DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 27, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
a control unit that is configured to cause the isolated converter to vary voltage at a direct-current input-output terminal of the first converter in accordance with power generated by a photovoltaic power generator
1
A processor with a memory [0028]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. JP 2020058232 A. (It is noted that the Fujii citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 1, Fujii discloses a power conversion apparatus [fig. 1] comprising:
an isolated converter that is arranged between a rechargeable battery and a set of a first converter and a second converter [fig. 1; par. 67; 15A is an isolated converter “the insulated DC / DC unit 15A may be included in the power converter 10, or may be outside the power converter 10” arranged between battery 41 and DC/DC Converters 12A, 12B and 16], that is connected to the first converter, the second converter, and the rechargeable battery [fig. 1], and that is configured to bidirectionally convert voltage of direct-current power supplied from a connection destination [fig. 1; 15A converters electricity from various destinations 30A/30B/50 and supplies it to base station 20]; and
a control unit [pars. 72-74; control unit 17] that is configured to cause the isolated converter to vary voltage at a direct-current input-output terminal of the first converter in accordance with power generated by a photovoltaic power generator, the direct-current input-output terminal being connected to the isolated converter [pars. 71-74; 17 controls 15A to convert voltage to a particular level for the DC bus 14, based on the power produced by the photovoltaic panel 30, which varies voltage on the DC bus 11 through loading, thus varies voltage at converter 16 (the first converter with a DC input/output terminal on DC Bus 11)]
wherein the first converter is configured to convert alternating-current power supplied from a grid power line to direct-current power [fig. 1, converter 16 bidirectionally converters AC/DC; pars. 70-72],
the second converter is configured to convert voltage of direct-current power supplied from the photovoltaic power generator, and to supply the voltage-converted direct-current power to the direct-current input-output terminal of the first converter [fig. 1, second converters 12A/12B converter power from PV panels 30 to the level for DC bus 11, which can be supplied to converter 16; pars. 70-71, 74 & 76-77].
Regarding claim 2, Fujii discloses wherein, in response to the power generated by the photovoltaic power generator being lower than a threshold, the control unit is configured to cause the isolated converter to reduce the voltage at the direct-current input-output terminal of the first converter [par. 74; when the power generated by panel 30 is less than the supply amount to station 20 (a threshold) 17 continues to instruct the supply of power to 20 via 15A, thus causing the DC bus voltage to “drop”, reducing the voltage at the DC terminal of converter 16].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. JP 2020058232 A in view of Zhou et al. US PGPUB 2017/0110969. (It is noted that the Fujii citations are taken from the machine translation, until a translation is obtained.)
Regarding claim 3, Fujii does not explicitly disclose wherein the isolated converter includes a switching element that performs a switching operation, and
wherein, in response to the power generated by the photovoltaic power generator being lower than the threshold, the control unit is configured to cause the isolated converter to reduce a switching frequency used in the switching operation.
However, Zhou discloses a PV power conversion system wherein the isolated converter includes a switching element that performs a switching operation, and wherein, in response to the power generated by the photovoltaic power generator being lower than the threshold, the control unit is configured to cause the isolated converter to reduce a switching frequency used in the switching operation [figs. 2-3; pars. 23, 40, 42, 47; if the voltage drops below a threshold, the switching frequency is reduced to maintain a particular voltage on the output of the DC/DC converter; the DC/DC converter 300 is an isolated converter with switching elements 302-308 (fig. 3)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii to further include wherein the isolated converter includes a switching element that performs a switching operation, and wherein, in response to the power generated by the photovoltaic power generator being lower than the threshold, the control unit is configured to cause the isolated converter to reduce a switching frequency used in the switching operation for the purpose of maintaining a desired output voltage, as taught by Zhou (par. 47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein the isolated converter is a resonant converter, and wherein the control unit is configured to compare the switching frequency calculated on a basis of the reduced voltage at the direct-current input-output terminal of the first converter and a resonant frequency of the isolated converter, and to select a higher one of the calculated switching frequency and the resonant frequency as the switching frequency used in the switching operation” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kang et al. et al. US PGPUB 2015/0200584 discloses a PV power conversion system which controls the switching frequency to maintain a stable output.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859