DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeda (PG Pub 20060046319).
Considering claim 1, Takeda (Figures 10A-10C) teaches a piezoelectric laminate comprising, on a substrate in the following order: a lower electrode (313 + paragraph 0106); and a piezoelectric film (314 + paragraph 0106); wherein a region of the lower electrode, the region being in contact with the piezoelectric film (314 + paragraphs 0106-0107) is constituted of a metal layer, where a (111) plane (paragraph 0106) of the metal layer has an inclination of 1 degree or more with respect to a surface of the substrate and the piezoelectric film contains a perovskite type oxide containing Pb (paragraph 0106).
Considering claim 2, Takeda (Figures 10A-10C) teaches wherein a metal constituting the metal layer is at least one of Ir, Pt (313 + paragraph 0106), Au, Mo, Ta or Al.
Considering claim 7, Takeda (Figures 10A-10C) teaches wherein a piezoelectric element comprising: the piezoelectric laminate and an upper electrode layer (315 + paragraph 0106) provided on the piezoelectric film of the piezoelectric laminate.
Considering claim 8, Takeda (Figures 10A-10C) teaches wherein the upper electrode layer contains a metal or a metal oxide, containing at least one of Ir, Pt (315 + paragraph 0106), Au, Ti, Mo, Ta, Ru or Al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (PG Pub 20060046319) and in view of Kobayashi (PG Pub 20190103550).
Considering claim 5, Takeda teaches the piezoelectric laminate as described above.
However, Takeda does not teach wherein the piezoelectric film has a columnar crystal film structure consisting of a large number of columnar crystals.
Kobayashi (Figure 3) teaches wherein the piezoelectric film (152 + paragraph 0094) has a columnar crystal film structure consisting of a large number of columnar crystals (paragraph 0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the piezoelectric film has a columnar crystal film structure consisting of a large number of columnar crystals into Takeda’s device for the benefit of enhancing the characteristics of the piezoelectric layer.
Considering claim 6, Kobayashi (Figure 3) teaches wherein a (100) or (001) plane of the columnar crystal has an inclination of 1 degree or more with respect to the surface of the substrate (paragraph 0094).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (PG Pub 20060046319) and in view of Ishimori (PG Pub 20130250007).
Considering claim 3, Takeda teaches the piezoelectric laminate as described above.
However, Takeda does not teach wherein the lower electrode layer includes a first layer that consists of the metal layer and a second layer that is adjacent to the first layer and is provided on a substrate side and the second layer contains at least one of Ti or W as a main component and contains more than 5 at% and less than 50 at% of oxygen or nitrogen.
Ishimori teaches wherein the lower electrode (5 + paragraph 0043) includes a first layer (5a + paragraph 0046) that consists of metal layer and a second layer (5b + paragraph 0046) that is adjacent to the first layer and is provided on a substrate side and the second layer contains at least one of Ti (paragraph 0076) or W as a main component.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to include the lower electrode layer includes a first layer that consists of the metal layer and a second layer that is adjacent to the first layer and is provided on a substrate side and the second layer contains at least one of Ti or W as a main component into Takeda’s device for the benefit of using a well-known material as obvious design choice.
However, the combination does not teach contains more than 5 at% and less than 50 at% of oxygen or nitrogen. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to contain more than 5 at% and less than 50 at% of oxygen or nitrogen, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 4, Takeda in view of Ishimori teaches wherein in an X-ray diffraction pattern for the piezoelectric film, an intensity ratio of a pyrochlore phase to a perovskite phase in the piezoelectric film, which is represented by the following expression, is 2% or less py (222)/{pr(100) + pr (110) + pr (111)} * 100% here, py (222) is a peak intensity of a (222) plane of the pyrochlore phase, pr (100) is a peak intensity of a (100) plane of the perovskite phase, pr (110) is a peak intensity of a (110) plane of the perovskite phase and pr (111) is a peak intensity of a (111) plane of the perovskite phase (the limitation is a goal of the invention + since the structure is taught the limitation is met).
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837