DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 11, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US-2014/0287271).
Claims 1 and 3: Sato teaches magnetic recording medium comprising a non-magnetic support and a magnetic layer containing ferromagnetic powder (para. 0017), having an arithmetic average roughness Ra measured on a surface of the magnetic layer within the claimed range of 0.8 nm to 2.5 nm or less and a protrusion height difference C (=a-b) within the claimed range of 0.7 nm to 3 nm. See Sato, Page 14, Tables 2 & 3, Example 9 which exemplifies a magnetic recording medium with an arithmetic average roughness Ra of 1.9 nm and a protrusion height difference C of 0.7 nm. Although the measurement of protrusion height difference C of Sato is slightly different from that of the claimed invention, it appears that a value C of 0.7 nm would necessarily fall within the claimed range of 0.7 to 3 nm.
Claims 5-6 and 11: Sato teaches that the magnetic layer contains two or more kinds of non-magnetic powders including alumina. See Sato, Example 9.
Claim 15: Example 9 models after Example 1 which includes a non-magnetic layer provided between the magnetic layer and the non-magnetic support (Sata, para. 0160-0161).
Claim 16: Example 9 models after Example 1 which includes a back coating layer on the opposite side of the non-magnetic support (Sato, para. 0159-0160).
Claim 19: The magnetic recording medium is used in magnetic recording and reproducing devices (Sato, para.0006-0013).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 10, 12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Masaki (US-2007/0231611).
Claims 7-8, 10, 12 and 14: Sato teaches the magnetic recording medium of the claimed invention as discussed above, in particular, Example 9. In addition, Sato teaches the magnetic layer to contain non-magnetic powder including alumina and silica but not carbon black. In the same field of endeavor, Masaki teaches magnetic recording medium comprising a magnetic layer containing non-magnetic powder including alumina and carbon black (Masaki, para. 0117, 0119 and 0121). Similar to Sato, Masaki teaches a magnetic recording medium comprising a non-magnetic support; and a magnetic layer containing a ferromagnetic powder, wherein an arithmetic average roughness Ra measured on a surface of the magnetic layer is 2.1 nm or less (Masaki, Page 15, Table 3), Therefore, in light of Masaki's teaching, it would have been obvious as matter of choice for the POSITA to utilize alumina, silica or carbon black as the non-magnetic powder in the magnetic layer.
Claims 17-19: Masaki teaches it is common to use magnetic recording medium as materials in magnetic tapes and cartridges (i.e. floppy disks) and recording/reproducing devices (Masaki, para. 0004-0006).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 has been reviewed. Although Sato’s Examples 4, 5 and 11 which have surface roughness within the claimed range of 0.8 to 2.5 nm have been demonstrated in the Declaration to fall outside the value of protrusion height difference, D(HD-HB), of 0.7 to 3.0 nm. However, Applicant fails to show that the protrusion height difference in Example 9 falls outside the claimed range of protrusion height difference. It appears that at a value of 0.7 nm, the protrusion height difference, even if measured according to Applicant’s measuring method, it would necessarily fall within the claimed range of 0.7 to 3.0 nm.
Applicant's arguments filed July 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons discussed above.
HOA (Holly) LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788