DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/26/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “a custom-made cap with inlet and outlet,” “a cotton swab,” “nitrocellulose,” “Dynabeads,” “unit 1 can be permanently attached to unit 2 or provided separately” are not recited in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: before the first recitation of “NA,” there should be a “(NA)” after nucleic acid to improve clarity of the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit 1” and “unit 2” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the sample" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 is rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name “whatman # 1 paper”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “whatman # 1 paper” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name “Dynabeads”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe “Dynabeads” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the lysis buffer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2018/195594, hereinafter Mason.
Regarding claim 1, Mason teaches a kit (figure 8), comprising: an all-inclusive, low complexity, portable, disposable, easy to use, and rapid nucleic acid detection device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)) with two complementary units (figure 8): unit 1 (figure 8B, the container to “Shake to lyse tissue” and “Dip (3x) to bind nucleic acids”) for nucleic acid, extraction, and purification (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), unit 2 (figure 8B, the container to “Dip (3x) into amplification reaction) for rapid isothermal amplification, labeling, and detection of target nucleic acids (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); an optional sample collection tool (optional and not required, but still taught as item 10) wherein results can be obtained rapidly to provide real time information for decision makers in any setting (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding the limitations of an instruction manual for use by a person thirteen years or older, the information being printed on the instruction sheet is considered to be nonfunctional descriptive material and therefore is given minimal patentable weight and therefore Mason teaches all of the limitations (MPEP § 2111.05 and 2112.01 (III)).
Regarding claim 2, Mason teaches wherein unit 1 is a standalone device for nucleic acid extraction comprising a tube that contains reagents for cell lysis and NA extraction (pages 41-42, lines 30-7).
Regarding claim 3, Mason teaches further comprising a tube (figure 8B, the container to “Shake to lyse tissue” and “Dip (3x) to bind nucleic acids”) that has a custom-made cap with inlet (the right half of the opening of the tube) and outlet (the left half of the opening of the tube) for sample introduction into the device and removal of extracted nucleic acids (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein the sample is introduced using a cotton swab (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein a dipstick is introduced in the outlet to capture extracted nucleic acids (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 4, the dipstick is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the dipstick has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Mason. Further, Mason teaches this limitation on page 30, lines 14-18).
Regarding claim 6, Mason teaches wherein the lysis buffer comprise a mechanical disruption buffer with ball bearings (pages 41-42, lines 30-7).
Regarding claim 21, Mason teaches wherein unit 2 comprises a microfluidic device (page 30, lines 24-28).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2014/0057210, hereinafter Malik.
Regarding claim 1, Malik teaches a kit (figures 1 and 7), comprising: an all-inclusive, low complexity, portable, disposable, easy to use, and rapid nucleic acid detection device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)) with two complementary units (figure 1 and 7): unit 1 (figure 1) for nucleic acid, extraction, and purification (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), unit 2 (item 710) for rapid isothermal amplification, labeling, and detection of target nucleic acids (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); an optional sample collection tool (optional and not required and is taught in paragraph [0074]); and wherein results can be obtained rapidly to provide real time information for decision makers in any setting (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding the limitations of an instruction manual for use by a person thirteen years or older, the information being printed on the instruction sheet is considered to be nonfunctional descriptive material and therefore is given minimal patentable weight and therefore Malik teaches all of the limitations (MPEP § 2111.05 and 2112.01 (III)).
Regarding claim 2, Malik teaches wherein unit 1 is a standalone device for nucleic acid extraction comprising a tube that contains reagents for cell lysis and NA extraction (paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Malik teaches wherein unit 1 is a cartridge containing reagents for cell lysis and NA extraction (paragraph [0075]) with an inlet for sample introduction (paragraph [0075]) and an outlet (paragraph [0092]) retrofitted with a nucleic acid binding membrane (item 150 and paragraph [0076])) which docks directly into the sample inlet of the unit 2 (figure 7), wherein unit 1 can be permanently attached to unit 2 or provided separately (paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 6, Malik teaches wherein the lysis buffer comprises mechanical disruption buffer with ball bearings, alkaline lysis buffer, or combinations thereof (paragraph [0159]).
Regarding claim 20, Malik teaches wherein unit 2 comprises a microfluidic device (paragraph [0092]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796