DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 28 June 2023 and 14 March 2024 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 1 contains the limitation “batteries capable of power transmission/reception between a power grid on an outside”, wherein the emphasized portion is an incomplete clause and indefinite. A power transmission occurs between two things, the emphasized portion of the limitation only states one thing leaving it indefinite.
Claim 1 further contains the limitation “batteries capable of power transmission/reception between a power grid on an outside, and use information representing at least any of a use time of each of the plurality of batteries,” wherein the emphasized portion creates ambiguity of what is using the “information representing at least any of a use time of each of a plurality of batteries”.
Claim 1 further contains the limitation “use information representing at least any of a use time of each of the plurality of batteries, a moving distance up to the present of a moving object comprising the plurality of batteries,” wherein the emphasized portion has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The “present” is a relative term and does not properly define the time frame through which the bounds of the claim are indefinite. Further the term “moving object” lacks a proper antecedent basis to establish what qualifies as a moving object. Applicant specification ¶0060 states in part “The vehicle 10 is an example of the moving object. The moving object may be any moving object including a battery that moves on land other than vehicles”, for the purposes of examination “moving object” has been interpreted as a vehicle.
Similarly as applied to a non-transitory computer-readable medium for claim 19 and as applied to a control method for claim 20.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 2 contains the limitation “use information comprises at least the use time, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the use time becomes longer” wherein the emphasized portion is indefinite. Applicant specification ¶0039 states in part “The use time is, for example, an elapsed time from the start of use of the vehicle 10. Due to the use of the battery 12 in accordance with the use of the vehicle 10, the SOH of the battery 12 may be lowered”, which defines the start of use time but does not bound use time. For the purposes of examination “use time” is being interpreted as the time in which the vehicle is in active use and not idle or being charged.
Claim 2 further contains the limitation “the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the use time becomes longer”, wherein the concepts of “lower” and “longer” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lowness”, “lower”, and “longer”.
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 3 contains the limitation “wherein the use information comprises at least the moving distance, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deteriorate of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the moving distance becomes longer, wherein the concepts of “lower” and “longer” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lowness”, “lower”, and “longer”.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 4 contains the limitation “use information comprises at least the integral power amount, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the integral power amount becomes larger” wherein the concepts of “lower” and “larger” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lowness”, “lower”, and “larger”.
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 5 contains the limitation “a control device wherein the selecting unit selects, among the plurality of batteries, a battery in which the deterioration state is equal to or higher than the first threshold value as a target of the power transmission/reception in priority to a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than the first threshold value” which forms a run-on clause. The bolded and underlined portion forms a first clause, and the italicized and underlined portion forms a second clause.
Further, claim 5 contains the concepts of “higher” and “lower” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “higher” and “lower”.
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 6 contains the limitation “wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher” wherein the concepts of “lower” and “higher” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lowness”, “lower”, and “higher”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 7 contains the run-on sentence “a deterioration information storing unit for storing therein first deterioration information representing a variation in the first threshold value with respect to a variation in the use time and second deterioration information in which a variation in the first threshold value with respect to a variation in the use time is smaller than the first deterioration information, wherein the use information comprises at least the use time, and the selecting unit selects, for each of the plurality of batteries, either of the first deterioration information and the second deterioration information in accordance with the priority, and calculates the first threshold value by using the selected deterioration information”, the use of semicolons to distinguish between limitations would improve the structure of this claim. Claim 7 further contains the bolded and italicized concept of “use time”. Applicant specification ¶0039 states in part “The use time is, for example, an elapsed time from the start of use of the vehicle 10. Due to the use of the battery 12 in accordance with the use of the vehicle 10, the SOH of the battery 12 may be lowered”, which defines the start of use time but does not bound use time. For the purposes of examination “use time” is being interpreted as the time in which the vehicle is in active use and not idle or being charged. The bolded and underlined concept of “smaller” which is a comparative term and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative term “smaller”.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 8 contains the limitation “the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the moving distance becomes longer” wherein the concepts of “lower” and “longer” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lowness”, “lower” and “longer”.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 10 contains the limitation “a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than a second threshold value, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries” wherein the concepts of “lower” and “lowness” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lower” and “lowness”.
Claim 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 11-13 contain the limitation “use information comprises at least the integral power amount, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the integral power amount becomes larger” wherein the concepts of “lower” and “larger” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lowness”, “lower”, and “larger”.
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 14 contains the limitation “a battery in which the deterioration state is equal to or higher than the first threshold value as a target of the power transmission/reception in priority to a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than the first threshold value” wherein the concepts of “higher” and “lower” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “higher” and “lower”.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 15 contains the limitation “a control device wherein the selecting unit selects, among the plurality of batteries, a battery in which the deterioration state is equal to or higher than the first threshold value as a target of the power transmission/reception in priority to a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than the first threshold value” which forms a run-on clause. The bolded and underlined portion forms a first clause, and the italicized and underlined portion forms a second clause.
Further, claim 15 contains the concepts of “higher” and “lower” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “higher” and “lower”.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 16-18 contain the limitation “wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher” wherein the concepts of “higher” and “lower” are comparative and require a point of reference. There is an improper antecedent basis for the point of reference with respect to the relative terms “lowness”, “lower”, and “higher”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobuna et al (US 20220305940 A1) modified by Yonetani et al (US 20150256003 A1). Kobuna has a filing date of 18 March 2022 and a foreign priority date of 25 March 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Kobuna teaches a control device (¶0033 “[FIG 2] The lower aggregation server 12 is a server that controls charging and discharging between the electrified vehicles 8 connected to the chargers and dischargers 6 and the chargers and dischargers 6. The lower aggregation server 12 controls charging and discharging based on the charge and discharge information supplied from the upper aggregation server 11”),
comprising: an acquisition unit for acquiring a deterioration state of each of a plurality of batteries capable of power transmission/reception between a power grid on an outside, (¶0026 “[FIG 1] A plurality of chargers and dischargers 6 connected to a power distribution grid 4 is prepared in the VPP 2”)
and use information representing at least any of a use time of each of the plurality of batteries, a moving distance up to the present of a moving object comprising the plurality of batteries, and an integral power amount that is output up to the present by each of the plurality of batteries; (¶0028 “driving behavior information server 30 is a server that manages driving behaviors of the driver of each electrified vehicle 8 of the electrified vehicle group 80.”, ¶0032 “The EMS server 20, the driving behavior information server 30, and the vehicle information server 40 are connected to the upper aggregation server 11 by a communication network including the Internet”)
and a selecting unit for selecting, (¶0032 “upper aggregation server 11 is a server that manages charging and discharging of the electrified vehicles 8 of the electrified vehicle group 80. The EMS server 20, the driving behavior information server 30, and the vehicle information server 40 are connected to the upper aggregation server 11 by a communication network”)
based on the use information, (¶0032 “[upper aggregation server 11] vehicle information used to manage charging and discharging includes information on the relationship between the SOC and the amount of deterioration”,)
a battery to be a target of the power transmission/reception from the plurality of batteries. (¶0033 “[lower aggregation server 12] charge and discharge information may further include desired SOCs of the individual electrified vehicles 8”)
Kobuna does not teach a control device for managing the SOH and charge/discharge of a plurality of batteries comprising a selecting unit for selecting, based on a comparison result between the deterioration state and a predetermined first threshold value that is decided in accordance with the use information, a battery to be a target of the power transmission/reception from the plurality of batteries.
Yonetani teaches a control device for managing the SOH and charge/discharge of a plurality of batteries comprising a selecting unit for selecting, (¶0015 “[FIG 1] battery deterioration control system 100 includes a power exchange controller 120… power exchange controller 120 is in communication with a plurality of EV charging stations 130”, ¶0016 “ power exchange controller 120 is operable to receive information from the charging stations 130… The instructions that are sent from the power exchange controller 120 to the charging stations 130, when interpreted by each charging station 130, are operable to regulate operation of each charging station 130”)
based on a comparison result between the deterioration state and a predetermined first threshold value that is decided in accordance with the use information, (¶0028 “[FIG 6] step S16, a power exchange for each of the connected EV batteries is determined based on the total power demand and a difference between a battery's respective state-of-health and the target state-of-health”)
a battery to be a target of the power transmission/reception from the plurality of batteries. (¶0029 “[FIG 6] calculated power exchange for each connected battery is exchanged between each respective battery and the upper authority 111 in step S18. The steps are dynamically repeated for each battery while the battery is connected to the power exchange controller 120 through the charging station 130”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the control device for managing the SOH and charge/discharge of a plurality of batteries as taught by Kobuna to further comprise a selecting unit for selecting, based on a comparison result between the deterioration state and a predetermined first threshold value that is decided in accordance with the use information, a battery to be a target of the power transmission/reception from the plurality of batteries as taught by Yonetani for the purpose of maximizing the longevity and performance of electric vehicle batteries.
Similarly as applied to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Kobuna ¶0038 “upper aggregation server 11 includes one or more processors 111 (hereinafter simply referred to as the processor 111) and one or more memories 112”) for claim 19 and as applied to a control method for claim 20
Regarding claim 2, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 1. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises at least the use time, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the use time becomes longer. (Yonetani ¶0028 “[FIG 6] step S16, a power exchange for each of the connected EV batteries is determined based on the total power demand and a difference between a battery's respective state-of-health and the target state-of-health”)
Regarding claim 3, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 1. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises at least the moving distance, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deteriorate of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the moving distance becomes longer. (Kobuna ¶0029 “vehicle information server 40 is a server that manages vehicle information of each electrified vehicle 8 of the electrified vehicle group 80. The vehicle information includes a vehicle identification (ID) identifying each electrified vehicle 8, a current position of each electrified vehicle 8, a traveled distance of each electrified vehicle 8, and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery 8a of each electrified vehicle 8”)
Regarding claim 4, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 1. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises at least the integral power amount, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the integral power amount becomes larger. (Kobuna ¶0044 “ FIG. 4 shows the content of the SOC-deterioration amount information 113a. The abscissa of each graph represents the SOC of the battery, and the ordinate of each graph represents the amount of deterioration in capacity of the battery”)
Kobuna FIG. 4 demonstrates that deterioration of the battery increases as the state of charge increases, an increase in deterioration would indicate a lower state of health. Thereby Kobuna FIG 4 demonstrates a lower state of health as state of charge increases.
Regarding claim 5, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 2. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the selecting unit selects, among the plurality of batteries, a battery in which the deterioration state is equal to or higher than the first threshold value as a target of the power transmission/reception in priority to a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than the first threshold value. (Kobuna ¶0030 “power adjustment system 10 adjusts the charging and discharging power based on a request to adjust the amount of power from the EMS server 20. Specifically, when supply of power is requested from the EMS server 20 due to power shortage, the power adjustment system 10 adjusts the charging and discharging power of each electrified vehicle 8 so that the requested amount of power is discharged from the electrified vehicle group 80 to the power distribution grid 4.”)
EMS server 20, as taught by Kobuna, selects batteries which are above an SOC threshold. Kobuna FIG. 4 demonstrates that deterioration of the battery increases as the state of charge increases, indicating that batteries with an SOC above a threshold would have a deterioration state above the threshold. EMS server 20, as detailed in Kobuna ¶0030, would then select that battery to discharge to the power grid 4.
Regarding claim 8, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 1. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device further comprising a charge and discharge limiting unit for limiting at least either of charge and discharge power (Kobuna ¶0052 “upper aggregation server 11 controls charging and discharging, the upper aggregation server 11 performs the charge and discharge control based on the vehicle information 113 of the individual electrified vehicles 8. The vehicle information 113 used in this charge and discharge control includes at least the SOC-deterioration amount information 113a and the individual vehicle desired SOC 114d”)
and an amount of charge and discharge power of, among the plurality of batteries, a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than a second threshold value, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries. (Yonetani ¶0028 “[FIG 6] step S16, a power exchange for each of the connected EV batteries is determined based on the total power demand and a difference between a battery's respective state-of-health and the target state-of-health”)
Regarding claim 9, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 1. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the plurality of batteries are batteries mounted on a plurality of vehicles that are different from one another. (Kobuna ¶0025 “[FIG. 1] Each electrified vehicle 8 used in the VPP 2 is a vehicle including a battery 8a and a charge and discharge system”)
Regarding claim 11. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 2. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises at least the integral power amount, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the integral power amount becomes larger. (Kobuna ¶0028 “driving behavior information server 30 is a server that manages driving behaviors of the driver of each electrified vehicle 8 of the electrified vehicle group 80.”, Kobuna ¶0032 “[upper aggregation server 11] vehicle information used to manage charging and discharging includes information on the relationship between the SOC and the amount of deterioration”)
Regarding claim 12, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 3. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises at least the integral power amount, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the integral power amount becomes larger. (Kobuna ¶0028 “driving behavior information server 30 is a server that manages driving behaviors of the driver of each electrified vehicle 8 of the electrified vehicle group 80.”, Kobuna ¶0032 “[upper aggregation server 11] vehicle information used to manage charging and discharging includes information on the relationship between the SOC and the amount of deterioration”)
Regarding claim 14, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 3. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the selecting unit selects, among the plurality of batteries, a battery in which the deterioration state is equal to or higher than the first threshold value as a target of the power transmission/reception in priority to a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than the first threshold value. (Kobuna ¶0030 “power adjustment system 10 adjusts the charging and discharging power based on a request to adjust the amount of power from the EMS server 20. Specifically, when supply of power is requested from the EMS server 20 due to power shortage, the power adjustment system 10 adjusts the charging and discharging power of each electrified vehicle 8 so that the requested amount of power is discharged from the electrified vehicle group 80 to the power distribution grid 4.”)
EMS server 20, as taught by Kobuna, selects batteries which are above an SOC threshold. Kobuna FIG. 4 demonstrates that deterioration of the battery increases as the state of charge increases, indicating that batteries with an SOC above a threshold would have a deterioration state above the threshold. EMS server 20, as detailed in Kobuna ¶0030, would then select that battery to discharge to the power grid 4.
Regarding claim 15, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 4. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the selecting unit selects, among the plurality of batteries, a battery in which the deterioration state is equal to or higher than the first threshold value as a target of the power transmission/reception in priority to a battery in which the deterioration state is lower than the first threshold value. (Kobuna ¶0030 “power adjustment system 10 adjusts the charging and discharging power based on a request to adjust the amount of power from the EMS server 20. Specifically, when supply of power is requested from the EMS server 20 due to power shortage, the power adjustment system 10 adjusts the charging and discharging power of each electrified vehicle 8 so that the requested amount of power is discharged from the electrified vehicle group 80 to the power distribution grid 4.”)
EMS server 20, as taught by Kobuna, selects batteries which are above an SOC threshold. Kobuna FIG. 4 demonstrates that deterioration of the battery increases as the state of charge increases, indicating that batteries with an SOC above a threshold would have a deterioration state above the threshold. EMS server 20, as detailed in Kobuna ¶0030, would then select that battery to discharge to the power grid 4.
Claim(s) 6-7, 10, 13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobuna modified by Yonetani and further in view of Nishikawa et al (US 20140167657 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 1. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani does not teach a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher.
Nishikawa teaches a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher. (¶0072 “ FIG. 3 is a diagram showing the changes in SOH of the battery groups Gr1 to Gr3 when the battery group Gr having the higher SOH margin is charged and discharged on a priority basis”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the control device as taught by Kobuna modified by Yonetani to further comprise a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher as taught by Nishikawa for the purpose of maximizing the longevity and performance of electric vehicle batteries.
Regarding claim 7, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani and Nishikawa teaches the control device according to claim 6. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani and Nishikawa further teaches a control device further comprising a deterioration information storing unit for storing therein first deterioration information representing a variation in the first threshold value with respect to a variation in the use time and second deterioration information in which a variation in the first threshold value with respect to a variation in the use time is smaller than the first deterioration information, (Kobuna ¶0038 “upper aggregation server 11 includes one or more processors 111 (hereinafter simply referred to as the processor 111) and one or more memories 112”, Yonetani ¶0028 “[FIG 6] step S16, a power exchange for each of the connected EV batteries is determined based on the total power demand and a difference between a battery's respective state-of-health and the target state-of-health”)
wherein the use information comprises at least the use time, and the selecting unit selects, for each of the plurality of batteries, either of the first deterioration information and the second deterioration information in accordance with the priority, (Nishikawa ¶0072 “ FIG. 3 is a diagram showing the changes in SOH of the battery groups Gr1 to Gr3 when the battery group Gr having the higher SOH margin is charged and discharged on a priority basis”)
Kobuna as modified by Yonetani and Nishikawa does not teach a control device which calculates the first threshold value by using the selected deterioration information.
Yonetani further teaches a control device which calculates the first threshold value by using the selected deterioration information. (¶0027 “step S14, a target state-of-health is determined for the plurality of batteries connected to the charging stations. The target state-of-health is based on each state-of-health of all batteries connected, the target state-of-health being the same for each of the connected batteries”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the control device as taught by Kobuna as modified by Yonetani and Nishikawa to calculate the first threshold value by using the selected deterioration information as further taught by Yonetani for the purpose of improved estimation of battery state of health to maximize longevity and performance of electric vehicle batteries.
Regarding claim 10, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 2. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani further teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises at least the moving distance, (Kobuna ¶0029 “vehicle information server 40 is a server that manages vehicle information of each electrified vehicle 8 of the electrified vehicle group 80. The vehicle information includes a vehicle identification (ID) identifying each electrified vehicle 8, a current position of each electrified vehicle 8, a traveled distance of each electrified vehicle 8, and a state of charge (SOC) of the battery 8a of each electrified vehicle 8”)
the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, (Kobuna ¶0042 “[FIG. 4] predictive model predicts the behavior of the SOC and the behavior of the deteriorated state of the battery 8a for a predetermined time period from the current time (prediction horizon)”)
Kobuna as modified by Yonetani does not teach a control device wherein the use information comprises the first threshold value takes a lower value as the moving distance becomes longer.
Nishikawa teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises the first threshold value takes a lower value as the moving distance becomes longer. (¶0072 “ FIG. 3 is a diagram showing the changes in SOH of the battery groups Gr1 to Gr3 when the battery group Gr having the higher SOH margin is charged and discharged on a priority basis”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the control device as taught by Kobuna modified by Yonetani to further comprise a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher as taught by Nishikawa for the purpose of maximizing the longevity and performance of electric vehicle batteries.
Regarding claim 13, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani and Nishikawa teaches the control device according to claim 10. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani and Nishikawa further teaches a control device wherein the use information comprises at least the integral power amount, the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the integral power amount becomes larger. (Kobuna ¶0028 “driving behavior information server 30 is a server that manages driving behaviors of the driver of each electrified vehicle 8 of the electrified vehicle group 80.”, Kobuna ¶0032 “[upper aggregation server 11] vehicle information used to manage charging and discharging includes information on the relationship between the SOC and the amount of deterioration”)
Regarding claim 16, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 2. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani does not teach a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher.
Nishikawa teaches a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher. (¶0072 “ FIG. 3 is a diagram showing the changes in SOH of the battery groups Gr1 to Gr3 when the battery group Gr having the higher SOH margin is charged and discharged on a priority basis”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the control device as taught by Kobuna modified by Yonetani to further comprise a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher as taught by Nishikawa for the purpose of maximizing the longevity and performance of electric vehicle batteries.
Regarding claim 17, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 3. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani does not teach a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher.
Nishikawa teaches a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher. (¶0072 “ FIG. 3 is a diagram showing the changes in SOH of the battery groups Gr1 to Gr3 when the battery group Gr having the higher SOH margin is charged and discharged on a priority basis”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the control device as taught by Kobuna modified by Yonetani to further comprise a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher as taught by Nishikawa for the purpose of maximizing the longevity and performance of electric vehicle batteries.
Regarding claim 18, Kobuna as modified by Yonetani teaches the control device according to claim 4. Kobuna as modified by Yonetani does not teach a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher.
Nishikawa teaches a control device further comprising a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher. (¶0072 “ FIG. 3 is a diagram showing the changes in SOH of the battery groups Gr1 to Gr3 when the battery group Gr having the higher SOH margin is charged and discharged on a priority basis”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the control device as taught by Kobuna modified by Yonetani to further comprise a priority setting unit for setting a priority for each of the plurality of batteries to be selected as a battery for performing the power transmission/reception, wherein the deterioration state indicates lowness of deterioration of each of the plurality of batteries, and the first threshold value takes a lower value as the priority becomes higher as taught by Nishikawa for the purpose of maximizing the longevity and performance of electric vehicle batteries.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶0017 and ¶0022 grammatical error “a charge and discharge equipment 30a, a charge and discharge equipment 30b, a charge and discharge equipment 30c”, wherein the underlined portion indicates a singular pronoun, a, preceding a plural noun, equipment.
¶0021 and ¶0023 grammatical error “Each charge and discharge equipment 30”, wherein the underlined portion indicates a singular modifier, each, preceding a plural noun, equipment.
Appropriate correction is required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Kubo et al (US 20200122577 A1) which teaches an electric vehicle instrument panel that monitors the battery state of health with respect to distance and state of charge.
Tarchinski et al (US 20200353839 A1) teaches a vehicle charging system and determining if the electric vehicle’s use information exceeds a threshold to maximize battery lifespan.
Oobayashi et al (US 20220108248 A1) teaches a server which manages the charge and discharge of multiple electric vehicles based on their use information and battery state of health
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859