein when in the storage position, the movable platform repositions the wireless power transmitter to reduce an overall countertop footprint of the countertop appliance (functional language - the movable platform 42 includes a wireless power transmitter 50, such that the movable platform 42 when not in used to heat up the cup on a surface in Fig 2, can be stored away, thus reducing an overall countertop footprint).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the external platform in Lin to be a movable platform taught by Bugaj, such that the movable platform is movable between a use position and a storage position,
wherein when in the storage position, the movable platform including the wireless power transmitter can be stored away, thus reducing an overall countertop footprint of the countertop appliance, as suggested and taught by Bugaj, to readily heat up or cool down a beverage to an optimal temperature for consumption (0066).
The combination of Lin in view of Bugaj teaches a countertop appliance being a microwave oven (Lin, 1 in Fig 1) including the external platform in Lin (2 Fig 1), where the external platform in Lin is modified to be a movable platform, taught by Bugaj (42 Fig 2). Thus, when in a use position, both the microwave oven and the external platform would occupy a space or footprint on the countertop. And when in the storage position, the movable platform is put away which would reduce the overall countertop footprint of the countertop appliance.
Regarding claim 2
Lin in view of Bugaj discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Lin further discloses wherein the countertop appliance is a countertop microwave cooking appliance (microwave oven 1, Fig 1, bottom of page 2) and the one or more electrical loads includes a microwave power generator (microwave heating module 25, Fig 2, top of page 3).
Regarding claim 11
Lin in view of Bugaj discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Lin in view of Bugaj further discloses wherein when in the use position, the movable platform is supported by the countertop (Bugaj teaches the movable platform 42 is standalone and supported on a flat surface, interpreted to be a countertop, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 17
Lin in view of Bugaj discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Lin in view of Bugaj further discloses wherein the wirelessly powered appliance is a first wirelessly powered appliance (Lin discloses a wirelessly power appliance being tableware/sealed container in Fig 1), and
wherein the wireless power transmitter (Bugaj teaches a wireless power transmitter 50, Fig 2) is configured to supply power to a second wirelessly powered appliance (container being the cup having a power input 40 arranged to wirelessly receive power from an external power source 42, [0054 top]) including one or more electric loads (sensor 20, heating elements 54, communication module 28, power source 26 are all electrical loads) and lacking a power storage element sufficient to otherwise power the second wirelessly powered appliance (system 10 and external power source 42 may both be charged by connecting the respective USB Type-C ports to a secondary external power source 46, [0055] this indicates that the system/container 10 is unable to power itself without receiving power from an external power source).
Regarding claim 18
Lin in view of Bugaj discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Lin further discloses wherein the wireless power transmitter (24, Fig 2) is further configured to inductively heat a utensil (tableware/sealed container) placed in proximity to the wireless power transmitter (microwave oven 1 is equipped with non-contact power transmission device 2/24 and control system can direct power supply and the container for non-contact heating, middle of page 2).
Regarding claim 19
Lin in view of Bugaj discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Lin in view of Bugaj further discloses a user interface (Bugat teaches that communication module 28 coupled with the remote computing device 30, to allow the user to remotely control various aspects of the system 10, Figs 1-2, [0050], this indicates that the communication module 28 is a user interface to allow a user to input parameters to control the container system 10 and the movable platform 42 in Fig 2); and
a controller (remote computing device 30 may be arranged and configured to run a software application that can be arranged and configured to allow a user to remotely control at least one of the display screen 24, Fig 2, [0050]) coupled to the user interface (communication module 28) and the one or more electrical loads (sensor 20, heating elements 54, communication module 28, power source 26 are all electrical loads) to operate the one or more electrical loads in response to user input directed to the user interface (user may also use the software application to control the power source 26 such as to disable the device or enable a low power mode, [0051 middle]);
wherein the controller (30) is further configured to communicate with the wirelessly powered appliance (container 10) when the wirelessly powered appliance is being powered by the wireless power transmitter (wireless charging element 50 of platform 42) and to communicate a command (the user may control the temperature that the milk may reach, [0058 bottom], the command being a desired temperature) to operate the wirelessly powered appliance (container 10) in response to user input (user to input the desire temperature) directed to the user interface (28).
Regarding claim 20
Lin in view of Bugaj discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Lin in view of Bugaj further discloses wherein the controller (Bugaj teaches a remote computing device 30, Fig 2) is further configured to receive identifying data from the wirelessly powered appliance (container system 10 is conductively heated via wireless power 42 to a predetermined temperature defined by the user, [0057], this indicates that the controller 30 receives temperature data from the container 10) when the wirelessly powered appliance (10) is being powered by the wireless power transmitter (50) and to configure the user interface to operate the wirelessly powered appliance using the identifying data (user interface to specify a predetermined temperature to operate the container 10 where if the temperature of container 10 is below a predetermined temperature, the wireless power transmitter 50 continues to heat the container 10, [0057, 0058 top]).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin view of Bugaj, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bowen (US 4814571 A).
Regarding claim 3
Lin in view of Bugaj discloses the countertop appliance of claim 1.
Lin in view of Bugaj is silent on wherein the movable platform is configured to position the wireless power transmitter under the housing when in the storage position.
However, Bowen teaches that a lower drawer (142, Fig 5) may be provided beneath a microwave oven (10) for storage of cooking appliances (Col 7 lines 51-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to build a lower drawer under the microwave oven, as suggested and taught by Bowen, so that the movable platform in Lin in view of Bugaj can be configured to position the wireless power transmitter under the housing when in the storage position, because this would protect the movable platform from damage and provide a neat and clean kitchen space.
Regarding claim 4
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen discloses the countertop appliance of claim 3.
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen further discloses wherein the movable platform (Bugaj teaches movable platform 42 Fig 2) is movable linearly between the use and storage positions (a person can pull the moveable platform 42 from a countertop in a linear direction, this is interpreted to be “movable linearly”, then place the platform 42 in a lower drawer underneath the microwave oven, taught by Bowen).
Regarding claim 6
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen discloses the countertop appliance of claim 4.
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen further discloses wherein the movable platform is movable in a direction between a front and a back of the housing (Bugaj teaches that since the movable platform 42 is attached to an external power source 46 via a cable and not fixed to a single position, Fig 2, the movable platform can be moved in front of back to the housing of microwave oven 1 in Lin, where the microwave oven 1 in Lin acts as the external power source to power the platform 2),
wherein when in the use position the wireless power transmitter is positioned in front of the housing on the countertop (Bugaj teaches that the moveable platform with the wireless power transmitter 42 is not fixed to a single location, the movable platform can be used in front of the housing of the microwave oven 1 in Lin).
Regarding claim 7
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen discloses the countertop appliance of claim 4.
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen further discloses wherein the movable platform is movable in a direction between left and right sides of the housing (Bugaj teaches that since the movable platform 42 is attached to an external power source 46 via a cable and not fixed to a single position, Fig 2, the movable platform can be moved to the left or the right sides of the housing of microwave oven 1 in Lin, where the microwave oven 1 in Lin acts as the external power source to power the platform 2),
wherein when in the use position the wireless power transmitter is positioned to a left or right of the housing on the countertop (Bugaj teaches that the moveable platform with the wireless power transmitter 42 is not fixed to a single location, the movable platform can be used to a left or the right side of the housing of the microwave oven 1 in Lin).
Regarding claim 8
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen discloses the countertop appliance of claim 3.
Lin in view of Bugaj and Bowen further disclose wherein the movable platform is rotatable between the use and storage positions (Bugaj teaches that since the movable platform 42 is attached to an external power source 46 via a cable and not fixed to a single position, Fig 2, the movable platform can be moved or spun around, i.e. “rotatable” around the housing of microwave oven 1 in Lin, where the microwave oven 1 in Lin acts as the external power source to power the platform 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9 and 12-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
i. In claim 9, the cited prior art of record fails to anticipate and/or render obvious, either solely or in combination, a countertop appliance comprising, among other features,
wherein the movable platform is configured to position the wireless power transmitter against a side of the housing when in the storage position, and wherein the movable platform is rotatably coupled to the housing to flip down into the use position.
In claim 12, the cited prior art of record fails to anticipate and/or render obvious, either solely or in combination, a countertop appliance comprising, among other features,
a cooling fan positioned to cool at least one of the one or more electrical loads coupled to the housing; and
a ducting arrangement configured to receive airflow generated by the cooling fan and route the airflow to the movable platform when in the use position to cool the wireless power transmitter during use.
Claims 13-16 also include the allowable subject matter at least by virtue of their respective dependency upon an allowable base claim 12.
ii. Nam (US 10424940 B2) teaches a smart table with a wireless power 210, however this is mounted under the table, thus it would not be reducing a footprint of the appliance on the countertop.
Matsushita (US 12184079 B2) teaches a wireless power transmission unit 8 mounted under the countertop and is not movable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alexander (US 10010213 B2) teaches a wireless food plate
Girdzis (US 10554033 B2) teaches an under cabinet charging device
/Thuyhang N Nguyen/Examiner, Art Unit 3761