DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed 4/26/2023.
2. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
The following terms lack antecedent basis:
the virtual desktop instance (line 7 of claim 17). Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhatia U.S Patent No. 10,592,417.
As to claim 1, Bhatia teaches a system (Fig.2 and associated specifications) comprising
a desktop cloud server (…a host server 222 which may reside inside an on-premises datacenter or a datacenter of a third-party service provider…, line 66 column 4 to line 1 column 5) comprising a virtual desktop instance deployed on the desktop cloud server (…A guest operating system (OS) and guest applications 214 may be executing in the VM200 to produce a virtual desktop 202…, lines 1-3 column 5) and configured to:
obtain encoded data from the virtual desktop instance; and send the encoded data (…the system can detect when an embedded video (e.g., 254) or a video element 208 is present in a webpage (e.g., 206). When the embedded video 254 or a video element 208 is detected, a process can be initiated to intercept any embedded video data 260 that the web server 250 may transmit to the virtual desktop 202 for displaying a video in the video element 208. As illustrated in the example of Fig. 2, the web server 250 can transmit encoded data of the embedded video 254 to the browser on the virtual desktop 202 (shown by arrow 260) and the transmitted encoded video data 260 can be intercepted before it is decoded and redirected to a video rendering application 270 in the client 220 (shown by arrow 262)…, lines 48-60 column 5); and
a terminal corresponding to the virtual desktop instance (…a client device 210 can be communicatively linked, e.g., over a network such as the Internet, to a virtual machine 200 residing on a host server 222…, lines 63-66 column 4) and configured to:
receive the encoded data from the desktop cloud server; decode the encoded data to obtain raw data; and present a virtual desktop based on the raw data (…the video rendering application 270 can decode the encoded video data 262, render, and display the video in a video rendering application window 272 that is overlaid over the client GUI 223 in a way such that the video is displayed in the GUI 223 in the same way as it would appear if viewed in the virtual desktop 202 directly…, lines 7-13 column 6).
As to claim 2, Bhatia further teaches the desktop cloud server is further configured to skip encoding or decoding the encoded data (…the video rendering application 270 can decode the encoded video data 262…, lines 7-9 column 6).
As to claim 4, Bhatia further teaches the terminal is further configured to:
receive an event; encode the event to obtain an encoded event; and send the encoded event to the desktop cloud server (…user inputs in the client application 220, such as mouse and keyboard inputs, are transmitted to and applied in the virtual desktop 202 by the remoting protocol, when a user makes a video command such as pressing the pause/play button or seeking a video, the command can be detected at the virtual machine 202…, lines 36-41 column 9);
wherein the desktop cloud server is further configured to operate the virtual desktop instance based on the encoded event to obtain the encoded data from the virtual desktop instance (…When such inputs are detected in the virtual desktop 202, the commands can be transferred to the video rendering application 270. For example, when a click on the pause button is detected in the virtual desktop 202, a pause command can be sent to the video rendering application 270 to pause the video. Other video commands, such as play, fast forward, seek, change volume, etc. can likewise be detected at the virtual desktop 202 and forwarded to the video rendering application 270 to be put into effect…, lines 56-65 column 9).
As to claim 5, Bhatia further teaches the terminal is further configured to process, in parallel, any combination of the following:
encoding the event to obtain the encoded event; sending the encoded event to the desktop cloud server (…user inputs in the client application 220, such as mouse and keyboard inputs, are transmitted to and applied in the virtual desktop 202 by the remoting protocol, when a user makes a video command such as pressing the pause/play button or seeking a video, the command can be detected at the virtual machine 202…, lines 36-41 column 9);
receiving the encoded data; or decoding the encoded data to obtain the raw data (…the video rendering application 270 can decode the encoded video data 262, render, and display the video in a video rendering application window 272 that is overlaid over the client GUI 223 in a way such that the video is displayed in the GUI 223 in the same way as it would appear if viewed in the virtual desktop 202 directly…, lines 7-13 column 6).
As to claim 6, Bhatia further teaches the event comprises at least one of a mouse input, a keyboard input, or an audio input (…user inputs in the client application 220, such as mouse and keyboard inputs…, lines 36-37 column 9).
As to claim 7, Bhatia further teaches the raw data comprises any one or more of image data, audio data, or video data (…decode the encoded video data 262, render, and display the video…, lines 8-9 column 6).
As to claim 8, Bhatia further teaches the terminal is further configured to deploy, in the terminal, a browser client used for accessing the virtual desktop instance (…as the GUI 203 of the virtual desktop 202 is streamed to the client 220, the virtual desktop browser window 205 is also transmitted and is displayed in the GUI 223 as browser window 225…, lines 29-32 column 5).
As to claims 9-10 and 12-16, note the discussions of claims 1-2 and 4-8 above, respectively.
As to claims 17-20, note the discussions of claims 1-2, 4 and 7 above, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia in view of Yamaji U.S Patent No. 8,558,871.
As to claim 3, Bhatia does not teach decode, using a bytecode specification, the encoded data to obtain the raw data.
Yamaji teaches a system of video encoding and decoding wherein encoded data is decoded using a bytecode specification to obtain raw data (…reads, from the recording medium 100, a video stream, data structures of images to be rendered, class structures of bytecode applications and an application management table. The read video stream is supplied to the video decoder 102…, lines 41-45 column 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bhatia reference to include the teachings of Yamaji reference because by using bytecode specification, the system could render graphics, as disclosed by Yamaji.
As to claim 11, note the discussion of claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent No. 11,012,485 discloses executing a media application configured to access media content from a media source, process encoded media content from the media application using the multi-media framework, and execute a multi-media redirection module configured to intercept the encoded media content from being processed by a decoding module of the multi-media framework. The multi-media redirection module is configured to redirect the encoded media content to the at least one client computer device.
U.S Patent No. 10,887,354 discloses offloading the encoding and decoding of multimedia content transmitted during a real-time communication (RTC) session from the virtual desktop to the client device so that the multimedia content can be communicated directly between the client device and the remote peer device without the involvement of the virtual desktop.
U.S Publication No. 2016/0277470 discloses displaying updates other than a video stream in a graphical user interface (GUI) to be rendered, encoded, and transmitted exclusive of the video stream.
U.S Publication No. 2016/0029079 discloses playing and processing a video based on a virtual desktop.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2100.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Or fax to:
AFTER-FINAL faxes must be signed and sent to (571) 273 - 8300.
OFFICAL faxes must be signed and sent to (571) 273 - 8300.
NON OFFICAL faxes should not be signed, please send to (571) 273 – 3762
/Andy Ho/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2194