DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1 and 12 were amended. Thus, claims 1-18 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (US 20200406069 A1) in view of Bordewick (US 20070277827 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fu teaches a powered air purifying respirator (“PAPR”), comprising: a PAPR body having an upper housing having a threaded inlet configured to receive a threaded filter canister (Fig. 25 where 126 is a front shell is analogous to a upper housing; paragraph 0219 “At one end of the blower unit 22, there is provided pipe threads for sealing connect to a connection assembly 30” where one skilled in the art would reasonably expect that these pipe threads connecting to a connection assembly are also reasonably configured to receive a threaded filter canister, which is not positively recited), and a lower housing having an outlet (Fig. 25 where 128 is a rear shell analogous to a lower housing; paragraph 0228 "when the blower 108 runs, air comes in from the filter unit 14, entering the blower unit 22, then the control unit 26 before entering the mask assembly 12”); an impeller rotatably mounted within the PAPR body (paragraph 0206 “Inside the blower unit 22, there is provided an electric blower 108 comprising a motor 122 and an impeller 124”), said impeller having an impeller body defining an impeller air inlet aligned with the inlet on the upper housing and an impeller air outlet configured to radially outflow air from the impeller (paragraph 0210 "The front shell 126 confines the flow of the air towards the motor 122 and the rear shell 128. The air flow leaving the impeller with a whirlwind motion"; paragraph 0211 "In one embodiment, the impeller is so designed that the airflow direction can be reversed according to the rotation direction, i.e. to draw air from the blower inlet in normal mode and to drawing air from the mask in reversed mode"; Fig. 26 the impeller 124 is aligned with the inlet and the air flows toward the rear shell 128 ); and a fixed flow straightener in the PAPR body having a plurality of fins positioned immediately adjacent to and conforming to the shape of the impeller air outlet (Fig. 27 where the vanes 130 is analogous to a fixed flow straightener and is immediately adjacent and conforms to the impeller 124), wherein the fins are configured to redirect the radial outflow of air from the impeller to an axial airflow through the outlet in the lower housing (paragraph 0210 "In one embodiment, the vanes 130 is inclined in an opposite direction of the impeller fans 134 such that the vanes 130 correct the whirlwind motion to a straight motion directed to the rear shell 128. The rear shell 128 comprises a plurality of apertures for the gas to escape").
Fu is silent wherein the upper housing inlet is specifically internally threaded configured to receive an externally threaded filter canister.
However, one skilled in the art would expect that if the upper housing inlet is threaded (as taught in paragraph 0219), then it would be an obvious design choice for the inlet to be internally threaded to reasonably connect to an externally threaded filter. Since the externally threaded filter is not positively recited, then it would be an obvious design choice for the inlet of Fu to be internally threaded.
Fu is silent on the lower housing having an externally threaded outlet configured for threaded attachment to a protective mask.
However, Bordewick teaches an analogous blower (14) enclosed by a housing (12; paragraph 0057 “The housing 12 encloses a blower 14, not shown, within a housing interior 72”), wherein a lower housing (the lower portion of housing 12) has a threaded outlet configured for threaded attachment to a protective mask (paragraph 57 “The tube 18 as illustrated is vertically adjustable by a rotatable fitting 50 rotatably secured to the housing 12 and threadedly engaged with the tube 18 and permit adjustment along a substantially vertical axis” wherein the housing has a threaded outlet at the end that connects to tube 18, where tube 18, mask support 20, and mask 16 together are a protective mask, which is not positively recited).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lower housing outlet of Fu to be externally threaded for threaded attachment to a protective mask. This would provide a secure connection between the housing and the adjoining structure where Fu does not disclose exactly how the lower housing adjoins to the adjacent structure. Since the protective mask is not positively recited, when Fu is modified with the teachings of Bordewick, the threads would be used to attach the lowering housing to the next adjoining structure in the system of Fu, but the threads themselves would also reasonably be configured for threaded attachment to a protective mask. It would be an obvious design modification for the outlet to be externally threaded when connecting to a protective that is internally threaded in order to appropriately connect.
Regarding claim 2, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 1.
Fu further teaches wherein said lower housing has a concave bottom external wall surrounding said outlet (Fig. 25 where rear shell 128 is a lower housing that is concave at the bottom wall; paragraph 0210 “The rear shell 128 comprises a plurality of apertures for the gas to escape”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 1.
Fu further teaches wherein said impeller further comprising a plurality of S-shaped fan blades (paragraph 0209 "the impeller 124 comprises a conical stem 132 have a plurality of impeller fans 134 extending outwardly from the conical stem 132"; Fig. 27 shows the impeller 124 with S-shaped blades).
Regarding claim 4, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 3.
Fu further teaches wherein said fan blades further comprising a top edge extending in a straight line outward from a central hub of said impeller (Fig. 27 where 134 is a blade with a top edge extending straight out from the hub of the impeller 124).
Regarding claim 5, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 3.
Fu further teaches wherein said fan blades further comprising an outer edge upper portion extending downward from a blade top edge along a first curve (Fig. 27 where blade 134 has a curved outside edge portion extending downward from a straight top edge).
Regarding claim 6, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 5.
Fu further teaches on each said outer edge of each said fan blade further comprising an outer edge lower portion extending downward from said outer edge upper portion along a second curve following an underside of the impeller body (Fig. 27 where the blades 134 show an outer edge lower portion extending down from the upper portion along a second curve on an underside of the impeller body).
Regarding claim 8, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 3.
Fu further teaches the impeller further comprising a partial-bell-shaped closed bottom having a central hub (Fig. 26 where the impeller 124 demonstrated the partial-bell-shaped bottom with a central hub to accommodate the motor shaft).
Regarding claim 9, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 8.
Fu further teaches where in the PAPR further comprises a motor in said PAPR body, said motor drivingly attached to a motor shaft receiver in said central hub of said impeller (Figs. 26 and 27 where the motor shaft of motor 122 is attached to the central hub of the impeller 124).
Regarding claim 12, Fu teaches a powered air purifying respirator (“PAPR”), comprising: a PAPR body having an upper housing having an internally threaded inlet configured to receive an externally threaded filter canister (Fig. 25 where 126 is a front shell is analogous to a upper housing; paragraph 0219 “At one end of the blower unit 22, there is provided pipe threads for sealing connect to a connection assembly 30” where one skilled in the art would reasonably expect that these pipe threads connecting to a connection assembly are also reasonably configured to receive an externally threaded filter canister, which is not positively recited), and a lower housing having an outlet (Fig. 25 where 128 is a rear shell analogous to a lower housing; paragraph 0228 "when the blower 108 runs, air comes in from the filter unit 14, entering the blower unit 22, then the control unit 26 before entering the mask assembly 12”); a centrifugal impeller (paragraph 0210 “In operation, the impeller 124 create a centrifugal motion pushing the air outwards to the wall of the front shell 126”) rotatably mounted within the PAPR body (paragraph 0206 “Inside the blower unit 22, there is provided an electric blower 108 comprising a motor 122 and an impeller 124”), said impeller having an impeller body defining an impeller air inlet aligned with the inlet on the upper housing and a plurality of S-shaped fan blades configured to radially outflow air from the impeller (paragraph 0210 "The front shell 126 confines the flow of the air towards the motor 122 and the rear shell 128. The air flow leaving the impeller with a whirlwind motion"; paragraph 0211 "In one embodiment, the impeller is so designed that the airflow direction can be reversed according to the rotation direction, i.e. to draw air from the blower inlet in normal mode and to drawing air from the mask in reversed mode"; Fig. 26 the impeller 124 is aligned with the inlet and the air flows toward the rear shell 128; Fig. 27 shows the impeller 124 with S-shaped blades); and a fixed flow straightener in the PAPR body having a plurality of fins positioned immediately adjacent to and conforming to the shape of an end of each said S-shaped fan blade (Fig. 27 where the vanes 130 is analogous to a fixed flow straightener and is immediately adjacent and conforms to the impeller 124), wherein the fins are configured to redirect the radial outflow of air from the impeller to an axial airflow through the outlet in the lower housing (paragraph 0210 "In one embodiment, the vanes 130 is inclined in an opposite direction of the impeller fans 134 such that the vanes 130 correct the whirlwind motion to a straight motion directed to the rear shell 128. The rear shell 128 comprises a plurality of apertures for the gas to escape").
Fu is silent on the lower housing having an externally threaded outlet configured for threaded attachment to a protective mask.
However, Bordewick teaches an analogous blower (14) enclosed by a housing (12; paragraph 0057 “The housing 12 encloses a blower 14, not shown, within a housing interior 72”), wherein a lower housing (the lower portion of housing 12) has a threaded outlet configured for threaded attachment to a protective mask (paragraph 57 “The tube 18 as illustrated is vertically adjustable by a rotatable fitting 50 rotatably secured to the housing 12 and threadedly engaged with the tube 18 and permit adjustment along a substantially vertical axis” wherein the housing has a threaded outlet at the end that connects to tube 18, where tube 18, mask support 20, and mask 16 together are a protective mask, which is not positively recited).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lower housing outlet of Fu to be externally threaded for threaded attachment to a protective mask. This would provide a secure connection between the housing the adjoining structure where Fu does not disclose exactly how the lower housing adjoins to the adjacent structure. It would be obvious modification for the outlet to be externally threaded when connecting to a protective that is internally threaded in order to appropriately connect.
Regarding claim 13, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 12.
Fu further teaches wherein said lower housing has a bottom, concave external wall surrounding said outlet (Fig. 25 where rear shell 128 is a lower housing that is concave at the bottom wall; paragraph 0210 “The rear shell 128 comprises a plurality of apertures for the gas to escape”).
Regarding claim 14, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 12.
Fu further teaches the impeller further comprising a partial-bell-shaped closed bottom having a central hub (Fig. 26 where the impeller 124 demonstrated the partial-bell-shaped bottom with a central hub to accommodate the motor shaft).
Regarding claim 15, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 14.
Fu further teaches wherein said fan blades extend between said partial-bell-shaped closed bottom wall and a top of said impeller (Figs. 26 and 27 where the blades 134 on impeller 124 extend between the partial bell shaped bottom of 124 and the top of 124).
Regarding claim 16, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 12.
Fu further teaches the PAPR further comprising a motor drivingly attached to said impeller (Figs. 26 and 27 where the motor shaft of motor 122 is attached to the central hub of the impeller 124).
Claims 7, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (US 20200406069 A1) in view of Bordewick (US 20070277827 A1) as applied above and in further view of Kenyon (US 20190269871 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 6.
Modified Fu is silent wherein said second curve is less steep than said first curve.
However, Kenyon teaches wherein said second curve is less steep than said first curve (Fig. 19B where the second curve on the right is less steep than the more vertical curve coming off the straight edge 511).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Fu to include fan blades with second curve less steep than the first curve. The blade curvature can improve airflow through the impeller and can also reduce associated noise and turbulence (paragraph 0304 “For example, as shown in FIGS. 19K-19N, an outer portion of each blade 510 may provide curved surfaces 519 along its length towards the trailing edge 512, e.g., to provide a smooth air flow passage to reduce turbulence and hence noise”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 3.
Modified Fu is silent wherein said fins on said flow straightener further comprise S-shaped fins.
However, Kenyon teaches wherein said fins on said flow straightener further comprise S-shaped fin (Fig. 7D where the vanes 4191 demonstrate an S-shape).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Fu to S-shaped fins on the flow straightener. This shape and structure reduces velocity and creates more controlled flow (paragraph 0350 ” The second stator vanes 4191 may direct the flow of air from the second impeller 4160 to the blower outlet 4141 in a radial and axial direction, reduce the velocity of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160, and increase the pressure of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 10.
Modified Fu is silent wherein an outer edge of each said fin extends at an angle that is parallel to an angle of an outer edge of each said fan blade on said impeller.
However, Kenyon teaches an outer edge of a fin extending at an angle parallel of an outer edge of the fan blade on an impeller (Fig. 7D where an outer edge of 4191 extending at an angle parallel to angle of an outer edge of the fan blade 4160).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Fu to include an outer edge of a fin extending at an angle parallel of an outer edge of the fan blade on an impeller. The blades being parallel creates a more symmetrical passage for air to flow through the device, which reduces velocity and creates more controlled flow (paragraph 0350 ” The second stator vanes 4191 may direct the flow of air from the second impeller 4160 to the blower outlet 4141 in a radial and axial direction, reduce the velocity of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160, and increase the pressure of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160”).
Regarding claim 17, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 12.
Modified Fu is silent wherein said fins on said flow straightener further comprise S-shaped fins.
However, Kenyon teaches wherein said fins on said flow straightener further comprise S-shaped fin (Fig. 7D where the vanes 4191 demonstrate an S-shape).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Fu to S-shaped fins on the flow straightener. This shape and structure reduces velocity and creates more controlled flow (paragraph 0350 ” The second stator vanes 4191 may direct the flow of air from the second impeller 4160 to the blower outlet 4141 in a radial and axial direction, reduce the velocity of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160, and increase the pressure of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160”).
Regarding claim 18, modified Fu teaches the PAPR of claim 17.
Modified Fu is silent wherein an outer edge of each said fin extends at an angle that is parallel to an angle of an outer edge of each said fan blade on said impeller.
However, Kenyon teaches an outer edge of a fin extending at an angle parallel of an outer edge of the fan blade on an impeller (Fig. 7D where an outer edge of 4191 extending at an angle parallel to angle of an outer edge of the fan blade 4160).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Fu to include an outer edge of a fin extending at an angle parallel of an outer edge of the fan blade on an impeller. The blades being parallel creates a more symmetrical passage for air to flow through the device, which reduces velocity and creates more controlled flow (paragraph 0350 ” The second stator vanes 4191 may direct the flow of air from the second impeller 4160 to the blower outlet 4141 in a radial and axial direction, reduce the velocity of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160, and increase the pressure of the flow of air from the second impeller 4160”).
Response to Arguments
On pages 6-9, applicant argues that the art does not teach an upper housing having an internally threaded inlet configured to receive an externally threaded filter and a lower housing having an externally threaded outlet configured for threaded attachment to a protective mask. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection addresses the amendment and matters specifically challenged in the argument. Additionally, examiner interprets the “configured to” language to describe a function of the upper housing inlet and lowering housing outlet, meaning that the filter canister and threaded mask are not positively recited, but the inlet and outlet need only to be configured to connect to these structures.
On page 9, applicant argues that the art does not reach that the fins 130 are not positioned immediately adjacent to and conforming to the shape of the impeller air outlet. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. The top portion of the fins 130 are immediately adjacent to the outlet of the impeller right above it, wherein the outlet is also on the bottom on 124 as it sits on top of fins 130. Additionally, the top portions of the fins 130 conform to the shape of the impeller 124 air outlet since the fins 130 flatten out at the top in order to better accommodate the impeller 124 and the outlet providing air through fins 130.
On pages 10-11, applicant argues that the teachings of Kenyon would not be obviously combined with Fu and are not analogous. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Kenyon specifically teaches the shape of the vanes 4191 has a specific purpose and result of reducing air flow velocity and direct the flow of air (paragraph 0350). This would be an improvement on the fins of the flow straightener of Fu, which does not have this S-shaped fins. Therefore, one skilled in the art would be motivated to make this modification for this reason of having more controlled and directed flow, which would be desired to more efficiently allow the air to reach a user. In response to applicant's argument that Kenyon is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Kenyon is analogous art to the instant application in that they have a shared purpose of delivering air to a user and doing so in a controlled manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKHIL A JAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785