DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0245364 A1) in view of Moderator (China Telecom), “[102-e-NR-CovENnh-03] Email discussion/approval on PUSCH coverage enhancement”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #102-e, R1-2007404, (IDS submitted on 10/31/2023), hereinafter referred to as NPL1.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches: A communication method, comprising:
receiving, a random access request from a terminal device ( see ¶[0354], The UE transmits the PRACH (also referred to as Msg1) ) ;
and sending, a random access response to the terminal device, wherein: the random access response includes scheduling information of a message 3 ( see ¶[0356], Upon receipt of the PRACH (or Msg1), the BS transmits a random access response (or Msg2) to the UE within a predetermined time period. The RAR may include UL transmission timing control information, UL power control information, and scheduling information for a PUSCH that the UE will transmit in response to the RAR, for the UE);
and the scheduling information includes first information that includes a request that the terminal device repeatedly transmit the message 3 with a similar transmit power and a similar precoding matrix for each transmission of the message 3 ( see ¶[0358], Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE transmits a PUSCH (or Msg3) at a specific time associated with an RAR reception time according to the scheduling information included in the RAR; ¶[0358], The UE may transmit Msg3 repeatedly in each symbol (e.g., symbol repetition) in the UL data transmission; ¶[0435], the UE may transmit Msg3 with the same power value as that of the PRACH. In other words, the UE may transmit the PRACH and Msg3 based on the same power value).
Kim, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to transmit the message 3 with similar precoding matrix.
However, NPL 1, in the same or similar field of endeavor discloses PUSCH retransmission using the same precoding matrix, same transmit power, etc., in order to allow joint channel estimation (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim's teachings with NPL1's above teaching in order to improve uplink coverage (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches: A communication method, comprising:
receiving, a random access response from a network device that includes scheduling information of a message 3 that includes first information to request repeated transmission of the message 3 at a same transmit power and a same precoding matrix ( see ¶[0356], Upon receipt of the PRACH (or Msg1), the BS transmits a random access response (or Msg2) to the UE within a predetermined time period. The RAR may include UL transmission timing control information, UL power control information, and scheduling information for a PUSCH that the UE will transmit in response to the RAR, for the UE); and
repeatedly transmitting, the message 3 based on the first information at the same transmit power and the same precoding matrix for each transmission of the message 3 ( see ¶[0358], Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE transmits a PUSCH (or Msg3) at a specific time associated with an RAR reception time according to the scheduling information included in the RAR; ¶[0358], The UE may transmit Msg3 repeatedly in each symbol (e.g., symbol repetition) in the UL data transmission; ¶[0435], the UE may transmit Msg3 with the same power value as that of the PRACH. In other words, the UE may transmit the PRACH and Msg3 based on the same power value).
Kim, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to transmit the message 3 with same precoding matrix.
However, NPL 1, in the same or similar field of endeavor discloses PUSCH retransmission using the same precoding matrix, same transmit power, etc., in order to allow joint channel estimation (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim's teachings with NPL1's above teaching in order to improve uplink coverage (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches: A communication apparatus (see Fig. 24, Base Station (100)), comprising:
a processing unit (Processor, 140), configured to receive a random access request from a terminal device through a communication unit (Transmitter 110, Receiver, 120; ¶[0354], The UE transmits the PRACH (also referred to as Msg1) ), wherein :
the processing unit is configured to send a random access response to the terminal device through the communication unit ( see ¶[0356], Upon receipt of the PRACH (or Msg1), the BS transmits a random access response (or Msg2) to the UE within a predetermined time period. The RAR may include UL transmission timing control information, UL power control information, and scheduling information for a PUSCH that the UE will transmit in response to the RAR, for the UE), wherein:
the random access response includes scheduling information of a message 3 that includes first information that requests the terminal device repeatedly transmit the message 3 at a same transmit power and a same precoding matrix for each transmission of the message 3 ( see ¶[0358], Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE transmits a PUSCH (or Msg3) at a specific time associated with an RAR reception time according to the scheduling information included in the RAR; ¶[0358], The UE may transmit Msg3 repeatedly in each symbol (e.g., symbol repetition) in the UL data transmission; ¶[0435], the UE may transmit Msg3 with the same power value as that of the PRACH. In other words, the UE may transmit the PRACH and Msg3 based on the same power value).
Kim, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to transmit the message 3 with same precoding matrix.
However, NPL 1, in the same or similar field of endeavor discloses PUSCH retransmission using the same precoding matrix, same transmit power, etc., in order to allow joint channel estimation (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim's teachings with NPL1's above teaching in order to improve uplink coverage (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches: A communication apparatus (see Fig. 24, User Equipment (1)), comprising:
a communication unit (Transmitter 10, Receiver 20); and
a processing unit (Processor 40), configured to receive a random access response from a network device through the communication unit ( see ¶[0356], Upon receipt of the PRACH (or Msg1), the BS transmits a random access response (or Msg2) to the UE within a predetermined time period. The RAR may include UL transmission timing control information, UL power control information, and scheduling information for a PUSCH that the UE will transmit in response to the RAR, for the UE), wherein the random access response includes scheduling information of a message 3 that includes first information that requests repeated transmission of the message 3 at a same transmit power and a same precoding matrix for each transmission of the message 3 ( see ¶[0358], Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE transmits a PUSCH (or Msg3) at a specific time associated with an RAR reception time according to the scheduling information included in the RAR; ¶[0358], The UE may transmit Msg3 repeatedly in each symbol (e.g., symbol repetition) in the UL data transmission; ¶[0435], the UE may transmit Msg3 with the same power value as that of the PRACH. In other words, the UE may transmit the PRACH and Msg3 based on the same power value), wherein:
the processing unit is configured to repeatedly transmit the message 3 based on the first information by using the same transmit power and the same precoding matrix through the communication unit ( see ¶[0358], Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE transmits a PUSCH (or Msg3) at a specific time associated with an RAR reception time according to the scheduling information included in the RAR; ¶[0358], The UE may transmit Msg3 repeatedly in each symbol (e.g., symbol repetition) in the UL data transmission; ¶[0435], the UE may transmit Msg3 with the same power value as that of the PRACH. In other words, the UE may transmit the PRACH and Msg3 based on the same power value).
Kim, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to transmit the message 3 with same precoding matrix.
However, NPL 1, in the same or similar field of endeavor discloses PUSCH retransmission using the same precoding matrix, same transmit power, etc., in order to allow joint channel estimation (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim's teachings with NPL1's above teaching in order to improve uplink coverage (see NPL1, page 32, last box, Huawei, Hisilicon contribution).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 8, 10, 13, 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of NPL1, and further in view of Boroujeni et al. ( US 2021/0266955 A1), hereinafter referred to as Boroujeni .
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1. Although the combination teaches the BS instructs the UE to perform frequency hopping on Msg3 ( see Kim¶[0430] ), the combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to sending, third information to the terminal device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3.
However, Boroujeni, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending, third information to the terminal device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3 ( see Boroujeni, FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Boroujeni's above teachings in order to improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ( see Boroujeni, ¶[0031]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Boroujeni prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Kim prior art) based on design incentives ( improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Kim, NPL1, and Boroujeni combination teaches: The method according to claim 3, wherein the third information is included in the scheduling information (Boroujeni, see FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern ); or the third information is included in a system information block 1 (SIB 1) or other system information.
Regarding claim 8, Kim and NPL1 combination teaches the method according to claim 6. Although the combination teaches the BS instructs the UE to perform frequency hopping on Msg3 ( see Kim¶[0430] ), the combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receiving, third information from the network device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3.
However, Boroujeni, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the method according to claim 6 further comprising: receiving, third information from the network device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3 ( see Boroujeni, FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Boroujeni's above teachings in order to improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ( see Boroujeni, ¶[0031]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Boroujeni prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Kim prior art) based on design incentives ( improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Kim, NPL1, and Boroujeni combination teaches: The method according to claim 8, wherein: the third information is included in the scheduling information (see Boroujeni, FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern ); or the third information is included in a system information block 1 (SIB1) or other system information.
Regarding claim 13, Kim and NPL1 teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. Although the combination teaches the BS instructs the UE to perform frequency hopping on Msg3 ( see Kim¶[0430] ), the combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to send third information to the terminal device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3.
However, Boroujeni, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein: the communication unit is further configured to: send third information to the terminal device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3 ( see Boroujeni, FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Boroujeni's above teachings in order to improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ( see Boroujeni, ¶[0031]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Boroujeni prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Kim prior art) based on design incentives ( improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Kim, NPL1, and Boroujeni combination teaches: The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein: the third information is included in the scheduling information; or the third information is included in a system information block 1 (SIB1) or other system information ( see Boroujeni, FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern ); or the third information is included in a system information block 1 (SIB 1) or other system information.
Regarding claim 18, Kim and NPL1 combination teaches the apparatus according to claim 16. Although the combination teaches the BS instructs the UE to perform frequency hopping on Msg3 ( see Kim¶[0430] ), the combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receive third information from the network device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3.
However, Boroujeni, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein: the communication unit is further configured to: receive third information from the network device that includes a frequency hopping mode for repeatedly transmitting the message 3 ( see Boroujeni, FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Boroujeni's above teachings in order to improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ( see Boroujeni, ¶[0031]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Boroujeni prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Kim prior art) based on design incentives ( improve reliability of the RACH procedure, and thus, ensure the establishment of a communication connection between a UE and a base station ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Kim, NPL1, and Boroujeni combination teaches: The apparatus according to claim 18, wherein: the third information is included in the scheduling information; or the third information is included in a system information block 1 (SIB1) or other system information ( see Boroujeni, FIG. 6; ¶[0081], receiving, using a first receive beam, a random access message 2 transmitted by a base station using a first transmit beam, the random access message 2 indicating to the UE to transmit a plurality of repetitions of a random access message 3, the random access message 2 further including an indication of a number of repetitions in the plurality of repetitions; ¶[0082], the repetition component 144 to transmit the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 based on the random access message 2. The repetition component 144 may repeat the message 3 based on the number of the plurality of repetitions. In an aspect, transmitting the plurality of repetitions of the random access message 3 may include transmitting the plurality of repetitions using a frequency hopping pattern).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Axnas et al. ( US 2023/0262753 A1), Coverage enhancement of msg3 and msga transmissions on physical uplink shared channel
Kato et al. ( US 2017/0359836 A1), Terminal device, base station device, radio communication method, and integrated circuit
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476