DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Reply
This communication is responsive to the amendment(s) and/or argument(s) filed 3/20/26. The previous ground(s) of objection and/or rejection is/are withdrawn. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth hereinbelow.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an analytics device” in claim 3,
“a monitoring device” in claim 4, and
“a device” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 10,758,160 B2) in view of Kavcic et al. (7/10/23 IDS Non-Patent Literature Cite No 7: ‘KAVCIC N., et al., "Determining the Stabilizing Role of Individual Torso Muscles During Rehabilitation Exercises," SPINE, vol. 29, pp. 1254-1265, June 2004,’, hereinafter Kavcic).
For claim 1, Gong discloses a system to monitor and visualize spine motion (Figs 1,2,4,6,9-12) ([Cols 4-17]), comprising inter alia:
a scanning device (1232, 1240) configured to capture parameters of spinal curvature, range of motion of the spine, and regional and segmental angles of the spine (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16);
at least one sensor (1230) configured to process signals resulting from spinal movement (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16); and
a device (1212) configured to produce a 3D model of the spine based on the parameters captured by the scanning device and the signals processed by the at least one sensor (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16).
For claim 1, Gong discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly disclosing the scanning device being an optical scanner and the 3D model being based on parameters captured by the optical scanner.
For claim 1, Kavcic, in the same field of endeavor of spinal motion monitoring and kinematic model reconstruction from multiple physiological signals, teaches (Pgs 1254-1258,1265) an optical scanner (kinematic limb position section, page 1257) configured to capture parameters of spinal curvature, range of motion of the spine, and regional and segmental angles of the spine and a 3D model of the spine (Fig 2) based on the parameters captured by the optical device and the signals processed by the at least one sensor (Fig 2) (page 1257).
For claim 1, Gong and Kavcic are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spine motion monitoring and visualizing using a plurality of physiological signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gong to incorporate the teachings of Kavcic to provide alternate and/or additional physiological signal inputs including optical-based signals. Doing so would aid in the accurate generation of a 3D model of the spine motion based on sensed physiological data of which both Gong and Kavcic are expressly concerned.
For claim 2, Gong discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the 3D model of the spine comprises a 3D angular position of the spine (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16).
For claim 3, Gong discloses the system of claim 2, further comprising an analytics device (1220) configured to interpret the signals processed by the at least one sensor (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16).
For claim 4, Gong discloses the system of claim 3, further comprising a monitoring device (1214) that is configured to produce data based on the interpretation by the analytics device of the signals produced by the at least one sensor (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16).
For claim 5, Gong discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a sensor array (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16).
For claim 6, Gong discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least four capacitive stretch sensors (Cols 6, 9).
For claim 7, Gong discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the at least four capacitive stretch sensors are in an X-shaped configuration (Cols 6, 9).
For claim 8, Gong discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a display configured to produce visual feedback of the spinal movement and the 3D model (Cols 15-16).
For claim 9, Gong discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the display is part of a VR headset (Cols 10-12, 15-16).
For claim 10, Gong discloses the system of claim 1 further comprising a garment device (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16) configured to be attached to the back of a subject to measure spine motion and spine curvature change (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16), the device including the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor comprising: a first capacitive stretch sensor located on the top left of the back of the subject (Cols 4-6, 9); a second capacitive stretch sensor located on the top right of the back of the subject (Cols 4-6, 9); a third capacitive stretch sensor located on the lower right of the back of the subject (Cols 4-6, 9); and a fourth capacitive stretch sensor located on the lower left of the back of the subject (Cols 4-6, 9).
For claim 11, Gong discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the first capacitive stretch sensor, the second capacitive stretch sensor, the third capacitive stretch sensor and the fourth capacitive stretch sensor are integrated into a wearable garment or clothing (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16).
For claim 12, Gong discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the first capacitive stretch sensor, the second capacitive stretch sensor, the third capacitive stretch sensor and the fourth capacitive stretch sensor are in a X-shaped configuration (Cols 6,9).
For claim 13, Gong discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the first capacitive stretch sensor is configured to be attached to a left shoulder area of a wearer (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16), the second capacitive stretch sensor is configured to be attached to a right shoulder area of the wearer (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16), the third capacitive stretch sensor is configured to be attached to a right anterior superior iliac spine area of the wearer (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16), and the fourth capacitive stretch sensor is configured to be attached to a left anterior superior iliac spine area of the wearer (Figs 1, 12) (Cols 3-6, 15-16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 3/20/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) under 112 and 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments obviate the prior rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kavcic as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791