DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10, 13-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943) in view of Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A).
Regarding claim 1, Takahira discloses a light source apparatus comprising:
a first laser light emitter (laser element 1 of fig. 8) configured to emit first light having a first wavelength band (para. 0059; he wavelength of a laser beam L1 emitted from the laser element 1 is, for example, in a range from 365 nm to 439 nm, and preferably from 390 nm (bluish-purple) to 410 nm (bluish-purple));
a wavelength converter (fluorescent section 8 of fig. 8) configured to convert the first light into second light having a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band (para. 0094; fluorescent section 8 emits light upon irradiation with the laser beam L1 and contains a fluorescent material that generates fluorescence (emission light) L2 upon excitation by the laser beam);
a base (heat sink 11 of fig. 8) including a first support part that supports the first laser light emitter and a second support part casing (heat dissipation base) 4 of fig. 8 that supports the wavelength converter;
a light transmissive member (wavelength selection filter 7 of fig. 8) having a first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 below) and a second surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 below) that is opposite from the first surface and disposed at a side opposite to the base with respect to the wavelength converter (shown in fig. 8), the first light (laser beam L1 of fig. 8) emitted from the first laser light (1) emitter being incident on the first surface (shown in fig. 8);
a first reflector (multilayer film 72 of fig. 2(b)) disposed at the second surface (shown in fig. 2(b)) of the light transmissive member (7) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter (para. 0103; wavelength selection filter 7 has wavelength selectivity of reflecting a laser beam L1 and transmitting fluorescence L2) toward the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 7); and
a light collection optical element (projection lens 10 of fig. 10) disposed at a second surface side of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 10) and configured to collect light that is emitted from the wavelength converter and passes through the light transmissive member (para. 0156; projection lens 10 refracts outgoing fluorescence L2),
wherein a first distance along an optical axis of the light collection optical element (10) between the wavelength converter (8) and the light collection optical element (10) is shorter than a second distance along the optical axis between the first laser light (1) emitter and the light collection optical element (10) (illustrated in fig. 10 shown below).
Takahira fails to teach wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector, and wherein the first laser light emitter and the first reflectors are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector.
Sasamuro discloses wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector (pg. 7 2nd para. semiconductor laser element 12 is elliptical, and has a major axis and a minor axis, respectively), and wherein the first laser light emitter (12) and the first reflectors (reflecting member 14 of fig. 1C) are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector (illustrated in fig. 3 and pg. 9-10 last para. [3] It is a figure which shows the shape of the condensing spot which injects into the lower surface of the wavelength conversion member of the semiconductor laser apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify reflective element of Takahira with the reflector or Sasamuro in order to reduce the size of the light source.
Regarding claim 5, Takahira discloses further comprising a third reflector (para. 0077; fluorescent section 8 abuts functions as a reflective surface) disposed at a wavelength converter side (8) with respect to the light transmissive member (7) and configured to reflect the first light reflected off the first reflector back to the first reflector (para. 0077; the fluorescent section 8 abuts is a reflective surface, fluorescence L2, which is generated by conversion of a laser beam L1 entering the laser beam irradiation surface 8a, i.e., a top surface of the fluorescent section 8, to be irradiated with the laser beam L1, can be reflected by the reflective surface so as to be directed toward the wavelength selection filter 7), wherein the first reflector (7) reflects the first light (L1) reflected off the third reflector (para. 0077) toward the wavelength converter (8).
Regarding claim 6, Takahira discloses wherein the base (4) has a heat insulation wall (para. 0076; casing 4 is made from, for example, a highly thermally conductive material such as metal (aluminum, stainless steel, copper, or iron)) provided between the first and second support parts (illustrated in fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Takahira discloses wherein the heat insulation wall (4) is a groove (opening 40a) formed in the base (4).
Regarding claim 8, Takahira discloses wherein the heat insulation wall is a heat insulation material buried in the base (para. 0076; casing 4 is made from, for example, a highly thermally conductive material such as metal (aluminum, stainless steel, copper, or iron)).
Regarding claim 10, Takahira discloses wherein the first reflector (7) is formed of an optical element (multilayer film 72 of fig. 2) that reflects the first light and transmits the second light (para. 0106; the wavelength selectivity of reflecting the laser beam L1 and transmitting the fluorescence L2).
Regarding claim 13, Takahira discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Takahira fails to teach wherein the first and second reflectors each have a rectangular planar shape having a lengthwise dimension and a widthwise dimension, the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter forms an elliptical second irradiation spot on the second reflector, and the second laser light emitter and the second reflectors are so disposed that a major axis of the second irradiation spot extends along the lengthwise dimension of the second reflector.
Sasamuro discloses wherein the first and second reflectors (reflecting members 14 for semiconductor laser elements 22A and 22B of fig. 2A) each have a rectangular planar shape having a lengthwise dimension and a widthwise dimension (illustrated in fig. 2A), the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter forms an elliptical second irradiation spot on the second reflector (pg. 7 2nd para. semiconductor laser element 12 is elliptical, and has a major axis and a minor axis, respectively), and the second laser light emitter (22B) and the second reflectors (reflecting member directly in front of semiconductor laser 22B of fig. 2A) are so disposed that a major axis of the second irradiation spot extends along the lengthwise dimension of the second reflector (illustrated in fig. 3 and pg. 9-10 last para. [3] It is a figure which shows the shape of the condensing spot which injects into the lower surface of the wavelength conversion member of the semiconductor laser apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify reflective element of Takahira with the reflector or Sasamuro in order to reduce the size of the light source.
Regarding claim 14, Takahira discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 9 below) configured to emit the first light; and a second reflector (72) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (7) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (8), wherein the first and second reflectors are integrated into a single member (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 9 below).
Regarding claim 15, Takahira discloses (para. 0129; the light-emitting device 100 can be applied to other illumination devices including, for example, a projector) a light modulator configured to modulate light emitted from the light source apparatus (projectors are known to have light modulators); and a projection optical apparatus (projection lens 10 of fig. 10) configured to project the light modulated by the light modulator (function of a projector).
Regarding claim 16, Takahira discloses a light source apparatus comprising:
a first laser light emitter (laser element 1 of fig. 8) configured to emit first light having a first wavelength band (para. 0059; he wavelength of a laser beam L1 emitted from the laser element 1 is, for example, in a range from 365 nm to 439 nm, and preferably from 390 nm (bluish-purple) to 410 nm (bluish-purple));
a wavelength converter (fluorescent section 8 of fig. 8) configured to convert the first light into second light having a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band (para. 0094; fluorescent section 8 emits light upon irradiation with the laser beam L1 and contains a fluorescent material that generates fluorescence (emission light) L2 upon excitation by the laser beam);
a base (heat sink 11 of fig. 8) including a first support part that supports the first laser light emitter and a second support part casing (heat dissipation base) 4 of fig. 8 that supports the wavelength converter;
a light transmissive member (wavelength selection filter 7 of fig. 8) having a first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 below) and a second surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 8 below) that is opposite from the first surface and disposed at a side opposite to the base with respect to the wavelength converter (shown in fig. 8), the first light (laser beam L1 of fig. 8) emitted from the first laser light (1) emitter being incident on the first surface (shown in fig. 8);
a first reflector (multilayer film 72 of fig. 2(b)) disposed at the second surface (shown in fig. 2(b)) of the light transmissive member (7) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter (para. 0103; wavelength selection filter 7 has wavelength selectivity of reflecting a laser beam L1 and transmitting fluorescence L2) toward the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 7); and
a light collection optical element (projection lens 10 of fig. 10) disposed at a second surface side of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 10) and configured to collect light that is emitted from the wavelength converter and passes through the light transmissive member (para. 0156; projection lens 10 refracts outgoing fluorescence L2),
wherein a first distance along an optical axis of the light collection optical element (10) between the wavelength converter (8) and the light collection optical element (10) is shorter than a second distance along the optical axis between the first laser light (1) emitter and the light collection optical element (10) (illustrated in fig. 10 shown below).
Takahira fails to teach wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector, and wherein the first and second laser light emitter and the first and second reflectors are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector.
Sasamuro discloses wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector (pg. 7 2nd para. semiconductor laser element 12A is elliptical, and has a major axis and a minor axis, respectively), and wherein the first and second laser light emitter (12A and 12B) and the first reflectors (reflecting member 14 of fig. 1C) are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector (illustrated in fig. 3 and pg. 9-10 last para. [3] It is a figure which shows the shape of the condensing spot which injects into the lower surface of the wavelength conversion member of the semiconductor laser apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify reflective element of Takahira with the reflector or Sasamuro in order to reduce the size of the light source.
Regarding claim 20, Takahira discloses further comprising a third reflector (para. 0077; fluorescent section 8 abuts functions as a reflective surface) disposed at a wavelength converter side (8) with respect to the light transmissive member (7) and configured to reflect the first light reflected off the first reflector back to the first reflector (para. 0077; the fluorescent section 8 abuts is a reflective surface, fluorescence L2, which is generated by conversion of a laser beam L1 entering the laser beam irradiation surface 8a, i.e., a top surface of the fluorescent section 8, to be irradiated with the laser beam L1, can be reflected by the reflective surface so as to be directed toward the wavelength selection filter 7), wherein the first reflector (7) reflects the first light (L1) reflected off the third reflector (para. 0077) toward the wavelength converter (8).
Claim(s) 2 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943) and Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN 107861178).
Regarding claim 2, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Takahira as modified by Sasamuro fails to teach a diffuser configured to diffuse the first light, wherein the diffuser is disposed in an optical path of the first light from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter.
Wang discloses an illumination system comprising a diffuser (diffusion sheet 60 of fig. 7) configured to diffuse the first light (light source 10 blue laser of fig. 7), wherein the diffuser (60) is disposed in an optical path of the first light (10) from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter (luminescent wheel 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Takahira and Sasamuro with the diffusion sheet of Wang in order to uniformize the blue laser which reduces the beam energy which could burn and reduce the fluorescence conversion efficiency (Wang; pg. 8 4th para.).
Regarding claim 17, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Takahira as modified by Sasamuro fails to teach a diffuser configured to diffuse the first light, wherein the diffuser is disposed in an optical path of the first light from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter.
Wang discloses an illumination system comprising a diffuser (diffusion sheet 60 of fig. 7) configured to diffuse the first light (light source 10 blue laser of fig. 7), wherein the diffuser (60) is disposed in an optical path of the first light (10) from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter (luminescent wheel 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Takahira and Sasamuro with the diffusion sheet of Wang in order to uniformize the blue laser which reduces the beam energy which could burn and reduce the fluorescence conversion efficiency (Wang; pg. 8 4th para.).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943), Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A) and Wang (CN 107861178) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of GE et al. (CN 110967902 A).
Regarding claim 3, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the diffuser is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member in a region where the first reflector is disposed.
GE discloses a display device comprising a diffusive reflector (apparatus of fig. 2) wherein the diffuser (diffusion layer 203 of fig. 2) is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (transmissive layer 202 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Takahira, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member faces the wavelength converter, and the diffuser is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member.
GE discloses wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member (layer 102 of fig. 1), and the diffuser (diffusion layer 101 of fig. 1) is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Takahira, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the diffuser is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member in a region where the first reflector is disposed.
GE discloses a display device comprising a diffusive reflector (apparatus of fig. 2) wherein the diffuser (diffusion layer 203 of fig. 2) is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (transmissive layer 202 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Takahira, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Takahira as modified by Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member faces the wavelength converter, and the diffuser is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member.
GE discloses wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member (layer 102 of fig. 1), and the diffuser (diffusion layer 101 of fig. 1) is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Takahira, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943) and Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US PG Pub. 20120106189).
Regarding claim 9, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro discloses further comprising a lens (lens 5 of fig. 8) disposed between the first laser light emitter (laser element 1 of fig. 8) and the light transmissive member (7)
Takahira as modified by Sasamuro fails to teach wherein the lens is configured to parallelize the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter.
Takahashi discloses a light emitting device wherein a parallelizing lens (lens 18 of fig. 22) disposed between the first laser light emitter (laser elements 2 of fig. 22) and the light transmissive member (projector lens 36 of fig. 23) and configured to parallelize the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter (para. 0197; laser elements 2 are formed into parallel light by respective lenses 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection system of Takahira and Sasamuro with the collimating lens of Takahashi in order to increase optical efficiencies within the projection system.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943) and Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A).
Regarding claim 11, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (illustrated in fig. 9) configured to emit the first light (L1); and a reflector (72 of fig. 2b) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (7) and configured to reflect the first light (L1) emitted from the second laser light emitter (1) toward the wavelength converter (8), wherein the reflector (72); however, Takahira fails to teach wherein the reflector has is separated into first and second members. Since, It has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 1 t
Regarding claim 12, Takahira as modified by Sasamuro discloses wherein the first reflector is provided in correspondence with a region (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 9), of the second surface of the light transmissive member (7), where the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter is incident (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 9), and the second reflector is provided in correspondence with a region (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 9), of the second surface of the light transmissive member, where the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter is incident (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 4 February 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882