DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 20, and their depending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 and its depending claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Line 6 introduces “ a third non-metallic current collector”. However, Line 10 further introduces “a third non-metallic current collector”. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim 20 and its depending claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Lines 9-10 introduces “ a third non-metallic current collector”. However, Line 16 further introduces “a third non-metallic current collector”. The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (US Publication 2007/0081299) in view of Ohashi et al. (US Publication 2010/0246095).
In re claim 1, Zhong discloses a supercapacitor cell comprising:
a first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶52);
a second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶52);
a first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶19) disposed adjacent to the first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5);
a second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶19) disposed adjacent to the second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5);
a separator (520 – Figure 5, ¶78) disposed between the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5); and
an electrolyte solution disposed between the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector (¶78).
Zhong does not disclose wherein each one of the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector has a surface area with dimensions of at least 15 centimeters by at least 15 centimeters.
Ohashi discloses that the area of the active material can be adjusted by adjusting the length and width of the current collectors (¶50, 60). Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that adjusting the dimensions of the current collector is correlated to the total surface area of the current collector.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the dimensions of the current collector, and thus, the area of active material to achieve a device having desired capacitance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 6, Zhong in view of Ohashi discloses the supercapacitor cell of claim 1, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein in response to receiving an electrical current, the supercapacitor cell is configured to store electrical energy by shuttling charges to or into the interface between the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the electrolyte solution (¶78) and at an interface between the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5) and the electrolyte solution (¶78) (¶3, ¶6, ¶13).
In re claim 7, Zhong in view of Ohashi discloses the supercapacitor cell of claim 1, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein the electrolyte solution is an aqueous solution (¶8).
In re claim 8, Zhong in view of Ohashi discloses the supercapacitor cell of claim 1, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5) are made of carbon (¶21).
In re claim 9, Zhong in view of Ohashi discloses the supercapacitor cell of claim 8, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5) are porous (¶21).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (US Publication 2007/0081299) in view of Ohashi et al. (US Publication 2010/0246095) and in further view of Shirata et al. (US Patent 5,077,634).
In re claim 2, Zhong in view of Ohashi discloses the supercapacitor cell of claim 1, as explained above. Zhong further discloses a first non-metallic electrode and a second non-metallic electrode (510, 530 – Figure 5, ¶78). Zhong does not disclose further comprising a partially compressible structure co-located with the first electrode and the second electrode.
Shirata discloses a partially compressible structure (23, 24 – Figure 1, col.4 ll.56-67) co-located with the first electrode and the second electrode (33 – Figure 1, col.5 l.5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the compressible structure and multiple capacitor structure of Shihara to provide for an electronic component having greater capacitance.
In re claim 3, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Shirata discloses the supercapacitor cell of claim 2, as explained above. Zhong further discloses a housing that defines an inner cavity (¶78), wherein the inner cavity houses the first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5) (¶78), the second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5) (¶78), the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) (¶78), the second non- metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5) (¶78), the separator (520 – Figure 5), and the electrolyte solution (¶78).
Zhong does not disclose and wherein the housing is configured to apply pressure in a direction normal to a major surface of the first current collector and a major surface of the current collector.
Shihara discloses the housing (21, 22 – Figure 1, col.4 ll. 42-46) is configured to apply pressure in a direction normal to a major surface of the current collectors (34 – Figure 1, col.5 l.8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the compressible structure and multiple capacitor structure of Shihara to provide for an electronic component having greater capacitance.
In re claim 4, Zhong in view of Ohashi discloses the supercapacitor cell of claim 1, as explained above. Zhong further discloses an electrolyte solution disposed between the first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5, ¶52) and the second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5, ¶52) (¶78) and occupying the space of a first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and second non-metallic electrode (530) (¶78).
Zhong does not disclose a seal surrounding the first non-metallic electrode, the second non-metallic electrode, the separator, and the electrolyte solution, and located within a space defined between the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector.
Shirata discloses a seal (35, 36 – Figure 1, col.5 l.6) surrounding the first electrode (33 – Figure 1), the second electrode (33 – Figure 1), the separator (32 – Figure 1, col.5 l.3), and located within a space defined between the first current collector and the second current collector (34 – Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the compressible structure and multiple capacitor structure of Shihara to provide for an electronic component having greater capacitance.
Claim(s) 10, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (US Publication 2007/0081299) in view of Ohashi et al. (US Publication 2010/0246095) and in further view of Suzuki et al. (US Publication 2005/0064289) and in further view of Mitsuda et al. (US Publication 2007/0215926).
Figure 6 of Suzuki with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 6EC)
In re claim 10, Zhong discloses a stacked capacitor comprising:
a plurality of non-metallic current collectors comprising:
a first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶52);
a second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶52);
a first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶19) disposed adjacent to the first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5);
a second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶19) disposed adjacent to the second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5);
a separator (520 – Figure 5, ¶78) disposed between the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5); and
an electrolyte solution disposed between the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector (¶78).
Zhong does not disclose wherein each one of the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector has a surface area with dimensions of at least 15 centimeters by at least 15 centimeters.
Ohashi discloses that the area of the active material can be adjusted by adjusting the length and width of the current collectors (¶50, 60). Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that adjusting the dimensions of the current collector is correlated to the total surface area of the current collector.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the dimensions of the current collector, and thus, the area of active material to achieve a device having desired capacitance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Zhong does not disclose a third non-metallic electrode disposed adjacent to the second non-metallic current collector;
and a fourth non-metallic electrode disposed adjacent to the third non-metallic current collector; a plurality of separators, wherein:
a first one of the plurality of separators is disposed between the first non- metallic electrode and the second non-metallic electrode; and
a second one of the plurality of separators is disposed between the third non- metallic electrode and the fourth non-metallic electrode; and
an electrolyte solution disposed between the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector, disposed between the third non-metallic current collector and the fourth non-metallic current collection, and disposed around the first non-metallic electrode, the second non-metallic electrode, the third non-metallic electrode, and the fourth non- metallic electrode.
Suzuki discloses a first current collector (C1 – Figure 6EC, ¶165) ;
a second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC, ¶175);
a first electrode (E1 – Figure 6EC, ¶165) disposed adjacent to the first current collector (C1 – Figure 6EC); and
a second electrode (E2 – Figure 6EC, ¶175) disposed adjacent to the second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC);
a third electrode (E3 – Figure 6EC, ¶165) disposed adjacent to the second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC);
a third current collector (C3 – Figure 6EC); and
a fourth electrode (E4 – Figure 6EC, ¶175) disposed adjacent to the third current collector (C3 – Figure 6EC);
a plurality of separators (S1, S2 – Figure 6EC, ¶182), wherein:
a first one of the plurality of separators (S1 – Figure 6EC) is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (E1, E2 – Figure 6EC); and
a second one of the plurality of separators (S2 – Figure 6EC) is disposed between the third electrode and he fourth electrode (E3, E4 – Figure 6EC); and
an electrolyte solution disposed between the first current collector (C1 – Figure 6EC) and the second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC), disposed between the third current collector (C3 – Figure 6EC) and the fourth current collection (C4 – Figure 6EC), and disposed around the first electrode, the second electrode, the third electrode, and the fourth electrode (E1, E2, E3, E4 – Figure 6EC) (¶90, ¶182).
The combination of Zhong and Suzuki discloses a third non-metallic current collector, a third non-metallic electrode, and a fourth non-metallic electrode.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the multiple electrode layers and current collector layers of Suzuki to achieve a device having greater capacitance.
Zhong does not disclose the stacked capacitor has a thickness dimension of at least 2 millimeters.
Mitsuda discloses that adjusting the thickness of the electrode layer in a double layer capacitor is a balance between energy storage capacity and internal electric resistance (¶14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the thickness of each of the electrode layers, and thus, the thickness of the stacked capacitor to achieve a device having a desired balance between capacitance and internal resistance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 15, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein in response to receiving an electrical current, the stacked capacitor is configured to store electrical energy by shuttling charges to or into the interface between the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the electrolyte solution (¶78), at an interface between the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5) and the electrolyte solution (¶78) (¶3, ¶6, ¶13).
Zhong further discloses all electrodes may be non-metallic (¶19).
Zhong does not disclose the capacitor is configured to store electrical energy by shuttling charges to or into the interface between the third non-metallic electrode and the electrolyte solution, and at an interface between the fourth non-metallic electrode and the electrolyte solution.
Suzuki discloses an interface between a third electrode (E3 – Figure 6EC) and the electrolyte solution (S2 – Figure 6EC) and an interface between the fourth electrode (E4 – Figure 6EC) and the electrolyte solution (S2 – Figure 6EC).
The combination of Zhong and Suzuki discloses the capacitor is configured to store electrical energy by shuttling charges to or into the interface between the third non-metallic electrode and the electrolyte solution, and at an interface between the fourth non-metallic electrode and the electrolyte solution.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the multiple electrode layers and current collector layers of Suzuki to achieve a device having greater capacitance.
In re claim 17, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein the electrolyte solution is an aqueous solution (¶8).
In re claim 18, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5) are made of carbon (¶21).
Zhong further discloses all the electrodes are non-metallic (¶21). Zhong does not disclose the third non-metallic electrode and the fourth non- metallic electrode are made of carbon.
Suzuki discloses a third electrode (E3 – Figure 6EC) and a fourth electrode (E4 – Figure 6EC).
The combination of Zhong and Suzuki discloses the third non-metallic electrode and the fourth non- metallic electrode are made of carbon.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the multiple electrode layers and current collector layers of Suzuki to achieve a device having greater capacitance.
In re claim 19, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Zhong further discloses wherein the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5) are porous (¶21).
Zhong further discloses all the electrodes are porous (¶21). Zhong does not disclose the third non-metallic electrode and the fourth non- metallic electrode are porous.
Suzuki discloses a third electrode (E3 – Figure 6EC) and a fourth electrode (E4 – Figure 6EC).
The combination of Zhong and Suzuki discloses the third non-metallic electrode and the fourth non- metallic electrode are porous.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the multiple electrode layers and current collector layers of Suzuki to achieve a device having greater capacitance.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (US Publication 2007/0081299) in view of Ohashi et al. (US Publication 2010/0246095) and in further view of Suzuki et al. (US Publication 2005/0064289) and in further view of Mitsuda et al. (US Publication 2007/0215926) and in further view of Shirata et al. (US Patent 5,077,634).
In re claim 11, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Zhong further discloses the electrodes are non-metallic (510, 530 – Figure 5, ¶78). Zhong does not disclose further comprising a partially compressible structure co-located with the first electrode and the second electrode. Zhong does not disclose further comprising a partially compressible structure co-located with the first non-metallic electrode, the second non-metallic electrode, the third non-metallic electrode, and the fourth non-metallic electrode.
Shirata discloses a partially compressible structure (23, 24 – Figure 1, col.4 ll.56-67) co-located with the electrodes (33 – Figure 1, col.5 l.5).
The combination of Zhong, Suzuki, and Shirata discloses a partially compressible structure co-located with the first non-metallic electrode, the second non-metallic electrode, the third non-metallic electrode, and the fourth non-metallic electrode.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the compressible structure and multiple capacitor structure of Shirata provide for an electronic component having a lower internal resistance.
In re claim 12, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda and in further view of Shirata discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 11, as explained above. Zhong further discloses a housing (¶78) that defines an inner cavity (¶78), wherein the inner cavity houses the first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5, ¶52), the second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5, ¶52), the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5), the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5), a separator (520 – Figure 5), and electrolyte solution (¶78).
Zhong further discloses that all electrodes and current collectors can be non-metallic (¶52, ¶19).
Zhong does not disclose the inner cavity of the housing houses the third non-metallic electrode, the third non-metallic current collector, the fourth non-metallic electrode, the plurality of separators, and the electrolyte solution, and wherein the housing is configured to apply pressure in a direction normal to a major surface of the first second non-metallic current collector and a major surface of the third non-metallic current collector.
Suzuki discloses the inner cavity of the housing (¶96, Figure 6) houses the third electrode (E3 – Figure 6EC), the third non-metallic current collector (C3 – Figure 6EC), the fourth electrode (E4 – Figure 6EC), the plurality of separators (S1, S2 – Figure 6EC), and the electrolyte solution (¶90, ¶182).
The combination of Zhong and Suzuki discloses the inner cavity of the housing houses the third non-metallic electrode, the third non-metallic current collector, the fourth non-metallic electrode, the plurality of separators, and the electrolyte solution.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the multiple electrode layers and current collector layers of Suzuki to achieve a device having greater capacitance.
Zhong does not disclose wherein the housing is configured to apply pressure in a direction normal to a major surface of the first current collector and a major surface of the third current collector.
Shirata discloses the housing (21, 22 – Figure 1, col.4 ll. 42-46) is configured to apply pressure in a direction normal to a major surface of the current collectors (34 – Figure 1, col.5 l.8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the compressible structure and multiple capacitor structure of Shirata provide for an electronic component having a lower internal resistance.
In re claim 13, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 10, as explained above. Zhong further discloses the collectors and electrodes may be non-metallic (¶52, ¶19).
Zhong does not disclose a third electrode and a fourth electrode.
Suzuki discloses a third electrode (E3 – Figure 6EC) and a fourth electrode (E4 – Figure 6EC).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the multiple electrode layers and current collector layers of Suzuki to achieve a device having greater capacitance.
Zhong does not disclose a plurality of seals, wherein each seal surrounds at least one of the first non-metallic electrode, the second non- metallic electrode, the third non-metallic electrode, or the fourth non-metallic electrode.
Shirata discloses a plurality of seals (35, 36 – Figure 1), wherein each seal surrounds the electrodes (33 – Figure 1)and collectors (34 – Figure 1).
The combination of Zhong, Suzuki, and Shirata discloses a plurality of seals, wherein each seal surrounds at least one of the first non-metallic electrode, the second non- metallic electrode, the third non-metallic electrode, or the fourth non-metallic electrode.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the compressible structure and multiple capacitor structure of Shirata provide for an electronic component having a lower internal resistance.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (US Publication 2007/0081299) in view of Ohashi et al. (US Publication 2010/0246095) and in further view of Suzuki et al. (US Publication 2005/0064289) and in further view of Mitsuda et al. (US Publication 2007/0215926) and in further view of Kon et al. (US Publication 2008/0089012).
In re claim 16, Zhong in view of Ohashi and in further view of Suzuki and in further view of Mitsuda discloses the stacked capacitor of claim 15, as explained above. Zhong does not disclose wherein the capacitor has an energy density between, and inclusive of, at least 1 Watt-hour per kilogram (Wh/kg) and at least 10 Wh/kg.
Kon discloses adjusting the thickness of the current collectors to achieve a device having a desired energy density (¶195).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the size of the current collectors to achieve a device having desired energy density, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (US Publication 2007/0081299) in view of Ohashi et al. (US Publication 2010/0246095) and in further view of Suzuki et al. (US Publication 2005/0064289) and in further view of Mitsuda et al. (US Publication 2007/0215926) and in further view of Signorelli et al. (US Publication 2012/0313586).
In re claim 20, Zhong discloses a plurality of non-metallic current collectors comprising:
a first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶52);
a second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶52);
a first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶19) disposed adjacent to the first non-metallic current collector (505 – Figure 5);
a second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5, ¶78, ¶19) disposed adjacent to the second non-metallic current collector (535 – Figure 5);
a separator (520 – Figure 5, ¶78) disposed between the first non-metallic electrode (510 – Figure 5) and the second non-metallic electrode (530 – Figure 5); and
an electrolyte solution disposed between the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector (¶78).
Zhong does not disclose wherein each one of the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector has a surface area with dimensions of at least 15 centimeters by at least 15 centimeters.
Ohashi discloses that the area of the active material can be adjusted by adjusting the length and width of the current collectors (¶50, 60). Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that adjusting the dimensions of the current collector is correlated to the total surface area of the current collector.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the dimensions of the current collector, and thus, the area of active material to achieve a device having desired capacitance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Zhong does not disclose a third non-metallic electrode disposed adjacent to the second non-metallic current collector;
a third non-metallic current collector; and a fourth non-metallic electrode disposed adjacent to the third non-metallic current collector; a plurality of separators, wherein:
a first one of the plurality of separators is disposed between the first non- metallic electrode and the second non-metallic electrode; and
a second one of the plurality of separators is disposed between the third non- metallic electrode and the fourth non-metallic electrode; and
an electrolyte solution disposed between the first non-metallic current collector and the second non-metallic current collector, disposed between the third non-metallic current collector and the fourth non-metallic current collector, and disposed around the first non-metallic electrode, the second non-metallic electrode, the third non-metallic electrode, and the fourth non- metallic electrode.
Suzuki discloses a first current collector (C1 – Figure 6EC, ¶165) ;
a second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC, ¶175);
a first electrode (E1 – Figure 6EC, ¶165) disposed adjacent to the first current collector (C1 – Figure 6EC); and
a second electrode (E2 – Figure 6EC, ¶175) disposed adjacent to the second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC);
a third electrode (E3 – Figure 6EC, ¶165) disposed adjacent to the second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC);
a third current collector (C3 – Figure 6EC); and
a fourth electrode (E4 – Figure 6EC, ¶175) disposed adjacent to the third current collector (C3 – Figure 6EC);
a plurality of separators (S1, S2 – Figure 6EC, ¶182), wherein:
a first one of the plurality of separators (S1 – Figure 6EC) is disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (E1, E2 – Figure 6EC); and
a second one of the plurality of separators (S2 – Figure 6EC) is disposed between the third electrode and he fourth electrode (E3, E4 – Figure 6EC); and
an electrolyte solution disposed between the first current collector (C1 – Figure 6EC) and the second current collector (C2 – Figure 6EC), disposed between the third current collector (C3 – Figure 6EC) and the fourth current collector (C4 – Figure 6EC), and disposed around the first electrode, the second electrode, the third electrode, and the fourth electrode (E1, E2, E3, E4 – Figure 6EC) (¶90, ¶182).
The combination of Zhong and Suzuki discloses a third non-metallic current collector, a third non-metallic electrode, and a fourth non-metallic electrode.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the multiple electrode layers and current collector layers of Suzuki to achieve a device having greater capacitance.
Zhong does not disclose the stacked capacitor has a thickness dimension of at least 2 millimeters.
Mitsuda discloses that adjusting the thickness of the electrode layer in a double layer capacitor is a balance between energy storage capacity and internal electric resistance (¶14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the thickness of each of the electrode layers, and thus, the thickness of the stacked capacitor to achieve a device having a desired balance between capacitance and internal resistance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Zhong does not disclose a controller, a plurality of stacked capacitors coupled in parallel or series, and a switching device in signal communication with the controller and electrically connected between the plurality of stacked capacitors and an electrical load or an energy source or connected between the plurality of stacked capacitors for controlling how the stacked capacitors are connected to each other.
Signorelli discloses a plurality of capacitors (10 – Figure 2, Figure 3, ¶26) coupled in parallel or series (Claim 8), and a switching device in signal communication with the controller and electrically connected between the plurality of stacked capacitors and an electrical load or an energy source or connected between the plurality of stacked capacitors for controlling how the stacked capacitors are connected to each other (¶56-58).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the system of Signorelli to allow the capacitors to externally communicate to accomplish real-world applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) a clamping device completely external to the housing, wherein the clamping device is configured to apply pressure in a direction normal to a surface of the first and second non-metallic current collectors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto (US Publication 2019/0109348) [¶26], [¶78]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848