DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4 – 7, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6 recites the limitation “with one or more battery cells” which should be changed to “with the one or more battery cells”.
Claim 1, line 7 recites the limitation “enable power transmission” which should be changed to “enable the power transmission”.
Claim 1, line 15 recites the limitation “along stairs” which should be changed to “along the stairs”.
Claim 4, line 2 recites the limitation “driving one or more windings” which should be changed to “driving the one or more windings”.
Claim 5, line 2 recites the limitation “including three windings” which should be changed to “including the one or more winding having three windings”.
Claim 6, line 2 recites the limitation “from one or more battery cells” which should be changed to “from the one or more battery cells”.
Claim 6, line 3 recites the limitation “driving one or more windings” which should be changed to “driving the one or more windings”.
Claim 7, lines 2 – 3 recites the limitation “from one or more battery cells” which should be changed to “from the one or more battery cells”.
Claim 18, lines 2 – 3 recites the limitation “from one or more battery cells” which should be changed to “from the one or more battery cells”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman et al. (US 2018/0177652 A1) in view of Chen (CN 106560167 A).
For claim 1, Furman et al. ‘652 discloses a patient transport apparatus 10 comprising:
a support structure 20;
a battery system coupled to the support structure, the battery system including:
[one or more battery cells configurable for power transmission] (page 3, paragraph [0033]), and
[a battery controller in communication with one or more battery cells] (page 3, paragraph [0036], “the control 110 and one or more other controllers no shown in the illustrated embodiments may be collectively be referred to as a “controller” that controls various components of the system or apparatus in response to signals to control functions of the system”), [the battery controller configured to enable power transmission from one or more battery cells in response to power draw being below a predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraphs [0042] and [0043]).
a track assembly 50 having a movable belt 52, [the track assembly being operatively attached to the support structure] (page 2, paragraph [0031]) and [arranged for selective operation between a retracted position disposed adjacent the support structure and a deployed position extending to engage stairs] (page 2, paragraph [0031]);
[an apparatus power circuit] (page 3, paragraph [0036], “the control 110 and one or more other controllers no shown in the illustrated embodiments may be collectively be referred to as a “controller” that controls various components of the system or apparatus in response to signals to control functions of the system”), [for operating one or more powered devices including a drive system including a motor 54] (page 3, paragraph [0036]) [disposed in rotational communication with the track assembly to control movement of the patient transport apparatus along stairs when the track assembly operates in the deployed position] (pages 2 and 3, paragraph [0032]), the drive system operable between:
[a current sink mode] (page 4, paragraph [0044]), and
[an operational mode for generating rotational torque to control movement of the patient transport apparatus] (pages 2 and 3, paragraph [0032]); and
an apparatus controller 110 [disposed in communication with the motor and the battery system] (page 5, paragraph [0047]) and [configured to monitor the power transmission] (page 4, paragraph [0041]) and [to operate the drive system in the current sink mode causing the battery controller to interrupt power supply upon determining an input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold by comparing the input current of the battery system to the predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraph [0044]); but does not explicitly discloses a power output.
Chen discloses a multifunctional electric wheelchair comprising a driver 6 including a battery 48; a power output 53; and a motor 54, the battery is a cuboid mounted on an upper part of the driver and connected to the power output] (pages 24 and 25, paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the power output of Chen with the transport apparatus of Furman et al. ‘652 with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for appropriate powering of the system via the battery and motor, thus providing for improved traversal of the patient transport apparatus.
For claim 7, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the drive system is operating in the current sink mode, the battery controller is configured to interrupt power transmission from one or more battery cells to the power output] (page 3, paragraph [0033] and page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 8, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the drive system is operating in the current sink mode, the apparatus controller is configured to set a parameter of the drive system] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 9, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein setting the parameter of the drive system is associated with a feedback sensor 154 coupled to the motor] (pages 8 and 9, paragraph [0070]).
For claim 10, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the feedback sensor is configured to generate feedback signals representative of a rotational position associated with the motor] (page 6, paragraph [0054]), and [the apparatus controller is further configured to change the feedback signals] (page 12, paragraph [0089]).
For claim 11, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the drive system is configured to operate in the operational mode in response to the apparatus controller determining the input current of the battery system is less than or equal to the predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraph [0042]).
For claim 12, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the apparatus controller is configured to change operation of the drive system from the operational mode to the current sink mode in response to determining the input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 13, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the drive system is operating in the current sink mode, the drive system is configured to control the motor in a hold mode by controlling the motor to limit movement of the belt to maintain the patient transport apparatus in a substantially fixed position] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 14, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the drive system is operating in the operational mode, the drive system is configured to control the motor in an active mode by controlling the motor to limit movement of the belt to facilitate a controlled descent of the patient transport apparatus along stairs] (page 12, paragraph [0089]).
For claim 15, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above disclose the patient transport apparatus [wherein upon determining the input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold, the apparatus controller is configured to change operation of the drive system at a predetermined time after determining the input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 16, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus wherein after the predetermined time, the apparatus controller is configured to determine whether the input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold and to change operation of the drive system to the current sink mode from the operational mode in response to determining the input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 17, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the apparatus controller is configured to short the apparatus power circuit in response to power draw across the power output being above the predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 18, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the apparatus controller shorts the apparatus power circuit, the battery controller is configured to interrupt power transmission from one or more battery cells] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 19, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus further comprising a carrier assembly 38, 39 [arranged for movement relative to the support structure between a chair configuration and a stair configuration] (page 2, paragraph [0031]), the carrier assembly including a plurality of wheels 38, 39 [for selectively engaging floor surfaces] (page 2, paragraph [0027]).
Claims 2 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman et al. (US 2018/0177652 A1) in view of Chen (CN 106560167 A), and further in view of Hattori et al. (JP 2007135361 A).
For claim 2, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above does not explicitly disclose the patient transport apparatus wherein the motor of the drive system comprises one or more windings.
Hattori et al. discloses [a three-phase brushless DC motor 11 having three stator windings 26a, 26b, 26c] (page 24, paragraph [0023]); and [in addition, of two pairs of switching elements (e.g. 23a, 23b, 24a, 24b) that control two stator windings] (page 29, paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the three-phase DC motor of Hattori et al. with the transport apparatus of Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for higher efficiency and power density, thus reducing overall weight of the patient transport apparatus.
For claim 3, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the apparatus controller is configured to control the motor to limit movement of the belt by driving one or more windings] (page 29, paragraph [0026] of Hattori et al.).
For claim 4, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus wherein the apparatus controller is configured to control the motor to limit movement of the belt by driving one or more windings] (page 29, paragraph [0026] of Hattori et al.) [upon determining the input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold] (page 4, paragraph [0044]).
For claim 5, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus wherein the motor of the drive system is a three-phase brushless DC motor 11 including three windings 26a, 26b, 26c, and [wherein the apparatus controller is configured to control the three-phase brushless DC motor to limit movement of the belt by driving two of the three windings] (page 29, paragraph [0026] of Hattori et al.).
For claim 6, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above discloses the patient transport apparatus [wherein the battery controller is configured to interrupt power transmission from one or more battery cells to the power output in response to the apparatus controller driving one or more windings of the motor] (page 29, paragraph [0026] of Hattori et al. and page 4, paragraph [0044]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furman et al. (US 2018/0177652 A1) in view of Chen (CN 106560167 A), and further in view of Ripple et al. (US 2008/0135321 A1).
For claim 20, Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above does not explicitly disclose the patient transport apparatus wherein the apparatus controller is configured to provide an indication that the input current of the battery system is greater than the predefined current threshold.
Ripple et al. discloses [a switch 60 is in communication with and controlled by a processing unit 40 for automatically disconnecting a battery upon receiving an indication of malfunction in the battery from a current sensor 58; accordingly, the current sensor monitors for an over-current level, and if one is detected, the processing unit activates the switch to disconnect the battery] (page 2, paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the indication of Ripple et al. with the transport apparatus of Furman et al. ‘652 modified as above with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved monitoring of the current and prevention of electric fire, thus improving overall safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20180021191 – comprising a patient motion device comprising a modular drive assembly comprising an energy storage device and a modular drive device, the energy storage device comprises a battery and output device.
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611