Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 27, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 4-7, and 11-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-3 and 8-10 are canceled.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection, previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed January 26, 2026. However, new 112(b) rejections have been raised, as detailed in the Claim Rejections-35 USC 112 section below.
Based on Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the previous prior art rejection has been modified to address the claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/10/2026 and 6/4/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “a reaction bath” has been interpreted as any structure that holds the reaction tube holders and the photometry portions.
The limitation “a storage” has been interpreted as any region of space capable of storing air.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-7, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, 8th to Last Ln.-6th to Last Ln. recite, “the first unit includes at least one of a first function of supplying power acquired from a power source to each of the photometry portions, or a second function of processing a signal acquired from each of the photometry portions”. However, it is unclear how a unit can physically include a function, which is not a tangible component. Further clarification is needed. For purposes of compact prosecution, the above limitation has been examined as, “the first unit is configured to perform at least one of a first function of supplying power acquired from a power source to each of the photometry portions, or a second function of processing a signal acquired from each of the photometry portions”.
Claims 4-7 and 11-16 are rejected at least for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim 15 similarly recites, “wherein the first unit includes one of the first function and the second function, and the second unit includes another one of the first function and the second function, which is different from the one included in the first unit”, and is similarly rejected, and has been similarly examined as, “wherein the first unit is configured to perform one of the first function and the second function, and the second unit is configured to perform another one of the first function and the second function, which is different from the one included in the first unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappelle et al. (US Pat. No. 3,756,920; hereinafter Chappelle; already of record) in view of Izawa et al. (Translation of JP Pub. No. 2020-91207; hereinafter Izawa; already of record), Horne (US Pat. No. 4,430,299; already of record), and Katsumi et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0223064; hereinafter Katsumi).
Regarding claim 1, Chappelle discloses an automatic analyzer (Col. 1 Lns. 19-34, see Figs. 2-3). The automatic analyzer comprises:
a plurality of reaction tube holders each configured to hold a reaction tube housing a mixed solution of a specimen and a reagent (Col. 7 Lns. 8-22, see Figs. 2-3 at light slot 59 in table housing 15 and photomultiplier assembly 70).
A photometry portion provided with respect to the reaction tube holders and configured to perform photometry on the mixed solution housed in the reaction tube (Col. 7 Lns. 8-22, see Figs. 2-3 at light slot 59 in table housing 15 and photomultiplier assembly 70).
a reaction bath to which the reaction tube holders and the photometry portion are fixed, the reaction bath being configured to repeat rotating and stopping to thereby convey the reaction tube held by each of the reaction tube holders (Col. 6 Ln. 55-Col. 7 Ln. 22, see Figs. 2-3 at rotary table 40 and table housing 15).
a driver configured to rotate the reaction bath (Col. 6 Ln. 55-Col. 7 Ln. 22, see Figs. 2-3 at rotary table 40 and table housing 15).
Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose:
that the automatic analyzer is for performing a blood coagulation analysis test;
a plurality of photometry portions each of which is provided with respect to each of the reaction tube holders, each of the photometry portions including a light source and a light receiver and being configured to perform photometry on the mixed solution housed in the reaction tube;
that the plurality of photometry portions are fixed to the reaction bath;
the driver is configured to rotate the reaction bath together with the reaction tube holders and the photometry portions;
a first unit fixed to an inside of the reaction bath and connected to each of the photometry portions;
a rotation connector configured to electrically connect between a second unit provided outside the reaction bath and the first unit;
a first fan configured to generate a flow of air for cooling the first unit; and
a second fan provided outside the reaction bath, wherein
the first unit is configured to perform at least one of a first function of supplying power acquired from a power source to each of the photometry portions, or a second function of processing a signal acquired from each of the photometry portions,
the reaction bath includes a vent for allowing air outside the reaction bath to flow into the reaction bath,
the first fan is configured to exhaust air inside the reaction bath to an outside of the reaction bath, and
the second fan is configured to cause air in a vicinity of the vent to flow.
Izawa is in the analogous field of automatic analyzers (Izawa Pg. 1 1st Para.). Izawa teaches a plurality of photometry portions each of which is provided with respect to each of a set of reaction tube holders, each of the photometry portions including a light source and a light receiver and being configured to perform photometry on a mixed solution housed in a reaction tube (Izawa; Pg. 5 2nd-3rd Paras., see Fig. 3). The plurality of photometry portions are fixed to a reaction bath (Izawa; Pg. 5 2nd-3rd Paras., see Fig. 3). A driver is configured to rotate the reaction bath together with the reaction tube holders and photometry portions (Izawa Pg. 3 Last Para.-Pg. 4 2nd Para.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of Chappelle with the teachings of Izawa so that the automatic analyzer comprises a plurality of photometry portions each of which is provided with respect to each of the reaction tube holders, each of the photometry portions including a light source and a light receiver and being configured to perform photometry on the mixed solution housed in the reaction tube, the plurality of photometry portions are fixed to the reaction bath, and the driver is configured to rotate the reaction bath together with the reaction tube holders and the photometry portions. The motivation would have been to provide an automatic analyzer where photometry of each reaction tube can be performed individually in parallel, thereby shortening analysis time even when there are a plurality of test samples (Izawa Pg. 5 5th Para.).
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose:
that the automatic analyzer is for performing a blood coagulation analysis test;
a first unit fixed to an inside of the reaction bath and connected to each of the photometry portions;
a rotation connector configured to electrically connect between a second unit provided outside the reaction bath and the first unit;
a first fan configured to generate a flow of air for cooling the first unit; and
a second fan provided outside the reaction bath, wherein
the first unit is configured to perform at least one of a first function of supplying power acquired from a power source to each of the photometry portions, or a second function of processing a signal acquired from each of the photometry portions,
the reaction bath includes a vent for allowing air outside the reaction bath to flow into the reaction bath,
the first fan is configured to exhaust air inside the reaction bath to an outside of the reaction bath, and
the second fan is configured to cause air in a vicinity of the vent to flow.
Horne is in the analogous field of apparatuses for monitoring chemical reactions (Horne Col. 3 Lns. 51-58). Horne teaches a first unit fixed to an inside of a reaction bath and connected to an analysis portion, where the first unit is configured to perform at least one of a first function of supplying power acquired from a power source to each of the photometry portions, or a second function of processing a signal acquired from each of the photometry portions (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 60-Col. 8 Ln. 62, see Fig. 2 at electronic circuitry 52, which act to process signals from eight photometers). Horne further teaches a rotation connector configured to electrically connect between a second unit provided outside a reaction bath and the first unit (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 49-Col. 8 Ln. 66, see Fig. 2 at slip-ring connector 74 which connects electronic circuitry 52 to data processing equipment 102, which includes a power source). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle with the teachings of Horne to include a first unit fixed to an inside of the reaction bath and connected to each of the photometry portions, wherein the first unit is configured to perform at least one of a first function of supplying power acquired from a power source to each of the photometry portions, or a second function of processing a signal acquired from each of the photometry portions. The motivation would have been to be able to translate analog signals to digital so that data from the photometry portions can be sent to a computer for subsequent data processing and analysis (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 60-Col. 8 Ln. 62, see Fig. 2, see also Claim 4). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle with the further teachings of Horne to include a rotation connector configured to electrically connect between a second unit provided outside the reaction bath and the first unit, in order to provide power to the first unit from an external power source (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 49-Col. 8 Ln. 66, see Fig. 2).
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose:
that the automatic analyzer is for performing a blood coagulation analysis test;
a first fan configured to generate a flow of air for cooling the first unit; and
a second fan provided outside the reaction bath, wherein
the reaction bath includes a vent for allowing air outside the reaction bath to flow into the reaction bath,
the first fan is configured to exhaust air inside the reaction bath to an outside of the reaction bath, and
the second fan is configured to cause air in a vicinity of the vent to flow.
Katsumi is in the analogous field of sample analyzers (Katsumi [0003]). Katsumi teaches a first fan configured to generate a flow of air for cooling a first unit (Katsumi; [0074]-[0082], see Fig. 6 at flowing fans 88 to cool reagent tables 21, 22 of reagent storage 40), a second fan provided outside of a region, where the region includes a vent for allowing air outside the region to flow into the region (Katsumi; [0074]-[0082], see Fig. 6 at heat dissipation fans 83 connected to exhaust duct 86, where warm air is exhausted to the exhaust duct 86 after performing heat exchange in the heat sink 82, which is used to cool reagent storage 40), the first fan is configured to exhaust air inside the region to an outside of the region (Katsumi; [0074]-[0082], see Fig. 6 at flowing fans 88. Some of the air from the fans will intrinsically leave the reagent storage 40 via exhaust duct 86), and the second fan is configured to cause air in a vicinity of the vent to flow (Katsumi; [0074]-[0082], see Fig. 6 at heat dissipation fans 83, which will intrinsically cause air in the vicinity of the exhaust duct 86 to flow). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle with the teachings of Katsumi so that the automatic analyzer comprises a first fan configured to generate a flow of air for cooling the first unit; and a second fan provided outside the reaction bath, wherein the reaction bath includes a vent for allowing air outside the reaction bath to flow into the reaction bath, the first fan is configured to exhaust air inside the reaction bath to an outside of the reaction bath, and the second fan is configured to cause air in a vicinity of the vent to flow, as Katsumi teaches that this configuration can be used to ensure that cooled air can be uniformly and efficiently circulated, thereby ensuring that the interior of the automatic analyzer can maintain a cool temperature as desired (Katsumi; [0074]-[0082], see Fig. 6).
Further, with regards to the automatic analyzer being for performing a blood coagulation test, see MPEP 2111.02, which states that, “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.”
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to hold a reaction tube…”, “configured to perform photometry …”, “configured to repeat rotating and stopping”, etc.). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Regarding claim 4, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 1, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose that wires that connect between a second unit provided outside the reaction bath and the first unit are smaller in number than wires that connect between the first unit and each of the photometry portions.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a smaller number of wires that connect between the second unit and the first unit compared to the number of wires that connect between the first unit and each of the photometry portions. As the second unit connected to a single first unit, and the first unit is connected to a plurality of photometry portions in the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle, only a single wire as a power source would be required to electrically connect the first unit to the second unit, while a plurality of wires as power sources would be required to electrically connect the second unit to each of the photometry portions, provided that the plurality of photometry portions are configured to operate in parallel, as in Izawa (Izawa Pg. 5 5th Para.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 4, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose that the second function includes:
a function of acquiring from each of the photometry portions an analog signal indicating a photometry result by the corresponding photometry portion;
a function of amplifying the acquired analog signal;
a function of converting the amplified analog signal to a digital signal; and
a function of outputting the converted digital signal to the second unit.
Horne further teaches a second function that includes: acquiring from an analysis portion an analog signal indicating a result by the analysis portion, amplifying the acquired analog signal, converting the amplified analog signal to a digital signal, and outputting the converted digital signal to the second unit (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 60-Col. 8 Ln. 62, Col. 11 Lns. 33-50, the electrical circuitry may include amplifiers, A/D converters, a multiplexer, etc., see Fig. 2 at electronic circuitry 52, which act to process signals from eight photometers, converts the analog signal to a digital signal, amplifies the signal, and sends the digital signal to data processing unit 102). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle with the further teachings of Horne so that the second function includes: a function of acquiring from each of the photometry portions an analog signal indicating a photometry result by the corresponding photometry portion; a function of amplifying the acquired analog signal; a function of converting the amplified analog signal to a digital signal; and a function of outputting the converted digital signal to the second unit. The motivation would have been to be able to translate analog signals to digital so that data from the photometry portions can be sent to a computer for subsequent data processing and analysis (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 60-Col. 8 Ln. 62, Col. 11 Lns. 33-50, see Fig. 2, see also Claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 4, and all limitations recited therein. Modified Chappelle further discloses a heat suppressor configured to suppress heat generated in the first unit from being transferred to the photometry portions (Chappelle; Col. 6 Lns. 55-68, see Fig. 2 at apertures 46 to provide for flow of cooling air. See also Claim 1 at Izawa teaching the photometry portions in Pg. 5 2nd-3rd Paras., see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 6, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose that the heat suppressor includes a partition provided between the photometry portions and the first unit inside the reaction bath.
Horne further teaches a material that is a partition provided between analysis portions and a first unit inside a reaction bath (Horne; Col. 5 Lns. 52-63, Col. Col. 7 Ln. 60-Col. 8 Ln. 62, see Fig. 2 at wall 80 between electronic circuitry 52 and cartridge 22). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle with the further teachings of Horne to include a material that is a partition provided between the photometry portions and the first unit inside the reaction bath, and further to make the material a heat suppressor. The motivation would have been to protect the photometry portions from being exposed to heat from the first unit, thereby ensuring that the photometry portions remain at a desired temperature for conducting an assay (Horne Col. 9 Lns. 14-20).
Regarding claim 11, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 1, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose:
a sensor configured to detect a temperature of air in the vicinity of the vent; and
a controller configured to control an activation state of the second fan in accordance with a detection result by the sensor.
However, Chappelle further teaches a temperature sensor, and a controller configured to control an activation state of the second fan (Chappelle; Col. 11 Lns. 46-75, see Fig. 8 at electrical control system, which includes temperature probe 196, and line 199 which is connected via fan switch 173 to fans 201, 202). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle to include a sensor configured to detect a temperature of air in the vicinity of the vent, and a controller configured to control an activation state of the second fan in accordance with a detection result by the sensor. The motivation would have been to ensure that the samples are maintained at a predetermined temperature (Chappelle Col. 6 Ln. 70-Col. 7 Ln. 7), in order to ensure the accuracy of assays performed on the samples.
Regarding claim 14, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 1, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose that the first unit includes a heating concentrator in which heat generating elements are arranged, and the first fan cools the heating concentrator by sending air toward the heating concentrator.
However, Horne further teaches a first unit that includes heat generating elements (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 60-Col. 8 Ln. 62, see Fig. 2 at electronic circuitry 52, which will intrinsically include heat generating elements). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle so that the first unit includes a heating concentrator in which heat generating elements are arranged, and the first fan is arranged such that the first fan cools the heating concentrator by sending air toward the heating concentrator, since the particular placement of the heat generating elements and the first fan is an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). The motivation would have been that arranging the heat generating elements such that they are in a heating concentrator and the first fan such that the first fan cools the heating concentrator in a concentrated manner by sending air toward the heating concentrator would allow for the heat generating elements to be cooled more efficiently, thereby minimizing the effect of the heat generating elements on the temperature of samples to be analyzed in the analyzer.
Regarding claim 15, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 1, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose that the first unit is configured to perform one of the first function and the second function, and the second unit is configured to perform another one of the first function and the second function, which is different from the one included in the first unit.
Horne further teaches a first unit that is configured to perform one of the first function and the second function, and a second unit that is configured to perform a different one of the first function and second function from the first unit (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 49-Col. 8 Ln. 66, Col. 11 Lns. 33-50, the electrical circuitry may include amplifiers, A/D converters, a multiplexer, etc., see Fig. 2 at electronic circuitry 52, which act to process signals from eight photometers, converts the analog signal to a digital signal, amplifies the signal, and sends the digital signal to data processing unit 102, and data processing unit 102, which also includes provides power to the system). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automated analyzer of modified Chappelle with the further teachings of Horne so that the first unit is configured to perform one of the first function and the second function, and the second unit is configured to perform another one of the first function and the second function, which is different from the one included in the first unit, so that the automatic analyzer is capable of processing signals from the photometry portions for subsequent data processing and analysis of results, as well as providing power to the automated analyzer, thereby increasing the versatility of the device.
Regarding claim 16, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 1, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose that the rotation connector electrically connects between the first unit and the second unit through contact between solid forms.
However, Horne further teaches a rotation connector that electrically connects between the first unit and second unit through contact between solid forms (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 49-Col. 8 Ln. 66, see Fig. 2 at slip-ring connector 74 which connects electronic circuitry 52 to data processing equipment 102, which includes a power source). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle with the further teachings of Horne so that the rotation connector electrically connects between the first unit and the second unit through contact between solid forms, as Horne teaches that a slip-ring connector, which is a solid form, can be used to connect a data processing device to a power source (Horne; Col. 7 Ln. 49-Col. 8 Ln. 66, see Fig. 2).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappelle in view of Izawa, Horne, and Katsumi as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 11, and 14-16 above, and further in view of Kawamoto et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0355713; hereinafter Kawamoto; already of record).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 1, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose:
a storage provided outside the reaction bath and configured to store air which is to flow into the reaction bath through the vent; and
a third fan provided for the storage and configured to cause air outside the storage to flow into the storage.
Kawamoto is in the analogous field of sample measuring apparatuses (Kawamoto [0002]). Kawamoto teaches a storage provided outside of a reaction bath and configured to store air which is to flow into the reaction bath through a vent, and a fan provided for the storage and configured to cause air outside the storage to flow into the storage (Kawamoto; [0094], air inside reagent storage 20 is sent to cooling mechanisms 22 by a fan, and the cooled air is circulated in the reagent storage 20. See Fig. 3 at reagent storage 20 and cooling mechanisms 22. The area surrounding cooling mechanisms 22 can be considered a storage configured to store air, and the air passes throughout the reagent storage 20 via vents, i.e. apertures in the reagent storage). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle with the teachings of Kawamoto to include a storage provided outside the reaction bath and configured to store air which is to flow into the reaction bath through the vent; and a third fan provided for the storage and configured to cause air outside the storage to flow into the storage. The motivation would have been to be able to keep temperature within the reaction bath at a desired temperature (Kawamoto; [0090]-[0094), see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chappelle discloses the automatic analyzer according to claim 12, and all limitations recited therein.
Modified Chappelle fails to explicitly disclose:
a sensor configured to detect a temperature of air inside the storage; and
a controller configured to control an activation state of the third fan in accordance with a detection result by the sensor.
However, Chappelle further teaches a temperature sensor, and a controller configured to control an activation state of a fan (Chappelle; Col. 11 Lns. 46-75, see Fig. 8 at electrical control system, which includes temperature probe 196, and line 199 which is connected via fan switch 173 to fans 201, 202). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic analyzer of modified Chappelle to include a sensor configured to detect a temperature of air inside the storage; and a controller configured to control an activation state of the third fan in accordance with a detection result by the sensor. The motivation would have been to ensure that the samples are maintained at a predetermined temperature (Chappelle Col. 6 Ln. 70-Col. 7 Ln. 7), in order to ensure the accuracy of assays performed on the samples.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pgs. 6-8 of their Remarks that the prior art of record, particularly Chappelle, does not teach a first fan configured to generate a flow of air for cooling the first unit; and a second fan provided outside the reaction bath, wherein the first unit includes at least one of a first function of supplying power acquired from a power source to each of the photometry portions, or a second function of processing a signal acquired from each of the photometry portions, the reaction bath includes a vent for allowing air outside the reaction bath to flow into the reaction bath, the first fan is configured to exhaust air inside the reaction bath to an outside of the reaction bath, and the second fan is configured to cause air in a vicinity of the vent to flow. Applicant goes on to note that the technical advantage of these claimed features is that the substrate can be effectively cooled down by the first fan, thereby improving examination throughput by the automatic analyzer. While the Examiner agrees that the above limitations are not taught by the prior art of record in the previous prosecution history, these limitations are taught by Katsumi. Further, with regards to the technical advantage asserted by the Applicant, the Examiner notes that this technical advantage would be expected by using multiple fans in the claimed configuration, and is not a surprising or critical effect of the particular claimed configuration. For a more detailed explanation, please see the rejection of Claim 1 in the Claim Rejections-35 USC 103 section of this instant Office action.
Conclusion
/JOHN MCGUIRK/Examiner, Art Unit 1798