DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08 January 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, and 9-18 are currently pending in the application. The rejections of record from the office action dated 16 September 2025 not repeated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson (WO 2013/116763 A1) in view of Minami et al. (US 2017/0362396 A1) and Dellinger et al. (US 2014/0186644 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 9-16, Sanderson discloses a bioplastic composition for making containers including living hinges, wherein the composition comprises polylactic acid in an amount of about 5 wt% to about 85 wt% and polyhydroxyalkanoate in an amount of about 10 wt% to about 90 wt% (i.e. a molded polymer article comprising a first structural portion, a second structural portion and a living hinge connecting the first structural portion and the second structural portion, wherein the first structural portion, the second structural portion and the living hinge are all integrally molded from a polymeric composition comprising overlapping about 20 to about 95 or about 40 to about 95 or about 65 to about 90 weight percent of polyhydroxyalkanoates, from about 5 to about 75 or about 5 to about 60 or about 10 to about 35 weight percent of a biodegradable polymer selected from polylactic acid)(abstract, [0001]-[0002], [0004]-[0007], [0016], [0023]-[0025], Fig. 1-5). Sanderson does not disclose that the composition contains hemp, wood flour, oat hulls, coffee chaff, calcium carbonate or starch. Therefore the composition comprises 0% of these fillers (i.e. less than about 1 weight percent of a filler selected from hemp, wood flour, oat hulls, coffee chaff, calcium carbonate or starch; less than about 0.1 weight percent of a filler).
Sanderson does not disclose about 0.01 to about 5.0 weight percent of a nucleating agent or from about 0.01 to about 5.0 weight percent of at least one mold processing aid.
Minami discloses articles formed from polylactic acid and polyhydroxyalkanoate and pentaerythritol in an amount of 0.05 to 20 parts by weight to 100 of polylactic acid and polyhydroxyalkanoate in order to provide good flow properties during processing (i.e. overlapping from about 0.01 to about 5.0 or about 0.1 to about 2.0 weight percent of a nucleating agent; pentaerythritol)(abstract, [0008]-[0009], [0064]).
Sanderson and Minami are analogous art because they both teach about articles comprising polylactic acid and polyhydroxyalkanoate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the pentaerythritol in the amounts of Minami into the article of Sanderson in order to provide the advantage of good flow properties during processing.
Dellinger discloses a biodegradable container comprising a wax such as oleamide, stearamide or erucamide at 0 to 15 wt% in order to improve moisture resistance, reduce brittleness and improve release characteristics (i.e. overlapping from about 0.01 to about 5.0 or about 0.1 to about 2.0 weight percent of at least one mold processing aid; selected from oleamide, erucamide, stearamide )(abstract, [0017], [0029]).
Sanderson and Dellinger are analogous art because they both teach about biodegradable containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the oleamide, stearamide or erucamide in the amount of Dellinger into the container of Sanderson in order to improve moisture resistance, reduce brittleness and improve release characteristics.
Regarding claims 15-16, it is clear from Figures 1-5 that Sanderson discloses a flip-top cap and a clamshell container. It is also noted that these are well-known container configurations and would have been obvious.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson (WO 2013/116763 A1), Minami et al. (US 2017/0362396 A1) and Dellinger et al. (US 2014/0186644 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Johnson et al. (US 2020/0095420 A1).
Regarding claims 4-7, modified Sanderson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Sanderson teaches an amount of polyhydroxyalkanoate that overlaps 20 to 95 weight percent as set forth above. Sanderson does not disclose that the polyhydroxyalkanoate copolymer comprises from about 75 to about 99 mole percent hydroxybutyrate monomer residues and from about 1 to about 25 mole percent of hydroxyalkanoate selected from the group consisting of hydroxyvalerate, hydroxyhexanoate, hydroxyoctanoate and hydroxydecanoate or that the composition comprises poly-3-hydroxybutyrate-co-3-hydroxyhexanoate (P(3HB-co-3HHx)) or a polyhydroxyalkanoate terpolymer or that the polyhydroxyalkanoates have a weight average molecular weight from about 50,000 Daltons to about 2.5 million Daltons.
Johnson discloses biodegradable articles comprising polyhydroxyalkanoates, wherein the polyhydroxyalkanoates may comprise about 65 to about 99.5 mole percent hydroxybutyrate and about 0.5 to about 30 hydroxyhexanoate moieties and the monomer residues may be 3-hydroxybutyrate and 3-hydroxyhexanoate (i.e. overlapping about 75 to about 99 mole percent hydroxybutyrate monomer residues and from about 1 to about 25 mole percent of hydroxyalkanoate selected from the group consisting of hydroxyhexanoate; poly-3-bydroxybutyrate-co-3-hydroxyhexanoate (P(3HB-co-3HHx)))([0010]), Johnson additionally discloses that the polyhydroxyalkanoates me be a terpolymer (polyhydroxyalkanoate terpolymer)([0023]) and that the polyhydroxyalkanoates may have a weight average molecular weight from about 100 Daltons to about 2.5 million Daltons (i.e. overlapping from about 50,000 Daltons to about 2.5 million Daltons)([0011]).
Sanderson and Johnson are analogous art because they both teach about biodegradable articles comprising polyhydroxyalkanoates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any of the polyhydroxyalkanoates disclosed by Johnson having the weight average molecular weights disclosed by Johnson because doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known material in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson (WO 2013/116763 A1), Minami et al. (US 2017/0362396 A1) and Dellinger et al. (US 2014/0186644 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ribi (US 2019/0335931 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Sanderson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sanderson does not disclose that the article is a folding cutlery piece.
Ribi discloses a folding spoon having a living hinge (i.e. is a folding cutlery piece)(abstract, [0064], Fig. 1A-C).
Sanderson and Ribi are analogous art because they both teach about articles having living hinges. It would have been obvious to make the article of Sanderson a folding spoon as disclosed by Ribi in order to provide a biodegradable foldable spoon that is environmentally friendly. Doing so amounts to nothing more than using a known composition in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanderson (WO 2013/116763 A1), Minami et al. (US 2017/0362396 A1) and Dellinger et al. (US 2014/0186644 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kyte (US 5,896,868).
Regarding claim 17, modified Sanderson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sanderson does not disclose that the article is a hinged dental flosser.
Kyte discloses a dental floss container comprising a living hinge (i.e. hinged dental flosser)(abstract, Fig. 1, C2/L39-45).
Sanderson and Kyte are analogous art because they both teach about articles having living hinges. It would have been obvious to make the article of Sanderson a dental floss container comprising a living hinge as disclosed by Kyte in order to provide a biodegradable dental floss container that is environmentally friendly. Doing so amounts to nothing more than using a known composition in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited combination of references fails to teach or suggest that the composition comprises less than about 1 weight percent of a filler selected from the group consisting of hemp, wood flour, oat hulls, coffee chaff, clays, calcium carbonate, talc and starch.
As set forth above, Sanderson does not disclose that the composition contains hemp, wood flour, oat hulls, coffee chaff, calcium carbonate or starch. Therefore the composition comprises 0% of these fillers (i.e. less than about 1 weight percent of a filler selected from hemp, wood flour, oat hulls, coffee chaff, calcium carbonate or starch; less than about 0.1 weight percent of a filler).
Applicant argues that Sanderson teaches away from a composition having less than 1 weight percent of a filler because it requires talc and clay.
As set forth above, Sanderson does not disclose that the composition contains hemp, wood flour, oat hulls, coffee chaff, calcium carbonate or starch. Therefore the composition comprises 0% of these fillers (i.e. less than about 1 weight percent of a filler selected from hemp, wood flour, oat hulls, coffee chaff, calcium carbonate or starch; less than about 0.1 weight percent of a filler).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES C YAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782