DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2005/0042137, hereinafter Peterson.
Regarding claim 1, Peterson teaches a test container (figure 11) comprising: an inlet (item 64) into which a specimen solution is to be put (paragraph [0048]); an attachable and detachable lid part (item 30) that covers the inlet (figure 3); a first storage portion (item 65) that is provided such that the inlet is an end surface of an opening (figure 3) and that stores a specimen solution added dropwise from the inlet (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); a second storage portion (items 40 and 80) that is capable of storing liquid and causes the specimen solution and a reagent to react with each other (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); a first flow channel (items 106, 109, 110 and 117) that connects the first storage portion to the second storage portion (figure 9); a first cylinder (paragraphs [0046] and [0102], syringe pump, the tube of the syringe pump connected to item 105) of which one end is connected to the first storage portion via a second flow channel (paragraph [0094], item 182) and the other end is open to an outside (paragraph [0102]); a second cylinder (paragraphs [0046] and [0102], syringe pump, the tube of the syringe pump connected to item 125) of which one end is connected to the second storage portion via a third flow channel (paragraph [0094], item 182) and the other end is open to an outside (paragraph [0102]); a first plug (paragraphs [0046] and [0102], syringe pump, the plunger of the syringe pump) that is provided to be movable in the first cylinder (paragraph [0102]); and a second plug (paragraphs [0046] and [0102], syringe pump, the plunger of the syringe pump) that is provided to be movable in the second cylinder (paragraph [0102]), wherein an internal space including the first storage portion, the second storage portion, the first flow channel, the second flow channel, and the third flow channel is capable of being pressurized in a case where the first plug and the second plug are pressed and moved from the outside (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 2, Peterson teaches wherein the internal space is hermetically sealed by the first plug and the second plug (paragraphs [0094] and [0102]), and the second plug is moved from the internal space to the outside in the second cylinder while being interlocked with movement of the first plug in a case where the first plug is pressed from the outside and moved toward the internal space in the first cylinder (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 3, Peterson teaches wherein an air vent (the back opening of the syringe barrel) is provided at a part of the second cylinder and the internal space is capable of being pressurized in a case where the second plug is moved closer to the internal space than the air vent (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 4, Peterson teaches a purification chamber (item 86) that is provided in a middle of the first flow channel and removes impurities in the specimen solution (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Peterson teaches wherein the reagent is stored in the second storage portion (paragraph [0048], the point at which the master mix is added to item 40).
Regarding claim 6, Peterson teaches a third storage portion (item 71) that is provided in a middle of the first flow channel and stores the reagent (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, Peterson teaches a purification chamber (item 86) that is provided in a middle of the first flow channel and removes impurities in the specimen solution (paragraph [0055]), wherein the third storage portion (item 71) is provided between the purification chamber and the second storage portion in the middle of the first flow channel (figure 9).
Regarding claim 8, Peterson teaches a stirring flow channel (item 122) that is provided between the third storage portion and the second storage portion (figure 9) and facilitates mixture of the specimen solution and the reagent (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 9, Peterson teaches wherein a bottom surface of the second storage portion is formed of a film (item 48).
Regarding claim 10, the reagent is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the reagent has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Peterson. Further Peterson teaches this limitation in paragraph [0048].
Regarding claim 11, Peterson teaches a test device (figure 11) comprising: the test container according to claim 1 (see supra); and a pressing machine (paragraph [0102]) including a first pressing unit that presses the first plug positioned in the first cylinder of the test container from the outside and a second pressing unit that presses the second plug positioned in the second cylinder from the outside (the portion of the syringe pump which presses the syringe down), wherein in a case where the first plug is pressed and moved toward the internal space by the first pressing unit, the specimen solution stored in the first storage portion of the test container is fed to the second storage portion (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 12, Peterson teaches a first heating unit (items 190A and 190B) that is provided at a position allowing the first heating unit to be in contact with a bottom surface of the second storage portion of the test container (figure 23) and heats liquid stored in the second storage portion (paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 14, Peterson teaches a detection unit (item 218) that detects whether or not an object to be detected is included in the specimen solution in the second storage portion (paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 15, Peterson teaches the detection unit includes an excitation light source (paragraph [0112]) that irradiates liquid stored in the second storage portion with excitation light for exciting the fluorescent probe, and a photodetector that detects fluorescence emitted from the fluorescent probe excited by irradiation with the excitation light (paragraph [0112]).
The reagent is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the reagent has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Peterson. Further Peterson teaches this limitation in paragraph [0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of United States Patent No. 5,328,462, hereinafter Fischer.
Regarding claim 3, if it is determined that Peterson fails to teach wherein an air vent is provided at a part of the second cylinder, then Peterson would fail to teach this limitation.
Fischer teaches a syringe tube which has a vent hole in the side of the cylinder of the syringe so that air can be vented into the syringe after use (Fischer, column 3, lines 52-55).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an air vent in the second cylinder because it would allow for air to be vented into the syringe after use (Fischer, column 3, lines 52-55).
Regarding the limitation that the internal space is capable of being pressurized in a case where the second plug is moved closer to the internal space than the air vent, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Peterson and Fischer and the apparatus of modified Peterson is capable of pressurizing as described. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Peterson (see MPEP §2114).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson in view of United States Application Publication No. 2010/0173394, hereinafter Colston.
Regarding claim 13, Peterson a heater at the bottom surface of the reaction chamber (figure 23). However, Peterson fails to teach a second heating unit that is provided at a position allowing the second heating unit to be in contact with a bottom surface of the first storage portion of the test container and heats liquid stored in the first storage portion.
Colston teaches a device in which the sample is preheated as this would provide a hot-start temperature for the PCR (Colson, paragraph [0708]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a second heating element in contact with the bottom surface of the first storage portion because it would allow for the sample to be preheated which would provide a hot-start temperature for the PCR (Colson, paragraph [0708]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796