DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of the polyamide X species with units AC, BC and E and the coloring agent species containing a combination of carbon black and at least one dye or pigment per claim 30 in the reply filed on December 15, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 29, 33 and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 15, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-28, 30-32 and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 20, it is unclear whether the confusing text “AC, BC, AD” means AC, BC and AD?
Claim 26 is indefinite in listing several polyamides that no longer fall within amended claim 20, e.g., PA MACMI/12, PA MACMT/12, PA MACMI/MACMT, PA MACMI/MACMT/12, PA MACMI/MACMT/MACM12, PA 6I/6T/MACMI/MACMT, etc.
In claim 31, given the text “relative to the dye combination”, it is unclear whether the recited content refers only to the dye combination, but not to the pigment combination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-25, 27, 28 and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0032466 (Stoppelmann).
Stoppelmann discloses a polyamide molding composition comprising:
37 to 100 wt.% of a polyamide mixture containing:
(A1) 50 to 100 wt.% of an aliphatic polyamide such as PA 616 (meets Applicants’ PA 616 polyamide Y and overlaps content thereof); and
(A2) 0 to 50 wt.% of a transparent polyamide VX/WX/VY/WY/Z such as PA 6I/6T/616/MACMI/MACMT/MACM16 (meets Applicants’ polyamide X with units AC, BC and AD and overlaps content thereof);
0 to 60 wt.% of fillers and/or reinforcing materials (meets Applicants’ additives b) and/or d) and overlaps contents thereof); and
0 to 3 wt.% of aids and/or additives such as colorants [0080] (meets Applicants’ coloring agent c) and overlaps content thereof) (e.g., abstract, [0011-0018], [0038-0043], [0054], [0079-0080], [0097], examples, claims).
Illustratively, Stoppelmann sets forth composition E3 (Table 1) comprising:
99.5 wt.% of a polyamide mixture containing:
(A1) ~60 wt.% PA 616 (meets Applicants’ polyamide Y and content thereof); and
(A2) ~40 wt.% of a transparent polyamide PA MACM16/PACM16 (differs from Applicants’ polyamide X in only containing units AD but not AC and BC, but meets content thereof); and
0.5 wt.% stabilizer (meets Applicants’ additive b) and content thereof).
As to claim 20, Stoppelmann differs therefrom in not expressly setting forth a working example containing i) a transparent polyamide falling within the scope of presently claimed polyamide X and ii) a coloring agent. With respect to the first difference, PA 6I/6T/616/MACMI/MACMT/MACM16 (meets Applicants’ polyamide X derived from units AC, BC and AD) is clearly disclosed [0054] as a preferred functional alternative to the exemplified PA MACM16/PACM16. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to replace the exemplified PA MACM16/PACM16 with PA 6I/6T/616/MACMI/MACMT/MACM16 with the reasonable expectation of success. As to the second difference, it is within the purview of Stoppelmann’s inventive disclosure [0079-0080]/[0097], and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to further include a colorant as additive (C) in a preferred amount of 0.5 to 2.0 wt.% for its expected additive effect and with the reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 21, Stoppelmann’s working example includes 0.5 wt.% stabilizer.
As to claim 22, Stoppelmann’s PA 6I/6T/616/MACMI/MACMT/MACM16 is derived from MACM (A), 1,6-hexanediamine (B), isophthalic acid + terephthalic acid (C) and adipic acid (D).
As to claim 23, it is within the purview of Stoppelmann’s inventive disclosure, and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, for the transparent polyamide (A2) to contain AC units from “mixtures” of cycloaliphatic diamines, e.g., MACM and PACM [0045], for their expected additive effect.
As to claim 24, Stoppelmann's modified composition would comprise (A1) ~60 wt.% PA 616 (meets Applicants’ polyamide Y and content thereof) and (A2) ~40 wt.% PA 6I/6T/616/MACMI/MACMT/MACM16 (meets Applicants’ polyamide X and content thereof).
As to claim 25, given that 4 out of the 6 polyamide units making up Stoppelmann’s PA 6I/6T/616/MACMI/MACMT/MACM16 are derived from an aromatic dicarboxylic acid, it would be expected that such would contain at least 30 mol% of aromatic monomers.
As to claim 27, Stoppelmann’s modified composition does not require PA MACM/12.
As to claim 28, Stoppelmann’s transparent polyamide (A2) exhibits a similar transparency of at least 88% [0044].
As to claim 35, Stoppelmann exemplifies Irganox 1010 [0128].
As to claim 36, Stoppelmann discloses silicate-based fillers as viable component (B) [0075], rendering their use obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 37, Stoppelmann’s modified composition does not require impact strength modifiers.
As to claim 38, Stoppelmann discloses molded articles from the exemplified compositions [0120].
As to claim 39, Stoppelmann discloses everyday molded articles (implicitly including those presently claimed).
Claim 26 has not been included in the above rejection in that Stoppelmann requires at least one aliphatic dicarboxylic acid with 16 carbon atoms.
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0032466 (Stoppelmann) described hereinabove in view of JP 2016069584 A (Mukai).
As to claim 30, Stoppelmann discloses [0100] carbon black, dyes and pigments as viable colorants. Mukai discloses polyamide compositions comprising a metallic pigment and a coloring agent which can be a dye (e1) such as anthraquinone dyes, azo dyes, pyrazolone dyes, coumarin dyes, etc. and/or a pigment (e2) such as carbon black. Mukai teaches that a , plurality of dyes and/or pigment can be selected to obtain the desired color tone (e.g., page 4). Thus, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to use a combination of carbon black and at least one dye or pigment as disclosed by Mukai as the black masterbatch colorant used by Stoppelmann in accordance with the ultimate color tone desired and with the reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 31, Mukai discloses that when a dye and pigment are used in combination, it is preferable that the pigment (e.g., carbon black) comprise less than 50 wt.% of the sum total (page 4) to express a vivid color tone.
As to claim 32, Mukai discloses Solvent Green 3, Solvent Red 52, Solvent Red 179 and Solvent Black 27 as suitable dyes (page 4). Thus, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to use the presently claimed carbon black mixtures for their expected additive effect and with the reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 20-28, 30-32 and 35-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No.12,104,055. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to polyamide molding compositions comprising an amorphous or microcrystalline polyamide derived from cycloaliphatic and aliphatic diamines (Applicants’ monomers A and B), aliphatic dicarboxylic acids (Applicants’ monomer D) and aromatic dicarboxylic acids (meets Applicants’ monomer C), an aliphatic polyamide such as PA 612 (meets Applicants’ polyamide Y), a colorant (meets Applicants’ coloring agent c)), a stabilizer (meets Applicants’ additive b)) and additives.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections over US 2011/0023986 (Hoffmann) and JP 2016069584 A (Mukai) have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2021/0032466 (Stoppelmann).
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in overcoming the nonstatutory double patenting rejection. It is maintained that US 12,104,055 embraces compositions meeting the presently claimed components.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765