DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/US2021/052966 filed 09/30/2021. PCT/US2021/052966 has PRO 63/091,791 filed 10/14/2020. PCT/US2021/052966 has PRO 63/091,799 filed 10/14/2020. PCT/US2021/052966 has PRO 63/085,857 filed 09/30/2020 and PCT/US2021/052966 has PRO 63/085,829 filed 09/30/2020.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 24-25, 27-28, 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) based on the elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant’s election of the species of SEQ ID NO: 16 and active ingredients retinoid or vitamin A compound in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP 818.01 (a))
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13, 24-25, 27-28, 31-32, 34, 38, 40, 48, and 57-59 are pending. Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13, and 40 are amended. Claims 3-6, 10, 12, 14-23, 26, 29-30, 33, 35-37, 39, 41-47, 49-56 are canceled. Claims 24-25, 27-28, and 31 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13, 32, 34, 38, 40, 48, and 57-59 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Specification - Withdrawn
The objection to the disclosure is withdrawn in view of the amended disclosure.
Claim Rejections - Withdrawn
The rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn because the claim is canceled.
The rejection of claims 1, 7-9, 11, 13, 32, 34, 38, 48 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouzounov et al. (WO2019068018A2 – hereinafter “Ouzounov”) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13, 32, 34, 38, 40, 48, and 57-59 under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural phenomenon without significantly more is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 13, and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 17-18, 23-25 of U.S. Patent No. US11174300B2 is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 10, 32 and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-11 of U.S. Patent No. US11180541B2 is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 32, 34, 38, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 30, 33, 35, 37, 39, 40, 42, 44, 46, 48, 58 of copending Application No. 18/420,585 is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Maintained and Updated
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 32, 34, 38, 40, 48, and 57-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him. The courts have stated:
“To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious,” and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQe2d at 1966.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 48 USPQ2d
1398’.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the Application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient.” MPEP 2163.
Further, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim. In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court stated:
“A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name, of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials. Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d at 1606: In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284-85 (CCPA 1973) (“In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus... ."}.
Regents of the University of California v. Ell Lily & Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398",
The MPEP further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is “not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.” MPEP 2163. The MPEP does state that for generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representatives, the Courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gosteli, the Court determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618. For written description, the analysis considers (a) actual reduction to practice, (b) disclosure of drawing or structural chemical formulas, (c) sufficient relevant identifying characteristics in the way of complete/partial structure or physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed and (d) Representative number of examples.
(a) actual reduction to practice, (b) disclosure of drawing or structural chemical formulas
The instant claims recites “A composition comprising:(a) a non-naturally occurring recombinant polypeptide comprising N and C terminal truncation relative to SEQ ID NO: 31, and comprises at least 70% identity to SEQ ID NO: 16 (claim 1), wherein the polypeptide is 150 to 800, or 150 to 300 amino acids in length (claim 7, 9), wherein the polypeptide comprises N and C terminal truncation of 50 to 558 and 50 to 212 amino acids respectively (claim 9). Examiner notes that the elected sequence is SEQ ID NO: 16 which has 187 amino acids. The claims recite that the composition comprises or consists SEQ ID NO: 16. Examiner notes that SEQ ID NO: 16 is a segment of the human collagen Type 21 alpha 1 of SEQ ID NO: 31 which has 957 amino acids. Additionally, the claims recite that the polypeptide is at least 70% identical to SEQ ID NO: 16, which indicates that 130 amino acids can be different. Examiner notes that the claims do not provide ample written description for the compounds since the claims do not have a structural feature. Further, the specification does not clearly define or provide examples of the numerous variation of the compounds being claimed i.e. truncation of the 957 amino acid polypeptide or a polypeptide that comprises at least 70% identical to SEQ ID NO: 16.
(c) sufficient relevant identifying characteristics in the way of complete/partial structure or physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed
The specification does not clearly define or provide examples of the numerous variation of the compounds being claimed i.e. truncation of the 957 amino acid polypeptide, encompassing truncation at N terminus, C terminus. Examiner notes that the claims recite that the polypeptide may have N-terminal truncation of 50-558 amino acids and C-terminal truncation of 50 to 212 amino acids. Further, the polypeptide is at least 70% identical to SEQ ID NO: 16 and can have up to 800 amino acids. Examiner notes that there are numerous variants of polypeptides that can be derived from a polypeptide is at least 70% identical to SEQ ID NO: 16. Examiner notes that it is certain on the part of the polypeptide has the recited function. The claims includes possible variations that are limitless and given that there is no disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, written description is lacking. Examiner notes that even though the claims recite a functional characteristic of “stimulate collagen and/or elastin production in skin”, the claims lack written description because there is no disclosure of a correlation between function and structure of the compounds beyond compounds disclosed in the examples in the specification. It is also unclear what part of the polypeptide would have the recited function. Thus, the claims and the specification fail to provide written description for the broad genus.
(d) Representative number of examples
The MPEP states that a broad genus can be described by a showing of representative number of examples. The claims in the instant application are broad.
Although the specification provides specific amino acid sequences that had the recited effect, the specification lacks sufficient variety of species to reflect this variance in the genus. Additionally, the Examples only use the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 16. The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming a rejection for lack of written description because the specification does “little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate”). For these reasons, the claimed invention lacks written description.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to recite N and C terminal truncation of SEQ ID NO: 31 and comprise polypeptide that comprises at least 70% identical to SEQ ID NO: 16.
The arguments are unpersuasive because as stated in the rejection above, applicant has only reduced to practice SEQ ID NO: 16, which has 187 amino acids. The claims recite limitations that lead to numerous variation of the compounds being claimed i.e. truncation of the 957 amino acid polypeptide or a polypeptide that comprises at least 70% identical to SEQ ID NO: 16 and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the structure of the variant that would have the recited effect on the skin. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Maintained and updated
Claims 2, 40, and 57-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouzounov et al. (WO2019068018A2 – hereinafter “Ouzounov”) in view of Chang et al. (WO2015020982A2 – hereinafter “Chang”).
Ouzounov teaches a composition comprising 0.005% and 30% w/w non-naturally occurring collagen [0012] and that the composition comprises other cosmetic ingredients [0075] or other ingredients such as sorbic acid, Germaben II, rosemary extract, and EDTA [0076], that the composition is a topical compositions used for decreasing skin damage or promoting the repair of damaged skin [0013], wherein the collagen is recombinantly prepared [0053]. Examiner notes that Germaben II is a known active ingredients used in cosmetic formulations; rosemary extract is also an active ingredient. Ouzounov teaches that the non-naturally occurring collagen is jellyfish (Hydrozoan) collagen, human collagen, that the non-naturally occurring collagen is a full-length or a truncated collagen, that the collagen is truncated by an internal truncation of between 50 amino acids and 500 amino acids, and that the truncation is at the C-terminal end or the N-terminal end of the collagen polypeptide [0010, 0056-0057, 0068]. Ouzounov teaches that the non-naturally occurring collagen of SEQ ID NO: 76 [0010]. Ouzounov does not teach that the collagen of SEQ ID NO: 76 forms a triple helix, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the collagen does not form a triple helix. Ouzounov teaches that the composition comprising the instant polypeptide stimulates collagen synthesis (claims 10 and 30). Additionally, since the Ouzounov teaches that the composition comprising the instant polypeptide, the effect after the wherein clause would naturally flow.
Examiner notes that Ouzounov teaches the instant composition comprising collagen and other active ingredients, but does not teach the active ingredient is the elected retinol or vitamin A.
However, it is known in the art to combine collagen and retinol in a cosmetic composition for topical or dermal injection as taught by Chang et al.
Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols [0008, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430]. Chang teaches that the composition is formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection [0009, 0042, 0049-0050], and that such composition can be for use as dermal fillers [00142] and used for reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049-0050, 0059-0060, 00147, 00171, 00187] and for wound healing [00183, 00318]. Chang teaches that the composition helped with improved skin quality, health and appearance (Abstract). Chang teaches that there is a need to include vitamins in the composition for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose and that the composition may improve skin elasticity, luminosity, skin regeneration, metabolism, smoothness and/or softness of skin (i.e., making the skin feel smoother and softer following treatment); the overall appearance of skin; evening out skin tone and texture; clarity and/or radiance of skin; making the skin look younger; and reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Ouzounov and include vitamins such as retinol as taught by since Chang teaches that the composition comprising collagen and retinol was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including retinol as one of the active ingredients since Chang specifically teaches that the composition comprises collagen and retinols and specifically teaches that the retinol is retinoic acid and teaches that the composition may improve skin elasticity, luminosity, skin regeneration, metabolism, smoothness and/or softness of skin [0049]. The disclosures render obvious claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols [0008, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430], that the composition can include coenzyme Q10 [00220]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Ouzounov and include active ingredients such hyaluronic acid and vitamins such as niacinamide as taught by since Chang teaches that the composition comprising collagen and the active ingredients was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049].
Regarding claims 7- 8, Ouzounov teaches that the non-naturally occurring collagen of SEQ ID NO: 76 [0010], which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 16 and has 187 amino acids which reads on or falls within the recited amino acid ranges recited in claims 7-8.
Regarding claim 9, Ouzounov teaches that the non-naturally occurring collagen is jellyfish (Hydrozoan) collagen, human collagen, that the non-naturally occurring collagen is a full-length or a truncated collagen, that the collagen is truncated by an internal truncation of between 50 amino acids and 650 amino acids or between 50 amino acids and 250 amino acids, and that the truncation is at the C-terminal end or the N-terminal end of the collagen polypeptide [0010, 0068]. Additionally, Ouzounov teaches that the non-naturally occurring collagen of SEQ ID NO: 76 [0010], which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 16 and has 187 amino acids. Examiner notes that SEQ ID NO: 76 of Ouzounov is part of the instant SEQ ID NO: 31, with an N-terminal truncation of 558 amino acids and C-terminal truncation of 212 amino acids.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Ouzounov teaches that the non-naturally occurring collagen of SEQ ID NO: 76 [0010], which is identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 16.
Regarding claim 32, Ouzounov teaches a composition comprising 0.005% and 30% w/w non-naturally occurring collagen [0012] and that the composition comprises other cosmetic ingredients [0075] or other ingredients carriers such as sorbic acid, and EDTA [0076], that the composition is a topical compositions used for decreasing skin damage or promoting the repair of damaged skin [0013].
Regarding claim 34, Ouzounov teaches compositions comprising non-naturally occurring collagen are in one aspect topical compositions for applying to skin [0013-0017] or hair [0075].
Regarding claim 38, Ouzounov teaches a composition comprising 0.005% and 30% w/w non-naturally occurring collagen [0012], wherein the collagen is recombinantly prepared [0053].
Regarding claim 40, Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols, ascorbic acid [0008-0009, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430]. Chang teaches that the additional agents can be added to the composition in an amount of from about 0.01% and about 2% [0021]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Ouzounov and include vitamins such as retinol or ascorbic acid or hyaluronic acid in the taught amounts as taught by since Chang teaches that the composition comprising the active ingredients was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049].
Regarding claim 48, Ouzounov teaches that the compositions that comprise the between non-naturally occurring collagen are personal care products such as masks, skin cleaners such as soap, cleansing creams, cleansing lotions, cleansing milks, cleansing pads, facial washes, hair shampoo, hair conditioner and body shampoos [0075].
Regarding claims 57-59, Chang teaches that the composition is formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection [0009, 0042, 0049-0050], and that such composition for use as dermal fillers [00142] and used for reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049-0050, 0059-0060, 00147, 00171, 00187] and for wound healing [00183, 00318]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Ouzounov and administer it as taught by Chang since Chang teaches that such a composition can be formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection for use in reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ouzounov does not disclose the claimed composition and that Chang does not teach a composition that stimulates collagen and elastin (Page 10 of Arguments). Applicant argues that the instant polypeptide had a synergistic effect (Page 11-12 of Arguments).
The arguments presented above have been fully considered but are unpersuasive. Examiner notes that it is known in the art to combine collagen wit ingredients such as retinol and hyaluronic acid in a cosmetic composition for topical or dermal injection as taught by Chang et al. Additionally, Ouzounov that the polypeptide is known to stimulate collagen. This argument is unpersuasive. Regarding the argument of synergistic effect, Examiner is not persuaded. First, the instant invention is rendered obvious by the cited references. Thus the effect of the composition is a property that would naturally flow from practicing the invention. Additionally, the specification indicates that the synergistic effect is from the combination of the collagen polypeptide and elastin polypeptide. Additionally, Chang teaches synergistic effect with the composition comprising collagen and retinol or hyaluronic acid. Further, effect of the composition is a property that would naturally flow from practicing the invention. This argument is unpersuasive.
Double Patenting - Modified
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13, 32, 34, 38, 40, 48, and 57-59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 49, 55-56, 58-62, 64-75 of copending Application No. 17/491,228 in view of Chang et al. (WO2015020982A2 – hereinafter “Chang”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application recite a composition comprising about 0.001% to about 30% w/w of a non- naturally occurring polypeptide comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 16 (claim 49, 55), wherein the composition is formulated for topical application (claim 56), the composition further comprising a topical carrier (claim 61), or one or more additional ingredients selected from the group consisting of water, oil, glycereth-8 esters, glycerin, coconut alkanes, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, pentylene glycol, disodium ethylenediaminetraacetic acid (EDTA), caprylyl glycol, chlorophenesin, and phenoxyethanol (claim 62), the method of providing a benefit to the skin (claims 64-72).
The instant claims recite a composition comprising: (a) a non-naturally occurring recombinant polypeptide comprising an N-terminal and a C-terminal truncation relative to SEQ ID NO: 31, wherein the recombinant polypeptide comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 70% identity with SEQ ID NO: 16 and does not form a stable triple helix structure of natural collagen; and(b) one or more active ingredients selected from a retinoid or vitamin A compound, a vitamin C compound, and hyaluronic acid, wherein the non-naturally occurring recombinant polypeptide and the one or more active ingredients (claim 1).
The copending claims do not recite the active ingredients.
However, it is known in the art to combine collagen and retinol in a cosmetic composition for topical or dermal injection as taught by Chang et al.
Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols [0008, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430]. Chang teaches that the composition is formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection [0009, 0042, 0049-0050], and that such composition can be for use as dermal fillers [00142] and used for reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049-0050, 0059-0060, 00147, 00171, 00187] and for wound healing [00183, 00318]. Chang teaches that the composition helped with improved skin quality, health and appearance (Abstract). Chang teaches that there is a need to include vitamins in the composition for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose and that the composition may improve skin elasticity, luminosity, skin regeneration, metabolism, smoothness and/or softness of skin (i.e., making the skin feel smoother and softer following treatment); the overall appearance of skin; evening out skin tone and texture; clarity and/or radiance of skin; making the skin look younger; and reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending claims and include vitamins such as retinol as taught by Chang since Chang teaches that the composition comprising collagen and retinol was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including retinol as one of the active ingredients since Chang specifically teaches that the composition comprises collagen and retinols and specifically teaches that the retinol is retinoic acid and teaches that the composition may improve skin elasticity, luminosity, skin regeneration, metabolism, smoothness and/or softness of skin [0049]. The copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claims 2, the copending claims recite the composition further comprising a topical carrier (claim 61), or one or more additional ingredients selected from the group consisting of water, oil, glycereth-8 esters, glycerin, coconut alkanes, hydroxyethyl acrylate/sodium acryloyldimethyl taurate copolymer, pentylene glycol, disodium ethylenediaminetraacetic acid (EDTA), caprylyl glycol, chlorophenesin, and phenoxyethanol (claim 62). Examiner notes that pentylene glycol has antibacterial properties.
Regarding claims 7-9, 11, 13, the copending claims recite non-naturally occurring polypeptide produced in a microbial host cell, the non-naturally occurring polypeptide comprising an amino acid sequence having at least about 80% sequence identity to a truncate of SEQ ID NO: 31, wherein: i) the truncate of SEQ ID NO: 31 has a truncation at both the N-terminal end and the C- terminal end, ii) the truncate of SEQ ID NO: 31 has a total truncation of 500 amino acids to 770 amino acids, iii) the non-naturally occurring polypeptide comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 16 (claim 49-51).
Regarding claim 32, the copending claims recite the composition further comprising a topical carrier (claim 61).
Regarding claim 34, the copending claims recite wherein the composition is a personal care product for application to skin or hair (claim 58).
Regarding claim 38, the copending claims recite composition comprising about 0.001% to about 30% w/w of a non- naturally occurring polypeptide (claim 55).
Regarding claim 40, Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols, ascorbic acid [0008-0009, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430]. Chang teaches that the additional agents can be added to the composition in an amount of from about 0.01% and about 2% [0021]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending claims and include vitamins such as retinol or ascorbic acid or hyaluronic acid in the taught amounts as taught by since Chang teaches that the composition comprising the active ingredients was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049].
Regarding claim 48, the copending claims recite wherein the personal care product is selected from the group consisting of: a facial cream, a facial lotion, a facial serum, a facial mask, a facial toner, a boy cream, a body moisturizer, an eye cream, an eye treatment, a lip balm, a lipstick, a hair shampoo, a hair conditioner, a hair serum, a scalp serum, a hair mist, and a hair spray (claim 59).
Regarding claims 57-59, Chang teaches that the composition is formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection [0009, 0042, 0049-0050], and that such composition for use as dermal fillers [00142] and used for reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049-0050, 0059-0060, 00147, 00171, 00187] and for wound healing [00183, 00318]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending claims and administer it as taught by Chang since Chang teaches that such a composition can be formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection for use in reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent.
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13, 32, 34, 38, 40, and 57-59 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26-28, 34-35, 40-45 of copending Application No. 18/750,919. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application recite a composition comprising from about 0.005% to about 30% w/w of the recombinant polypeptide of claim 26 (claim 40), wherein recombinant human type 21 alpha 1 collagen polypeptide comprising: an N-terminal and/or a C-terminal truncation (claim 26), wherein the composition comprises a topical carrier and/or a preservative (claim 42), wherein the polypeptide comprises at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 76 (Claim 34-35).
The instant claims recite a composition comprising: (a) a non-naturally occurring recombinant polypeptide comprising an N-terminal and a C-terminal truncation relative to SEQ ID NO: 31, wherein the recombinant polypeptide comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 70% identity with SEQ ID NO: 16 and does not form a stable triple helix structure of natural collagen; and(b) one or more active ingredients selected from a retinoid or vitamin A compound, a vitamin C compound, and hyaluronic acid, wherein the non-naturally occurring recombinant polypeptide and the one or more active ingredients (claim 1).
The copending claims do not recite the active ingredients.
However, it is known in the art to combine collagen and retinol in a cosmetic composition for topical or dermal injection as taught by Chang et al.
Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols [0008, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430]. Chang teaches that the composition is formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection [0009, 0042, 0049-0050], and that such composition can be for use as dermal fillers [00142] and used for reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049-0050, 0059-0060, 00147, 00171, 00187] and for wound healing [00183, 00318]. Chang teaches that the composition helped with improved skin quality, health and appearance (Abstract). Chang teaches that there is a need to include vitamins in the composition for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose and that the composition may improve skin elasticity, luminosity, skin regeneration, metabolism, smoothness and/or softness of skin (i.e., making the skin feel smoother and softer following treatment); the overall appearance of skin; evening out skin tone and texture; clarity and/or radiance of skin; making the skin look younger; and reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending claims and include vitamins such as retinol as taught by Chang since Chang teaches that the composition comprising collagen and retinol was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049]. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including retinol as one of the active ingredients since Chang specifically teaches that the composition comprises collagen and retinols and specifically teaches that the retinol is retinoic acid and teaches that the composition may improve skin elasticity, luminosity, skin regeneration, metabolism, smoothness and/or softness of skin [0049]. The copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols [0008, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430], that the composition can include coenzyme Q10 [00220]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending claims and include active ingredients such hyaluronic acid and vitamins such as niacinamide as taught by since Chang teaches that the composition comprising collagen and the active ingredients was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049].
Regarding claims 7-9, the copending claims recite a recombinant human type 21 alpha 1 collagen polypeptide comprising: an N-terminal and/or a C-terminal truncation (claim 26), wherein the recombinant polypeptide comprises an N-terminal truncation that is between 1 and 85 amino acids relative to full-length human type 21 alpha 1 collagen (claim 27), wherein the recombinant polypeptide comprises an N-terminal truncation that is between 1 and 212 amino acids relative to full-length human type 21 alpha 1 collagen (claim 27-28). Additionally, copending claims recite SEQ ID NO: 76 (claims 34-35) and the number of amino acid sequence aligns with the instant range.
Regarding claims 11, 13, the copending claims recite wherein the recombinant polypeptide comprises at least 95% amino acid sequence identity to full length SEQ ID NO: 76 (claims 34-35). The sequence is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 16.
Regarding claim 32, the copending claims recite wherein the composition comprises a topical carrier and/or a preservative (claim 42).
Regarding claim 34, the copending claims recite wherein the composition is formulated for topical application (claim 41), for treating the skin (claims 43-45).
Regarding claim 38, the copending claims recite composition comprising from about 0.005% to about 30% w/w of the recombinant polypeptide (claim 40).
Regarding claim 40, Chang teaches a composition comprising vitamins combined with hyaluronic acid, and collagen [0035, 0057-0059], wherein the vitamins include one or more retinols, ascorbic acid [0008-0009, 0084, 00527], such as retinoic acid [00175, 00430]. Chang teaches that the additional agents can be added to the composition in an amount of from about 0.01% and about 2% [0021]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending claims and include vitamins such as retinol or ascorbic acid or hyaluronic acid in the taught amounts as taught by since Chang teaches that the composition comprising the active ingredients was used for intradermal and also topical use that serve for aesthetic enhancement purpose [0049].
Regarding claims 57-59, Chang teaches that the composition is formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection [0009, 0042, 0049-0050], and that such composition for use as dermal fillers [00142] and used for reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent [0049-0050, 0059-0060, 00147, 00171, 00187] and for wound healing [00183, 00318]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending claims and administer it as taught by Chang since Chang teaches that such a composition can be formulated for topical use and/or dermal injection for use in reducing fine lines and making wrinkles and facial fine lines appear softer and/or less prominent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654