DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 11/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10 and 17 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Kim), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0120295 A1, in view of Shim et al. (Shim), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0243516 A1, and further in view of Kim, US Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0081538 A1 (hereinafter Kim’538).
As to independent claim 1, Kim discloses a method, applied to an electronic device having a touchscreen, wherein the method comprises:
in response to a first operation instruction for the touchscreen, entering a recently used task preview procedure (Figure 4A and paragraph [0103]: when the user touches the multi view mode button 226 or a mode switching button 288 (a recently used task preview procedure) on the touch screen);
after the recently used task preview procedure is entered:
obtaining a recently used task lists (Figures 4A-4C and paragraph [0103]: the controller 110 detects the touch and vertically displays the multi-application panel 230 on the right side of the main screen 210, which includes a plurality execution keys 212 comprising an execution key 212a. When the execution key 212a is touch, the multi-application panel 230 is displayed in a right part of the main screen 210. Thus, the muti application panel is considered as a recently used task lists; Also see paragraph [0095]: a window corresponding to the application most recently executed among the plurality of applications being executed); and
displaying at least two tasks in the recently used task list in split screen on the touchscreen (Figure 4C and paragraphs [0103] and [0104]: the multi-application panel 230 includes a plurality of muti application sets 231, 232, 233,234 and 235 (tasks), each of the multi-application sets includes one main application and at least one sub application; Figure 5A and paragraphs [0116],[0117]: when the user touches the second multi-application set 232 in the multi-application panel 230, the controller 110 simultaneously executes the plurality of applications 232a and 232b included in the second multi applications and displays the applications 232a and 232b on the main screen 210; Figure 5B and paragraphs [0123], [0124]: shows the applications 232a and 232b displayed on the main screen 210 in the split mode); and
in response to a third operation instruction for the touchscreen (paragraph [0125]: when the mode switching button 228 is touched in a state where the two windows 240 and 250 are arranged in the overlap mode as shown in Figure 5A):
exiting the recently used task preview procedure (paragraph [0125]: the controller detects the touch to switch the two windows 240 and 250 to the split mode, and this means exiting the overlap mode (the recently used task preview procedure);
opening applications that correspond to the at least two tasks displayed in split screen on the touchscreen (Figure 5B and paragraphs [0123], [0124]: shows the applications 232a and 232b displayed on the main screen 210 in the split mode); and
simultaneously displaying, on the touchscreen, application interfaces of the applications corresponding to the at least two tasks displayed in split screen on the touchscreen (Figure 5B and paragraph [0123]: both application A and application B is displaying simultaneously on window 1 and window 2, respectively).
Kim discloses Figure 7A and paragraphs [0132]-[0133]: when the user touches the fifth set 235 in the multi-application panel 230, the controller 110 simultaneously executes a plurality of applications 235a-c and displays the applications 235a-c on the main screen 210; Figure 7B: shows applications 235a-c are displayed in split mode). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret that the teachings of Kim imply “in response to a second operation instruction for the touchscreen, changing any one of the at least two tasks displayed in split screen on the touchscreen to another task in the recently used task list”.
To support Examiner’s interpretation, Shim discloses a method and an apparatus for changing a screen in an electronic device that provides a plurality of windows (Abstract). Shim further discloses in figure 3 and paragraph [0066] that the drawing of reference numeral 320 is displaying two applications A and B simultaneously in a split screen, and in detecting a user select icon 12 (application C), the controller may control the display unit to display an execution screen of the application C corresponding to the second icon 12 on the first split window, and the second split window may maintain the execution screen of the application B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Kim to include “in response to a second operation instruction for the touchscreen, changing any one of the at least two tasks displayed in split screen on the touchscreen to another task in the recently used task list”, as taught by Shim for the purpose of allowing a user to select a desired application from the list and recognizing the window/interface in which application is being executed (Shim, paragraph [0006]).
Kim and Shim, however, do not disclose wherein the recently used task list includes a plurality of tasks started by a user on the electronic device, and displaying at least two tasks of the plurality of tasks in the recently used task list in split screen on the touchscreen.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim’538 discloses a mobile terminal and a method for controlling the same and providing a screen split view of execution screens of a plurality of applications included in a recently used list (Abstract). Kim’538 further discloses the mobile terminal comprises a display unit, a sensing unit and a controller, wherein the controller outputs a first recently used list, which includes at least some of recently used applications, to a location of an input means area of the display unit if a first input signal is sensed in an input mode of a first application, and outputs a screen split view, which includes an execution screen of the first application and an execution screen of a second application included in the first recently used list, if a second input signal for the second application is sensed (paragraph [0012]). Kim’538 further discloses in paragraph [0229] that the display unit may be provided as a type of touch screen together with the sensing unit. Kim’538 further discloses in paragraph [0242] that the recently used list may indicate a list of application executed by the user before the application which is currently executed is used, and the recently used list may indicate a list of three applications of a plurality of applications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the systems of Kim and Shim to include wherein the recently used task list includes a plurality of tasks started by a user on the electronic device, and displaying at least two tasks of the plurality of tasks in the recently used task list in split screen on the touchscreen, as taught by Kim’538 for the purpose of allowing execution screens of a plurality of applications to be output at the same time (Kim’538, paragraph [0008]).
As to dependent claim 2, Kim discloses wherein before the displaying at least two tasks in the recently used task list in split screen on the touchscreen, the method further comprises:
configuring the recently used task list to a last-in first-out stack structure comprising at least two columns (Figure 4A and paragraph [0253]); and
dividing the touchscreen into display subareas of a corresponding quantity based on a quantity of column items in the recently used task list, wherein the display subarea comprises a first display window, wherein the displaying at least two tasks in the recently used task list in split screen on the touchscreen (Figures 4A-4C, 5B and paragraphs [0103] and [0123]) comprises:
separately displaying stack top tasks in the recently used task list in first display windows of a corresponding quantity (Figures 4A-4C, 5B and paragraphs [0103] and [0123]).
As to dependent claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the simultaneously displaying, on the touchscreen, application interfaces of the applications corresponding to the at least two tasks displayed in split screen on the touchscreen comprises:
separately displaying, in the display subareas of the corresponding quantity, application interfaces of the applications corresponding to corresponding tasks, wherein when a task corresponds to a plurality of applications, a multi-application task is displayed in the following manner (Figures 4A-4C, 5B and paragraphs [0103] and [0123]):
further dividing the display subarea corresponding to the multi-application task, so as to display application interfaces of the plurality of applications in the same display subarea in split screen (Figures 4A-4C, 5B, 7A and paragraphs [0103], [0123], [0133]-[0136]).
As to dependent claim 4, Kim and Shim disclose wherein the method further comprises:
in response to a fifth operation instruction for the display subarea, adjusting an application interface that is displayed in split screen in the display subarea and that corresponds to the multi- application task to be displayed in a floating window (Kim, paragraph [0103]; Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]).
As to dependent claim 5, Kim and Shim disclose wherein the simultaneously displaying, on the touchscreen, application interfaces of the applications corresponding to the at least two tasks displayed in split screen on the touchscreen comprises:
separately displaying, in the display subareas of the corresponding quantity, application interfaces of the applications corresponding to corresponding tasks, wherein when a task corresponds to a plurality of applications, a multi-application task is displayed in the following manner (Kim, Figures 4A-4C and paragraph [0103]):
displaying any application in the multi-application task in the corresponding display subarea (Kim, Figures 4A-4C and paragraph [0103]); and
displaying remaining applications in the multi-application task in a floating window (Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]).
As to dependent claim 6, Kim and Shim disclose wherein the method further comprises:
response to a fifth operation instruction for the display subarea, adjusting an application interface that is displayed in a floating window in the display subarea and that corresponds to the multi-application task to be displayed in split screen (Kim, paragraph [0103]; Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]).
As to dependent claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the method further comprises:
in a state in which the touchscreen displays the application interfaces of the applications corresponding to the at least two tasks in split screen (Figures 4A-4C and paragraph [0103]):
in response to a fourth operation instruction for the display subarea, exchanging positions of application interfaces of applications corresponding to any two of the at least two tasks (Figures 4A-4C and paragraph [0103]).
As to dependent claim 8, Kim and Shim disclose wherein the method further comprises:
in a state in which the touchscreen displays the application interfaces of the applications corresponding to the at least two tasks in split screen (Kim, Figures 4A-4C, 5A-5B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B):
in response to a sixth operation instruction for the touchscreen:
adjusting a stack position of a task in a corresponding column in the recently used task lists (Kim, paragraph [0103], [0146], [0166]-[0168]);
controlling an original task in a second stack position to float and replace an original stack top tasks (Kim, Figure 4A and paragraph [0253]; Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]);
opening an application corresponding to a current stack top task (Kim, Figure 4A and paragraph [0253]; (Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]); and
displaying an application interface of the application corresponding to the current stack top task in a corresponding display subarea (Kim, Figure 4A and paragraph [0253]; (Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]).
As to dependent claim 9, Kim and Shim disclose wherein the method further comprises:
in a state in which the touchscreen displays a single application interface (Kim, paragraph [0095]):
in response to a seventh operation instruction for the touchscreen, entering an application parallel preview mode (Kim, paragraphs [0095]-[0097]); and
in the application parallel preview mode and in response to a touch instruction for a function control of a current application (Kim, paragraphs [0095]-[0097]; Shim, Figures 4-7 and 8A-8E):
dividing a current display area of the touchscreen into a display area A and a display area B (Kim, Figure 5B);
controlling the display are A to display an original interface of the current application (Kim, paragraph [0146]); and
controlling the display area B to display a new interface that responds to the touch instruction (Kim, paragraph [0146]).
As to dependent claim 14, Kim discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
in a state in which the touchscreen displays the application interfaces of the application corresponding to the at least two tasks in split screen (Kim, Figures 4a-4C):
in response to a fifth operation instruction for the display subarea;
adjusting an application interface that is displayed in split screen in the display subarea and that corresponds to the multi-application task to be displayed in a floating window (Kim, paragraph [0146]; Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]); or
adjusting an application interface that is displayed in a floating window in the display subarea and that corresponds to the multi-application task to be displayed in split screen (Kim, paragraph [0146]; Shim, Figure 4, paragraphs [0076]-[0079]).
Claims 10-12, 13 and 15-16 are device claims that contain similar limitations of claims 1-3, 7 and 8-9, respectively. Therefore, claims 10-12, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 17-19 and 20 are medium claims that contain similar limitations of claims 1-3 and 7, respectively. Therefore, claims 17-19 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not deemed fully persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as explained here below, necessitated by Applicant’s substantial amendment (i.e., wherein the recently used task list includes a plurality of tasks started by a user on the electronic device, and displaying at least two tasks of the plurality of tasks in the recently used task list in split screen on the touchscreen) to the claims which significantly affected the scope thereof. Please see the rejection above with additional newly cited prior art Kim’538.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145