DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farjadrad (US Pat. 7,805,642) in view of Zhang et al (US Pat. 6,233,709; hereinafter referred to as Zhang) in view of Shattil (US Pat. Pub. 2015/0244430) in view of Perez-Andrade et al (“A Versatile Linear Insertion Sorter Based on a FIFO Scheme”; hereinafter referred to as Perez).
As per claims 1, 7: Farjadrad teaches a method and non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions for providing communication Forward Error Correction (FEC) optimization for virtualized platforms, comprising:
calculating a cut off time used to terminate total FEC processing duration (Fig. 4, 408; col. 5, lines 15-17);
processing code blocks received in a subframe in a priority order defined by a code block priority sorting stage (Fig. 4, 404: code blocks processed in first-in first-out order; Fig. 3, 302-304); and
wherein processing code blocks comprises:
checking if a current time has exceeded the cut off time cut off value (Fig. 4; determining whether the output of 408=0 which indicates that the current time has not exceeded the cut off time cut off value, or whether the output of 408=1 which indicates that the current time has exceeded the cut off time cut off value);
when the current time has exceeded the cut off time value (Fig. 4, output of 408=1), then setting a Cyclic Redundancy Code (CRC) FAIL (Fig. 4, output of 406=1 which indicates FAIL because no convergence has occurred before the maximum cut off time of 408) and moving onto a next code block without decoding (col. 5, lines 17-20);
when the current time has not exceeded the cut off time value (Fig. 4, output of 406=0), then running a single iteration of decoding and checking a code block CRC (Fig. 3, 306-308; col. 4, lines 18-21);
when the code block CRC is PASS then decoding is successful and moving onto a next code block (col. 5, lines 10-13).
Not explicitly disclosed is:
when the code block CRC is FAIL then checking if a maximum number of FEC iterations has been reached;
when maximum number of FEC iterations has not been reached repeating the steps of calculating and processing code blocks; and
when maximum number of FEC iterations has been reached then moving onto the next code block.
However, Zhang in an analogous art teaches:
when the code block CRC is FAIL (Fig. 2, 208 NO) then checking if a maximum number of FEC iterations has been reached (Fig. 2, 214);
when maximum number of FEC iterations has not been reached (Fig. 2, 214 YES) repeating the steps of calculating and processing code blocks (Fig. 2, 216); and
when maximum number of FEC iterations has been reached (Fig. 2, 214 NO) then moving onto the next code block (Fig. 2, 220 YES).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further determine a maximum number of iterations as a stopping criteria in the iterative decoder of Farjadrad as taught by Zhang.
This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because Farjadrad suggests that the number of iterations is finite and should be considered (col. 1, lines 62-65).
Also not explicitly disclosed is performing the method in a virtualized distributed unit (DU) environment on a generalized computing platform. However, Shattil in an analogous art teaches performing error correction (paragraphs 254 and 261) in a virtualized distributed unit (Fig. 18; paragraphs 32,183, and 247) of a generalized computing platform (Fig. 24B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the method of Farjadrad and Zhang in a virtualized distributed unit environment. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because virtualization would have reduced cost and processing requirements (paragraph 258).
Also not explicitly disclosed is a computed priority order computed by a code block priority sorting stage. However, Perez in an analogous art teaches a programmable gate array for computing a FIFO priority sort order (page 359).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the computed FIFO algorithm of Perez to perform the FIFO input sorting of Farjadrad. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have provided an easily adaptable and efficient hardware implementation of a FIFO sorter (page 361, Conclusion).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Farjadrad in view of Zhang in view of Shattil in view of Perez in view of Asati et al (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0213726; hereinafter referred to as Asati).
As per claims 2, 8: Farjadrad et al teach the method of claim 1 and 7. Not explicitly disclosed is: dynamically allocating compute allocation for FEC in the virtualized DU environment. However, Asati in an analogous art teaches dynamically allocating FEC compute resources (paragraph 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to dynamically allocate compute resources for FEC in the virtualized DU environment of Farjadrad et al. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have reduced cost (paragraph 18).
As per claims 3, 9: Farjadrad et al teach the method of claim 1 and 7. Not explicitly disclosed is: dynamically decreasing compute allocation for FEC in the virtualized DU environment as load increases at a virtualized DU. However, Asati in an analogous art teaches dynamically allocating FEC compute resources (paragraph 18; dynamic allocation means that compute resources are increased or decreased dynamically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to dynamically allocate compute resources for FEC in the virtualized DU environment of Farjadrad et al. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have reduced cost (paragraph 18).
Claim(s) 4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farjadrad in view of Zhang in view of Shattil in view of Perez in view of Aktas et al (US Pat. Pub. 2022/0322371; hereinafter referred to as Aktas).
As per claims 4, 10:
Farjadrad et al teach the method of claim 1 and 7. Not explicitly disclosed is: prioritizing users based on at least one of: physical location information; relative distance information; link attenuation measurement. However, Aktas in an analogous art teaches prioritizing users at a high distance based on relative distance information (paragraph 94).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to prioritize users at high distance. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it was one of a known prioritization criteria for multiple users, as shown by Aktas.
Claim(s) 5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farjadrad in view of Zhang in view of Shattil in view of Perez in view of Yang et al (US Pat. Pub. 2021/0160784; hereinafter referred to as Yang).
As per claims 5, 11: Farjadrad et al teach the method of claim 1 and 7. Not explicitly disclosed is: at the code block priority stage, prioritizing users based on at least one of: power loop control indication and link adaptation indication. However, Yang in an analogous art teaches prioritizing users based on power loop control information (paragraphs 16, 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine priority based on power loop control information. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it was a known method for determining and prioritizing power level as shown by Yang.
Claim(s) 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farjadrad in view of Zhang in view of Shattil in view of Perez in view of Makki et al (US Pat. Pub. 2022/0173792; hereinafter referred to as Makki).
As per claims 6, 12: Farjadrad et al teach the method of claim 1 and 7. Not explicitly disclosed is: at the code block priority stage, prioritizing decoding using one of range-biased sorting and highest decoding probability sorting. However, Makki in an analogous art teaches prioritizing decoding using highest decoding probability sorting (paragraphs 12 and 91).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to prioritize the decoding of Farjadrad et al based on highest decoding probability sorting. This modification would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because it would have increased end-to-end throughput and load balancing (paragraph 13).
Conclusion
/STEVE N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111