DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to RCE filed on 4/27/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 13, 18 and 22 – 24 are amended.
Claim 25 is added.
Claim 21 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 7, 10 – 14 and 16 – 19 and 22 – 25 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 7, 10 – 14 and 16 – 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 20200374974, hereinafter Sun), in view of Gupta et al (US 20210168092, hereinafter Gupta), in view of Hosmani et al (US 20180276040, hereinafter Hosmani).
As per claim 1, Sun discloses: A method for scheduling a compute instance, wherein the method comprising:
obtaining, by a client running on a terminal device, resource requirement information of an application (APP) running on the terminal device based on an application framework or software development kit (SDK) according to the APP; (Sun figure 1B and [0024]: “the MEC orchestration platform may receive information related to a requested MEC session to support an application workload for a user equipment in communication with a base station located in the edge region of the RAN… the requests from the first user equipment 102 and the second user equipment 104 may indicate one or more performance requirements and/or other constraints associated with the requested session(s) (e.g., requirements related to latency, bandwidth, security, location, connectivity or mobility, cost, persistent storage, and/or the like).”)
sending, by the client, the resource requirement information to a cloud resource scheduling system, wherein the cloud resource scheduling system is used to manage plurality of sites; (Sun figure 1B and [0026]: “the MEC orchestration platform may submit a work order related to a requested MEC session to the various MEC hosts located in the edge region of the RAN. For example, the work order may indicate the performance requirements and/or constraints associated with the requested MEC session.”)
sending, by the client during running of the APP, some one or more processing tasks of the APP the at least one compute instance, (Sun [0026]: “the various MEC hosts located in the edge region of the RAN may submit bids for the work order according to an automated process based on the information contained in the distributed ledger. For example, each MEC host in the edge region of the RAN may indicate a cost to support the application workload, a performance level that can be offered to support the application workload, and/or the like, and the bids may be recorded in the distributed ledger. As further shown in FIG. 1B, and by reference number 145, the MEC orchestration platform may receive information identifying one or more bidders that can meet the performance requirements or otherwise satisfy the constraints associated with the requested MEC session.”; [0069]: “the MEC orchestration device (e.g., using processor 420, memory 430, storage component 440, input component 450, output component 460, communication interface 470, and/or the like) may assign at least a portion of the application workload to the MEC host based on the profile for the MEC host and a service level agreement specifying one or more performance requirements associated with the application workload, as described above. In some implementations, the portion of the application workload may be assigned to the MEC host based on a bid to service the application workload from the MEC host.”)
and receiving, by the client, results of processing the some one or more processing tasks of the APP by the at least one compute instance from the at least one target compute instance. (Sun [0009]: “the user equipment transmits the data to the application server via a data network such as the Internet, and the application server processes the data before the processed data is returned to the user equipment via the data network.”)
Sun did not explicitly disclose:
wherein the resource requirement comprises at least one of a type of compute instance, configuration of a compute instance, and a quantity of required compute instance;
wherein the target host runs a compute instance;
determining, by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, resource allocation information, wherein the resource allocation information comprises at least one compute instance that meets the type of a compute instance and the configuration information of a compute instance, and the number of the at least one compute instance equals to or is greater than the quantity of required compute instances:
receiving, by the client, the resource allocation information from the cloud resource scheduling system, wherein the resource allocation information comprises information about at least one compute instance allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, and the at least one compute instance is deployed on at least one far-side site of the plurality of sites managed by the cloud resource scheduling system;
However, Gupta teaches:
wherein the resource requirement comprises at least one of a type of compute instance, configuration of a compute instance, and a quantity of required compute instance; (Gupta [0029])
wherein the target host runs a compute instance; and the at least one compute instance is deployed on at least one far-side site of the plurality of sites managed by the cloud resource scheduling system; (Gupta [0109]: “at block 808, sending, to a provider substrate extension, instructions to launch a compute instance based on the application profile, the compute instance to be used to execute the workload at the provider substrate extension. In some embodiments, the compute instance is a microVM running on a virtual machine manager (VMM) hosted by a server of the provider substrate extension.”; [0042]: “a PSE 102 forms an edge location”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gupta into that of Sun in order to have the target host runs a compute instance, and wherein the resource requirement comprises at least one of a type of compute instance, configuration of a compute instance, and a quantity of required compute instance. Gupta has shown that the concept of executing compute instances on edge servers is commonly known in the field, applicants have thus merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Hosmani teaches:
determining, by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, resource allocation information, wherein the resource allocation information comprises at least one compute instance that meets the type of a compute instance and the configuration information of a compute instance, and the number of the at least one compute instance equals to or is greater than the quantity of required compute instances: receiving, by the client, the resource allocation information from the cloud resource scheduling system, wherein the resource allocation information comprises information about at least one compute instance allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information; (Hosmani [0020])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hosmani into that of Sun and Gupta in order to determine by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, resource allocation information, wherein the resource allocation information comprises at least one compute instance that meets the type of a compute instance and the configuration information of a compute instance, and the number of the at least one compute instance equals to or is greater than the quantity of required compute instances: receiving, by the client, the resource allocation information from the cloud resource scheduling system, wherein the resource allocation information comprises information about at least one compute instance allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, and the at least one compute instance is deployed on at least one far-side site of the plurality of sites managed by the cloud resource scheduling system. Hosmani [0020] has merely shown that the claimed limitations here are merely commonly known and used steps for resource provisioning, applicants have thus merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 2, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the client, the resource requirement information of the APP comprises: obtaining, compute instance configuration data of the APP, determining that cloud resource enabling information is configured in the app, and obtaining the resource requirement information based on the cloud resource enabling information and the compute instance configuration data of the app. (Sun [0026]: “the various MEC hosts located in the edge region of the RAN may submit bids for the work order according to an automated process based on the information contained in the distributed ledger. For example, each MEC host in the edge region of the RAN may indicate a cost to support the application workload, a performance level that can be offered to support the application workload, and/or the like, and the bids may be recorded in the distributed ledger. As further shown in FIG. 1B, and by reference number 145, the MEC orchestration platform may receive information identifying one or more bidders that can meet the performance requirements or otherwise satisfy the constraints associated with the requested MEC session.”; Gupta [0030]: “The client represents instructions that enable a compute instance to connect to, and perform I/O operations at, a remote data volume (e.g., a data volume stored on a physically separate computing device accessed over a network).”)
As per claim 4, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, by the client, that the cloud resource enabling information is configured in the APP, and obtaining, by the client, resource requirement information based on the cloud resource enabling information and the compute instance configuration data of the APP comprises: sending, a cloud service request to the cloud resource scheduling system, wherein the cloud service request is used to request the cloud resource scheduling system to enable a cloud service function for the APP; and after the cloud resource scheduling system enables the cloud service function for the APP, obtaining, the resource requirement information based on the cloud resource enabling information and the compute instance configuration data of the APP. (Sun [0025] - [0026] and Gupta [0030].)
As per claim 5, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by the client, the resource requirement information to the cloud resource scheduling system comprises: sending, the resource requirement information to the cloud resource scheduling system when the APP starts running; or sending, the resource requirement information to the cloud resource scheduling system when network quality of at least one previous compute instance allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system meets an access switching condition. (Sun [0025] - [0026].)
As per claim 6, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 5, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the client, location information of the terminal device to the cloud resource scheduling system, wherein one or more compute instances are is allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information and the location information. (Sun [0016] and [0025] - [0026])
As per claim 7, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving resource allocation information from the cloud resource scheduling system, wherein the resource allocation information comprises information about a plurality of compute instances allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, and the information about the plurality of compute instances comprises at least one of a type of compute instance, an identifier of the compute instance, network quality information of the compute instance, and connection information of a far-side site on which the compute instance is located. (Sun [0025] - [0026] and Gupta [0029].)
As per claim 10, Sun discloses: A method for scheduling a compute instance, the method comprising:
receiving, by a cloud resource scheduling system, resource requirement information from a client of a terminal device, wherein the resource requirement information is used to indicate a resource requirement of an application (APP} running on the terminal device based on an application framework or software development kit (SDK) according to the APP; (Sun figure 1B and [0024]: “the MEC orchestration platform may receive information related to a requested MEC session to support an application workload for a user equipment in communication with a base station located in the edge region of the RAN… the requests from the first user equipment 102 and the second user equipment 104 may indicate one or more performance requirements and/or other constraints associated with the requested session(s) (e.g., requirements related to latency, bandwidth, security, location, connectivity or mobility, cost, persistent storage, and/or the like).”; [0026]: “the MEC orchestration platform may submit a work order related to a requested MEC session to the various MEC hosts located in the edge region of the RAN. For example, the work order may indicate the performance requirements and/or constraints associated with the requested MEC session.”)
determining, by the cloud resource scheduling system, a [host] to allocate based on the resource requirement information; (Sun [0026]: “the various MEC hosts located in the edge region of the RAN may submit bids for the work order according to an automated process based on the information contained in the distributed ledger. For example, each MEC host in the edge region of the RAN may indicate a cost to support the application workload, a performance level that can be offered to support the application workload, and/or the like, and the bids may be recorded in the distributed ledger. As further shown in FIG. 1B, and by reference number 145, the MEC orchestration platform may receive information identifying one or more bidders that can meet the performance requirements or otherwise satisfy the constraints associated with the requested MEC session.”)
and sending, by the cloud resource scheduling system, resource allocation information to the client. (Sun [0009]: “the user equipment transmits the data to the application server via a data network such as the Internet, and the application server processes the data before the processed data is returned to the user equipment via the data network.”)
Sun did not explicitly disclose:
wherein the host runs a compute instance;
wherein the plurality of [host] are deployed on at least one far-side site managed by the cloud resource scheduling system, and any [host] among the plurality of [host] is used to process some processing tasks of the APP
wherein the resource allocation information comprises information about the plurality of [hosts] allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information;
However, Gupta teaches:
wherein the target host runs a compute instance; wherein the plurality of [host] are deployed on at least one far-side site managed by the cloud resource scheduling system, and any [host] among the plurality of [host] is used to process some processing tasks of the APP; (Gupta [0109]: “at block 808, sending, to a provider substrate extension, instructions to launch a compute instance based on the application profile, the compute instance to be used to execute the workload at the provider substrate extension. In some embodiments, the compute instance is a microVM running on a virtual machine manager (VMM) hosted by a server of the provider substrate extension.”; [0042]: “a PSE 102 forms an edge location… Such edge locations may be referred to as “far zones” (due to being far from other availability zones) or “near zones” (due to being near to customer workloads). ”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gupta into that of Sun in order to have the target host runs a compute instance, and wherein the resource requirement comprises at least one of a type of compute instance, configuration of a compute instance, and a quantity of required compute instance. Gupta has shown that the concept of executing compute instances on edge servers is commonly known in the field, applicants have thus merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Hosmani teaches:
wherein the resource allocation information comprises information about the plurality of [hosts] allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information; (Hosmani [0020])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hosmani into that of Sun and Gupta in order to have the resource allocation information comprises information about the plurality of [hosts] allocated by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information. Hosmani [0020] has merely shown that the claimed limitations here are merely commonly known and used steps for resource provisioning, applicants have thus merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 11, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the cloud resource scheduling system, a cloud service request from the client, wherein the cloud service request comprises cloud resource enabling information configured in the APP; and enabling, by the cloud resource scheduling system, a cloud service function for the APP based on the cloud resource enabling information. (Sun [0025] - [0026].)
As per claim 12, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 10, wherein the at least one far-side site is-comprises a plurality of far-side sites, and the method further comprises: receiving, by the cloud resource scheduling system, location information from the client; and the determining, by the cloud resource scheduling system, the compute instance in a plurality of compute instances based on the resource requirement information comprises: selecting, by the cloud resource scheduling system, at least one candidate site from a plurality of sites based on the resource requirement information and the location information; and determining, by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, the plurality of compute instances among compute instances deployed on the at least one candidate site. (Sun [0025] - [0026].)
As per claim 13, it is the system variant of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, it is the system variant of claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, it is the system variant of claim 4 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, it is the system variant of claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, it is the system variant of claim 6 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, it is the system variant of claim 7 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 22, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The method according to claim 1, wherein before determining, by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, resource allocation information, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the cloud resource scheduling system among a plurality of compute instances from the plurality of managed sites, resource status information of the plurality of compute instances from the plurality of managed sites; and determining, by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource status information of the plurality of compute instances, the target compute instance. (Sun [0026] and [0069])
As per claim 23, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani further teach:
The client of claim 13, wherein to determine the at least one compute instance by the cloud resource scheduling system based on the resource requirement information, the client is configured to: select, by the cloud resource scheduling system among the plurality of managed sites, the at least one compute instance, wherein the at least one compute instance meets the type of a compute instance and configuration information of a compute instance, and a number of the at least one compute instance equals to or is greater than the quantity of required compute instances. (Sun [0026] and [0069])
As per claim 24, it is the system variant of claim 22 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun, Gupta and Hosmani, and further in view of Gonzalez et al (US 20200310881, hereinafter Gonzalez).
As per claim 25, the combination of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani did not teach:
The method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining, by the client running on the terminal device, resource requirement information of the APP running on the terminal device based on the application framework or the SDK corresponding to the APP comprises calling an application programming interface (API) of the application framework or the SDK to perform a scanning operation on the client.
However, Gonzalez teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining, by the client running on the terminal device, resource requirement information of the APP running on the terminal device based on the application framework or the SDK corresponding to the APP comprises calling an application programming interface (API) of the application framework or the SDK to perform a scanning operation on the client. (Gonzalez [0064])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gonzalez into that of Sun, Gupta and Hosmani in order to obtain, by the client running on the terminal device, resource requirement information of the APP running on the terminal device based on the application framework or the SDK corresponding to the APP comprises calling an application programming interface (API) of the application framework or the SDK to perform a scanning operation on the client. Gonzalez [0064] has merely shown that the claimed limitations here are merely commonly known and used steps for resource provisioning, applicants have thus merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 7, 10 – 14 and 16 – 19 and 22 – 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHARLES M SWIFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196