DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Remarks of 11/09/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, further in view of Gomez Angulo is maintained. On page 8-10 of the remarks, applicant argues that “Wang, Kim and Gomez Angulo do not disclose "wherein when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on at least one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna for positioning”” and this is because Gomez Angulo only recites having either all or only one antenna active and that Gomez Angulo does not recites distance measurements or positioning. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Gomez Angulo does not teach distance measuring or positioning because this is already taught in Wang (see fig. 1 Ranging antenna and UWB antennas for positioning). Second, regarding that Gomez Angulo only teaches having all or only one antenna active, the purpose of Gomez Angulo is merely to teach antenna switching to optimize signal performance and the teaching of Gomez Angulo need only be applied to the UWB antennas of Wang. Therefore, the ranging antenna is already on in Wang and we are simply switching witch of the UWB antennas are active therefore reading on “selectively turns on at least one of the second, the third, or the fourth antenna (UWB antennas are second, third, and fourth)”. The rejection of claim 1 as unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim, further in view of Gomez Angulo is, therefore, maintained.
The rejection of claim 7 is maintained for similar reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240396206; hereinafter Wang) in view of Kim et al. (US20200321988; hereinafter Kim), further in view of Gomez Angulo et al (US10741906; hereinafter Gomez Angulo).
Regarding claim 1, Wang (fig. 1) discloses “An ultra-wideband antenna device, disposed on a casing of an electronic device, wherein the ultra-wideband antenna device comprises: a plurality of radio frequency terminals (all antennas in Wang are terminal antennas), located in the casing (fig. 1); a first antenna module (ranging antenna), wherein the first antenna module comprises a first antenna (antenna of the ranging antenna); a second antenna module (combination of UWB1 through UWB3), located in the casing, wherein the second antenna module comprises a second antenna (UWB antenna 1), a third antenna (UWB antenna 2), and a fourth antenna (UWB antenna 3)… for positioning (see fig. 1 UWB antennas”.
Wang does not disclose “a first antenna module, located on a metal frame of the casing” or “a switch module, located in the casing and connected between the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna module and between the radio frequency terminals and the second antenna module, wherein when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on at least one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna”.
However, Kim teaches “a first antenna module (131), located on a metal frame of the casing (fig. 3)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the simple substitution of the metal frame resonator of Kim for the ranging antenna of Wang and make Wang’s UWB antenna with a first antenna module, located on a metal frame of the casing, in order to reduce the space occupied by the first antenna module.
The modified Wang does not disclose “a switch module, located in the casing and connected between the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna module and between the radio frequency terminals and the second antenna module, wherein when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on at least one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna with a switch module, located in the casing and connected between the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna module and between the radio frequency terminals and the second antenna module, wherein when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on at least one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses “The ultra-wideband antenna device according to claim 1, wherein four radio frequency terminals are provided (there are four terminal antennas”.
Wang does not disclose “to respectively turn on the radio frequency terminals to the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna through the switch module”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna including to respectively turn on the radio frequency terminals to the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna through the switch module, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses “The ultra-wideband antenna device according to claim 1, further comprising a carrier board (303), wherein the second antenna module is located on the carrier board (fig. 3)”
Wang does not disclose “the electronic device further comprises a printed circuit board located in the casing, wherein the carrier board is disposed on the printed circuit board”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches “the electronic device further comprises a printed circuit board (106-1 and 112 and col. 8 lines 10-11; If desired, transmission lines in device 10 may be integrated into rigid and/or flexible printed circuit boards) located in the casing, wherein the carrier board (106-4 through 106-7) is disposed on the printed circuit board”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna the electronic device further comprises a printed circuit board located in the casing, wherein the carrier board is disposed on the printed circuit board, in order to support and feed/control the second antenna module.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna of claim 1 as shown previously.
Wang does not disclose “wherein the metal frame serves as the first antenna”.
However, Kim teaches “wherein the metal frame serves as the first antenna (¶[0002]; In this case, the metal frame may be used as an antenna element)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein the metal frame serves as the first antenna, in order to reduce the space occupied by the first antenna module.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna of claim 1 as shown previously.
The modified Wang does not disclose “wherein when the switch module turns on the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, selectively turns on two of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein when the switch module turns on the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, selectively turns on two of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique (switching antennas in Gomez Angulo) to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Optimizes antenna system) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses “The ultra-wideband antenna device according to claim 1, wherein the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna are arranged in an L shape (see fig. 1)”.
Regarding claim 7, Wang (fig. 1) discloses “An ultra-wideband antenna device, disposed on a casing of an electronic device, wherein the ultra-wideband antenna device comprises: a plurality of radio frequency terminals (all antennas in Wang are terminal antennas), located in the casing (fig. 1); a first antenna module (ranging antenna); a second antenna module (combination of UWB1 through UWB3), located in the casing, wherein the second antenna module comprises a third antenna (UWB antenna 2) and a fourth antenna (UWB antenna 3)… for positioning (see fig. 1)”.
Wang does not disclose “a first antenna module, located on a metal frame of the casing, wherein the first antenna module comprises a first antenna and a second antenna” or “a switch module, located in the casing and connected between the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna module and between the radio frequency terminals and the second antenna module, wherein when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on at least one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna”.
However, Kim teaches “a first antenna module (fig. 3), located on a metal frame of the casing (fig. 3), wherein the first antenna module comprises a first antenna (131) and a second antenna (133)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the simple substitution of the metal frame resonator of Kim for the ranging antenna of Wang and make Wang’s UWB antenna with a first antenna module, located on a metal frame of the casing, wherein the first antenna module comprises a first antenna and a second antenna, in order to reduce the space occupied by the first antenna module and to create two angles by which the ranging antenna can measure distance.
The modified Wang does not disclose “a switch module, located in the casing and connected between the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna module and between the radio frequency terminals and the second antenna module, wherein when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on at least one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna with a switch module, located in the casing and connected between the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna module and between the radio frequency terminals and the second antenna module, wherein when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on at least one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses “The ultra-wideband antenna device according to claim 7, wherein four radio frequency terminals are provided (there are four terminal antennas”.
Wang does not disclose “to respectively turn on the radio frequency terminals to the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna through the switch module”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna including to respectively turn on the radio frequency terminals to the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna through the switch module, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna of claim 7 as shown previously.
Wang does not disclose “wherein the metal frame is further breakable through at least one breakpoint to respectively serve as the first antenna and the second antenna”.
However, Kim “wherein the metal frame is further breakable through at least one breakpoint (120 or 121) to respectively serve as the first antenna and the second antenna”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein the metal frame is further breakable through at least one breakpoint to respectively serve as the first antenna and the second antenna, in order to separate the two antennas.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna of claim 7 as shown previously.
The modified Wang does not disclose “wherein when the switch module turns on the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, selectively turns on two of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein when the switch module turns on the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on one of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, selectively turns on two of the second antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique (switching antennas in Gomez Angulo) to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Optimizes antenna system) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 11, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna of claim 7 as shown previously.
The modified Wang does not disclose “wherein when the switch module turns on the second antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on one of the first antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, selectively turns on two of the first antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the first antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein when the switch module turns on the second antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on one of the first antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, selectively turns on two of the first antenna, the third antenna, or the fourth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the first antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique (switching antennas in Gomez Angulo) to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Optimizes antenna system) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 12, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses “The ultra-wideband antenna device according to claim 9, wherein the second antenna module further comprises a fifth antenna (UWB antenna 3)”.
The modified Wang does not disclose “when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and one of the first antenna or the second antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on the remaining second antenna or first antenna, and at least one of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna when the switch module turns on one of the radio frequency terminals and one of the first antenna or the second antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on the remaining second antenna or first antenna, and at least one of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique (switching antennas in Gomez Angulo) to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Optimizes antenna system) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 13, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna according to claim 13 as shown previously.
Wang does not specifically disclose “wherein five radio frequency terminals are provided, to respectively turn on the radio frequency terminals, the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna through the switch module”.
However, Wang does teach that each antenna of the device is a terminal antenna and thus after applying the previous substitution of the frame antenna of Kim, one would be motivated to insert another radio frequency terminal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein five radio frequency terminals are provided, in order to control each antenna individually from the switch.
The modified Wang does not disclose “to respectively turn on the radio frequency terminals, the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna through the switch module”
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna to respectively turn on the radio frequency terminals, the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna through the switch module, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna of claim 12 as shown previously.
The modified Wang does not disclose “wherein when the switch module turns on the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on the second antenna for assistance, and the switch module selectively turns on one of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, selectively turns on two of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein when the switch module turns on the first antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on the second antenna for assistance, and the switch module selectively turns on one of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, selectively turns on two of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique (switching antennas in Gomez Angulo) to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Optimizes antenna system) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 15, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses the UWB antenna of claim 12 as shown previously.
The modified Wang does not disclose “wherein when the switch module turns on the second antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on the first antenna for assistance, and the switch module selectively turns on one of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, selectively turns on two of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches placing switches between terminals and radiators in order to control which antennas are activated while in operation (col. 8 lines 27-31; Filter circuitry, switching circuitry, impedance matching circuitry, and other circuitry may be interposed within the transmission lines, if desired and col. 9 lines 10-16; Device 10 may contain multiple antennas 40. The antennas may be used together or one of the antennas may be switched into use while other antenna(s) are switched out of use. If desired, control circuitry 14 (FIG. 3) may be used to select an optimum antenna to use in device 10 in real time and/or to select an optimum setting for adjustable wireless circuitry associated with one or more of antennas 40. Antenna adjustments may be made to tune antennas to perform in desired frequency ranges, to perform beam steering with a phased antenna array, and to otherwise optimize antenna performance)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna wherein when the switch module turns on the second antenna for distance measurement, the switch module selectively turns on the first antenna for assistance, and the switch module selectively turns on one of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, selectively turns on two of the third antenna, the fourth antenna, or the fifth antenna, or simultaneously turns on the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna, in order to control which antennas are operated to improve antenna efficiency, range, coverage, and optimization.
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique (switching antennas in Gomez Angulo) to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Optimizes antenna system) is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
Regarding claim 16, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses “The ultra-wideband antenna device according to claim 12, wherein the third antenna, the fourth antenna, and the fifth antenna are arranged in an L shape (see fig. 1)”.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Wang (fig. 1) discloses “The ultra-wideband antenna device according to claim 7, further comprising a carrier board (303), wherein the second antenna module is located on the carrier board (fig. 3)”
Wang does not disclose “the electronic device further comprises a printed circuit board located in the casing, wherein the carrier board is disposed on the printed circuit board”.
However, Gomez Angulo teaches “the electronic device further comprises a printed circuit board (106-1 and 112 and col. 8 lines 10-11; If desired, transmission lines in device 10 may be integrated into rigid and/or flexible printed circuit boards) located in the casing, wherein the carrier board (106-4 through 106-7) is disposed on the printed circuit board”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gomez Angulo and make Wang’s UWB antenna the electronic device further comprises a printed circuit board located in the casing, wherein the carrier board is disposed on the printed circuit board, in order to support and feed/control the second antenna module.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845