DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: reference character “101b” displayed in Figures 6-8 is not described in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 10, 13, and 15-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a positive electrode formed on one surface of a substrate and a negative electrode formed on the other surface” in lines 2-3. Although it appears from instant Figure 1 and paragraph [0018] of the instant specification that “the other surface” is intended to refer to the surface of the substrate which is opposite to the “one surface”, the examiner suggests amending the limitation to clarify the desired structure of the claimed invention. The examiner notes that one possible amendment may be “a positive electrode formed on one surface of a substrate and a negative electrode formed on another surface of the substrate which is opposite to the one surface of the substrate”.
Claim 1 recites “an adhesive layer that is disposed between the one surface of the substrate and the positive electrode lead layer and bonds the one surface of the substrate and the positive electrode lead layer” in lines 6-8. The examiner suggests amending the limitation to read “an adhesive layer that is disposed between the one surface of the substrate and the positive electrode lead layer and bonds the one surface of the substrate and the positive electrode lead layer to one another” for improved clarity.
Claim 1 recites “and even in a case…” in lines 12-13. The examiner suggests amending the limitation to read “and
Claims 6, 10, 13, and 15-16 each recite “the adhesive layer extends to a peripheral edge portion of a surface of both surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer” in lines 2-3. It appears from Figure 4 and paragraph [0041] of the instant specification that the above limitation is intended to require that the adhesive layer extends to peripheral edges of both main surfaces which are opposite one another, however, for increased clarity the examiner suggests amending the limitation to clarify the desired structure of the claimed invention. The examiner notes that a possible amendment may be “the adhesive layer extends to a peripheral edge portion which are opposite to one another”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 6, 10, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” in Claims 6, 10, 13, 15, and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The skilled artisan would not be able to reasonably ascertain how “close” the adhesive layer must be to the peripheral edge portion to be considered in “close contact” with the peripheral edge portion. For purposes of examination, the examiner notes that the limitation will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation when reviewing the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer, II et al. (US 2014/0349147 A1) further in view of Horiuchi et al. (US 2020/0172697 A1).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Shaffer discloses a bipolar lead-acid battery (bipolar battery, 29) comprising: a bipolar electrode (bipolar plates, 44) having a positive electrode (cathode, 13) formed on one surface of a substrate (substrate, 11) and a negative electrode (anode, 12) formed on the other surface (opposite surface) of the substrate (bipolar substrate plate, 11) (Figures 1 and 10, [0031, 0052-0053]). Shaffer further discloses that the positive electrode (cathode, 13) may include a positive electrode lead layer (metal sheet) that is formed of lead and which is affixed to the one surface of the substrate (substrate, 11) (Figure 10, [0033]). Shaffer further discloses that the positive electrode lead layer (metal sheet) is disposed between the positive electrode (cathode, 13) and the substrate (substrate, 11) (Figure 10, [0033]). Shaffer further discloses that the positive electrode (cathode, 13) may comprise a positive active material layer [0031], thus the positive active material layer is disposed on the positive electrode lead layer (metal sheet). Shaffer further discloses that an adhesive layer (adhesive bonding) that is disposed between the one surface of the substrate (substrate, 11) and the positive electrode lead layer (metal sheet) and bonds the one surface of the substrate (substrate, 11) and the positive electrode lead layer (metal sheet) to one another (Figure 10, [0033]). Shaffer further discloses that the substrate (substrate, 11) may be formed of a thermoplastic resin such as polypropylene (Figure 10, [0039]). Shaffer further discloses that the adhesive layer (adhesive bonding) may be an epoxy material [0033]). Shaffer further discloses that the preferred electrolyte for the bipolar lead-acid battery (bipolar battery, 29) is sulfuric acid in water [0036].
Shaffer is deficient in disclosing 1) that the epoxy of the adhesive layer is formed of a cured product of a reaction-curing type adhesive that is cured by a reaction between a main agent containing an epoxy resin and a curing agent containing an amine compound, and 2) that in a case where the adhesive layer is immersed in a sulfuric acid with a concentration of 38% by mass at a temperature of 60°C for four weeks, the sulfuric acid does not infiltrate into an interface between the positive electrode lead layer and the adhesive layer.
Horiuchi discloses an adhesive for bonding components of an electrochemical cell (fuel cell) together [0007]. Horiuchi further discloses that the adhesive comprises a main agent (base resin) which may be an epoxy resin and a curing agent which may be an amine-type curing agent [0008, 0032]. Horiuchi further discloses that the epoxy resin of the main agent (base resin) may be selected from a group which includes a bisphenol A-type epoxy resin and a bisphenol F-type epoxy resin [0033]. Horiuchi further discloses that the amine-type curing agent may be selected from a group which includes an aliphatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polyamine compound [0037-0038]. Horiuchi further discloses that the adhesive is produced by mixing the components of the adhesive, wherein during mixing a curing reaction occurs [0078, 0079]. Horiuchi further discloses that in the adhesive the epoxy resin may be included in an amount of 30 parts by weight and the curing agent may be included in an amount of 6 parts by weight (i.e., curing agent/epoxy resin ratio is ~20%) [0110]. Horiuchi further discloses that the adhesive has a high reliability and durability in high-temperature conditions and is capable of being efficiently cured [0004, 0031].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the epoxy adhesive material of the adhesive layer of Shaffer, the epoxy-based adhesive of Horiuchi, as such an adhesive material is known in the art as suitable for bonding components of an electrochemical cell, as taught by Horiuchi. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an adhesive, and thereby a bond, which is quickly cured and is reliable and durable even in high temperatures, as taught by Horiuchi. Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon making the above modification, the limitation of Claim 1 requiring that the epoxy of the adhesive layer is formed of a cured product of a reaction-curing type adhesive that is cured by a reaction between a main agent containing an epoxy resin and a curing agent containing an amine compound, is met.
The instant application teaches that the adhesive layer is formed of a cured product of a reaction-curing type adhesive that is cured by a reaction between a main agent containing an epoxy resin and a curing agent containing an amine compound [0006], wherein the epoxy resin may be a bisphenol A type epoxy resin or a bisphenol F type epoxy resin [0036], and the amine compound may be an aliphatic polyamine compound, an alicyclic polyamine compound, or an aromatic polyamine compound [0037]. The instant application further teaches that the mixing ratio of the main agent and the curing agent in the reaction-curing type adhesive is 44 parts by mass or less of the curing agent with respect to 100 parts by mass of the main agent (i.e., curing agent/main agent ratio is ~44% or less) [0035]. The instant application further teaches that the reaction-curing of the adhesive occurs during the mixing of the main agent and the curing agent [0035]. The instant application further discloses that the cured reaction-curing type adhesive is resistant to sulfuric acid, thus the cured product is less likely to decompose, deteriorate, corrode, or the like even when the cured product comes in contact with sulfuric acid (electrolyte), even at a concentration of 38% by mass at a temperature of 60°C for four weeks [0030].
Shaffer and Horiuchi are silent to if, in a case where the adhesive layer is immersed in a sulfuric acid with a concentration of 38% by mass at a temperature of 60°C for four weeks, the sulfuric acid does not infiltrate into an interface between the positive electrode lead layer and the adhesive layer. However, the skilled artisan would appreciate that upon the modification to Shaffer in view of Horiuchi, the adhesive layer of modified Shaffer includes the specific materials taught by the instant application, in the mass composition taught by the instant application, and prepared in the same way as the instant application (i.e., mixed wherein reaction curing occurs during mixing). Thus, as the instant application teaches that such an adhesive is resistant to sulfuric acid in the scenario as claimed, the skilled artisan would expect that the adhesive of modified Shaffer would have the same properties and behave in the same manner such that sulfuric acid does not infiltrate into an interface between the positive electrode lead layer and the adhesive layer in the claimed scenario. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
In Regards to Claim 2 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Shaffer further discloses that the substrate (substrate, 11) may be formed of a thermoplastic resin such as polypropylene (Figure 10, [0039]). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 2 are met.
In Regards to Claim 3 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that the epoxy resin of the main agent (base resin) may be selected from a group which includes a bisphenol A-type epoxy resin and a bisphenol F-type epoxy resin [0033]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the epoxy resin of modified Shaffer is one of bisphenol A-type epoxy resin and a bisphenol F-type epoxy resin. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
In Regards to Claim 4 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that the amine-type curing agent may be selected from a group which includes an aliphatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polyamine compound [0037-0038]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the amine compound of modified Shaffer is one of an aliphatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polyamine compound. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
In Regards to Claim 5 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 2 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that in the adhesive the epoxy resin may be included in an amount of 30 parts by weight and the curing agent may be included in an amount of 6 parts by weight (i.e., curing agent/epoxy resin ratio is ~20%) [0110]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the mixing ratio of the main agent (epoxy resin) and the curing agent of modified Shaffer in the reaction-curing type adhesive is ~20 parts by mass of the curing agent with respect to 100 parts by mass of the main agent (epoxy resin). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
In Regards to Claim 7 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that the epoxy resin of the main agent (base resin) may be selected from a group which includes a bisphenol A-type epoxy resin and a bisphenol F-type epoxy resin [0033]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the epoxy resin of modified Shaffer is one of bisphenol A-type epoxy resin and a bisphenol F-type epoxy resin. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
In Regards to Claim 8 (Dependent Upon Claim 7):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 7 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that the amine-type curing agent may be selected from a group which includes an aliphatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polyamine compound [0037-0038]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the amine compound of modified Shaffer is one of an aliphatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polyamine compound. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
In Regards to Claim 9 (Dependent Upon Claim 7):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 7 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that in the adhesive the epoxy resin may be included in an amount of 30 parts by weight and the curing agent may be included in an amount of 6 parts by weight (i.e., curing agent/epoxy resin ratio is ~20%) [0110]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the mixing ratio of the main agent (epoxy resin) and the curing agent of modified Shaffer in the reaction-curing type adhesive is ~20 parts by mass of the curing agent with respect to 100 parts by mass of the main agent (epoxy resin). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that the amine-type curing agent may be selected from a group which includes an aliphatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polyamine compound [0037-0038]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the amine compound of modified Shaffer is one of an aliphatic polyamine compound and an aromatic polyamine compound. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 11):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 11 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that in the adhesive the epoxy resin may be included in an amount of 30 parts by weight and the curing agent may be included in an amount of 6 parts by weight (i.e., curing agent/epoxy resin ratio is ~20%) [0110]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the mixing ratio of the main agent (epoxy resin) and the curing agent of modified Shaffer in the reaction-curing type adhesive is ~20 parts by mass of the curing agent with respect to 100 parts by mass of the main agent (epoxy resin). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 1 as set forth above. Horiuchi further discloses that in the adhesive the epoxy resin may be included in an amount of 30 parts by weight and the curing agent may be included in an amount of 6 parts by weight (i.e., curing agent/epoxy resin ratio is ~20%) [0110]. Therefore, upon the modification detailed above in Claim 1, the mixing ratio of the main agent (epoxy resin) and the curing agent of modified Shaffer in the reaction-curing type adhesive is ~20 parts by mass of the curing agent with respect to 100 parts by mass of the main agent (epoxy resin). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
Claims 6, 10, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer, II et al. (US 2014/0349147 A1) as modified by Horiuchi et al. (US 2020/0172697 A1), as applied to Claims 1, 2, 7, 11, and 14 above, further in view of Fuller et al. (US 2011/0281195 A1).
In Regards to Claim 6 (Dependent Upon Claim 2):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 2 as set forth above.
Shaffer is deficient in disclosing that the adhesive layer extends to a peripheral edge portion of a surface of both surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer on a side facing the positive active material layer, and comes into close contact with the peripheral edge portion to cover the peripheral edge portion.
Fuller discloses a fuel cell stack, wherein the fuel cell stack comprises various components such as bipolar plates (20), gas diffusion media (30), and a membrane electrode assembly (40) stacked upon one another (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the components of the fuel cell stack are bonded together via an adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) may be applied to the peripheral areas of the components of the fuel cell stack, such that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) is present on a periphery of each major surface of a particular component of the fuel cell stack and covers the peripheral edges (Figure 4, [0026]). Fuller further discloses that positioning the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) on the peripheral edges of the components of the fuel cell stack facilitates the assembly of the fuel cell stack [0022].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the adhesive layer of Shaffer to have the configuration of the adhesive layer of Fuller, such that the adhesive layer is present at peripheral edges of both major surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer and covers the peripheral edge portion, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for bonding various adjacent components of an electrochemical device together in a reliable manner, as taught by Fuller. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an easily assembled bipolar electrode having a reliable bond between the positive electrode lead layer, the substrate, and the positive active material layer, as taught by Fuller. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 7):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 7 as set forth above.
Shaffer is deficient in disclosing that the adhesive layer extends to a peripheral edge portion of a surface of both surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer on a side facing the positive active material layer, and comes into close contact with the peripheral edge portion to cover the peripheral edge portion.
Fuller discloses a fuel cell stack, wherein the fuel cell stack comprises various components such as bipolar plates (20), gas diffusion media (30), and a membrane electrode assembly (40) stacked upon one another (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the components of the fuel cell stack are bonded together via an adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) may be applied to the peripheral areas of the components of the fuel cell stack, such that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) is present on a periphery of each major surface of a particular component of the fuel cell stack and covers the peripheral edges (Figure 4, [0026]). Fuller further discloses that positioning the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) on the peripheral edges of the components of the fuel cell stack facilitates the assembly of the fuel cell stack [0022].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the adhesive layer of Shaffer to have the configuration of the adhesive layer of Fuller, such that the adhesive layer is present at peripheral edges of both major surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer and covers the peripheral edge portion, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for bonding various adjacent components of an electrochemical device together in a reliable manner, as taught by Fuller. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an easily assembled bipolar electrode having a reliable bond between the positive electrode lead layer, the substrate, and the positive active material layer, as taught by Fuller. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 11):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 11 as set forth above.
Shaffer is deficient in disclosing that the adhesive layer extends to a peripheral edge portion of a surface of both surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer on a side facing the positive active material layer, and comes into close contact with the peripheral edge portion to cover the peripheral edge portion.
Fuller discloses a fuel cell stack, wherein the fuel cell stack comprises various components such as bipolar plates (20), gas diffusion media (30), and a membrane electrode assembly (40) stacked upon one another (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the components of the fuel cell stack are bonded together via an adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) may be applied to the peripheral areas of the components of the fuel cell stack, such that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) is present on a periphery of each major surface of a particular component of the fuel cell stack and covers the peripheral edges (Figure 4, [0026]). Fuller further discloses that positioning the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) on the peripheral edges of the components of the fuel cell stack facilitates the assembly of the fuel cell stack [0022].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the adhesive layer of Shaffer to have the configuration of the adhesive layer of Fuller, such that the adhesive layer is present at peripheral edges of both major surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer and covers the peripheral edge portion, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for bonding various adjacent components of an electrochemical device together in a reliable manner, as taught by Fuller. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an easily assembled bipolar electrode having a reliable bond between the positive electrode lead layer, the substrate, and the positive active material layer, as taught by Fuller. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
In Regards to Claim 15 (Dependent Upon Claim 14):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 14 as set forth above.
Shaffer is deficient in disclosing that the adhesive layer extends to a peripheral edge portion of a surface of both surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer on a side facing the positive active material layer, and comes into close contact with the peripheral edge portion to cover the peripheral edge portion.
Fuller discloses a fuel cell stack, wherein the fuel cell stack comprises various components such as bipolar plates (20), gas diffusion media (30), and a membrane electrode assembly (40) stacked upon one another (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the components of the fuel cell stack are bonded together via an adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) may be applied to the peripheral areas of the components of the fuel cell stack, such that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) is present on a periphery of each major surface of a particular component of the fuel cell stack and covers the peripheral edges (Figure 4, [0026]). Fuller further discloses that positioning the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) on the peripheral edges of the components of the fuel cell stack facilitates the assembly of the fuel cell stack [0022].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the adhesive layer of Shaffer to have the configuration of the adhesive layer of Fuller, such that the adhesive layer is present at peripheral edges of both major surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer and covers the peripheral edge portion, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for bonding various adjacent components of an electrochemical device together in a reliable manner, as taught by Fuller. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an easily assembled bipolar electrode having a reliable bond between the positive electrode lead layer, the substrate, and the positive active material layer, as taught by Fuller. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
In Regards to Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Shaffer as modified by Horiuchi discloses the bipolar lead-acid battery of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Shaffer is deficient in disclosing that the adhesive layer extends to a peripheral edge portion of a surface of both surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer on a side facing the positive active material layer, and comes into close contact with the peripheral edge portion to cover the peripheral edge portion.
Fuller discloses a fuel cell stack, wherein the fuel cell stack comprises various components such as bipolar plates (20), gas diffusion media (30), and a membrane electrode assembly (40) stacked upon one another (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the components of the fuel cell stack are bonded together via an adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) (Figure 4, [0023]). Fuller further discloses that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) may be applied to the peripheral areas of the components of the fuel cell stack, such that the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) is present on a periphery of each major surface of a particular component of the fuel cell stack and covers the peripheral edges (Figure 4, [0026]). Fuller further discloses that positioning the adhesive layer (polyolefin adhesive, 10) on the peripheral edges of the components of the fuel cell stack facilitates the assembly of the fuel cell stack [0022].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the adhesive layer of Shaffer to have the configuration of the adhesive layer of Fuller, such that the adhesive layer is present at peripheral edges of both major surfaces of the positive electrode lead layer and covers the peripheral edge portion, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for bonding various adjacent components of an electrochemical device together in a reliable manner, as taught by Fuller. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing an easily assembled bipolar electrode having a reliable bond between the positive electrode lead layer, the substrate, and the positive active material layer, as taught by Fuller. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
Conclusion
/EMILY ELIZABETH FREEMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1724