DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-13, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koskinen et al. (US 2019/0174434 A1), hereinafter referred D1.
Regarding claim 1, 11, 16, and 20, D1 discloses power class based coverage enhancement level selection, which comprises:
determining, by the terminal device, a target reference signal measurement threshold used by the terminal device according to a reference signal measurement threshold corresponding to a second type of terminal and a capability of a first type of terminal, wherein the terminal device is the first type of terminal, the first type of terminal comprises a reduced capability terminal, and the second type of terminal does not comprise a reduced capability terminal (Note, the limitation “used by . . .” is interpreted as an intended-use limitation and is not afforded patentable weight because the limitation is recitation of some future use and not a positive recitation. The prior art discloses multiple terminals which are can be configured and are capable of configuration according to the recited limitations regarding terminal capability. Referring to Figures 3-4, only an RSRP threshold is taken into account in the random access resource selection procedure which is used for the CE level determination. An RSRP is the linear average of reference signal power (in Watts) across specified bandwidth (in number of REs). This is an important item that a UE has to measure for cell selection, and/or reselection. During such procedures a UE may estimate a path-loss (determining, by a terminal device, a target reference signal measurement threshold) by averaging measurements of a downlink RSRP. The UE then selects CE levels and PRACH resources based on coverage level given by the downlink RSRP measurements. During a random access procedure a set of PRACH resources (e.g. time, frequency, and preamble sequences) is provided for each coverage level, e.g. a number of preamble sequences for each level. The PRACH resources per coverage level are configurable by System Information. The UE (e.g., UE selects PRACH resources based on coverage level given by a UE DL measurement, e.g. RSRP measurements. In accordance with the example embodiments the power class of the UE, as disclosed above, is taken into account in PRACH resource selection for CE level determination. RSRP threshold for selecting the CE/repetition level is adjusted by UE power class specific parameter(s). See paragraphs 0109-0112. As shown in step 460 there is receiving, by a user equipment, signaling comprising at least one of a plurality of reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold levels. As shown in step 470 there is determining, by the user equipment, a power class parameter associated with the user equipment. Then in step 480 of FIG. 4B there is selecting, based on at least the at least one of the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels and said power class parameter, a resource set of one or more resource sets to perform a network access procedure with a communication network. In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels correspond to an RSRP threshold 1, an RSRP threshold 2, and an RSRP threshold 3. In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, for a case that the power class parameter indicates the user equipment is a 14 dBm device, the RSRP threshold 1 is selected to perform the network access procedure with the communication network. In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels are received from the communication network in a system information block. See paragraphs 0179-0188.)
wherein the capability of the first type of terminal comprises a quantity of receiving antennas; the capability of the first type of terminal is different from a capability of the second type of terminal, that the capability of the first type of terminal is different from the capability of the second type of terminal comprises: the quantity of the receiving antennas of the first type of terminal is different from a quantity of receiving antennas of the second type of terminal (The prior art discloses multiple terminals which are can be configured and are capable of configuration according to the recited limitations regarding terminal capability. The claim limitations merely recite the capability and the prior art teaches terminals also capable of such a configuration.)
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the capability of the first type of terminal further comprises a coverage capability level (Referring to Figures 3-4, The UE 10-1 includes one or more processors 10-A1, one or more memories 10-B1 containing one or more programs 10-C1, a radio frequency transceiver 10-D1 able to receive and transmit data, a wired network interface 10-E1, and one or more antennas 10-F1, by definition, with coverage capabilities. Further, the UE 10-1 may include a Pwr proc 10-G1 to also perform the operations in accordance with the example embodiments. See paragraphs 0101-0103.)
Regarding claims 3 and 17, D1 discloses wherein that the capability of the first type of terminal is different from the capability of the second type of terminal further comprises the coverage capability level of the first type of terminal is different from the coverage capability level of the second type of terminal (Referring to Figures 3-4, The UE 10-1 includes one or more processors 10-A1, one or more memories 10-B1 containing one or more programs 10-C1, a radio frequency transceiver 10-D1 able to receive and transmit data, a wired network interface 10-E1, and one or more antennas 10-F1, by definition, with coverage capabilities. Further, the UE 10-1 may include a Pwr proc 10-G1 to also perform the operations in accordance with the example embodiments. See paragraphs 0101-0103. The prior art discloses multiple terminals which are can be configured and are capable of configuration according to the recited limitations regarding terminal capability. The claim limitations merely recite the capability and the prior art teaches terminals also capable of such a configuration.)
Regarding claims 4 and 18, D1 discloses wherein the target reference signal measurement threshold is less than the reference signal measurement threshold corresponding to the second type of terminal (Rejected in light of parent claim as the claim limitations are related to an intended-use limitation as explained in the rejection of the parent claim.)
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses wherein determining, by the terminal device, the target reference signal measurement threshold used by the terminal device according to the reference signal measurement threshold corresponding to the second type of terminal and the capability of the first type of terminal, comprises: determining a first adjustment amount according to the capability of the first type of terminal; and determining the target reference signal measurement threshold according to the reference signal measurement threshold corresponding to the second type of terminal and the first adjustment amount (Rejected in light of parent claim as the claim limitations are related to an intended-use limitation as explained in the rejection of the parent claim.)
Regarding claim 8, D1 discloses determining a downlink reference signal satisfying the target reference signal measurement threshold as a target reference signal according to a measurement result of a downlink reference signal and the target reference signal measurement threshold, and determining a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource according to the target reference signal and a first association relationship, wherein, the first association relationship is a correspondence relationship between the downlink reference signal and the PRACH resource (Referring to Figures 3-4, only an RSRP threshold is taken into account in the random access resource selection procedure which is used for the CE level determination. An RSRP is the linear average of reference signal power (in Watts) across specified bandwidth (in number of REs). This is an important item that a UE has to measure for cell selection, and/or reselection. During such procedures a UE may estimate a path-loss by averaging measurements of a downlink RSRP. The UE then selects CE levels and PRACH resources based on coverage level given by the downlink RSRP measurements. During a random access procedure a set of PRACH resources (e.g. time, frequency, and preamble sequences) is provided for each coverage level, e.g. a number of preamble sequences for each level. The PRACH resources per coverage level are configurable by System Information. The UE (e.g., UE selects PRACH resources based on coverage level given by a UE DL measurement, e.g. RSRP measurements. In accordance with the example embodiments the power class of the UE, as disclosed above, is taken into account in PRACH resource selection for CE level determination. RSRP threshold for selecting the CE/repetition level is adjusted by UE power class specific parameter(s). See paragraphs 0109-0112.)
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses determining a target random access type for random access according to a measurement result of a downlink reference signal and the target reference signal measurement threshold, and determining a target carrier used for initiating random access according to a measurement result of a downlink reference signal and the target reference signal measurement threshold (Referring to Figures 3-4, only an RSRP threshold is taken into account in the random access resource selection procedure which is used for the CE level determination. An RSRP is the linear average of reference signal power (in Watts) across specified bandwidth (in number of REs). This is an important item that a UE has to measure for cell selection, and/or reselection. During such procedures a UE may estimate a path-loss by averaging measurements of a downlink RSRP. The UE then selects CE levels and PRACH resources based on coverage level given by the downlink RSRP measurements. During a random access procedure a set of PRACH resources (e.g. time, frequency, and preamble sequences) is provided for each coverage level, e.g. a number of preamble sequences for each level. The PRACH resources per coverage level are configurable by System Information. The UE (e.g., UE selects PRACH resources based on coverage level given by a UE DL measurement, e.g. RSRP measurements. In accordance with the example embodiments the power class of the UE, as disclosed above, is taken into account in PRACH resource selection for CE level determination. RSRP threshold for selecting the CE/repetition level is adjusted by UE power class specific parameter(s). See paragraphs 0109-0112. This NB-IOT technology is a narrowband radio technology specially designed for the Internet of Things (IOT), as described in its name. This standard can be seen to focus on indoor coverage, low cost, long battery life and large number of devices. This NB-IOT technology can be deployed in GSM and LTE spectrum. Further, the technology can be deployed “in-band”, utilizing resource blocks within a normal LTE carrier, or in the unused resource blocks within a LTE carrier's guard-band, or “standalone” for deployments in dedicated spectrum. NB-IOT is also suitable for the re-farming of GSM channels. See paragraphs 0040-0042.)
Regarding claim 12, D1 discloses wherein a capability of the first type of terminal comprises at least one of a quantity of receiving antennas and a coverage capability level, wherein a capability of the first type of terminal is different from a capability of a second type of terminal, and that the capability of the first type of terminal is different from the capability of the second type of terminal comprises at least one of following cases: the quantity of the receiving antennas of the first type of terminal is different from the quantity of the receiving antennas of the second type of terminal; and the coverage capability level of the first type of terminal is different from the coverage capability level of the second type of terminal (Referring to Figures 3-4, The UE 10-1 includes one or more processors 10-A1, one or more memories 10-B1 containing one or more programs 10-C1, a radio frequency transceiver 10-D1 able to receive and transmit data, a wired network interface 10-E1, and one or more antennas 10-F1, by definition, with coverage capabilities. Further, the UE 10-1 may include a Pwr proc 10-G1 to also perform the operations in accordance with the example embodiments. See paragraphs 0101-0103. D1 contemplates a number of different UE’s such as LTE and GSM compliant UE’s which comprise different antenna configurations and coverage capabilities, by definition. See paragraphs 0040-0042.)
Regarding claim 13, D1 discloses wherein a second type of terminal corresponds to a second reference signal measurement threshold, the first reference signal measurement threshold is less than the second reference signal measurement threshold (Referring to Figures 3-4, As shown in step 460 there is receiving, by a user equipment (multiple UEs considered; thereby, comprising a first and second type), signaling comprising at least one of a plurality of reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold levels. As shown in step 470 there is determining, by the user equipment, a power class parameter associated with the user equipment. Then in step 480 of FIG. 4B there is selecting, based on at least the at least one of the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels and said power class parameter, a resource set of one or more resource sets to perform a network access procedure with a communication network. In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels correspond to an RSRP threshold 1, an RSRP threshold 2, and an RSRP threshold 3 (different thresholds with different values less than an another). In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, for a case that the power class parameter indicates the user equipment is a 14 dBm device, the RSRP threshold 1 is selected to perform the network access procedure with the communication network. In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels are received from the communication network in a system information block. See paragraphs 0179-0188.)
Regarding claim 14, D1 discloses wherein the reference signal measurement threshold corresponding to the first type of terminal is determined by a reference signal measurement threshold corresponding to a second type of terminal (Referring to Figures 3-4, As shown in step 460 there is receiving, by a user equipment (multiple UEs considered; thereby, comprising a first and second type), signaling comprising at least one of a plurality of reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold levels. As shown in step 470 there is determining, by the user equipment, a power class parameter associated with the user equipment. Then in step 480 of FIG. 4B there is selecting, based on at least the at least one of the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels and said power class parameter, a resource set of one or more resource sets to perform a network access procedure with a communication network. In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels correspond to an RSRP threshold 1, an RSRP threshold 2, and an RSRP threshold 3 (different thresholds with different values less than an another). In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, for a case that the power class parameter indicates the user equipment is a 14 dBm device, the RSRP threshold 1 is selected to perform the network access procedure with the communication network. In accordance with the example embodiments as described in the paragraphs above, the plurality of reference signal received power threshold levels are received from the communication network in a system information block. See paragraphs 0179-0188.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Kung et al. (US 2020/0015236 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2.
Regarding claims 10 and 21, D1 does not disclose wherein the downlink reference signal is a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB).
D1 teaches an RSRP threshold is taken into account in the random access resource selection procedure which is used for the CE level determination. An RSRP is the linear average of reference signal power (in Watts) across specified bandwidth (in number of REs). This is an important item that a UE has to measure for cell selection, and/or reselection. During such procedures a UE may estimate a path-loss by averaging measurements of a downlink RSRP. The UE then selects CE levels and PRACH resources based on coverage level given by the downlink RSRP measurements. During a random access procedure a set of PRACH resources (e.g. time, frequency, and preamble sequences) is provided for each coverage level, e.g. a number of preamble sequences for each level. The PRACH resources per coverage level are configurable by System Information. The UE (e.g., UE selects PRACH resources based on coverage level given by a UE DL measurement, e.g. RSRP measurements. In accordance with the example embodiments the power class of the UE, as disclosed above, is taken into account in PRACH resource selection for CE level determination. RSRP threshold for selecting the CE/repetition level is adjusted by UE power class specific parameter(s). See paragraphs 0109-0112. D2 teaches the UE selects an SSB from amongst a group of SSBs associated with RSRP values above a threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB). In some examples, the UE selects a PRACH resource associated with the SSB (selected from the group of SSBs). However, a beam identified by the SSB may have high levels of interference and/or noise from one or more co-channel serving cells (and/or one or more adjacent serving cells) and/or from one or more co-channel non-serving cells (and/or one or more adjacent non-serving cells) in an unlicensed spectrum (even if a measured RSRP value of the SSB is above the threshold). When the UE performs a random access preamble transmission with the PRACH resource associated with the SSB, the UE encounters a delay (e.g., a long delay) due to consecutive LBT failures if resources and/or beam direction associated with the SSB is occupied (and/or heavily occupied) by one or more unlicensed cells and/or other RATs. A UE performs one or more operations in order to mitigate a delay encountered due to LBT failures due to resources and/or beam direction associated with an SSB being occupied (by one or more unlicensed cells and/or other RATs). See paragraphs 0146-0147.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the SSB reference signal of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to support high-demand data communications in a mobile network according to an SSB threshold.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 8, of the remarks, regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues the D1 does not disclose the newly amended claim. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments relate to a stated intended-use limitation and capabilities of the UE. The intended-use limitation is not afforded patentable weight the terminals of D1 may also be configured in a similar manner. See the rejection of claim 1 above for further explanation. Therefore, the claim limitations are disclosed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Geng et al. (US 2022/0159493 A1) - When determining that a measurement result of the CSI-RS and a measurement result of the SSB of the cell satisfy a preset condition, the terminal device reports a measurement report to the network device, where the measurement report includes identification information of the cell, so that the network device identifies a fake base station.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462