DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed December 16, 2025 has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that for at least the reasons presented in the interview and without acquiescing in the Examiner's rejection, the cited sections of the applied references, whether taken alone or in any reasonable combination, do not disclose at least "a monolithic core having a rotationally varying refractive index profile about a longitudinal axis of the optical fiber," as recited in claim 17, as amended. Therefore, independent claim 17 and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over the cited sections of the applied references.
The examiner disagrees. Yuan et al. discloses a monolithic core (see Figures 2 and 5) having a rotationally varying refractive index profile. The core has a refractive index that varies linearly in a direction transverse to the propagation axis of the optical fiber as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5, forming in a rotationally varying refractive index profile.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (CN 103969739 B; hereafter Yuan).
Regarding claims 17, 20, and 22; Yuan discloses an optical fiber (see Figures 1, 2, 5, and 7), comprising:
a monolithic core (2; see Figures 2 and 5, the core is monolithic and has a refractive index that varies linearly along a width of the core) having a rotationally varying refractive index profile about a longitudinal axis of the core (see Figures 1, 2, 5, and 7, wherein the refractive index of the core is different for different rotational positions of the core); and
a cladding (1) surrounding the monolithic core (2);
wherein the rotationally varying refractive index profile (see Figure 1, 2, 5, and 7) includes a cross-section with a slanted refractive index profile (see Figure 2(c), having a maximum value (n2) at a first circumferential or azimuthal position of the monolithic core (2), that monotonically decreases to a minimum value (n1) at a second circumferential or azimuthal position of the monolithic core (2; see the written description: “Referring to FIG. 1 FIG. 4, the first embodiment of the present invention with a section of optical fibre scroll, the cladding 1 refractive index distribution is constant FORMULA, and refractive index of fiber core 2 in the transverse direction are linearly distributed (as shown in FIG. 2, the minimum value is n1 and the maximum is n2) in the longitudinal direction is constant pitch spiral curve distribution 3”, and “Referring to FIG. 7, The second embodiment of the invention similar to the first embodiment, but the scroll optical fibre core refractive index of 2 in the transverse direction is still linear distribution, but the change in pitch in the longitudinal direction of the spiral curve distribution 14, in the preparation process, can be controlled by controlling torsion force torsion speed of 12 for implementing such a refractive index distribution.”);
wherein the rotationally varying refractive index profile (see Figures 1, 2, 5, and 7) is a spiral refractive index profile (3, 14) having one or more maxima that rotationally vary along a length of the monolithic core (2; see Figures 2, 5, and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (CN 103969739 B; hereafter Yuan) in view of Parker et al. (US 2008/0101754 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 19; Yuan discloses the optical fiber of claim 17 as applied above, wherein the monolithic core (see Figure 1, 2, 5, and 7) has a circular shape and an azimuthally varying refractive index with one or more refractive index minima and one or more refractive index maxima around a circumference of the monolithic core (see Figures 1, 2, 5, and 7). Yan does not disclose that the refractive index profile is a result of a varying dopant concentration, wherein a cross-section of the monolithic core has a non-uniform doping concentration that causes the monolithic core to have the rotationally varying refractive index profile.
The examiner takes Official notice that it’s known in the art to vary refractive index by varying dopant concentrations. Parker further teaches that different refractive indices of core and cladding materials are known to be achieved through the different concentrations of dopants (see paragraph 4).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to vary dopant concentrations within the core of Yuan to form the refractive index profile disclosed by Yuan with a method of providing desired refractive index profiles that is commonly used in the art, thereby providing a monolithic core with a circular shape and an azimuthally varying dopant concentration (corresponding to the varying refractive index) with refractive index one or more refractive index minima and one or more refractive index maxima around a circumference of the monolithic core, wherein a cross-section of the monolithic core has a non-uniform doping concentration that causes the monolithic core to have the rotationally varying refractive index profile.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (CN 103969739 B; hereafter Yuan).
Regarding claim 21; Yuan teaches that a change is pitch is achievable for the spiral refractive index (14; see figure 7) by controlling a torsion force and/or torsion speed, wherein a change in pitch results in refractive index maxima and minima in desired locations along a circumferential length of the resulting fiber. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form the optical fiber with refractive index maxima and minima at desired locations of the rotationally varying refractive index profile, including forming two or more azimuthal minima and maxima at opposing circumferential or azimuthal positions of the monolithic core.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874