DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made for the applicant’s response and amendment filed on 09/11/2025.
Remarks
The claims are presented as follows:
Claims 2,5,12 and 15 are canceled.
Claims 1,3-4,6-11,13-14, and 16-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendment submitted by the applicant (amending dependent claims into independent claims) does not overcome the rejection made by the examiner in the last office action. Applicant’s argument has been considered carefully and does not provide the evidence for lack of motivation.
Applicant recites that the reference do not disclose, teach or suggest adjusting of a network slice selection policy of the route selection descriptor is associated with load level information, a service experience, dispersion analytics, and a session management congestion control experience (SMCCE), which are the analytics ID.
Lv teaches a user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) update based on analytics Identifiers (Analytics identifiers and corresponding analytics results shown in TABLE-1) by performing at least one of the following: adjusting precedence of a first route selection descriptor in a first traffic descriptor in the first URSP rule, adjusting a parameter in a first route selection descriptor in a first traffic descriptor in the first URSP rule [0081-84] the analytics identifier (analytics ID) includes at least one of the following: load level information, service experience, network function load information, network performance, UE mobility, UE communication, an abnormal behavior, user data congestion, quality of service, session management congestion control experience, redundant transmission experience, WLAN performance, UE dispersion, or DN performance and the analytics object, indicated by the results for updating the URSP rule, includes at least one of the following: an access mode, a DN, or a slice to be re-evaluated based on performance [0123-127] each analytics ID indicates analytics results, for example taking the case of the analytic ID being a the load level information, the analytics result indicates slice performance; the analytics result includes at least one of the following: a quantity of registered terminals, a quantity of established PDU sessions, a quantity of used resources, a resource utilization threshold, a resource utilization threshold in time domain, or a load level; each analytics identifier corresponds to an analytics result indicating performance of one analytics object [0128-132] Analytics identifiers and corresponding analytics results shown in Table 1. In addition, related parameters of session management congestion control experience are shown in Table 9.
Therefore, Lv discloses, teaches or suggests the terms of the specific analytics ID used when adjusting the policy within the descriptor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-4,6-11,13-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Lv et al. Publication No. (US 2025/0023816 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lv teaches a user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) provision method (Terminal 11 FIG.1), comprising:
requesting analytics of an analytics identifier (ID) (The terminal sends a first evaluation requesting an analytics result and/or a prediction result corresponding to a second analytics identifier [00192-198] FIG.3);
determining a URSP rule based on an analytics result for the analytics ID (The terminal re-evaluates the first URSP rule based on the second analytics identifier, the re-evaluating is used to determine whether the first URSP rule needs to be updated [0192-198] FIG.3); and
providing the URSP rule (The terminal sends the second analytics identifier used to obtain an analytics result and/or a prediction result corresponding to the second analytics object in the first URSP rule, e.g., providing the first URSP rule to be updated [0198-204] FIG.3).
wherein the determining comprises:
adjusting a precedence and one or more components of a route selection descriptor in the URSP rule based on the analytics result for the analytics ID (In a case that the first URSP rule needs to be updated, adjusting precedence of a first route selection descriptor in a first traffic descriptor in the first URSP rule, adjusting precedence of a first traffic descriptor in the first URSP rule, and adjusting a parameter in a first route selection descriptor in a first traffic descriptor in the first URSP rule [0080-84]).
wherein the adjusting of a network slice selection policy (NSSP) of the route selection descriptor (adjusting a slice (DNN or access mode) in the first route selection descriptor, and changing the DNN into a DNN for which performance indicated by the first analytics result meets a second condition or adjusting S-NSSAI in the first route selection descriptor, and changing the S-NSSAI into S-NSSAI for which performance indicated by the first analytics result meets a third condition [0090-94] FIG.8, see URSP rule [0101]) is associated with load level information, a service experience, dispersion analytics, and a session management congestion control experience (SMCCE), which are the analytics ID (the analytics identifier load level information, service experience, network function load information, network performance, UE mobility, UE communication, an abnormal behavior, user data congestion, quality of service sustainability, session management congestion control experience, redundant transmission experience, WLAN performance [0123] the related parameters of session management congestion control experience are shown in Table 9 [0152] FIG.8)
Claim 2 (cancelled).
Regarding claim 3, Lv teaches the URSP provision method of claim 1, wherein the determining further comprises: determining a URSP applicable to UE based on a local configuration and an operator policy; and determining a URSP rule for the UE based on the analytics result for the analytics ID (the re-evaluating is used to determine whether the first URSP rule needs to be updated, in a case that the first URSP rule needs to be updated, adjusting precedence and parameters in the first URSP rule to obtain a second URSP rule that is applicable to the UE based on route selection and traffic descriptor in the first URSP rule [0080-84]).
Regarding claim 4, Lv teaches the URSP provision method of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise at least one of: a network slice selection policy (NSSP), a DNN (data network name) selection policy, an SSC (session and service continuity) mode selection policy (SSCMSP), a protocol data unit (PDU) session type policy, a non-seamless offload policy, or an access type preference (adjusting a DNN in the first route selection descriptor, and changing the DNN into a DNN for which performance indicated by the first analytics result meets a second condition or adjusting S-NSSAI in the first route selection descriptor, and changing the S-NSSAI into S- NSSAI for which performance indicated by the first analytics result meets a third condition, and the third condition is that the performance of the S-NSSAI indicated by the first analytics result is better than that of the S-NSSAI in the first route selection descriptor [0092-94]).
Claim 5 (cancelled).
Regarding claim 6, Lv teaches the URSP provision method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting of a DNN selection policy of the route selection descriptor is associated with a service experience, UE communication, an SMCCE, and DN performance, which are the analytics ID (the second analytics identifier includes at least one of the following: load level information, service experience, network function load information, network performance, UE mobility, UE communication, an abnormal behavior, user data congestion, quality of service sustainability, session management congestion control experience, redundant transmission experience, WLAN performance, UE dispersion, or DN performance [0206-207]).
Regarding claim 7, Lv teaches the URSP provision method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting of a non- seamless offload policy of the route selection descriptor is associated with UE communication, wireless local area network (WLAN) performance, load level information, network performance, and user data congestion, which are the analytics ID (the second analytics identifier includes at least one of the following: load level information, service experience, network function load information, network performance, UE mobility, UE communication, an abnormal behavior, user data congestion, quality of service sustainability, session management congestion control experience, redundant transmission experience, WLAN performance, UE dispersion, or DN performance [0206-207]).
Regarding claim 8, Lv teaches the URSP provision method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting of an SSCMSP of the route selection descriptor is associated with a service experience which is the analytics ID (analytics ID corresponding to adjusting DN Performance, UE communication, Service Experience, or load level information, and obtain performance of a plurality of slices, such as current resource utilization of the slice, a quantity of established PDU sessions, a quantity of registered terminals, slice load level DNN that SMCC is applied, S-NSSAI that SMCC is applied [0151-152]).
Regarding claim 9, Lv teaches the URSP provision method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting of a PDU session type policy of the route selection descriptor is associated with a service experience which is the analytics ID (the second analytics result includes at least one of the following: a quantity of registered terminals, a quantity of established PDU sessions, a quantity of used resources, a resource utilization threshold, a resource utilization threshold in time domain, or a load level [0207]).
Regarding claim 10, Lv teaches the URSP provision method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting of an access type preference of the route selection descriptor is associated with a service experience and WLAN performance, which are the analytics ID (the second analytics identifier includes at least one of the following: load level information, service experience, network function load information, network performance, UE mobility, UE communication, an abnormal behavior, user data congestion, quality of service sustainability, session management congestion control experience, redundant transmission experience, WLAN performance, UE dispersion, or DN performance [0206-207]).
Regarding claims 11, 13-14, 16-20, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1,3-4,6-10 respectively, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “base station” side a processor and a memory with instructions (Lv: [0396] FIG.15) and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 12 and 15 (cancelled).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472