Detailed Action
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-21 are currently pending. Claims 4, 11 and 18 were canceled per Applicant. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-21 remain rejected despite Applicant’s arguments filed 12/19/2025. Amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection presented within this Office action. Response to Applicant arguments can be found at the end of this Office action. This Office action is final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauthamer et al. (US 20200171397 A1) in view of Goergen et al. (US 20200098190 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Krauthamer teaches an amusement park ride system, comprising: an off-board ride and game control sub-system configured to control global features of a ride and game control system associated with the amusement park ride system (24; Fig.1 and Para.[0016], lines 1-4); and one or more ride vehicles (14; Fig.1), wherein each ride vehicle is configured to carry one or more riders (18; Fig.1) through the amusement park ride system (10; Fig.1), and wherein each ride vehicle comprises an on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) configured to control local features of the ride and game control system associated with the amusement park ride system (Para.[0015], lines 12-15) without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system during one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0015], lines 21-26), wherein the local features of the ride and game control system occur locally on each respective ride vehicle, and wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system of each respective ride vehicle is configured to locally cache player state data for one or more respective riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0020], lines 5-9), and to synchronize the locally-cached player state data with global player state data maintained by the off- board ride and game control sub-system after the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (26; Fig.1 and Para.[0020], lines 1-9). Krauthamer does not teach to execute game logic locally on the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system, to change an augmented reality (AR) environment presented to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system.
However, Goergen teaches a ride system configured to execute game logic locally on the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system (Para.[0066]-[0067]), to change an augmented reality (AR) environment presented to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system (Para.[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Krauthamer with the local game logic operations of Goergen to provide an efficient ride system which provides an interactive amusement ride for patrons with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride system of claim 1, wherein the locally-cached player state data synchronized with the global player state data by each respective on-board ride and game control sub-system after the one or more ride cycles of the respective ride vehicle (Para.[0020], lines 1-9) comprises only a subset of player state data collected by the on-board ride and game control sub-system during the one or more ride cycles of the respective ride vehicle (Para.[0019], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 3: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride system of claim 1, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) of each respective ride vehicle (14; Fig.1) is configured to synchronize at least a portion of the global player state data with the locally-cached player state data before subsequent ride cycles of the ride vehicle (26; Fig.1 and Para.[0020], lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 5: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride system of claim 1, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) of each respective ride vehicle (14; Fig.1) is configured to determine one or more game-related achievements for the one or more respective riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data, and to communicate the one or more game-related achievements to the one or more respective riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0024], lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 6: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride system of claim 1, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system of each respective ride vehicle is configured to change movement of the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data (Para.[0024], lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 7: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride system of claim 1, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system of each respective ride vehicle is configured to change a presentation of an augmented reality environment to the one or more respective riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally- cached player state data (Para.[0026]).
Regarding claim 8: Krauthamer teaches an amusement park ride vehicle (14; Fig.1), comprising: an on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) configured to control local features of a ride and game control system associated with an amusement park ride system Para.[0015], lines 12-15), without communicating with an off-board ride and game control sub-system configured to control global features of the ride and game control system associated with the amusement park ride system (Para.[0015], lines 21-26), wherein the local features of the ride and game control system occur locally on the ride vehicle, and wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system is configured to locally cache player state data for one or more riders of the ride vehicle during one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0020], lines 5-9), and to synchronize the locally-cached player state data with global player state data after the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle, wherein the global player state data is maintained by an off-board ride and game control sub-system (26; Fig.1 and Para.[0020], lines 1-9). Krauthamer does not teach to execute game logic locally on the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system, to change an augmented reality (AR) environment presented to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system.
However, Goergen teaches a ride vehicle configured to execute game logic locally on the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system (Para.[0066]-[0067]), to change an augmented reality (AR) environment presented to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system (Para.[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle of Krauthamer with the local game logic operations of Goergen to provide an efficient ride system which provides an interactive amusement ride for patrons with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride vehicle of claim 8, wherein the locally-cached player state data synchronized with the global player state data by the on-board ride and game control sub-system after the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0020], lines 1-9) comprises only a subset of player state data collected by the on-board ride and game control sub- system during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0019], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 10: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride vehicle of claim 8, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) is configured to synchronize at least a portion of the global player state data with the locally-cached player state data before subsequent ride cycles of the ride vehicle (26; Fig.1 and Para.[0020], lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 12: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride vehicle of claim 8, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) is configured to determine one or more game-related achievements for the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data, and to communicate the one or more game-related achievements to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0024], lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 13: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride vehicle of claim 8, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system is configured to change movement of the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data (Para.[0024], liens 24-27).
Regarding claim 14: Krauthamer further teaches an amusement park ride vehicle of claim 8, wherein the on-board ride and game control sub-system is configured to change a presentation of an augmented reality environment to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data (Para[0026]).
Regarding claim 15: Krauthamer teaches a method, comprising: controlling, via an on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) of a ride vehicle (14; Fig.1), local features of a ride and game control system associated with an amusement park ride system (24; Fig.1 and Para.[0016], lines 1-4) without communicating with an off-board ride and game control sub-system configured to control global features of the ride and game control system associated with the amusement park ride system (Para.[0015], lines 21-26), wherein the local features of the ride and game control system occur locally on the ride vehicle (Para.[0015], lines 12-15); locally caching, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, player state data for one or more riders of the ride vehicle during one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0020], lines 5-9); and synchronizing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, the locally-cached player state data with global player state data after the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (26; Fig.1 and Para.[0020], lines 1-9), wherein the global player state data is maintained by an off-board ride and game control sub-system (24; Fig.1 and Para.[0016], lines 1-4). Krauthamer does not teach executing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, game logic locally on the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system; changing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, an augmented reality (AR) environment presented to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system.
However, Goergen teaches executing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, game logic locally on the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system (Para.[0066]-[0067]); changing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, an augmented reality (AR) environment presented to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data without communicating with the off-board ride and game control sub-system (Para.[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Krauthamer with the local game logic operations of Goergen to provide an efficient ride system which provides an interactive amusement ride for patrons with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16: Krauthamer further teaches a method of claim 15, wherein the locally-cached player state data synchronized with the global player state data by the on-board ride and game control sub- system after the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0020], lines 1-9) comprises only a subset of player state data collected by the on-board ride and game control sub-system during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0019], lines 11-14).
Regarding claim 17: Krauthamer further teaches a method of claim 15, comprising synchronizing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) of the ride vehicle (14; Fig.1), at least a portion of the global player state data with the locally-cached player state data before subsequent ride cycles of the ride vehicle (26; Fig.1 and Para.[0020], lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 19: Krauthamer further teaches a method of claim 15, comprising: determining, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system (20; Fig.1) of the ride vehicle (14; Fig.1), one or more game-related achievements for the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data; and communicating, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, the one or more game-related achievements to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle (Para.[0024], lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 20: Krauthamer further teaches a method of claim 15, comprising changing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, movement of the ride vehicle during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data (Para.[0024], lines 24-27).
Regarding claim 21: Krauthamer further teaches a method of claim 15, comprising changing, via the on-board ride and game control sub-system of the ride vehicle, a presentation of an augmented reality environment to the one or more riders during the one or more ride cycles of the ride vehicle based at least in part on the locally-cached player state data (Para.[0026]).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that Krauthamer does not disclose all of the recitation of amended independent claims 1, 8 and 15, Examiner agrees. See updated obviousness rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615