Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., KR20150053175 (hereinafter referred to as Park) in view of Kagaya et al., JP2006269653, (hereinafter referred to as Kagaya) and in further view of Chen, US7667557 (hereinafter referred to as Chen).
In regards to claim 1, Park teaches an electronic component (multilayer inductor 10; [Fig. 1]) comprising: an element body (main body 11; [Fig. 1]) having a pair of end surfaces (2 opposing short sides; [Fig. 1]) facing each other in a first direction (long axis; identified below), a pair of main surf aces including a first main surface (top; [Fig. 1]) and a second main surface (bottom; [Fig. 1]) facing each other in a second direction (height axis; identified below), and a pair of side surfaces (2 opposing long sides; [Fig. 1]) facing each other in a third direction (short axis; identified below);
and an inductor (coil parts Ll-L2; [Fig. 2]) disposed inside the element body ([Fig. 2]), wherein the inductor includes a first inductor (first coil part Ll; [Fig. 2]) including a first inductor pattern (conductor pattern 12a; [Fig. 3]), and a second inductor (second coil part L2; [Fig. 2]) including a second inductor pattern (conductor pattern 12' c; [Fig. 2]), the first inductor pattern has a first surface (top of magnetic material layer 11b; [Fig. 3]) located toward the first main surface in the second direction, and a second surface (bottom of magnetic material layer 11 b;
[Fig. 3]) located toward the second main surface in the second direction, the second inductor
pattern has a third surface (top of magnetic material layer 11d; [Fig. 3]) located toward the
first main surface in the second direction, and a fourth surface (bottom of magnetic material
layer 11d; [Fig. 3]) located toward the second main surface in the second direction, the first
inductor and the second inductor are disposed side by side (implicit in [Fig. 3]) in the top view
from the second direction ([Fig. 3]),
and in a region (layer 11d; [Fig. 3]) where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent
to each other, at least one of positions in the second direction of the first surf ace of the first
inductor pattern and the third surface of the second inductor pattern, and positions in the second
direction of the second surface of the first inductor pattern and the fourth surf ace of the second
inductor pattern, are different ([Fig. 2]), and when viewed from the second direction, the first
inductor and the second inductor do not overlap ([Fig. 2]), (Examiner’s Note: In the figure below, it can be observed how the first through fourth surfaces are all on different levels in the second direction and the gap G shows that the inductors do not overlap in the second direction.) the first inductor pattern (turn number of 3.5; [Pg. 20, Para. 4]) and the second inductor pattern (turn number of 2.5; [Pg. 20, Para. 4]) are inductors with different configurations.
Park does not teach terminal electrodes that are disposed on the first main surface of the element body in the second direction; and a capacitor disposed inside the element body and forming a resonator.
Kagaya teaches a capacitor (capacitors Cl-C3; [Pg. 6, Para. 11]) disposed inside the
element body (main body 40; [Fig. 2]) and forming a resonator (resonance circuit; [Pg. 6,
Para. 11]).
Kagaya does not teach terminal electrodes that are disposed on the first main surface of the element body in the second direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate a capacitor disposed inside the element body and forming a resonator as taught by Kagaya. The capacitor layers of Kagaya forms a resonator with the inductor of Park. The motivation for doing so is to improve the component to be a passive element for removing noise by forming an electronic circuit together with a resistor and a capacitor ([Pg. 2, Desc. Para. 3]; Kagaya).
Chen teaches terminal electrodes (input terminal 150, output terminal 160, and ground terminals 170 & 180; [Fig. 1]) that are disposed on the first main surface (bottom plane of Fig. 1; [Fig. 1]) of the element body in the second direction (top to bottom; [Fig. 1]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st main surface)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Direction)][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park and Kagaya in order to incorporate terminal electrodes that are disposed on the first main surface of the element body in the second direction as taught by Chen. The motivation would be for more surface contact of the terminals when the device is mounted.
In regards to claim 2, Park further teaches wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, the first inductor pattern (conductor patterns 12a-12e; [Fig.3]) and the second inductor pattern (conductor patterns 12'c-12'e; [Fig. 31) each having one or more patterns, the number of the patterns being different from each other ([Fig. 3 ]). In Fig. 3, the layers 11b - 1lf are the region where the first and second inductor are adjacent to each other. The first inductor has 5 patterns, one on each layer. The second inductor has 3 patterns, one of the layers 11d - 11f.
In regards to claim 3, Park further teaches wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, the first inductor pattern and the second inductor pattern include portions facing each other in the first direction ([Fig. 3]). The right edge of 12c faces the left edge of 12'c in the first direction.
In regards to claim 4, Park further teaches wherein the second inductor pattern includes portions that face a plurality of the first inductor patterns ([Fig. 3 ]). The right edge of 12c faces the left edge of 12'c in the first direction. The same is true for the layers 11e and 11f which makes for 3 instances of the patterns facing each other in the first direction.
In regards to claim 5, Park teaches wherein the first inductor pattern and the second inductor pattern have different (greater; [Pg. 2, Desc. Para. 9]) thicknesses (thickness; [Pg. 2, Desc. Para. 9]) in the second direction ([Fig. 2]).
In regards to claim 6, Park teaches an electronic component (multilayer inductor 10; [Fig. 1]) comprising: an element body (main body 11; [Fig. 1]) having a pair of end surfaces (2 opposing short sides; [Fig. 1]) facing each other in a first direction (long axis; identified below), a pair of main surf aces including a first main surface (top; [Fig. 1]) and a second main surface (bottom; [Fig. 1]) facing each other in a second direction (height axis; identified below), and a pair of side surfaces (2 opposing long sides; [Fig. 1]) facing each other in a third direction (short axis; identified below);
and an inductor (coil parts Ll-L2; [Fig. 2]) disposed inside the element body ([Fig. 2]), wherein
the inductor includes a first inductor (first coil part Ll; [Fig. 2]) including a first inductor
pattern (conductor pattern 12a; [Fig. 3]), and a second inductor (second coil part L2; [Fig. 2])
including a second inductor pattern (conductor pattern 12' c; [Fig. 2]), the first inductor pattern
has a first surface (top of magnetic material layer 11b; [Fig. 3]) located toward the first main
surf ace in the second direction, and a second surf ace (bottom of magnetic material layer 11 b; [Fig. 3]) located toward the second main surface in the second direction, the second inductor
pattern has a third surface (top of magnetic material layer 11d; [Fig. 3]) located toward the
first main surface in the second direction, and a fourth surface (bottom of magnetic material
layer 11d; [Fig. 3]) located toward the second main surface in the second direction, the first
inductor and the second inductor are disposed side by side (implicit in [Fig. 3]) in the top view
from the second direction ([Fig. 3]),
and in a region (layer 11d; [Fig. 3]) where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent
to each other, at least one of positions in the second direction of the first surf ace of the first
inductor pattern and the third surface of the second inductor pattern, and positions in the second
direction of the second surface of the first inductor pattern and the fourth surf ace of the second
inductor pattern, are different ([Fig. 2]), and when viewed from the second direction, the first
inductor and the second inductor do not overlap ([Fig. 2]), (Examiner’s Note: In the figure below, it can be observed how the first through fourth surfaces are all on different levels in the second direction and the gap G shows that the inductors do not overlap in the second direction.) the first inductor pattern (turn number of 3.5; [Pg. 20, Para. 4]) and the second inductor pattern (turn number of 2.5; [Pg. 20, Para. 4]) are inductors with different configurations.
Park does not teach terminal electrodes that are disposed on the first main surface of the element body in the second direction; and an inductor forming a resonator.
Kagaya teaches an inductor forming a resonator (resonance circuit; [Pg. 6, Para. 11] &
[Fig. 5]).
Kagaya does not teach terminal electrodes that are disposed on the first main surface of the element body in the second direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate an inductor forming a resonator as taught by Kagaya. The capacitor layers of Kagaya forms a resonator with the inductor taught by Park. The motivation for doing so is to improve the component to be a passive element for removing noise by forming an electronic circuit together with a resistor and a capacitor ([Pg. 2, Desc. Para. 3]; Kagaya).
Chen teaches terminal electrodes (input terminal 150, output terminal 160, and ground terminals 170 & 180; [Fig. 1]) that are disposed on the first main surface (bottom plane of Fig. 1; [Fig. 1]) of the element body in the second direction (top to bottom; [Fig. 1]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st main surface)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Direction)][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park and Kagaya in order to incorporate terminal electrodes that are disposed on the first main surface of the element body in the second direction as taught by Chen. The motivation would be for more surface contact of the terminals when the device is mounted.
In regards to claim 7, Park further teaches wherein the first surface of the first inductor pattern is located above the third surface of the second inductor pattern in the second direction ([Fig. 2]). Above would be the layer 11a and below is the layer 11g. Therefore, the conductor pattern 12a is above the conductor pattern 12'c.
In regards to claim 8, Park further teaches wherein the second surface of the first inductor pattern is located above the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern in the second direction ([Fig. 2]). Above would be the layer 11a and below is the layer 11g. Therefore, the conductor pattern 12a is above the conductor pattern 12'c.
In regards to claim 9, Park further teaches wherein the first inductor pattern is formed over one or more layers in the second direction (5 layers, layers 11b-11f; [Fig. 3]) of the element body, the second inductor pattern is formed over one or more layers in the second direction (3 layers, layers 11d-11f; [Fig. 3]) of the element body, and in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, the number of the layers (3 layers; [Fig. 3]) in which the second inductor pattern is formed is less than the number of the layers (5 layers; [Fig. 3]) in which the first inductor pattern is formed ([Fig. 3]). Fig. 2 shows how the coil pattern Ll and coil pattern L2 are next to each other through layers l la-1 lg. 3 layers is less than 5 layers.
In regards to claim 10, Park teaches wherein the first inductor pattern is formed over at least two layers (5 layers, layers 11b-11f; [Fig. 3]) and includes at least two portions in the region (layers 11a-11g) where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, each of the two portions being disposed in a different layer among the at least two layers (layer 11d & 11e), the second inductor pattern (conductor pattern 12'c) includes a portion being disposed in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other (first coil pattern 12c and second coil pattern 12'c; [Fig. 31), the at least two portions of the first inductor pattern each faces the portion of the second inductor pattern in the first direction ([Fig. 3]). The conductor pattern 12d and 12c face the second coil pattern 12'c in the first direction.
In regards to claim 11, Park further teaches wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, the first inductor pattern and the second inductor pattern include portions facing each other in the first direction ([Fig. 3]). The right edge of 12c faces the left edge of 12'c in the first direction.
In regards to claim 12, Park further teaches wherein the second inductor pattern includes portions that face a plurality of the first inductor patterns ([Fig. 3]). The right edge of 12c faces the left edge of 12'c in the first direction. The same is true for the layers 11e and 11f which makes for 3 instances of the patterns facing each other in the first direction.
In regards to claim 15, Park teaches wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are magnetically coupled to each other (may have the same rotational direction; [Pg. 20, Para. 15]) (Examiner’s Note: Park teaches that when the rotational direction is different between the first and second coil then the mutual inductance can be prevented [Pg. 20, Para. 15]. Therefore, the when the rotational direction is the same the coils influence each other’s inductances. Influencing each coils inductance is part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of magnetically coupled.).
In regards to claim 16, Park teaches wherein the first inductor and the second inductor are magnetically coupled to each other (may have the same rotational direction; [Pg. 20, Para. 15]) (Examiner’s Note: Park teaches that when the rotational direction is different between the first and second coil then the mutual inductance can be prevented [Pg. 20, Para. 15]. Therefore, the when the rotational direction is the same the coils influence each other’s inductances. Influencing each coils inductance is part of the broadest reasonable interpretation of magnetically coupled.).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al.,
KR20150053175 (hereinafter referred to as Park) in view of Kagaya et al., JP2006269653,
(hereinafter referred to as Kagaya) and in further view of Chen, US7667557 (hereinafter referred to as Chen), and in further view of Arai et al., US Application 20230052086 (hereinafter referred to as Arai).
In regards to claim 13, Park, Kagaya, and Chen do not teach wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, in the second direction, the position of the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surface of the first inductor pattern.
Arai teaches wherein in the region where the first inductor (internal conductor 255A; [Fig. 7]) and the second inductor (internal conductor 255B; [Fig. 7]) are adjacent to each other (implicit; [Fig. 7 & 8]), in the second direction, the position of the fourth surface (third column bottom side; [Fig. 8]) of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface (second column, bottom side of bottom square; [Fig. 8]) of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surf ace (second column, top side of bottom square; [Fig. 8]) of the first inductor pattern.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park, Kagaya, and Chen in order to incorporate wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, in the second direction, the position of the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surface of the first inductor pattern as taught by Arai. Arai teaches changes in the construction of the inductor coil, such that the position of the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surface of the first inductor pattern. The motivation is to reduce the magnetic coupling between the inductors and increase the desired characteristics of the inductors ([0004]; Arai).
In regards to claim 14, Park, Kagaya, and Chen do not teach wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, in the second direction, the position of the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surface of the first inductor pattern.
Arai teaches wherein in the region where the first inductor (internal conductor 255A; [Fig. 7]) and the second inductor (internal conductor 255B; [Fig. 7]) are adjacent to each other (implicit; [Fig. 7 & 8]), in the second direction, the position of the fourth surface (third column bottom side; [Fig. 8]) of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface (second column, bottom side of bottom square; [Fig. 8]) of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surf ace (second column, top side of bottom square; [Fig. 8]) of the first inductor pattern.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park, Kagaya, and Chen in order to incorporate wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, in the second direction, the position of the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surface of the first inductor pattern as taught by Arai. Arai teaches changes in the construction of the inductor coil, such that the position of the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surface of the first inductor pattern. The motivation is to reduce the magnetic coupling between the inductors and increase the desired characteristics of the inductors ([0004]; Arai).
Response to Arguments
The previous rejection was withdrawn due to amendments filed on 11/26/2025. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park et al., KR20150053175 (hereinafter referred to as Park) in view of Kagaya et al., JP2006269653, (hereinafter referred to as Kagaya) and in further view of Chen, US7667557 (hereinafter referred to as Chen).
Applicant respectfully argues “Park fails to disclose terminal electrodes that are disposed on the top surface of the main body 11 in the second direction”. However, Chen does disclose “terminal electrodes that are disposed on the top surface of the main body 11 in the second direction” in the rejection above.
In response to applicant’s argument, “Arai fails to overcome the deficiencies of Park and Kagaya”, that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, claims 13 and 14 use Arai to teach how to modify the inductor layers of Park in order to achieve “wherein in the region where the first inductor and the second inductor are adjacent to each other, in the second direction, the position of the fourth surface of the second inductor pattern is between the position of the first surface of the first inductor pattern and the position of the second surface of the first inductor pattern”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanaka, US11139793, is another prior art that teaches terminal electrodes that are disposed on the first main surface.
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/SAMANTHA L FAUBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2838