DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 8,616,260 – Zhang in view of PG Pub. US 2008/0120804 A1 – Annes et al., hereinafter Annes, and US Pat. 10,774,817 – Wang.
Regarding claim 1.
Zhang discloses a biasing assembly (including 22, 23, and 24 in fig 5) for facilitating raising and lowering a blind assembly (12, fig 6) within an insulated glass unit (including 13a and 13b, fig 1), the biasing assembly comprising:
a housing (See annotated fig 5) configured to be fixed in position within the insulated glass unit (See fig 1), and
at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) carried by the housing, the at least one coil spring having one end coupled to the housing (See annotated fig 5) or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to a follower assembly (22, fig 5) configured to be coupled by an actuating cord (24, fig 5) to the blind assembly (12, fig 6) such that movement of the follower assembly effects, via corresponding movement of the actuating cord, for raising and lowering the blind assembly (Via 8, fig 5).
Zhang does not disclose the at least one coil spring responsive to respective forces applied to the opposite end thereof to pay out of, and be taken up in, the housing, the at least one coil spring comprising at least one negative coil spring configured to impart a negative spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly such that the force applied by the negative coil spring to the follower assembly decreases as an elongation distance of the negative coil spring increases.
However, Annes teaches the at least one coil spring (40a, fig 4) responsive to respective forces applied to the opposite end thereof (at 48, by follower assembly 70, fig 4) to pay out of, and be taken up in, the housing (30a, fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Zhang with the spring/housing/follower arrangement of Annes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for easier servicing or replacement of the components.
Also, Wang teaches the at least one coil spring (1, fig 1) comprising at least one negative coil spring (1, fig 1) configured to impart a negative spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly such that the force applied (T, fig 2) by the negative coil spring to the follower assembly decreases as an elongation distance (L, fig 2) of the negative coil spring increases (See fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the assembly of Zhang with the negative coil spring of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of compensating for progressive loading of the spring due to slat accumulation, as suggested by Wang.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Zhang, Annes, and Wang teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Annes, further teaches the housing (30a, fig 8) defines a pocket (54, fig 8) having at least one spring carrier (60, fig 8) defined therein, and wherein the at least one coil spring (40a, fig 6) is operatively mounted to at least one spring carrier within the pocket of the housing (See fig 6).
Regarding claim 3.
The combination of Zhang, Annes, and Wang teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Zhang further discloses the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) comprises at least one coiled flat spring (See fig 6) (Examiner notes that the coil spring 40a of Annes is also a flat coil spring).
Regarding claim 6.
The combination of Zhang, Annes, and Wang teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Zhang does not disclose the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) comprises two or more negative coil springs each having one end coupled to the housing or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly.
However, Annes further teaches the at least one coil spring comprises two or more negative coil springs (40a and 40b, fig 4) each having one end coupled to the housing (30a and 30b, fig 4) or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly (70, fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Zhang and Annes with the two or more coil springs of Annes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a lower profile housing through the use of smaller spring coils.
Regarding claim 7.
The combination of Zhang, Annes, and Wang teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Zhang further discloses the at least one coil spring further comprises at least one of
(a) one or more positive coil springs having one end coupled to the housing or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly, the one or more positive coil springs configured to impart a positive spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly, and
(b) one or more constant- bias coil springs (23, fig 5) having one end coupled to the housing (See annotated fig 5 above) or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly (22, fig 5), the one or more constant-bias coil springs configured to impart a constant spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly (Column 3, Lines 48-54; In the aforesaid hollow built-in blind, the balance pull cord 24 has one end fixed to a large diameter end of the tapered balance cord-reeling device 8, and the other end that passes through a constant spring seat 22 to connect with a constant spring 23. The constant spring 23 has an inner ring connected to the constant spring seat 22, and an outer ring fixed to the left frame (10a) (see FIG. 8).).
Regarding claim 8.
Zhang discloses a blind control assembly (Including 22, 23, and 24, fig 5) for controlling raising and lowering of a blind assembly (12, fig 6) within an insulated glass unit (See fig 1), the blind control assembly comprising:
a follower assembly (22, fig 5) configured to be movable along a channel defined in the insulated glass unit (see fig 1), the follower assembly configured to be coupled via a cord (24, fig 5) to the blind assembly (via 8, fig 5) such that movement of the follower assembly along the channel causes the cord to raise and lower the blind assembly within the IG unit, and
a biasing assembly (including 23, fig 5) configured to be fixed in position (See “housing” in annotated fig 5 above) within the channel defined in the insulated glass unit (See fig 1), the biasing assembly including at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) having a first end coupled to the biasing assembly (at “housing” in annotated fig 5) and a second end coupled directly to the follower assembly (22, fig 5).
Zhang fails to disclose the at least one coil spring comprising at least one negative coil spring configured to impart a negative spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly such that the force applied by the negative coil spring to the follower assembly decreases as an elongation distance of the negative coil spring increases,
wherein the at least one coil spring is paid out of the biasing assembly by movement of the follower assembly away from the biasing assembly and is taken up in the biasing assembly by movement of the follower assembly toward the biasing assembly.
However, Wang teaches the at least one coil spring (1, fig 1) comprising at least one negative coil spring (1, fig 1) configured to impart a negative spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly such that the force applied (T, fig 2) by the negative coil spring to the follower assembly decreases as an elongation distance (L, fig 2) of the negative coil spring increases (See fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the assembly of Zhang with the negative coil spring of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of compensating for progressive loading of the spring due to slat accumulation, as suggested by Wang.
Also, Annes teaches the at least one coil spring (40a, fig 4) is paid out of the biasing assembly (at 30a, fig 4) by movement of the follower assembly (70, fig 4) away from the biasing assembly (at 30a, fig 4) and is taken up in the biasing assembly by movement of the follower assembly toward the biasing assembly.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the assembly of Zhang with the biasing assembly arrangement of Annes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for easier servicing or replacement of the components.
Regarding claim 9.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 8.
The combination, in Annes, further teaches the biasing assembly (including 30a, fig 3) comprises a first housing (30a, fig 3) configured to be fixed in position (via 35, fig 3) within the channel of the insulated glass unit, wherein the first housing defines a pocket (54, fig 8) having at least one spring carrier (60, fig 8) defined therein, and wherein the at least one coil spring (40a, fig 5) is operatively mounted to at least one spring carrier (See fig 5) within the pocket of the first housing and the first end (at 42, fig 4) of the at least one coil spring is coupled to the at least one spring carrier (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Zhang further discloses the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) comprises at least one coiled flat spring (See fig 6) (Examiner notes that the coil spring 40a of Annes is also a flat coil spring).
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 8.
Zhang further discloses the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) comprises at least one of
(a) one or more positive coil springs having one end coupled to the housing or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly, the one or more positive coil springs configured to impart a positive spring bias between the biasing assembly and the follower assembly, and
(b) one or more constant-bias coil springs (23, fig 5) having one end coupled to the housing (See annotated fig 5 above) or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly (22, fig 5), the one or more constant-bias coil springs configured to impart a constant spring bias between the biasing assembly and the follower assembly (Column 3, Lines 48-54; In the aforesaid hollow built-in blind, the balance pull cord 24 has one end fixed to a large diameter end of the tapered balance cord-reeling device 8, and the other end that passes through a constant spring seat 22 to connect with a constant spring 23. The constant spring 23 has an inner ring connected to the constant spring seat 22, and an outer ring fixed to the left frame (10a) (see FIG. 8).).
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Zhang further discloses the follower assembly (22, fig 5) comprises a second housing (22, fig 5) movable along the channel of the insulated glass unit, and wherein the second end of the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) and the second housing are configured to be directly coupled to one another (See fig 5).
Regarding claim 19.
Zhang discloses an insulated glass unit (Fig 1), comprising:
first (13a, fig 1) and second (13b, fig 1) spaced apart panels,
a spacer (including 1, 10a, and 10b, fig 1) affixed to inner surfaces of each of the first and second panels about a periphery of the first and second panels to define an airspace bounded by the spacer and the first and second panels (See fig 1),
a blind assembly (12, fig 6), including a plurality of blind slats (12d, fig 5), disposed within the airspace (See fig 1),
a flexible cord (24, fig 5) operatively coupled to the blind assembly (at 8, fig 5) for raising and lowering the plurality of blind slats,
a follower assembly (22, fig 5) coupled via the cord to the blind assembly, the follower assembly movable along a channel defined in the airspace of the insulated glass unit to raise and lower the blind assembly via the cord, and
a biasing assembly (including “housing”, see annotated fig 5 above) fixed in position within the channel, the biasing assembly including at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) having a first end coupled to the biasing assembly and a second end coupled directly to the follower assembly (See fig 5),
Zhang fails to disclose the at least one coil spring comprising at least one negative coil spring configured to impart a negative spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly such that the force applied by the negative coil spring to the follower assembly decreases as an elongation distance of the negative coil spring increases,
wherein the at least one coil spring is paid out of the biasing assembly by movement of the follower assembly along the channel away from the biasing assembly and is taken up in the biasing assembly by movement of the follower assembly along the channel toward the biasing assembly.
However, Wang teaches the at least one coil spring (1, fig 1) comprising at least one negative coil spring (1, fig 1) configured to impart a negative spring bias between the insulated glass unit and the follower assembly such that the force applied (T, fig 2) by the negative coil spring to the follower assembly decreases as an elongation distance (L, fig 2) of the negative coil spring increases (See fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the assembly of Zhang with the negative coil spring of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of compensating for progressive loading of the spring due to slat accumulation, as suggested by Wang.
Also, Annes teaches the at least one coil spring (40a, fig 4) is paid out of the biasing assembly (at 30a, fig 4) by movement of the follower assembly (70, fig 4) along the channel away from the biasing assembly (at 30a, fig 4) and is taken up in the biasing assembly by movement of the follower assembly along the channel toward the biasing assembly.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Zhang with the biasing assembly arrangement of Annes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for easier servicing or replacement of the components.
Regarding claim 20.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 19.
Zhang further discloses the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) comprises at least one coiled flat spring (See fig 6) (Examiner notes that the coil spring 40a of Annes is also a flat coil spring).
Regarding claim 21.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 19.
Zhang further discloses the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) comprises at least one of
(a) one or more positive coil springs having one end coupled to the housing or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly, the one or more positive coil springs configured to impart a positive spring bias between the biasing assembly and the follower assembly, and
(b) one or more constant-bias coil springs (23, fig 5) having one end coupled to the housing (See annotated fig 5 above) or to a component mounted in the housing and an opposite end configured to be directly coupled to the follower assembly (22, fig 5), the one or more constant-bias coil springs configured to impart a constant spring bias between the biasing assembly and the follower assembly (Column 3, Lines 48-54; In the aforesaid hollow built-in blind, the balance pull cord 24 has one end fixed to a large diameter end of the tapered balance cord-reeling device 8, and the other end that passes through a constant spring seat 22 to connect with a constant spring 23. The constant spring 23 has an inner ring connected to the constant spring seat 22, and an outer ring fixed to the left frame (10a) (see FIG. 8).).
Regarding claim 22.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 19.
Zhang further discloses the biasing assembly comprises a first housing (See annotated fig 5 above) configured to be fixed in position within the channel,
wherein the follower assembly (22, fig 5) comprises a second housing (at 22, fig 5), and
wherein the at least one coil spring (23, fig 5) is operatively mounted to the first housing (See fig 5), the first end of the at least one coil spring is coupled to the first housing or to a component mounted to the first housing and the second end of the at least one coil spring is directly coupled to the second housing (See fig 5).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhang, Annes, and Wang as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of PG Pub. US 2021/0301591 A1 – Huang.
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Zhang, Annes, and Wang teaches all limitations of claim 3.
The combination does not teach the at least one spring carrier comprises a number of spokes arranged in a concentric pattern, and wherein the at least one coiled flat spring is mounted on and about the number of spokes of the at least one spring carrier with the one end of the at least one coiled flat spring coupled to at least one of the number of spokes.
However, Huang teaches at least one spring carrier (64, fig 3) comprises a number of spokes arranged in a concentric pattern (See fig 3), and wherein the at least one coiled flat spring (61, fig 3) is mounted on and about the number of spokes of the at least one spring carrier with the one end of the at least one coiled flat spring coupled to at least one of the number of spokes (when wound on the spool 64, See fig 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Zhang, Annes, and Wang with the spoked spool of Huang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing friction between the spring and the housing.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of PG Pub. US 2022/0349250 A1 – Misura, III et al., hereinafter Misura.
Regarding claim 13.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 12.
The combination does not teach the second end of the at least one coil spring comprises a head spaced part from a main body of the at least one coil spring and a neck defined between the head and the main body, the neck having a width less than widths of the head and the main body,
and wherein the second housing defines a second pocket and a second slot through the second housing and into the second pocket, the second slot configured to receive the head of the at least one coil spring therethrough and the second pocket configured to receive the head of the at least one coil spring therein via the second slot and to retain the head therein to couple the second end of the at least one coil spring to the second housing.
However, Misura teaches the second end (at 212, fig 4b) of the at least one coil spring (220, fig 4b) comprises a head (222, fig 4c) spaced part from a main body of the at least one coil spring (See fig 5) and a neck (at 212, fig 4b) defined between the head and the main body (See fig 4b), the neck having a width (See slot in fig 4c) less than widths of the head and the main body (See slot in fig 4c), and wherein the second housing defines a second pocket (See at 212, fig 4b) and a second slot (212, fig 4b) through the second housing and into the second pocket (See fig 4b), the second slot configured to receive the head of the at least one coil spring therethrough (See fig 4b) and the second pocket configured to receive the head of the at least one coil spring therein (See fig 4c) via the second slot and to retain the head therein (via 216, fig 4c) to couple the second end of the at least one coil spring to the second housing (See fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes with the head, neck, and pocket of Misura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing a secure attachment between the spring and the second housing.
Regarding claim 14.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, Annes, and Misura teaches all limitations of claim 13.
Zhang does not disclose the at least one coil spring comprises a plurality of coil springs each having a head spaced part from a main body of the coil spring and a neck positioned between the head and the main body with the neck having a width less than widths of the head and main body,
and wherein the second slot is configured to receive the heads of each of the plurality of coil springs therethrough and the second pocket is configured to receive the heads of each of the plurality of coil springs therein via the second slot and to retain the heads of each of the plurality of coil springs therein to couple the second ends of the plurality of coil springs to the second housing.
However, Misura teaches the at least one coil spring (220, fig 5) comprises a plurality of coil springs (Paragraph [0035]; In one embodiment, a pair of opposing, identically constructed biasing members 220 are provided. In this manner, counterbalancing force can be exerted on opposing sides/ends of the structure 210, thereby simplifying assembly and function of the mechanism 200.) each having a head (222, fig 4c) spaced part from a main body of the coil spring and a neck (at 212, fig 4b) positioned between the head and the main body (See fig 4b) with the neck having a width (See slot in fig 4c) less than widths of the head and main body, and wherein the second slot (212, fig 4b) is configured to receive the heads of each of the plurality of coil springs therethrough (See fig 4b) and the second pocket is configured to receive the heads of each of the plurality of coil springs therein via the second slot and to retain the heads of each of the plurality of coil springs therein to couple the second ends of the plurality of coil springs to the second housing (See fig 4b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang, Wang, Annes, and Misura with the dual springs of Misura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a lower profile housing through the use of smaller spring coils.
Claim(s) 15, 16, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes as applied above, and further in view of US Pat. 8,550,141 – Ding.
Regarding claim 15.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 12.
The combination does not teach:
one of a magnet and a ferromagnetic component coupled to the first housing, and
the other of a magnet and a ferromagnetic component coupled to the second housing,
wherein the magnet and the ferromagnetic component are positioned on a respective one of the first and second housings to magnetically couple to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the biasing assembly.
However, Ding teaches one of a magnet (461, fig 5) and a ferromagnetic component coupled to the first housing (46, fig 5), and
the other of a magnet and a ferromagnetic component (45, fig 3) coupled to the second housing (See fig 3),
wherein the magnet and the ferromagnetic component are positioned on a respective one of the first and second housings to magnetically couple to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the biasing assembly (Column 5, lines 19-21; When the lift traction magnet inner slide assembly 41 falls to the counterweight 45 and attracts with the limiting magnet 461 of the lower limiting block 46, the lift traction magnet inner slide assembly 41 will be attracted and positioned).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes with the magnet of Ding. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing a repeatable index for the internal magnetic operator.
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 8.
The combination does not teach a tilt assembly including a pulley base fixed in position within the channel such that the follower assembly is movable within the channel between the biasing assembly and the pulley base,
wherein the follower assembly includes a follower assembly housing having an upper end and the pulley base includes a pulley base housing having a lower end, and wherein the lower end of the pulley base housing and the upper end of the follower assembly housing are configured to releasably couple to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the pulley base.
However, Ding teaches a tilt assembly (including 55, fig 1) including a pulley base (at 451, fig 1) fixed in position within the channel such that the follower assembly (41, fig 1) is movable within the channel between the biasing assembly (46, fig 1) and the pulley base (at 451, fig 1),
wherein the follower assembly (41, fig 1) includes a follower assembly housing (at 411 in fig 1) having an upper end and the pulley base includes a pulley base housing (See removed cover plate adjacent 451 in fig 2a) having a lower end, and wherein the lower end of the pulley base housing and the upper end of the follower assembly housing are configured to releasably couple (Shown released in fig 2a) to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the pulley base (See figs 2a and 2b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang, Wang and Annes with the tilt assembly of Ding. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for tilting the slats and releasing the lift assembly.
Regarding claim 23.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 22.
The combination does not teach:
one of a magnet and a ferromagnetic component coupled to the first housing, and
the other of a magnet and a ferromagnetic component coupled to the second housing,
wherein the magnet and the ferromagnetic component are positioned on a respective one of the first and second housings to magnetically couple to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the biasing assembly.
However, Ding teaches one of a magnet (461, fig 5) and a ferromagnetic component coupled to the first housing (46, fig 5), and
the other of a magnet and a ferromagnetic component (45, fig 3) coupled to the second housing (See fig 3),
wherein the magnet and the ferromagnetic component are positioned on a respective one of the first and second housings to magnetically couple to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the biasing assembly (Column 5, lines 19-21; When the lift traction magnet inner slide assembly 41 falls to the counterweight 45 and attracts with the limiting magnet 461 of the lower limiting block 46, the lift traction magnet inner slide assembly 41 will be attracted and positioned).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes with the magnet of Ding. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing a repeatable index for the internal magnetic operator.
Regarding claim 24.
The combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes teaches all limitations of claim 19.
The combination does not teach a tilt assembly including a pulley base fixed in position within the channel such that the follower assembly is movable within the channel between the biasing assembly and the pulley base,
wherein the follower assembly includes a follower assembly housing having an upper end and the pulley base includes a pulley base housing having a lower end, and wherein the lower end of the pulley base housing and the upper end of the follower assembly housing are configured to releasably couple to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the pulley base.
However, Ding teaches a tilt assembly (including 55, fig 1) including a pulley base (at 451, fig 1) fixed in position within the channel such that the follower assembly (41, fig 1) is movable within the channel between the biasing assembly (46, fig 1) and the pulley base (at 451, fig 1),
wherein the follower assembly (41, fig 1) includes a follower assembly housing (at 411 in fig 1) having an upper end and the pulley base includes a pulley base housing (See removed cover plate adjacent 451 in fig 2a) having a lower end, and wherein the lower end of the pulley base housing and the upper end of the follower assembly housing are configured to releasably couple (Shown released in fig 2a) to one another upon movement of the follower assembly proximate to the pulley base (See figs 2a and 2b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang, Wang, and Annes with the tilt assembly of Ding. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for tilting the slats and releasing the lift assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, 25, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/27/2025 have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634