Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 03/29/2022 of provisional application No. 63/325,021 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
Claim Interpretation
(B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; the following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for.";and
Claims 4 and 15 recite “the first and second back dial include means for advancing the second dial”. The three prong tests are:
All three prongs are met and therefore this claim limitation is going to be interpreted to invoke 35 USC 112f; andreview of the specification (entire par. 0028) reveals means for advancing the second dial includes “a rectangular protrusion 14a on a top surface of the back dial 14” “interdigitates with one of a plurality of protrusions 13a on a bottom surface of a back dial 13 of the middle dial 7” “forcing it forward one digit”; means for advancing further includes “a front readout dial” and “gears”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, 12 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4, number “3” must be deleted.
Claim 3, line 2, “a right most arm” should read --a right-most arm-- (see “a left-most arm” in last line).
Claim 6, number “1” must be deleted.
Claim 12, “the sizing” should read --sizing--.
Claim 14, line 2, “a right most arm” should read --a right-most arm-- (see “a left-most arm” in last line).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “an interior spring finger that holds the first, second and third dials are held in place” which is ambiguous.Examiner suggests amending claim as below to overcome this ambiguity:--an interior spring finger configured to hold the first dial, the second dial and third dial
Claims 3-5 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yarn Bar (found at:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIGj83-MZ8M in view of Worden (US 0689447 A).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 13-14, Yarn Bar teaches (see annotated images below) a multitool (Knit Kit tool) comprising: a housing including a top cover and a bottom cover cooperating with the top cover to create a cavity configured to hold one or more tools of the multitool; the bottom cover including one or more storage compartments and a rear door configured to engage the one or more storage compartments; and a counter having a first dial representing the 1's place, a second dial representing the 10's place, (similar to the invention, at least portion of the counter is disposed within the housing).Counter of Yarn Bar is a two digit counter and not a three digit counter.
Worden teaches a counter (adding machine) having first, second and third dials; an interior spring finger (spring L) that holds the first, second and third dials in place; the first dial includes a first back dial (E) which is fitted with a rear gear (G) to engage with a right-most arm of the spring finger (L), wherein the second dial includes a second back dial and is configured to engage with a center arm of the spring finger, and wherein the third dial includes a third back dial and is configured to engage with a left-most arm of the spring finger.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use more dials as taught by Worden to increase the counts above 99.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Yarn Bar teaches (see annotated images below) the one or more tools includes a hook and pin.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Yarn Bar teaches (see annotated images below) the one or more tools includes a tape measure.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Yarn Bar teaches (see annotated images below) the one or more tools includes a blade.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Yarn Bar teaches (see annotated images above) the one or more tools includes a needle gauge (needle sizers).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yarn Bar in view of X as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ambielli (US 11213960 B2).
Regarding claims 6-7, combined device of Yarn Bar and X does not have the claimed lens.
Ambielli teaches (par. 60) a multitool (par. 1: “disk-shaped multi-tool device”) with a lens (par. 60: “lid 196 may be a transparent lens”) engaging an upper side of the top cover (top layer 190); the top cover includes a recess (compartment 198) formed in the upper side of the top cover, the recess being configured to receive the lens therein.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add lens of Ambielli in combined device of Yarn Bar and X. Doing so would allow a user to see inside the top cover (see par. 60).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yarn Bar in view of X as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sullivan (US 10407806 B2).
Regarding claim 12, needle sizer/gauge of Yarn Bar has needle size markings, but it is not clear if both standard and metric sizes are marked.
Sullivan teaches a multitool (yarn-carrying and dispensing apparatus) with both standard and metric needle gauge (see par 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have both standard and metric needle gauge depending on the size and type of needles being used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, combined device of Yarn Bar and Worden does not teach the claimed “means for advancing the second dial” in view of the above claim interpretation.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723