DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-21 are pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 1 and 20 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 07/17/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5, filed 07/17/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 20 to depend from claim 8 which corrects the lack of antecedent basis in the limitation, “the control unit”. Therefore, the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-8, filed 07/17/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to require the heat source comprises a cylindrical rod positioned proximate to and radially inward from the tobacco material. The Examiner is interpreting a cylindrical rod as an elongate pole or bar. The prior rejection relied upon the heater rings (211, Fig. 5, [0133]) as disclosing the claimed heat source. The heater rings (211) are cylindrical but are not considered a rod. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of previously applied prior art.
The prior art rejections below are maintained and modified where necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s comments regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejection of claims 1 and 21 being addressed when the pending claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. The non-statutory double patenting rejection presented below has been maintained and modified based Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-15, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reevell (US 20200008470 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reevell discloses an aerosol-generating system (401, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0139], “a smoking article”), comprising:
A power supply ([0083-0084]), and;
A heating portion (210, “heat source”) comprising heaters (211) for heating a tubular aerosol forming substrate (404, “a continuous cylindrical tube”) to generate a vapor ([0147]), the power supply supplying power to the heaters (211) to generate heat (Fig. 5, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0083-0084, 0133, 0147]),
The tubular aerosol forming substrate (404) comprises a tobacco material ([0042-0043]),
An outer wrapper (407, “tubular casing”) surrounding the tubular aerosol forming substrate (404) and the heating portion (210, “heat source”, Fig. 5, Fig. 9, [0142]),
A mouthpiece (406) defined by an end of the outer wrapper (407, Fig. 9, [0142]), and;
Power is supplied to the electric heaters of the heating portion (210, “heat source”) upon detection of a puff on the mouthpiece (406) such that aerosol from the aerosol generating substrate (404) is received in the mouthpiece in response to a draw applied to the mouthpiece (406, [0147-0148]), and;
The heating portion (210) is in the form of a cylindrical rod (Fig. 5, [0133]). The Examiner is interpreting a cylindrical rod as an elongate pole or bar. The claim does not require the cylindrical rod is solid such that the heat source fills the entire cross section of the rod. Therefore the hollow cylindrical heating portion (210) is considered to be a cylindrical rod.
Reevell discloses the main unit (403) in Fig. 9 is substantially similar to the main unit (103) in Fig. 5 ([0144]). Therefore, the main unit (403) is considered to have a heating portion (210, “heat source”) positioned in the cavity of the substrate (404), such that the aerosol forming substrate (404) extends about a circumferential surface of the heating portion (210) and is positioned between the heating portion (210) and the outer wrapper (407), and the heating portion (210) is positioned proximate to and radially inward from the substrate (404, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0144, 0146-0147]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Reevell discloses the mouthpiece comprises a cellulose acetate filter (Fig. 9, [0059, 0141]).
Regarding claim 4, Reevell discloses the power supply may be a lithium based battery such as a lithium cobalt battery ([0083]).
Regarding claim 6, Reevell discloses a heating portion (210) is a cylindrical rod (Fig. 5, [0133]) comprising heaters (211) which are electrically connected to the power source ([0073, 0084-0085, 0133]).
Regarding claim 7, Reevell discloses the power supply is housed in a tubular enclosure of the main unit (403) and the tubular enclosure is engaged with the outer wrapper (407, Fig. 1, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0083, 0118-0119, 0130, 0144]).
Regarding claim 8, Reevell discloses the aerosol generating system (401) comprises electric circuitry (“a control unit”) which is configured to supply power to the heaters from the power supply ([0084, 0087, 0147]).
Regarding claim 9, Reevell discloses the main unit may comprise a push button (13, Fig. 1) to switch the main unit on or off (“control actuation of power produced by the power source”, [0086, 0121, 0147]).
Regarding claim 12, Reevell discloses the aerosol forming substrate (404) comprises a tobacco material in the form of one or more of pellets (“tobacco containing beads”), shreds, strips, shreds of homogenized tobacco (“pieces of a reconstituted tobacco material”, [0042-0043]).
Regarding claim 13, Reevell discloses the power supply may be an electrical power supply ([0083]).
Regarding claim 14, Reevell discloses the power supply may comprise a battery and require recharging ([0083]).
Regarding claim 15, Reevell discloses the power supply may comprise a capacitor ([0083]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Reevell discloses the heaters are resistive heaters formed of graphite or metals ([0074]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a resistive heater made of graphite or metals would be capable of generating both conductive and radiative heat.
Regarding claim 19, Reevell discloses the aerosol generating system (401) comprises electric circuitry (“a control device”) which is configured to supply power to the heaters in response to a user taking a puff ([0084, 0087, 0147]).
Regarding claim 21, Reevell discloses the aerosol forming substrate (404) comprises a solid tobacco material ([0042-0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reevell (US 20200008470 A1) in view of Bless (US 20150216232 A1, as cited on IDS dated 03/28/2023).
Regarding claim 10, Reevell discloses the wrapper (407, “tubular casing“) is formed of a material substantially impermeable to gas ([0142]).
Reevell does not explicitly disclose the wrapper is formed of an insulating material.
However, Bless, directed to an aerosol delivery device (100, abstract), discloses:
The aerosol delivery device (100) comprises a first outer body (102) and second outer body (104, Fig. 1, [0037])
The first outer body (102) contains the battery and electronics and the second outer body (104) contains the disposable components (Fig. 4, [0031, 0049, 0050]).
The first and second outer bodies (102, 104) are a tubular shape and are formed of a graphite composite (Fig. 1, [0031, 0037])
The specification discloses a liner material (112) comprising graphite to provide thermal insulation (pg. 20 lines 20-31). Therefore, the outer body formed of a graphite composite is considered to meet the limitation of an insulating material.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Reevell by providing an outer body formed of a graphite composite around the aerosol generating substrate as taught by Bless because both Reevell and Bless are directed to smoking articles, Reevell discloses the wrapper is formed of a material impermeable to gas but is silent to the material used, Bless teaches providing an outer body to house the disposable components of the article formed of graphite composite, and one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar smoking devices for housing materials, and this involves applying a known housing material to a similar smoking device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Bless discloses the outer body (104) is formed of a graphite composite ([0037]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reevell (US 20200008470 A1) in view of Fursa (US 20210145061 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Reevell discloses the heaters are resistive heaters ([0074]).
Reevell does not explicitly disclose the heat source generates inductive heat.
However, Fursa, directed to an aerosol generating device (12, [0039], discloses:
An aerosol generating device (12) comprising a tubular housing (16) defining a chamber (18) for receiving an aerosol generating article (14), a susceptor element (24), and inductor coil (26) disposed in the chamber (18, Fig. 1, [0093, 0094])
Aerosol generating devices may comprise resistive heating elements or an inductor and susceptor for inductively heating the aerosol generating article ([0003]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the resistive heater of Reevell with a rod shaped susceptor and inductor coil arranged in a tubular housing as taught by Fursa because both Reevell and Fursa are directed to smoking articles, Fursa teaches aerosol generating devices may use a resistive heating element or a susceptor and coil for induction heating, and this involves substituting one known heating source for another in a similar smoking device to yield predictable results.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reevell (US 20200008470 A1) in view of Counts (US 5269327 A).
Regarding claim 20, Reevell discloses the aerosol generating system (401) comprises electric circuitry (“control unit”) which is configured to supply power to the heaters from the power supply ([0084, 0087, 0147]).
Reevell does not explicitly disclose a current regulating component.
However, Counts, directed to an electrical smoking article (10, Fig.1, col. 3 lines 63-69), discloses
A control circuit (32) which supplied current the heaters for a predetermined duration to produce enough tobacco flavor but not long enough to burn the tobacco flavor medium (col. 10 lines 37-46).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Reevell by configuring the electric circuitry to limit the current supplied to the heaters as taught by Counts because both Reevell and Counts are directed to smoking articles, Counts teaches limiting the current prevents the tobacco medium from burning, and this involves configuring a control circuitry in a known manner in a similar smoking device to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,641,877 in view of Reevell (US 20200008470 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 21, U.S. Patent No. 11,641,877 recites a smoking article comprising:
a power source;
a heat source in communication with the power source, the heat source being configured to generate heat in response to power received from the power source;
a tubular casing extending axially about the heat source to a second end;
a solid tobacco material housed within the tubular casing, the solid tobacco material being configured as a cylindrical tube extending about a circumferential surface of the axially-extending heat source, between the heat source and the tubular casing and the solid tobacco material being configured to produce an aerosol in response to the heat generated by the heat source; and
a mouthpiece defined by the second end of the tubular casing, the mouthpiece being configured to receive the aerosol from the solid tobacco material in response to a draw applied to the mouthpiece,
wherein the heat source is a cylindrical rod electrically connected to the lithium-ion battery.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims differ in that claim 1 of the instant case further requires that the tobacco material comprises a continuous cylindrical tube extending about a circumferential surface of the heat source.
However, Reevell directed to an aerosol-generating system (1, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0110-0112], “a smoking article”), discloses:
A tubular aerosol forming substrate (4) comprising a tobacco material and extending about a circumferential surface of a heater (11, Fig. 1, [0042-0043, 0110-0112, 0115]), and;
The aerosol forming substrate (4) can be removed from a main unit (3) without damaging the substrate ([0007]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify U.S. Patent No. 11,641,877 by providing the tobacco material as a tube extending about the circumferential surface of the heater as taught by Reevell because both U.S. Patent No. 11,641,877 and Reevell are directed to smoking articles, Reevell teaches the tubular shaped aerosol generating substrate prevents damage to the substrate when it is removed from the main unit, and this involves applying an aerosol generating substrate in a known shape to a similar smoking device to yield predictable results.
Therefore, all of the elements of rejected claims 1, 4, and 21 are present and obvious over claims 1 and 4-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,641,877.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755