DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 16 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeoung et al. (US PG Pub. 20150357790) in view of Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943) in view of Cornelissen et al. (US PG Pub. 20230313954) in view of Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jeoung discloses a light source apparatus (laser light source device 100 of fig. 6) comprising:
a first laser light emitter (laser diodes 10 of fig. 6) configured to emit first light having a first wavelength band (para. 0050; … blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10);
a wavelength converter (wavelength conversion plate 20 of fig. 6) configured to convert the first light into second light having a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band (para. 0052; The wavelength conversion plate 20 is a sheet-type member including a phosphor converting the wavelength of light emitted from the laser diodes 10 to change color);
a base (radiation fin 40 of fig. 6) including a first support part that supports the first laser light emitter and a second support part that supports the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 6);
a light transmissive member (projection unit 30 of fig. 6 and para. 0062; projection unit 30 may be a lens or a mirror projecting light in the forward direction) having a first surface and a second surface that is opposite from the first surface and disposed at a side opposite to the base with respect to the wavelength converter, the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter being incident on the first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below);
a first reflector (reflection unit 50 of fig. 6) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated above in the examiners illustration of fig. 6) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (illustrated above in the examiners illustration of fig. 6); and
a first distance along an optical axis of the light collection optical element (30) between the wavelength converter (20) and the light collection optical element (30) is shorter than a second distance along the optical axis between the first laser light emitter and the light collection optical element (the distance between the wavelength conversion plate 20 and the center of the lens is shorter than the distance of the laser (10) and the lens 30 because of the curvature of the lens illustrated in fig. 6),
Jeoung discloses a light transmissive member and a light collection optical element combined into a single element (collimating lens 30); however, Jeoung fails to teach wherein the light collection element is disposed at a second surface side of the light transmissive member and configured to collect light that is emitted from the wavelength converter and passes through the light transmissive member.
Takahira discloses wherein the light collection element (projection lens 10 of fig. 10) is disposed at a second surface side of the light transmissive member (wavelength selection filter 7 of fig. 10) and configured to collect light that is emitted from the wavelength converter and passes through the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 10 and para. 0156; projection lens 10 refracts outgoing fluorescence L2 to cast light at an angle within a predetermined angle range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the light source device of Jeoung with the projection lens of Takahira in order to shape the light for a downstream illumination system.
Jeoung as modified by Takahira fails to teach the first reflector comprises a plurality of reflectors, including the first reflector disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member, the plurality of reflectors are radially disposed along a circumference around an optical axis, and are configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter, the plurality of reflectors collect first light onto the wavelength converter, and the second light emitted from the wavelength converter passes through gaps between the plurality of reflectors.
Jeoung discloses first reflector disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member
Cornelissen discloses the first reflector comprises a plurality of reflectors (reflective focusing optics 20 of fig. 2B), including the plurality of reflectors are radially disposed along a circumference around an optical axis (illustrated in fig. 2B), and are configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (luminescent material 210 illustrated in figs. 2A and 2B), the plurality of reflectors collect first light onto the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 2A), and the second light emitted from the wavelength converter passes through gaps between the plurality of reflectors (illustrated in fig. 2A, the light emitted from the luminescent material 210 is emitted between the plurality of reflectors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source device of Jeoung and Takahira replacing the single reflector with the plurality of reflectors of Cornelissen because if an area of the single reflector needs to be replaced the entire reflector will need to be replaced whereas if the plurality of reflectors are used only a single reflector among the plurality of reflectors would need to be replaced thereby reducing the maintenance cost.
Jeoung as modified by Takahira and Cornelissen fails to teach wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector, and wherein the first laser light emitter and the first reflectors are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector.
Sasamuro discloses wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector (pg. 7 2ⁿᵈ para. semiconductor laser element 12 is elliptical, and has a major axis and a minor axis, respectively), and wherein the first laser light emitter (12) and the first reflectors (reflecting member 14 of fig. 1C) are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector (illustrated in fig. 3 and pg. 9-10 last para. [3] It is a figure which shows the shape of the condensing spot which injects into the lower surface of the wavelength conversion member of the semiconductor laser apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the light source device of Jeoung, Takahira and Cornelissen with the elliptical irradiation spots of Sasamuro in order to improve the light excitation efficiency at the wavelength conversion member (Sasamuro; pg. 2 5th para.).
Regarding claim 5, Jeoung discloses further comprising a third reflector (reflection plate 23 may employ a metal plate, such as an aluminum plate, and a silver coating layer 22 of fig. 3) disposed at a wavelength converter side (illustrated in fig. 3) with respect to the light transmissive member (illustrated in figs. 3 and 6) and configured to reflect the first light reflected off the first reflector back to the first reflector (para. 0058; reflection plate 23 may employ a metal plate, such as an aluminum plate, and a silver coating layer 22 may be interposed between the optoceramic plate 22 and the reflection plate 23 so as to increase reflection efficiency. Light, which is incident upon the optoceramic plate 21 so that the wavelength of the light is converted, is reflected by the reflection plate 23 and is emitted in the forward direction), wherein the first reflector reflects the first light reflected off the third reflector toward the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Jeoung discloses wherein the base has a heat insulation wall provided between the first and second support parts (para. 0071; radiation fin 40 may be formed of a metal having high thermal conductivity and include a plurality of fins or ribs so as to increase a surface area).
Regarding claim 7, Jeoung discloses wherein the heat insulation wall (40) is a groove (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below).
Regarding claim 8, Jeoung discloses wherein the heat insulation wall (40) is a heat insulation material buried in the base (para. 0071; the radiation fin 40 may be formed in an integrated type. The radiation fin 40 may be formed of a metal having high thermal conductivity and include a plurality of fins or ribs so as to increase a surface area).
Regarding 9, Jeoung discloses further comprising a parallelizing lens (collimator 30 of fig. 6) disposed between the first laser light emitter (10) and the light transmissive member and configured to parallelize the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter (para. 0062; projection unit 30 may be a lens or a mirror projecting light in the forward direction and, in the embodiment of FIG. 1, a collimating lens is used).
Regarding claim 10, Jeoung discloses wherein the first reflector is formed of an optical element that reflects the first light and transmits the second light (para. 0011; reflection unit may employ an anisotropic coating layer configured to reflect the light of the wavelength emitted from the laser diodes and to transmit the light of the wavelength converted by the wavelength conversion plate).
Regarding claim 11, Jeoung discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 6) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 6) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20),
Jeoung as modified by Takahira fails to teach a second reflector and is spaced apart from the first reflector.
Cornelissen discloses second reflector (reflective focusing optics 20 of fig. 2A and 2B) and is spaced apart from the first reflector (illustrated in fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source device of Jeoung and Takahira replacing the single reflector with the plurality of reflectors of Cornelissen because if an area of the single reflector needs to be replaced the entire reflector will need to be replaced whereas if the plurality of reflectors are used only a single reflector among the plurality of reflectors would need to be replaced thereby reducing the maintenance cost.
Regarding claim 12, Jeoung discloses wherein the first reflector (50) is provided in correspondence with a region (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 6), of the second surface of the light transmissive member (shown below), where the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter is incident (illustrated in fig. 6), and
the reflector is provided in correspondence with a region (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 6), of the second surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 6), where the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter (illustrated in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira fails to teach a second reflector and is spaced apart from the first reflector.
Cornelissen discloses second reflector (reflective focusing optics 20 of fig. 2A and 2B) and is spaced apart from the first reflector (illustrated in fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source device of Jeoung and Takahira replacing the single reflector with the plurality of reflectors of Cornelissen because if an area of the single reflector needs to be replaced the entire reflector will need to be replaced whereas if the plurality of reflectors are used only a single reflector among the plurality of reflectors would need to be replaced thereby reducing the maintenance cost.
Regarding claim 13, Jeoung as modified by Takahira discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira fails to teach wherein the first and second reflectors each have a rectangular planar shape having a lengthwise dimension and a widthwise dimension.
Cornelissen discloses wherein the first and second reflectors (reflectors 20 illustrated in fig. 2B) each have a rectangular planar shape having a lengthwise dimension and a widthwise dimension (illustrated in fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source device of Jeoung and Takahira replacing the single reflector with the plurality of reflectors of Cornelissen because if an area of the single reflector needs to be replaced the entire reflector will need to be replaced whereas if the plurality of reflectors are used only a single reflector among the plurality of reflectors would need to be replaced thereby reducing the maintenance cost.
Jeoung as modified by Takahira and Cornelissen fails to teach wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the second reflector, and wherein the first laser light emitter and the first reflectors are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the second reflector.
Sasamuro discloses wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector (pg. 7 2ⁿᵈ para. semiconductor laser element 12 is elliptical, and has a major axis and a minor axis, respectively), and wherein the first laser light emitter (12) and the second reflectors (reflecting member 14 of fig. 1C) are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the second reflector (illustrated in fig. 3 and pg. 9-10 last para. [3] It is a figure which shows the shape of the condensing spot which injects into the lower surface of the wavelength conversion member of the semiconductor laser apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the light source device of Jeoung, Takahira and Cornelissen with the elliptical irradiation spots of Sasamuro in order to improve the light excitation efficiency at the wavelength conversion member (Sasamuro; pg. 2 5th para.).
Regarding claim 14, Jeoung as modified by Takahira discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira fails to teach a second reflector.
Cornelissen discloses second reflector (reflective focusing optics 20 of fig. 2A and 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source device of Jeoung and Takahira replacing the single reflector with the plurality of reflectors of Cornelissen because if an area of the single reflector needs to be replaced the entire reflector will need to be replaced whereas if the plurality of reflectors are used only a single reflector among the plurality of reflectors would need to be replaced thereby reducing the maintenance cost.
Regarding claim 15, Jeoung discloses a light modulator configured to modulate light emitted from the light source apparatus (projector 3 of fig. 4; the reference does not explicitly disclose a modulator; however, it is well known that projectors have modulators); and
a projection optical apparatus (projector 3 of fig. 4; the reference does not explicitly disclose a projection optical apparatus; however, it is well known that projectors have projection optical apparatus) configured to project the light modulated by the light modulator.
Regarding claim 16, Jeoung discloses a light source apparatus (laser light source device 100 of fig. 6) comprising:
a first laser light emitter (laser diodes 10 of fig. 6) configured to emit first light having a first wavelength band (para. 0050; … blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10);
a wavelength converter (wavelength conversion plate 20 of fig. 6) configured to convert the first light into second light having a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band (para. 0052; The wavelength conversion plate 20 is a sheet-type member including a phosphor converting the wavelength of light emitted from the laser diodes 10 to change color);
a base (radiation fin 40 of fig. 6) including a first support part that supports the first laser light emitter and a second support part that supports the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 6);
a light transmissive member (projection unit 30 of fig. 6 and para. 0062; projection unit 30 may be a lens or a mirror projecting light in the forward direction) having a first surface and a second surface that is opposite from the first surface and disposed at a side opposite to the base with respect to the wavelength converter, the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter being incident on the first surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below);
a first reflector (reflection unit 50 of fig. 6) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated above in the examiners illustration of fig. 6) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (illustrated above in the examiners illustration of fig. 6); and
a first distance along an optical axis of the light collection optical element (30) between the wavelength converter (20) and the light collection optical element (30) is shorter than a second distance along the optical axis between the first laser light emitter and the light collection optical element (the distance between the wavelength conversion plate 20 and the center of the lens is shorter than the distance of the laser (10) and the lens 30 because of the curvature of the lens illustrated in fig. 6),
Jeoung discloses a light transmissive member and a light collection optical element combined into a single element (collimating lens 30); however, Jeoung fails to teach wherein the light collection element is disposed at a second surface side of the light transmissive member and configured to collect light that is emitted from the wavelength converter and passes through the light transmissive member.
Takahira discloses wherein the light collection element (projection lens 10 of fig. 10) is disposed at a second surface side of the light transmissive member (wavelength selection filter 7 of fig. 10) and configured to collect light that is emitted from the wavelength converter and passes through the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 10 and para. 0156; projection lens 10 refracts outgoing fluorescence L2 to cast light at an angle within a predetermined angle range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the light source device of Jeoung with the projection lens of Takahira in order to shape the light for a downstream illumination system.
Jeoung as modified by Takahira fails to teach the first reflector comprises a plurality of reflectors, including the first reflector disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member, the plurality of reflectors are radially disposed along a circumference around an optical axis, and are configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter, the plurality of reflectors collect first light onto the wavelength converter, and the second light emitted from the wavelength converter passes through gaps between the plurality of reflectors.
Jeoung discloses first reflector disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member
Cornelissen discloses the first reflector comprises a plurality of reflectors (reflective focusing optics 20 of fig. 2B), including the plurality of reflectors are radially disposed along a circumference around an optical axis (illustrated in fig. 2B), and are configured to reflect the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (luminescent material 210 illustrated in figs. 2A and 2B), the plurality of reflectors collect first light onto the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 2A), and the second light emitted from the wavelength converter passes through gaps between the plurality of reflectors (illustrated in fig. 2A, the light emitted from the luminescent material 210 is emitted between the plurality of reflectors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify light source device of Jeoung and Takahira replacing the single reflector with the plurality of reflectors of Cornelissen because if an area of the single reflector needs to be replaced the entire reflector will need to be replaced whereas if the plurality of reflectors are used only a single reflector among the plurality of reflectors would need to be replaced thereby reducing the maintenance cost.
Jeoung as modified by Takahira and Cornelissen fails to teach wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector, and wherein the first laser light emitter and the first reflectors are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector.
Sasamuro discloses wherein the first light emitted from the first laser light emitter forms an elliptical first irradiation spot on the first reflector (pg. 7 2ⁿᵈ para. semiconductor laser element 12 is elliptical, and has a major axis and a minor axis, respectively), and wherein the first laser light emitter (12) and the first reflectors (reflecting member 14 of fig. 1C) are so disposed that a major axis of the first irradiation spot extends along a lengthwise dimension of the first reflector (illustrated in fig. 3 and pg. 9-10 last para. [3] It is a figure which shows the shape of the condensing spot which injects into the lower surface of the wavelength conversion member of the semiconductor laser apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the light source device of Jeoung, Takahira and Cornelissen with the elliptical irradiation spots of Sasamuro in order to improve the light excitation efficiency at the wavelength conversion member (Sasamuro; pg. 2 5th para.).
Regarding claim 20, Jeoung discloses further comprising a third reflector (reflection plate 23 may employ a metal plate, such as an aluminum plate, and a silver coating layer 22 of fig. 3) disposed at a wavelength converter side (illustrated in fig. 3) with respect to the light transmissive member (illustrated in figs. 3 and 6) and configured to reflect the first light reflected off the first reflector back to the first reflector (para. 0058; reflection plate 23 may employ a metal plate, such as an aluminum plate, and a silver coating layer 22 may be interposed between the optoceramic plate 22 and the reflection plate 23 so as to increase reflection efficiency. Light, which is incident upon the optoceramic plate 21 so that the wavelength of the light is converted, is reflected by the reflection plate 23 and is emitted in the forward direction), wherein the first reflector reflects the first light reflected off the third reflector toward the wavelength converter (illustrated in fig. 6).
Claim(s) 2 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeoung et al. (US PG Pub. 20150357790), Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943), Cornelissen et al. (US PG Pub. 20230313954) and Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN107861178).
Regarding claim 2, Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen and Sasamuro discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen and Sasamuro fails to teach a diffuser configured to diffuse the first light, wherein the diffuser is disposed in an optical path of the first light from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter.
Wang discloses an illumination system comprising a diffuser (diffusion sheet 60 of fig. 7) configured to diffuse the first light (light source 10 blue laser of fig. 7), wherein the diffuser (60) is disposed in an optical path of the first light (10) from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter (luminescent wheel 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the light source device of Jeoung, Takahira, Cornelissen and Sasamuro with the diffusion sheet of Wang in order to uniformize the blue laser which reduces the beam energy which could burn and reduce the fluorescence conversion efficiency (Wang; pg. 8 4th para.).
Regarding claim 17, Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen and Sasamuro discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen and Sasamuro fails to teach a diffuser configured to diffuse the first light, wherein the diffuser is disposed in an optical path of the first light from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter.
Wang discloses an illumination system comprising a diffuser (diffusion sheet 60 of fig. 7) configured to diffuse the first light (light source 10 blue laser of fig. 7), wherein the diffuser (60) is disposed in an optical path of the first light (10) from a light emission surface of the first laser light emitter to a light incident surface of the wavelength converter (luminescent wheel 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the light source device of Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen and Sasamuro with the diffusion sheet of Wang in order to uniformize the blue laser which reduces the beam energy which could burn and reduce the fluorescence conversion efficiency (Wang; pg. 8 4th para.).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeoung et al. (US PG Pub. 20150357790), Takahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20150062943), Cornelissen et al. (US PG Pub. 20230313954) and Sasamuro et al. (JP2018190805 A) and Wang (CN107861178) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GE et al. (CN110967902A).
Regarding claim 3, Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the diffuser is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member in a region where the first reflector is disposed.
GE discloses a display device comprising a diffusive reflector (apparatus of fig. 2) wherein the diffuser (diffusion layer 203 of fig. 2) is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (transmissive layer 202 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Jeoung, Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member faces the wavelength converter, and the diffuser is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member.
GE discloses wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member (layer 102 of fig. 1), and the diffuser (diffusion layer 101 of fig. 1) is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Jeoung, Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang discloses an illumination device (apparatus of fig. 8) comprising light emitting element (1) and a wavelength converter (8).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the diffuser is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member in a region where the first reflector is disposed.
GE discloses a display device comprising a diffusive reflector (apparatus of fig. 2) wherein the diffuser (diffusion layer 203 of fig. 2) is formed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (transmissive layer 202 of fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Jeoung, Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang discloses further comprising: a second laser light emitter (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 6 below) configured to emit the first light (para. 0050; laser diode 10 amplifies light and then emits the amplified light, the laser diode 10 has a high power, as compared to a light emitting diode, has a small size, as compared to a conventional laser device, and low power consumption. Further, the laser diode 10 is operable at a high speed and the blue laser diode 10 or the ultraviolet laser diode 10); and a reflector (50) disposed at the second surface of the light transmissive member (30) and configured to reflect the first light emitted from the second laser light emitter toward the wavelength converter (20), wherein the first and second reflectors (50) are integrated into a single member (shown in fig. 6).
Jeoung as modified by Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang fails to teach wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member faces the wavelength converter, and the diffuser is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member.
GE discloses wherein the first surface of the light transmissive member (layer 102 of fig. 1), and the diffuser (diffusion layer 101 of fig. 1) is formed at the first surface of the light transmissive member (illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Jeoung, Takahira, Cornelissen, Sasamuro and Wang with the diffusive reflector of GE in order to ensure uniform light performance of the excitation light (GE; Abstract).
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 /TOAN TON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882