Status of the Claims
This FINAL action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment of 06 July 2025. Claims 1-12 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
The specification continues to be objected to because of paragraph 13, line 3 reading [[o]]. Applicant’s amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 101 and 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the office action of 26 March 2025 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims set forth in the office action of 26 March 2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 25 June 2025 have been considered have been considered and are NOT persuasive. The combination of Melatti, Wu, Cho, Hafner and Sewada reads on the applicant’s submitted amendments as shown below. More specifically, the amended portions of the claims are anticipated by the addition of prior art, Sewada, and are therefore unpatentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8--12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melatti (US2020/0148068) in view of Sawada (US2019/0139162) and Cho (US2021/0129697).
In reference to claim 1, Melatti teaches:
A system comprising: one or more processors; (Paragraph 20: "Implementations of
the systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods disclosed herein may comprise or utilize a
special purpose or general purpose computer including computer hardware, such as, for
example, one or more processors and system memory, as discussed herein")
and a memory coupled to the one or more processors; (Paragraph 68: "The vehicle
controller 105 at least comprises a processor and a memory")
and storing a plurality of instructions that are executable; (Paragraph 20: "The memory
130 stores executable instructions that are executable by the processor 128 to perform various functions related to the operations of the charging station")
transmit, to a Human Machine Interface (HMI) around the determined charging
station, an instruction to display request information requesting the one or more users to charge
the unmanned autonomous vehicle at the determined charging station. (see at least Paragraph 68, 21 and 61: “An alert can be sent to a human machine interface (HMI 142) of the vehicle.. instructions that are executable by the processor 128 to perform various functions related to the operations of the charging station.. the controller 126 is adapted to generate messages that are capable of being displayed )
Melatti does not disclose:
wherein, if an unmanned autonomous vehicle that runs on electric power needs to be charged, the plurality of instructions is configured to cause the one or more processors to acquire crowdedness information of each of a plurality of charging stations: determine, based on the crowdedness information, a charging station of plurality of charging stations having one or more users; station; and control the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging.
However, Sawada teaches:
wherein, if an unmanned autonomous vehicle that runs on electric power needs to be
charged, the plurality of instructions is configured to cause the one or more processors to acquire crowdedness information of each of a plurality of charging stations; (see at least [Paragraph 003 & Abstract] and fig. 1: “as an environmentally-friendly vehicle, an electrically powered vehicle (such as a plug-in hybrid vehicle or an electric vehicles) capable of charging a power storage device mounted thereon by using electric power from a power source external to the vehicle is becoming widespread…the management server acquires congestion information indicating a congestion degree of a charging station installed in the destination among the plurality of charging stations ").
determine, based on the crowdedness information, a charging station of plurality of charging stations having one or more users; station; (Paragraph 0006: "any charging station may be selected based on its congestion degree.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Sawada to provide a system with processors and a memory to acquire crowdedness information from a plurality of charging stations and determine the station to charge at based on the crowdedness information, in order to increase efficiency at charging stations and allow the charging of a vehicle while a user is staying at a destination (see at least Paragraph 0005 and 0007).
Melatti and Sawada do not disclose:
control the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging and transmit.
Furthermore, Cho teaches:
control the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging; (See Paragraph 48: “In addition, when the power of an equipped battery is less than or equal to a preset threshold, based on location information of a user equipped with a charging station, the unmanned aerial vehicle 120 may fly to the location of the user equipped with a charging station”). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Cho to provide a system that moves the autonomous vehicle to a determined charging location in order to remain a functional vehicle of the fleet by maintaining a charge so that it may continue to operate autonomously.
In reference to claim 4, Melatti, Sawada, and Cho in combination teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above:
Melatti further teaches: wherein the plurality of instructions is configured to cause the one or more processors to; (Paragraph 20: “instructions that are executable by the processor 128 to perform various functions related to the operations of the charging station”)
However, Melatti does not disclose: in response to determining that [[if]] the unmanned autonomous vehicle needs to be charged, instruct the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to charging station being used by a user.
Furthermore, Cho teaches: in response to determining that [[if]] the unmanned autonomous vehicle needs to be charged, instruct the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to charging station being used by a user; (Paragraph 48: In addition, when the power of an equipped battery is less than or equal to a preset threshold, based on location information of a user equipped with a charging station, the unmanned aerial vehicle 120 may fly to the location of the user equipped with a charging station,) Cho states that "in order to promote the distribution of electric vehicles and commercialize autonomous vehicles, it will become increasingly important to increase the convenience of charging through establishing charging infrastructure" (Paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti in view of Murakami to incorporate Cho to provide a system for the autonomous vehicle to direct itself to the charging station, in order to remain a functional vehicle of the fleet by maintaining a charge so that it may continue to operate autonomously.
In reference to claim 5, Melatti in view of Murakami teaches the limitations set forth above. Furthermore, Murakami teaches: wherein the HMI is a mobile terminal that a person around the charging station carries; (see at least ¶ [57] “The communication module 132 allows the charging station to communicate with, for example, the vehicle, the charging station server 108, or the mobile device”) The communication module, or mobile terminal allows the charging station to communicate, operating as a human machine interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Murakami to configure an HMI with a mobile terminal for a user in order to communicate to and from an autonomous vehicle that needs charging.
In reference to claim 6, Melatti in view of Murakami teaches the limitations set forth above. Melatti further teaches:
wherein the HMI is a vehicle mount terminal of a vehicle in which a person around the charging station is riding; (see at least ¶ [57]: lines 6-8 The communication module 132 allows the charging station to communicate with, for example, the vehicle, the charging station server 108, or the mobile device). The communication module allows the communication to and from the user, functioning as a human machine interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Murakami to configure an HMI as a vehicle mount terminal for a user in order to communicate to and from an autonomous vehicle that needs charging.
In reference to claim 8, Melatti teaches:
A method for managing, with a computer; (Paragraph 20: "Implementations of the systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods disclosed herein may comprise or utilize a special purpose or general purpose computer including computer hardware, such as, for example, one or more processors and system memory, as discussed herein")
transmitting, to a Human Machine Interface (HMI) around the determined charging
station, an instruction to display request information requesting the one or more users to charge
the unmanned autonomous vehicle at the determined charging station. (see at least Paragraph 20 and 68: “instructions that are executable by the processor 128 to perform various functions related to the operations of the charging station. (Murakami) Paragraph 51: The user may be informed to return the vehicle to the nearest port or kiosk or to simply connect the vehicle to a charger, upon the user's scheduled return…An alert can be sent to a human machine interface (HMI 142) of the vehicle”)
Melatti does not disclose:
an unmanned autonomous vehicle that runs on electric power, the method comprising:
if the unmanned autonomous vehicle needs to be charged acquiring crowdedness information of each of a plurality of charging stations; determining, based on the crowdedness information, a charging station of the plurality of charging stations having one or more users; controlling the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging station; and transmitting, to a Human Machine Interface (HMI) around the determined charging station, an instruction to display request information requesting the one or more users to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle at the determined charging station.
However, Sawada teaches:
an unmanned autonomous vehicle that runs on electric power, the method comprising:
if the unmanned autonomous vehicle needs to be charged acquiring crowdedness information of each of a plurality of charging stations; (see at least Paragraph 003 & Abstract: “as an environmentally-friendly vehicle, an electrically powered vehicle (such as a plug-in hybrid vehicle or an electric vehicles) capable of charging a power storage device mounted thereon by using electric power from a power source external to the vehicle is becoming widespread…the management server acquires congestion information indicating a congestion degree of a charging station installed in the destination among the plurality of charging stations ").
determining, based on the crowdedness information, a charging station of plurality of charging stations having one or more users; station; (Paragraph 0006: "any charging station may be selected based on its congestion degree.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to
incorporate Sawada to provide a system with processors and a memory to acquire crowdedness information from a plurality of charging stations and determine the station to charge at based on the crowdedness information, in order to increase efficiency at charging stations and allow the charging of a vehicle while a user is staying at a destination (see at least Paragraph 0005 and 0007).
Sawada does not disclose:
controlling the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging and transmit,
Furthermore, Cho teaches:
controlling the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging; (See Paragraph 48: “In addition, when the power of an equipped battery is less than or equal to a preset threshold, based on location information of a user equipped with a charging station, the unmanned aerial vehicle 120 may fly to the location of the user equipped with a charging station”) It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Cho to provide a system that moves the autonomous vehicle to a determined charging location in order to remain a functional vehicle of the fleet by maintaining a charge so that it may continue to operate autonomously.
In reference to claim 9, Melatti teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program configured to cause a computer to execute functions, the functions comprising: (Paragraph 20: "Implementations of the systems, apparatuses, devices, and methods disclosed herein may comprise or utilize a special purpose or general purpose computer including computer hardware, such as, for
example, one or more processors and system memory, as discussed herein")
Melatti does not disclose:
an unmanned autonomous vehicle that runs on electric power, the method comprising:
if the unmanned autonomous vehicle needs to be charged acquiring crowdedness information of each of a plurality of charging stations; determining, based on the crowdedness information, a charging station of the plurality of charging stations having one or more users; controlling the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging station; and transmitting, to a Human Machine Interface (HMI) around the determined charging station, an instruction to display request information requesting the one or more users to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle at the determined charging station.
However, Sawada teaches:
an unmanned autonomous vehicle that runs on electric power, the method comprising:
if the unmanned autonomous vehicle needs to be charged acquiring crowdedness information of each of a plurality of charging stations; (see at least Paragraph 003 & Abstract: “as an environmentally-friendly vehicle, an electrically powered vehicle (such as a plug-in hybrid vehicle or an electric vehicles) capable of charging a power storage device mounted thereon by using electric power from a power source external to the vehicle is becoming widespread…the management server acquires congestion information indicating a congestion degree of a charging station installed in the destination among the plurality of charging stations ").
determining, based on the crowdedness information, a charging station of plurality of charging stations having one or more users; station; (Paragraph 0006: "any charging station may be selected based on its congestion degree.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to
incorporate Sawada to provide a system with processors and a memory to acquire crowdedness information from a plurality of charging stations and determine the station to charge at based on the crowdedness information, in order to increase efficiency at charging stations and allow the charging of a vehicle while a user is staying at a destination (see at least Paragraph 0005 and 0007).
Sawada does not disclose:
controlling the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging and transmit.
Therefore, Cho teaches: controlling the unmanned autonomous vehicle to move to the determined charging station; (See Paragraph 48: “In addition, when the power of an equipped battery is less than or equal to a preset threshold, based on location information of a user equipped with a charging station, the unmanned aerial vehicle 120 may fly to the location of the user equipped with a charging station”) It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Cho to provide a system that moves the autonomous vehicle to a determined charging location, in order to remain a functional vehicle of the fleet by maintaining a charge so that it may continue to operate autonomously.
Lastly, Melatti teaches: transmitting, to a Human Machine Interface (HMI) around the determined charging station, an instruction to display request information requesting the one or more users to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle at the determined charging station. (see at least Paragraph 20 and 68: “instructions that are executable by the processor 128 to perform various functions related to the operations of the charging station. (Murakami) Paragraph 51: The user may be informed to return the vehicle to the nearest port or kiosk or to simply connect the vehicle to a charger, upon the user's scheduled return…An alert can be sent to a human machine interface (HMI 142) of the vehicle”).
In reference to claim 10, Melatti does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the one or more processors to, in a case where a plurality of charging stations having one or more users includes a first charging station and a second charging station having a greater number of users than the first charging station, determine the second charging station as the charging station to which the unmanned autonomous vehicle is instructed to move.
furthermore, , Sawada teaches:
wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the one or more processors to, in a case where a plurality of charging stations having one or more users includes a first charging station and a second charging station having a greater number of users than the first charging station, determine the second charging station as the charging station to which the unmanned autonomous vehicle is instructed to move; (see at least the Abstract and Paragraph 0006: the management server acquires congestion information indicating a congestion degree of a charging station… the charging may be performed at any charging station adjacent to the scheduled traveling route as long as it is within a travelable distance of the vehicle, and thus, any charging station may be selected based on its congestion degree)
Sawada outlines the server acquiring information regarding the number of users at a plurality of charging stations and indicates that the charging station may be chosen based on the congestion degree. This can be interpreted as the charging station may be chosen based on the amount of users, and therefore the instructions may instruct the vehicle to the charging station with the greater amount of users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti in view of Sawada in order to route an electric vehicle to a charging station based on the number of users when the electric vehicle needed to be charged to increase efficiency of charging time at charging stations (see at least Paragraph 005).
In reference to claim 11, Melatti does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the one or more processors to, in a case where a plurality of charging stations having one or more users includes a first charging station located on a travel route to a destination of the unmanned autonomous vehicle and a second charging station located apart from the travel route, determine the first charging station as the charging station to which the unmanned autonomous vehicle is instructed to move.
However, Sawada teaches:
wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the one or more processors to, in a case where a plurality of charging stations having one or more users includes a first charging station located on a travel route to a destination of the unmanned autonomous vehicle and a second charging station located apart from the travel route, determine the first charging station as the charging station to which the unmanned autonomous vehicle is instructed to move; (see at least the Abstract and Paragraph 0006: the management server acquires congestion information indicating a congestion degree of a charging station… the charging may be performed at any charging station adjacent to the scheduled traveling route as long as it is within a travelable distance of the vehicle, and thus, any charging station may be selected based on its congestion degree)
Sawada outlines the server acquiring information regarding the number of users at a plurality of charging stations located on a travel route and indicates that the charging station may be chosen based on the congestion degree. This can be interpreted as the charging station may be chosen based on the amount of users, and therefore the instructions may instruct the vehicle to the charging station along the route with the greater amount of users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti in view of Sawada in order to route an electric vehicle to a charging station along the route based on the number of users when the electric vehicle needed to be charged to fulfill the user’s desire of minimizing the time needed to charge the vehicle by efficiently choosing a charging station based on users along the desired route.
In reference to claim 12, Melatti does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the one or more processors to, in response to a request from a mobile terminal, transmit, to the mobile terminal, status information indicating charger availability at each charging station, and request information indicating whether there is a request to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle.
However, Sawada teaches:
wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to cause the one or more processors to, in response to a request from a mobile terminal, transmit, to the mobile terminal, status information indicating charger availability at each charging station, and request information indicating whether there is a request to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle; (see at least Paragraph 0017: When a desired charging station is selected by the user from the charging station candidates, the vehicle sends information for specifying the selected charging station to the server. The server sends a charging reservation request to the selected charging station.”)
Sawada outlines the transmittal from the vehicle to the charging station regarding a request to charge and reservation based on information indicating charger availability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti in view of Sawada in order to transmit information regarding charging availability and request information to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle to increase efficiency and reduce charging time of the electric vehicle (see at least paragraph 005 and 007).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melatti (US2020/0148068) in view of Sawada (US2019/0139162) and Cho (US2021/0129697) further in view of Murakami (US7181409).
Melatti does not disclose: wherein the request information includes a request of a user using the charging station to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle.
However, Murakami teaches: wherein the request information includes a request of a user using the charging station to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle; (Paragraph 51: The user may be informed to return the vehicle to the nearest port or kiosk or to simply connect the vehicle to a charger, upon the user's scheduled return)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Murakami to indicate to a user that the vehicle needs to be charged because "electric vehicles typically require charging more often than the conventional vehicles require refueling. Recharging stations are not nearly as available as conventional petroleum motor fuels. Moreover, recharging of an electric vehicle typically takes much more time than refueling a conventional vehicle. Thus, if a conventional vehicle is present at a designated parking area of a shared vehicle system, but does not have sufficient fuel to meet a user's travel needs, the vehicle can be quickly refueled and made available to the user. However, even when an electric vehicle is idle in a designated parking space, it is not available to a user unless it has a sufficient existing state of charge (SOC) to make the user's intended trip ... accordingly, there is a further need for a system and method" (Murakami, Paragraph 12, lines 1-5). Notifying the user of the need to be charged would prove critical in operating and maintaining an electric vehicle.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melatti (US2020/0148068) in view of Sawada (US2019/0139162), Cho (US2021/0129697)and Murakami (US7181409) in further view of Wu (US2019/0097440).
In reference to claim 3, Melatti in view of Sawada, Cho and Murakami teaches the limitations set forth above.
Melatti does not disclose: wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to transmit the instruction to display the request information in response to detecting that the unmanned autonomous vehicle is on standby at the charging station.
Furthermore, Murakami teaches: wherein the plurality of instructions is further configured to transmit the instruction to display the request information; (Paragraph 51: The user may be informed to return the vehicle to the nearest port or kiosk or to simply connect the vehicle to a charger, upon the user's scheduled return). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Murakami to provide a system with instructions configured to transmit the instruction to display the request information, because an electric vehicle “is not available to a user unless it has a sufficient existing state of charge (SOC) to make the user's intended trip” (see at least paragraph 12) . In order for it to be charged, it is necessary for the request to be made via the display in order to communicate the need to be charged.
Melatti in view of Sawada, Cho and Murakami does not disclose: in response to detection that the unmanned autonomous vehicle is on standby at the charging station
However, Wu teaches: in response to detection that the unmanned autonomous vehicle is on standby at the charging station; (Paragraph 0010: Further, the energy supply station further includes a detection device coupled to the communication device and configured to detect and provide feedback regarding whether an unmanned vehicle is parked at each of the parking places. The communication device is further configured to determine and upload parking information on any parking place where an unmanned vehicle can be parked based at least on a parking state fed back from the detection device)
Murakami has described the need the user for a notification that an electric vehicle needs to charge (Murakami, Paragraph 12, lines 1-5), whereas Wu further emphasizes the efficient management of the location of the charging electric vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti to incorporate Melatti and further incorporate Wu to provide a system to notify a user of the need to be charged in response to detection that the unmanned autonomous vehicle is on standby.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Melatti (US2020/0148068) in view of Sawada (US2019/0139162), Cho (US2021/0129697) and Murakami (US7181409) further in view of Hafner (US20090313104).
Melatti in view of Sawada, Cho teaches the limitations of claim 1 set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the request information includes a request to charge the unmanned autonomous vehicle in return for giving an incentive.
However, Hafner teaches:
wherein the request information includes a request to charge the unmanned autonomous
vehicle in return for giving an incentive; (Paragraph 2, line 4-8: the present invention is directed to a computer implemented method, apparatus, and computer usable program code for requesting, receiving, managing, selecting, and applying incentives associated with electric vehicle charging transactions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have modified Melatti in view of Sawada and Cho to incorporate the incentives taught by Hafner in order to motivate a user to perform the operation of charging an electric vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.V.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664