DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 11, and 14 have been amended. Claims 2-10, 12-13, and 15-20 are in the original/previously presented form. Thus, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Specification
The amendment to the specification was received on 08/17/2026. Applicant addressed all previous objections. The specification is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a set duration" in the eighth and ninth lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since the claim uses “a set duration” twice, it is confusing to the examiner if these are the same set durations or separate.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a set duration" in the fourteenth and sixteenth lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since the claim uses “a set duration” twice, it is confusing to the examiner if these are the same set durations or separate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0352280 A1), and further in view of Simpson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0045666 A1; herein, Simpson), Michelich et al. (WIPO Application Publication No. WO 2020/002428 A1; herein, Michelich), Bergenstal et al. (Bergenstal, R. M. et al. (2013). Recommendations for Standardizing Glucose Reporting and Analysis to Optimize Clinical Decision Making in Diabetes: The Ambulatory Glucose Profile. Journal of Diabetes Science and Technology, 7(2), 562-578. https://doi.org/10.1177/193229681300700234.; herein, Bergenstal), and Hartlaub et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2002/0042596 A1; herein, Hartlaub).
Regarding claim 1, Deratany discloses a method, comprising:
adjusting a drug delivery algorithm to begin delivery of a basal amount of a liquid drug (paragraph [0032], insulin is gradually introduced…for a determined period of time);
Deratany does not disclose determining a user is initiating a wearable drug delivery device for initial use, in response to the initial use, setting a high analyte target value and a low analyte target value to clinically validated default values, modifying the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration, and after the set duration, readjusting the drug delivery algorithm according to respective sensor analyte values of a number of sensor analyte values stored during the set duration.
However, Simpson teaches determining a user is initiating a wearable drug delivery device for initial use (paragraph [0480], When the sensor is first implanted into host tissue, the sensor and receiver are initialized…start-up mode is trigger by the receiver). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deratany to be able to determine when a user is initializing a device for initial use as taught by Simpson, in order for the system of Deratany to have improved user specific conditions by reducing the amount of manual set up the user has to do when setting up a new device ([0480],[0485]).
Deratany in view of Simpson still does not disclose in response to the initial use, setting a high analyte target value and a low analyte target value to clinically validated default values, modifying the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration, and after the set duration, readjusting the drug delivery algorithm according to respective sensor analyte values of a number of sensor analyte values stored during the set duration.
However, Michelich teaches in response to the initial use, setting a high analyte target value and a low analyte target value (Fig. 5B, 320) and after the set duration, readjusting the drug delivery algorithm according to respective sensor analyte values of a number of sensor analyte values stored during the set duration (Fig. 5G, 382, after the set duration, in this instance a full day, the device calculates the updated adjustment day dose recommendation based on glucose levels post titration of insulin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deratany to be able to autonomously set high and low target ranges, as well as continuously readjusting the algorithm for drug delivery as taught by Michelich in order to improve the functionality of the device, removing the need for the user to input what they believe the correct information should be, and rather calculating the inputs itself, leading to better care for the user (pg. 60 lines 31-34, pg. 65 lines 5-9).
Deratany in view of Simpson and Michelich still does not disclose the high and low analyte target values being clinically validated default values, and modifying the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration.
However, Bergenstal teaches the high and low analyte target values being clinically validated default values (pg. 566, A panel of diabetes specialists “selected 70–180 mg/dl as the default target range. While not an ideal or normal glucose range, it represents a target range commonly used in clinical practice and one that promotes realistic and safe expectations.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the high analyte target value and low analyte target value as taught by Michelich in the modified method of Deratany in order to have a standardized value range for clinical care, research, and regulatory periods (pg. 566).
Dertany in view of Simpson, Michelich, and Bergenstal still does not explicitly disclose modifying the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration.
However, Hartlaub teaches modifying the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration (FIG. 8, [0040]-[0041], At predetermined intervals, the device senses and stores a body temperature. After the cycle of sensing and storing body temperature information, the device delivers the proper amount of drug flow, as determined by the device. The examiner interprets the process of waiting until a fixed number of measurements are collected, in this case the fixed number is one, and providing a set amount of drug as determined by the device to be of the same as the claimed process.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Deratany to be able to modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration as taught by Hartlaub in order to maximize the therapeutic effect of a drug therapy ([0040]).
Regarding claim 5, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the basal amount is modified at the predetermined time increment based on a sensor analyte value received at a time corresponding to the predetermined time increment, and the sensor analyte value is from the number of sensor analyte values.
However, Hartlaub teaches the basal amount is modified at the predetermined time increment (FIG. 8, [0040]-[0041], At predetermined intervals of time, additional drug flow is delivered). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany to be able to modify the basal amount at predetermined time increments as taught by Hartlaub in order to maximize the therapeutic effect of a drug therapy ([0040]).
Further, Michelich teaches modifying the basal amount being based on a sensor analyte value received at a time corresponding to the predetermined time increment, and the sensor analyte value is from the number of sensor analyte values (pg. 8 lines 30-35, plurality of glucose measurements…taken over a time course). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany to require that the basal amount provided by the device is based specifically on the collected sensor analyte values taken over a period of time as taught by Michelich in order to clarify the device uses sensor analyte values to conduct adjustments. Especially in the case of blood sugar, sensor analyte values are the most representative unit of measurement to determine if intervention is necessary for users of monitoring devices (pg. 8 line 20-pg. 9 line 21).
Regarding claim 7, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the high analyte target value is a first blood glucose measurement value, and the low analyte target value is a second blood glucose measurement value.
However, Michelich teaches the high analyte target value is a first blood glucose measurement value, and the low analyte target value is a second blood glucose measurement value (pg. 19 lines 21-24, glucose upper target range level and glucose lower target range level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany to specify the high analyte target value and low analyte target value to be glucose measurements as taught in Michelich in order that the system and device have a threshold to judge the analyte values by to determine if insulin intervention is needed (pg. 8 line 20-pg. 9 line 21).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tandem (Tandem Diabetes Care. (2020, April 1). t:slim X2 Insulin Pump User Guide (Version 7.3). https://www.tandemdiabetes.com/support/resources/documents).
Regarding claim 2, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose receiving an input from a user input device indicating that the user is a new user.
However, Tandem teaches receiving an input from a user input device indicating that the user is a new user (5.2 Creating a New Profile and 5.3 Programming a New Personal Profile). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany with the customizable user profiles as taught by Tandem, in order for the Deratany device to specifically know the user of the device is a new user.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tandem and Cardinali et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0077719 A1; herein, Cardinali).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose establishing a wireless communication connection with a controller device; and receiving a signal indicating the user is a new user.
However, Cardinali teaches establishing a wireless communication connection with a controller device (FIG. 2, wireless links 208, 220, 222, 291, 292 and 293). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany with the wireless links as taught by Cardinali in order to allow for the not just the sensor, but a controller device to also be wireless ([0030]).
Further, Tandem teaches receiving a signal indicating the user is a new user (5.2 Creating a New Profile and 5.3 Programming a New Personal Profile). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany with the customizable user profiles as taught by Tandem, in order for the Deratany device to specifically know the user of the device is a new user.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mazlish et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0200436 A1; herein, Mazlish).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose selecting the basal amount from a default basal amount, wherein the basal amount is a number of units of the liquid drug delivered per a time increment, and the number of units has a range of 1.00 unit to 3.00 units and the time increment has a range from 0.5 hours to 3.00 hours.
However, Michelich teaches selecting the basal amount from a default basal amount (pg. 18 lines 1-2; the low starting basal dose can equate a default basal amount) and the number of units has a range of 1.00 unit to 3.00 units (pg. 12 lines 9 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany to recognize a default basal dose falling within the specified range as taught by Michelich in order for a device to have a consistent routine in order to not overwhelm users before the device has set adjusted target parameters (pg. 18 lines 16-19).
Further, Mazlish teaches the basal amount is a number of units of the liquid drug delivered per a time increment (paragraph [0134], examples of adjusted baseline basal rates in units of units/hour). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany with the specified units of Mazlish, in order to improve the user interface component. Specifying the units of the basal amount allows for users to better understand the amount of liquid drug being used over the predetermined amount of time ([0134]).
The modified Deratany in view of Simpson, Michelich, and Bergenstal, and further in view of Mazlish still does not explicitly disclose the time increment has a range from 0.5 hours to 3.00 hours. Michelich does disclose checking for a “dose event within the past 8 hours” (pg. 21 line 30). This time is based off recommendation from the liquid drug manufacturer, so Michelich also notes checking for dose events “within the immediately preceding 4 hours or less, the immediately preceding 8 hours or less, the immediately preceding 12 hours or less, or the immediately preceding 16 hours or less” (pg. 63 lines 9-11). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the timestamp range of Michelich to fall within the claimed range as the range is provided to keep the user from using more than a prescribed amount of a liquid drug. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany by making the range of the time increment between 0.5 hours to 3.00 hours as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Say et al. (U.S. Patent No. US 6,175,752 B1; herein, Say).
Regarding claim 6, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set duration is a period of time over which the number of sensor analyte values that are stored is greater than predetermined number of sensor analyte values.
However, Say teaches the set duration is a period of time over which the number of sensor analyte values that are stored is greater than predetermined number of sensor analyte values (col. 39 line 61 – col. 40 line 11, the processing circuit of the analyte monitoring device can determine is the level of an analyte or rate of change exceeds or meets a threshold value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany with the ability of the analyte monitoring device processing circuit of Say to determine when analytes have exceeded or met a threshold value. Adopting this feature improves upon the monitoring and adjustment steps of Deratany to know when to give and stop dosing of a liquid drug (col. 39 lines 53-61).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steil et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,354,420 B2; herein, Steil).
Regarding claim 8, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is either a positive set amount or a negative set amount based on a respective sensor analyte value obtained from the number of sensor analyte values and that corresponds to the predetermined time increment.
However, Steil teaches the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is either a positive set amount or a negative set amount based on a respective sensor analyte value obtained from the number of sensor analyte values and that corresponds to the predetermined time increment (col. 2 lines 30-35, controller uses a set of controller gains for when glucose concentration is high and a separate set of controller gains when glucose concentration is low). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the modified method of Deratany with the separate sets of controller gains of Steil in order to improve the categorical functionality of the Deratany device when it comes to necessary modification to liquid drug dosing (col. 2 lines 30-53).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, Hartlaub, and Steil as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Desborough (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0030955 A1; herein, Desborough).
Regarding claim 9, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a positive set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is greater than the high analyte target value.
However, Desborough teaches the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a positive set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is greater than the high analyte target value (paragraph [0097], user can input a fear of hypoglycemia index value to indicate an acceptable threshold of when to deliver insulin, such as how high a user is comfortable with their blood glucose levels being over a threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany with the fear of hypoglycemia index of Desborough in order for the Deratany system to have an improved understanding of the high threshold level and the correlation between that and the liquid drug dosing ([0119]).
Regarding claim 10, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a positive set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is less than the low analyte target value.
However, Desborough teaches the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a negative set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is less than the low analyte target value (paragraph [0097], user can input a fear of hypoglycemia index value to indicate an acceptable threshold of when to deliver insulin, such as how low a user is comfortable with their blood glucose levels being under a threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Deratany with the fear of hypoglycemia index of Desborough in order for the Deratany system to have an improved understanding of the low threshold level and the correlation between that and the liquid drug dosing ([0119]).
Claims 11, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany, and further in view of Cardinali, Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub.
Regarding claim 11, Deratany discloses a wearable drug delivery device (FIG. 1, pump 100), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 1, processor 130); and
a memory storing instructions (FIG. 1, memory 140);
adjust a drug delivery algorithm to begin delivery of a basal amount of a liquid drug (paragraph [0032], insulin is gradually introduced…for a determined period of time);
Deratany does not disclose a reservoir that is operable to contain a liquid drug; a pump mechanism fluidly coupled to the reservoir; determine a user is initiating the wearable drug delivery device for an initial use; in response to the initial use, set a high analyte target value and a low analyte target value to clinically validated default values; modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration; and after the set duration, readjust the drug delivery algorithm according to respective sensor analyte values of a number of sensor analyte values stored during the set duration.
However, Cardinali teaches a reservoir that is operable to contain a liquid drug (paragraph [0027], reservoir 225); a pump mechanism fluidly coupled to the reservoir (paragraph [0025], medical device (pump) 202). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Deratany to incorporate the reservoir and pump of Cardinali in order to exemplify a device that can output the functions of the Deratany processor and memory ([0030]).
Deratany in view of Cardinali still does not disclose determine a user is initiating the wearable drug delivery device for an initial use; in response to the initial use, set a high analyte target value and a low analyte target value to clinically validated default values; modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration; and after the set duration, readjust the drug delivery algorithm according to respective sensor analyte values of a number of sensor analyte values stored during the set duration.
However, Simpson teaches a device that can determine a user is initiating a wearable drug delivery device for initial use (paragraph [0480], When the sensor is first implanted into host tissue, the sensor and receiver are initialized…start-up mode is trigger by the receiver). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Deratany to be able to determine when a user is initializing a device for initial use as taught by Simpson, in order for the device of Deratany to have improved user specific conditions by reducing the amount of manual set up the user has to do when setting up a new device ([0480],[0485]).
Deratany in view of Cardinali and Simpson still does not disclose in response to the initial use, set a high analyte target value and a low analyte target value to clinically validated default values; modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration; and after the set duration, readjust the drug delivery algorithm according to respective sensor analyte values of a number of sensor analyte values stored during the set duration.
However, Michelich teaches in response to the initial use, set a high analyte target value and a low analyte target value (Fig. 5B, 320) and after the set duration, readjust the drug delivery algorithm according to respective sensor analyte values of a number of sensor analyte values stored during the set duration (Fig. 5G, 382, after the set duration, in this instance a full day, the device calculates the updated adjustment day dose recommendation based on glucose levels post titration of insulin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor of Deratany to be able to autonomously set high and low target ranges, as well as continuously readjusting the algorithm for drug delivery as taught by Michelich in order to improve the functionality of the device, removing the need for the user to input what they believe the correct information should be, and rather calculating the inputs itself, leading to better care for the user (pg. 60 lines 31-34, pg. 65 lines 5-9).
Deratany in view of Cardinali, Simpson, and Michelich still does not disclose the high and low analyte target values being clinically validated default values, and modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration.
However, Bergenstal teaches the high and low analyte target values being clinically validated default values (pg. 566, A panel of diabetes specialists “selected 70–180 mg/dl as the default target range. While not an ideal or normal glucose range, it represents a target range commonly used in clinical practice and one that promotes realistic and safe expectations.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the high analyte target value and low analyte target value as taught by Michelich in the modified method of Deratany in order to have a standardized value range for clinical care, research, and regulatory periods (pg. 566).
Dertany in view of Cardinali, Simpson, Michelich, and Bergenstal still does not explicitly disclose modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration.
However, Hartlaub teaches modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration (FIG. 8, [0040]-[0041], At predetermined intervals, the device senses and stores a body temperature. After the cycle of sensing and storing body temperature information, the device delivers the proper amount of drug flow, as determined by the device. The examiner interprets the process of waiting until a fixed number of measurements are collected, in this case the fixed number is one, and providing a set amount of drug as determined by the device to be of the same as the claimed process.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Deratany to be able to modify the basal amount by a set amount of liquid drug at predetermined time increments after a set duration, wherein each predetermined time increment corresponds to a fixed number of sensor analyte measurement cycles after a set duration as taught by Hartlaub in order to maximize the therapeutic effect of a drug therapy ([0040]).
Regarding claim 14, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose modify the basal amount at the predetermined time increment based on the sensor analyte value received at a time corresponding to the predetermined time increment, and the sensor analyte value is one of the number of sensor analyte values.
However, Hartlaub teaches modifying the basal amount at the predetermined time increment (FIG. 8, [0040]-[0041], At predetermined intervals of time, additional drug flow is delivered). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified processor of Deratany to be able to modify the basal amount at predetermined time increments as taught by Hartlaub in order to maximize the therapeutic effect of a drug therapy ([0040]).
Further, Michelich teaches the modification the basal amount being based on a sensor analyte value received at a time corresponding to the predetermined time increment, and the sensor analyte value is from the number of sensor analyte values (pg. 8 lines 30-35, plurality of glucose measurements…taken over a time course). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified processor of Deratany to require that the basal amount provided by the device is based specifically on the collected sensor analyte values taken over a period of time as taught by Michelich in order to clarify the device uses sensor analyte values to conduct adjustments. Especially in the case of blood sugar, sensor analyte values are the most representative unit of measurement to determine if intervention is necessary for users of monitoring devices (pg. 8 line 20-pg. 9 line 21).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set duration is a period of time selected from: 24 hours, 48 hours, or 72 hours.
However, Michelich teaches the set duration is a period of time selected from: 24 hours, 48 hours, or 72 hours (Fig. 5B, 330). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Deratany to have a set time period as taught by Michelich in order for the device to have knowledge of a time range in which values collected over can be analyzed. After each set duration the device can properly output updated adjustments (pg. 61 lines 19-20).
Regarding claim 17 in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the high analyte target value is a first blood glucose measurement value, and the low analyte target value is a second blood glucose measurement value.
However, Michelich teaches the high analyte target value is a first blood glucose measurement value, and the low analyte target value is a second blood glucose measurement value (pg. 19 lines 21-24, glucose upper target range level and glucose lower target range level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Deratany to specify the high analyte target value and low analyte target value to be glucose measurements as taught in Michelich in order that the system and device have a threshold to judge the analyte values by to determine if insulin intervention is needed (pg. 8 line 20-pg. 9 line 21).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Cardinali, Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Tandem.
Regarding claim 12, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose receiving an input from a user input device indicating that the user is a new user.
However, Tandem teaches receiving an input from a user input device indicating that the user is a new user (5.2 Creating a New Profile and 5.3 Programming a New Personal Profile). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified processor of Deratany with the customizable user profiles as taught by Tandem, in order for the Deratany device to specifically know the user of the device is a new user.
Regarding claim 13, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose establishing a wireless communication connection with a controller device; and receiving a signal indicating the user is a new user.
However, Cardinali teaches establishing a wireless communication connection with a controller device (FIG. 2, wireless links 208, 220, 222, 291, 292 and 293). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified processor of Deratany with the wireless links as taught by Cardinali in order to allow for the not just the sensor, but a controller device to also be wireless ([0030]).
Further, Tandem teaches receiving a signal indicating the user is a new user (5.2 Creating a New Profile and 5.3 Programming a New Personal Profile). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified processor of Deratany with the customizable user profiles as taught by Tandem, in order for the Deratany device to specifically know the user of the device is a new user.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Cardinali, Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Say.
Regarding claim 15, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set duration is a period of time over which the number of sensor analyte values that are stored is greater than predetermined number of sensor analyte values.
However, Say teaches the set duration is a period of time over which the number of sensor analyte values that are stored is greater than predetermined number of sensor analyte values (col. 39 line 61 – col. 40 line 11, the processing circuit of the analyte monitoring device can determine is the level of an analyte or rate of change exceeds or meets a threshold value). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Deratany with the ability of the analyte monitoring device processing circuit of Say to determine when analytes have exceeded or met a threshold value. Adopting this feature improves upon the monitoring and adjustment steps of Deratany to know when to give and stop dosing of a liquid drug (col. 39 lines 53-61).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Deratany in view of Cardinali, Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Steil.
Regarding claim 18, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is either a positive set amount or a negative set amount based on a respective sensor analyte value obtained from the number of sensor analyte values and that corresponds to the predetermined time increment.
However, Steil teaches the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is either a positive set amount or a negative set amount based on a respective sensor analyte value obtained from the number of sensor analyte values and that corresponds to the predetermined time increment (col. 2 lines 30-35, controller uses a set of controller gains for when glucose concentration is high and a separate set of controller gains when glucose concentration is low). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the modified device of Deratany with the separate sets of controller gains of Steil in order to improve the categorical functionality of the Deratany device when it comes to necessary modification to liquid drug dosing (col. 2 lines 30-53).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deratany in view of Cardinali, Simpson, Michelich, Bergenstal, and Hartlaub as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Desborough.
Regarding claim 19, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a positive set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is greater than the high analyte target value.
However, Desborough teaches the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a positive set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is greater than the high analyte target value (paragraph [0097], user can input a fear of hypoglycemia index value to indicate an acceptable threshold of when to deliver insulin, such as how high a user is comfortable with their blood glucose levels being over a threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Deratany with the fear of hypoglycemia index of Desborough in order for the Deratany system to have an improved understanding of the high threshold level and the correlation between that and the liquid drug dosing ([0119]).
Regarding claim 20, in the modified method of Deratany, Deratany does not disclose the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a positive set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is less than the low analyte target value.
However, Desborough teaches the set amount of the liquid drug indicated by modifying the basal amount is a negative set amount when the respective sensor analyte value corresponds to the predetermined time increment is less than the low analyte target value (paragraph [0097], user can input a fear of hypoglycemia index value to indicate an acceptable threshold of when to deliver insulin, such as how low a user is comfortable with their blood glucose levels being under a threshold). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device of Deratany with the fear of hypoglycemia index of Desborough in order for the Deratany system to have an improved understanding of the low threshold level and the correlation between that and the liquid drug dosing ([0119]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, pages 9-20 of Applicant’s Remarks, with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of the present rejection. The examiner interprets Hartlaub as being obvious to teach the amended limitation of claim 1 and 11.
Conclusion
/EVELYN A THOMAN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/THEODORE J STIGELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783