DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 01/08/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2,4-8,10,13-20,22-24,26,28-30 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 01/08/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,8-13,16-17,19-21,25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei to (US20240147478 A1) in view of Priyanto to (WO 2022207719 A1)
Regarding claims 1,19 Babaei teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE),(FIG.1A) comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to(fig.2A,2B) : receive, from a network entity, control information scheduling multiple transmission or reception occasions; ([0164] , shown in FIG. 16, a wireless device may be provided/configured with a plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions in a configured grant period. The plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be within a configured grant (CG) period. In some cases, the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be spaced with equal separation between consecutive PUSCH transmission occasions. In some cases, the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be spaced with different separations between consecutive PUSCH transmission occasions. The wireless device may determine the PUSCH transmission occasions within a CG period based on one or more configuration parameters (e.g., one or more RRC configuration parameters, e.g., configured grant configuration parameters) and/or based on a DCI (e.g., a configured grant activation DCI indicating activation of configured grant configuration). For example, the wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters and/or may receive a DCI (e.g., a configured grant configuration activation DCI comprising a field with a value) indicating a bitmap. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a slot within the CG period. A value of zero of a bit in the bitmap may indicate no PUSCH transmission occasion in the corresponding slot in the CG period. A value of one of a bit in the bitmap may indicate a PUSCH transmission occasion in the corresponding slot in the CG period. In an example, the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be within the CG period of a single CG configuration ) receive at least one of an indication of an adaptable parameter or a condition for an adaptation of the multiple transmission or reception occasions;( [0154] discloses unused CG resources within a CG period may be recycled when configured CG resources within the CG period are more than required resources by the UL XR burst corresponding to the CG period, with potential assistant information exchanged between UE and gNB) communicate with the network entity based on the multiple transmission or reception occasions; (0165] The wireless device may transmit packets/transport bocks (e.g., XR packets/transport blocks) using radio resources of the PUSCH transmission occasions in the CG period ) and communicate with the network entity based on the adaptation of the multiple transmission or reception occasions in response to an occurrence of the condition or reception of the indication of the adaptable parameter([0173] discloses the wireless device may transmit packet(s)/transport block(s) (e.g., XR packet(s)/transport block(s)) via PUSCH transmission occasion(s)/resources in the CG period that are indicated to the base station using the indication (e.g., UCI, MAC CE or UAI) and according to the indication)
Babaei does not explicitly teach wherein the control information allocates an initial amount of resources for the multiple transmission or reception occasions; receive, for an adaptation of the initial amount of resources for an occasion of the multiple transmission or reception occasions, at least one of an indication of a value, communicate with the network entity based on the initial amount of resources for the multiple transmission or reception occasions; and communicate with the network entity based on the adaptation of the initial amount of resources
However, Priyanto teaches wherein the control information allocates an initial amount of resources for the multiple transmission or reception occasions; (page 19, lines 25-30 discloses multiple sets of the time-frequency resources 311-314 are allocated to the initial transmission 901 , and the retransmissions 902-904, respectively. A respec tive DCI 4025 is communicated) receive, for an adaptation of the initial amount of resources for an occasion of the multiple transmission or reception occasions, at least one of an indication of a value,( page 21, lines 6-10 discloses implementing a dynamic link adaptation protocol, e.g., by monitoring for reference signals and/or by transmitting reference signals, by compiling a channel quality report, etc.; providing a capability to the BS, the capability being indicative of the capability of the UE to support different values of a transmission parameter for an initial transmission and at least one retransmission of data) communicate with the network entity based on the initial amount of resources for the multiple transmission or reception occasions;(page 24, lines 26-30 discloses the UE participates in the initial transmission) and communicate with the network entity based on the adaptation of the initial amount of resources(page 25, lines 14-16 discloses the BS can optionally obtain a capability to support dynamic adaptation of values of a transmission parameter between subsequent retransmissions of CBGs from the UE)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Babaei include wherein the control information allocates an initial amount of resources for the multiple transmission or reception occasions; receive, for an adaptation of the initial amount of resources for an occasion of the multiple transmission or reception occasions, at least one of an indication of a value, communicate with the network entity based on the initial amount of resources for the multiple transmission or reception occasions; and communicate with the network entity based on the adaptation of the initial amount of resources, as suggested by Priyanto. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the network resource.
Regarding claims 2,20 Babaei teaches The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the control information via the at least one transceiver, the control information comprising a single downlink control information (DCI) that allocates resources for multiple physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions or multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions and further includes the condition for the adaptation([0151] discloses while CG resources may be semi-statically configured by RRC or indicated by activation DCI.[0164] discloses the wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters and/or may receive a DCI (e.g., a configured grant configuration activation DCI comprising a field with a value) indicating a bitmap. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a slot within the CG period. A value of zero of a bit in the bitmap may indicate no PUSCH transmission occasion in the corresponding slot in the CG period.).
Regarding claims 3,21 Babaei teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control information configures a configured grant (CG) or a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant indicated in radio resource control (RRC) signaling([0151] discloses CG resources may be semi-statically configured by RRC or indicated by activation DCI).
Regarding claim 8, Babaei teaches The apparatus of claim 3, wherein at least one of the indication of the adaptable parameter or the condition for the adaptation is comprised in at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or an adjustment DCI([0154] unused CG resources within a CG period may be recycled when configured CG resources within the CG period are more than required resources by the UL XR burst corresponding to the CG period, with potential assistant information exchanged between UE and gNB. [0155] In an example, when CG configures multiple PUSCHs for transmission, a dynamic self-configuration scheme may be used. UCI or other indications (e.g., MAC CE, UE assistance information) may be transmitted at an early PUSCH transmission time. This signal may indicate that the subsequent configuration of PUSCH transmission is abandoned, or the new PUSCH is added. When gNB receives UCI, it can dynamically schedule the remaining PUSCH in the current XR cycle to improve system efficiency).
Regarding claims 9, 25 Babaei teaches The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the RRC signaling configures multiple CGs or multiple SPS grants, ([0174] discloses wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters. The one or more messages may comprise one or more RRC messages. The configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration) and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, in at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or an activation DCI, an activation of the CG or the SPS grant that indicates the multiple transmission or reception occasions and the condition(([0151] discloses CG resources may be semi-statically configured by RRC or indicated by activation DCI…[0174] discloses the wireless device may determine, based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration, a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions. The plurality of the CG PUSCH transmission occasions may be after/subsequent to the timing of the transmission of the CG PUSCH transmission/UTO-UCI. Each bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI bitmap may be mapped to/associated with a corresponding CG PUSCH transmission occasion subsequent to the PUSCH transmission carrying the UTO-UCI. The first number bits of the UTO-UCI may have a one-to-one mapping/association to the first number subsequent CG PUSCH transmission occasions in ascending order of start times).
Regarding claims 10,26 Babaei teaches The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the MAC-CE or the activation DCI indicates a baseline size for the multiple transmission or reception occasions([0169]discloses The wireless device may receive a configuration parameter indicating the value of N. In an example, the value of N may be or may be based on the number of PUSCH transmission occasion(s) in the CG period. In an example, the size of the first field may comprise one octet or a plurality of octets. In an example, in case the indication is a MAC CE, different LCIDs may be used for a one-octet MAC CE for the indication and for a four-octet MAC CE for the indication. The size of the first field may be one octet if the number of PUSCH transmission occasion(s) in the CG period is less than 8 and may be multiple octets (e.g., 4 octets) if the number of PUSCH transmission occasion(s) in the CG period is more than 8. In an example, the number of PUSCH transmission occasions within the CG period may be configurable and/or may be dynamically indicated. The wireless device may receive a configuration parameter and/or DCI (e.g., configured grant activation DCI) indicating the number of PUSCH transmission occasion(s) within the CG period) .
Regarding claim 11, Babaei teaches The apparatus of claim 3, further comprising: at least one antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or an activation DCI that indicates a sequence of CGs or SPS grants(([0151] discloses CG resources may be semi-statically configured by RRC or indicated by activation DCI…[0174] discloses the wireless device may determine, based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration, a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions. The plurality of the CG PUSCH transmission occasions may be after/subsequent to the timing of the transmission of the CG PUSCH transmission/UTO-UCI. Each bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI bitmap may be mapped to/associated with a corresponding CG PUSCH transmission occasion subsequent to the PUSCH transmission carrying the UTO-UCI. The first number bits of the UTO-UCI may have a one-to-one mapping/association to the first number subsequent CG PUSCH transmission occasions in ascending order of start times. A first bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a first CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a first value).
Regarding claims 12,27 Babaei teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control information scheduling the multiple transmission or reception occasions provides at least one parameter that is based on the condition([0174] discloses a wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters. The one or more messages may comprise one or more RRC messages. The configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration. In an example, the configuration parameters may further comprise a second configuration parameter indicating a first number of bits in an uplink control information (UCI) unused transmission occasion (UTO) bitmap. The UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration).
Regarding claims 13,28 Babaei teaches wherein the adaptation of the initial
amount of resources for the occasion of the multiple transmission or reception occasions includes
one or more of:a different frequency allocation for the occasion of the multiple transmission or receptionoccasions, ora different time duration allocation for the occasion of the multiple transmission orreception occasion([0151] discloses …multiple PUSCH transmission occasions within a period may be based on configuring multiple CG configurations with same periodicity and different starting times).
Regarding claims 16,29 Babaei teaches wherein the control information indicates a pattern of resources over time for use at each occasion of a set of the multiple transmission or reception occasions([0156] discloses a periodic CG pattern may be configured, and each CG pattern may have multiple CG-PUSCH occasions. Multiple non-consecutive sets of PUSCH occasions may be configured in one period).
Regarding claims 17,30 Babaei teaches wherein the pattern of resources is a
pattern of increasing resources over time, wherein the increasing resources comprise increasing
resources increase in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain-across the pattern ([0161] discloses additional dynamic grant for resource allocation may be received/enabled in addition to the reserved SPS resource for PDSCH for the XR packet transmission. In an example, the additional resource allocation may be indicated by L1 signaling and/or MAC layer information for dynamically allocating the resource of remaining XR-specific traffic if any. In an example, the pre-configured monitoring window of dynamic scheduling may be bundled with the SPS PDSCH occasion for improving the resource of remaining XR-specific traffic).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over to (US20240147478 A1) in view of Priyanto to (WO 2022207719 A1) further in view of Rao to (US 20240147477 A1)
Regarding claim 14, Babaei does not explicitly teach wherein the control information includes multiple conditions, each condition triggering a change to a different adaptation for the multiple transmission or reception occasions scheduled in the control information
However, Rao teaches wherein the control information includes multiple conditions, ([0100] The layers (e.g., different layers) in a forwarding configuration may be configured with different configuration parameters (e.g., in order to satisfy and/or maintain the QoS of PDUs/PDU sets). Such configuration parameters may include support for AM/UM in RLC, LCP rules/restrictions and/or associated LCH parameters (e.g., PBR, BSD, priority) at MAC and number of HARQ transmissions. Certain parameters may be configured and/or adapted at the PDCP (e.g., sequence numbers (SN), sequence number size, ROCH) and the SDAP (e.g., mapping between QFI/PDU sets and DRBs) sublayers, which may be used to satisfy/maintain the QoS) each condition triggering a change to a different adaptation for the multiple transmission or reception occasions scheduled in the control information ([0105] A WTRU may be configured to support transmissions and/or adaptations to the configurations during the transmissions of data units that include PDUs, PDU sets, and/or data bursts in one or more flows in the UL and/or in the DL (e.g., within the QoS requirements associated with the data units for stabilizing the associated QoS/QoE). The WTRU may support data transmissions within the respective QoS, and/or assist the network with meeting QoS during transmissions based on: configurations, triggering events, and/or conditions/criteria received from the network and/or application)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Babaei include wherein the control information includes multiple conditions, each condition triggering a change to a different adaptation for the multiple transmission or reception occasions scheduled in the control information, as suggested by Rao. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the network resource.
Regarding claim 15, Babaei does not explicitly teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control information indicates a period of time associated with the adaptation of the multiple transmission or reception occasions, and the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the network entity without the adaptation after the period of time
However, Rao teaches wherein the control information indicates a period of time associated with the adaptation of the multiple transmission or reception occasions, ([0157],[0148] The WTRU may receive the configuration information from network periodically (e.g., with one or more configured periodicity values), aperiodically/dynamically (e.g., status indication/information and/or request/request messages), and/or on semi-persistent basis (e.g., sent with a periodicity value over a time window/duration). For example, the WTRU may receive the configuration information via RRC signaling and/or messages (e.g., dedicated/unicast signaling via any of SRBs, broadcast/SIB)) and the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the network entity without the adaptation after the period of time([0203] A WTRU may select a forwarding configuration at the AS layers for mapping XR data units during UL transmissions. For example, a WTRU may receive one or more data units from higher layers/application. The WTRU may map the data units to selected one or more forwarding configurations (e.g., DRBs, and/or LCHs) when performing UL transmission of the data units (e.g., PDUs, PDU sets, data bursts))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Babaei include wherein the control information indicates a period of time associated with the adaptation of the multiple transmission or reception occasions, and the at least one processor is further configured to: communicate with the network entity without the adaptation after the period of time, as suggested by Rao . This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the network resource.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over to (US20240147478 A1) in view of Priyanto to (WO 2022207719 A1) further in view of Li to (US20240276483 A1)
Regarding claim 18 Babaei does not explicitly teach wherein the control information further
indicates the initial amount of resources using a resource identifier, wherein the initial amount of
resources is indicated as a baseline resource for the pattern, and additional resources of the pattern are based on the baseline resource and at least one of a defined rule or a configured parameter
However, Li teaches wherein the control information further indicates the initial amount of resources using a resource identifier, wherein the initial amount of resources is indicated as a baseline resource for the pattern, and additional resources of the pattern are based on the baseline resource ([0029] discloses the baseline or default MCS may be used in any CG PUSCH occasion(s) within one CG period, then the MCS index delta for each individual CG PUSCH occasions may be configured together with the baseline or default MCS value) and at least one of a defined rule or a configured parameter([0032] discloses a rule may be configured to be a pattern-based rule. For example, the gNB may configure one default MCS, and further have a configured pattern of MCS transition/jump from one TB to another TB. An exemplary pattern may represent a linear decrease of TB size from one CG PUSCH occasion to the following CG PUSCH occasion)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Babaei include wherein the control information further indicates the initial amount of resources using a resource identifier, wherein the initial amount of resources is indicated as a baseline resource for the pattern, and additional resources of the pattern are based on the baseline resource and at least one of a defined rule or a configured parameter, as suggested by Li. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize the network resource.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7,22-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461