DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the language is unclear as to what the difference between “serving as the main component” and “being the main component” of the heat storage material is. Examiner suggests deleting “that serves” in Line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the language “to melt” is written in the passive voice. Examiner suggests reciting “by melting” in Lines 3-4 in place of “to melt”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the heat of the battery" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, dependent Claim 5 is rejected a result of its dependence on indefinite Claim 4, as it includes all the limitations of Claim 4, and does not resolve the issues identified in rejections set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (CN-106753259A; see machine translation used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun discloses a heat storage material (see P3, 2nd paragraph: “low-phase transition temperature heat storage material”) comprising: sodium acetate trihydrate that serves as a main component (see P3, 2nd paragraph: 63 ppw of sodium acetate trihydrate); and a melting point adjuster that is any one of potassium nitrate, potassium chloride or sodium nitrate (see P3, 2nd paragraph: “temperature regulator” & P3, 3rd paragraph: temperature regulator is potassium nitrate), the content of the melting point adjuster being equal to or greater than 10% by weight (see P3, 2nd paragraph: 26 ppw of temperature regulator).
Regarding Claim 2, Sun discloses all the limitation of the heat storage material of Claim 1. Sun further discloses wherein the melting point adjuster is potassium nitrate (see P3, 2nd paragraph: “temperature regulator” & P3, 3rd paragraph: temperature regulator is potassium nitrate).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun discloses all the limitations of the heat storage material of Claim 2. Sun further discloses that the content of the potassium nitrate is equal to or greater than 20% by weight (see P3, 2nd paragraph: 26 ppw of temperature regulator) Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within the claimed range anticipates the range (see MPEP 2131.03.I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN-106753259A; see machine translation used for citation purposes) in view of Yoshiyuki (JP-2017168281A; see machine translation used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Sun discloses all the limitations of the heat storage material of Claim 1. Sun further discloses a heat storage material that absorbs the heat to melt, thereby storing latent heat and suppressing an increase in a temperature (see P2, 1st paragraph: phase change material is mainly used in the occurrence of solid - solid, solid - liquid changes in the process of rapid release of energy or absorption to achieve the purpose of regulating the temperature changes outside the system (note since the temperature adsorption includes a phase change, it inherently will be absorbing latent heat; this is also described on P3, 12th paragraph: The phase transition temperature of the phase change heat storage material of the invention is adjustable from 35 to 56 ° C, and the latent heat of change is 200 to 280 kJ / kg)).
While Sun does not disclose “wherein the heat storage material is a battery temperature rise suppression material” it is submitted that the limitations directed to “a battery” (“that absorbs the heat of a battery” and “wherein the battery is a lithium-ion battery that includes a liquid electrolyte”) are merely describing intended use of the claimed heat storage material. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997).”
Yoshiyuki discloses a lithium-ion battery with a liquid electrolyte (paragraph [0062: a solid nonaqueous electrolyte in which a lithium salt electrolyte and a polymer material are combined). Yoshiyuki further discloses using sodium acetate trihydrate as a heat storage material (paragraph [0087]).
Sun and Yoshiyuki are analogous art to the claimed invention as they all are in the same field of endeavor of heat storage materials as the claimed invention.
As it is well know that sodium acetate trihydrate heat storage material can be used as a battery temperature rise suppression material (see Yoshiyuki [0087]) and that said material can be used in a lithium-ion battery with a liquid electrolyte (see Yoshiyuki [0062]) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heat storage material of Sun as a battery temperature rise suppression material in a battery as doing so would amount to nothing more than a use of a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result (see MPEP 2144.07)
Conclusion
/B.M.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725