DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing on 10/13/2025. Since the previous filing, claims 13 and 16-18 have been amended and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 13-19 and 25-34 are pending in the application.
In regards to the previous Priority arguments, Applicant has persuasively argued with respect to claim 13 and this is therefore withdrawn with the arguments pertaining to claim 18 maintained below with new arguments added.
In regards to the pervious Drawing Objections, Applicant has persuasively argued these objections and they are therefore withdrawn.
In regards to the previous Specification Objections, Applicant has amended to overcome these objections and they are therefore withdrawn.
In regards to the previous Claim Interpretation under 112(f), this interpretation is maintained below.
In regards to the previous 112(a) Rejection, Applicant has persuasively argued to overcome this rejection and it is therefore withdrawn.
In regards to the previous 112(b) Rejection, Applicant has failed to address this rejection and it is maintained below.
In regards to the previous 102 and 103 Rejections, Applicant’s amendments and arguments have partially overcome these rejections and they are withdrawn or maintained, modified for the amendments, below.
Priority
While claiming benefit to the provisional applications 62/205,275 and 62,261,715, these provisional applications do not provide support for all of the subject matter recited in at least claims 15-18. Specifically, no mention of the “friction component comprises a plurality of flexible fins” (claim 15 line -12) or “wherein the friction component comprises at least one roller carried by one of the first and second strap portions and that directly engages the other of the first and second strap portions” (claim 16 line 1-3) or “wherein the friction component comprises a single spring loaded arm carried by one of the first and second strap portions and located on a single side of the other of the first and second strap portions, the single spring loaded arm having a friction surface that contacts the single side of the other of the first and second strap portions” (claim 17 line 1-5) or “wherein the outer strap portion is deformable about the inner strap portion, one of the outer and inner strap portions comprises a lock tooth, and the other of the outer and inner strap portions comprises a lock recess, wherein in a locked position the lock tooth engages the lock recess” (claim 18, ln. 6-9). Claim 18 appears to be claiming the embodiments depicted in Figs. 24A-28D. These embodiments are not supporting in provisional applications 62/205,275 and 62,261,715. Therefore, the applicant is not entitled to the benefit of the provisional applications. The effective filing date for these claims will be treated as 08/12/2016.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-17 and 19 and 25-34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 14-17 and 19 and 25-34 line 1: “Claim” should be “claim”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation- 35 USC § 112 – Sixth Paragraph/35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes a claim limitation that does not use the word “means,” but is nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“friction component…configured to resist telescoping movement between the first and second strap portions” in claim 13 (ln. 6-8)
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. While the application does not use the term “friction component” and thus the “corresponding structure” is not entirely clear, it appears the friction enhancing features found in Figs. 24A-27D correspond to the claimed “friction component” (i.e. the “o-ring,” “flexible fins,” “at least one roller,” and “spring loaded arm”).
The term “friction component” in claims 14-17 (ln. 1 in all claims) is not interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because each of claims 14-17 recite sufficient structure to perform the function of resisting telescoping movement between the first and second strap portions.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 34, the limitation “the adjustment mechanism is hidden” (ln. 1-2) is unclear how the “first and second strap portions” can be “hidden.” Claim 13 recites the first and second strap portions as part of the “adjustment mechanism” (claim 13, ln. 5). For the purposes of examination, claim 34 will be interpreted as requiring the “friction component” to be hidden (as opposed to the entire “adjustment mechanism”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15, and 27-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barlow et al (2013/0220327).
Regarding claim 13, Barlow discloses a mask assembly (Fig. 7 depicts a mask assembly; see annotated Fig. 7 below for convenience) comprising: a mask configured to contact a user's face and deliver gases to the user in use (Fig. 7, mask 310); and a headgear configured to secure the mask to the user's face in use (Fig. 7, headgear 314 secures mask 310 to the user’s face), the headgear comprising a top strap and an adjustment mechanism configured to allow for adjustment of a length of the top strap (Fig. 7, depicts a top strap with adjustment connector 321; see [0118], [0143], and [0146], which describe multiple examples of mechanisms that can serve as adjustment connector 321), the adjustment mechanism comprising first and second strap portions and a friction component, the first and second strap portions interlocked with one another along an entirety of an overlapping portion of the first and second strap portions (Fig. 20-2.4 and 20-2.5, 1st strap portion 381 and 2nd strap portion 380, two strap portions are maintained in relation to one another while overlapped), the first and second strap portions configured to telescope relative to each other and the friction component configured to resist telescoping movement between the first and second strap portions ([0147] discloses that two straps are threaded together (i.e. telescoped together) to form an adjustable strap assembly. Locking bumps 380.1 serves as friction components that enhance friction to ensure the headgear remains in its set position; see [0155]).
Regarding claim 15, Barlow discloses the friction component comprises a plurality of flexible fins (Fig. 20-2.4, locking bumps 380.1 are considered “fins.” [0155] discloses that these bumps are made of resilient and elastically deformable material).
Regarding claim 27, Barlow discloses one of the first and second strap portions comprises a hollow outer rail and another of the first and second strap portions comprises an inner rail (Fig. 20-2.4, the free end of the first strap portion 381 is considered an “inner rail” while the cuff 382 of the second strap portion 280 is considered a “hollow outer rail” that receives the strap 381).
Regarding claim 28, Barlow discloses a portion of the inner rail is disposed within the hollow outer rail (Fig. 20-2.4, first strap portion 381 is partially disposed within the cuff 382).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13, 18, 19, 25, 27, 29-30, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walls.
Regarding claim 13, Walls discloses a mask assembly (Fig. 1, interface and headgear assembly 100) comprising: a mask configured to contact a user's face and deliver gases to the user in use (Fig. 1, mask interface 102); and a headgear configured to secure the mask to the user's face in use (Fig. 1, headgear assembly 104), the headgear comprising a top strap and an adjustment mechanism configured to allow for adjustment of a length of the top strap (Fig. 1, crown strap assembly 130 has an adjustment mechanism 136)
While the embodiment of Fig 1 of Walls does not disclose wherein the adjustment mechanism comprising first and second strap portions and a friction component, the first and second trap portions interlocked with one another along an entirety of an overlapping portion of the first and second strap portions, the first and second strap portions configured to telescope relative to each other and the friction component configured to resist telescoping movement between the first and second strap portions, the embodiment of Fig 19 of Walls shows a strap length adjustment mechanism wherein the adjustment mechanism comprising first and second strap portions and a friction component, the first and second strap portions interlocked with one another along an entire of an overlapping portion of the first and second strap portions (Fig. 19, inner sleeve 204 is a “first strap portion” and outer sleeve 202 is a “second strap portion;” see annotated Fig. 19 below of convenience. [0088] discloses that the outer sleeve 202 may have an inner passage that includes one or more ridges that are considered a “friction component”), the first and second strap portions configured to telescope relative to each other and the friction component configured to resist telescoping movement between the first and second strap portions ([0088] discloses outer sleeve 202 and inner sleeve 204 as part of a “telescoping mechanism 200.” [0088] additionally discloses that the ridges and recess of the mechanism help to resist movement between outer sleeve 202 and inner sleeve 204).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Fig 1 of Walls wherein the adjustment mechanism comprising first and second strap portions and a friction component, the first and second trap portions interlocked with one another along an entirety of an overlapping portion of the first and second strap portions, the first and second strap portions configured to telescope relative to each other and the friction component configured to resist telescoping movement between the first and second strap portions as taught by the embodiment of Fig 19 of Walls as this is a known mechanism for length adjustment of head worn straps.
Regarding claim 18, Walls discloses a mask assembly (Fig. 1, interface and headgear assembly 100) comprising: a mask configured to contact a user's face and deliver gases to the user in use (Fig. 1, mask interface 102); and a headgear configured to secure the mask to the user's face in use (Fig. 1, headgear assembly 104), the headgear comprising a top strap and an adjustment mechanism configured to allow for adjustment of a length of the top strap (Fig. 1, crown strap assembly 130 has an adjustment mechanism 136)
While the embodiment of Fig 1 of Walls does not disclose wherein the adjustment mechanism comprising outer and inner strap portions configured to telescope relative to each other, wherein the outer strap portion is deformable about the inner strap portion, one of the outer and inner strap portions comprising a lock tooth, and the other of the outer and inner strap portions comprises a lock recess, wherein in a locked position the lock tooth engages the lock recess, the embodiment of Fig 19 of Walls shows a strap length adjustment mechanism wherein the adjustment mechanism comprising outer and inner strap portions configured to telescope relative to each other (Fig. 19, outer sleeve 202 and inner sleeve 204 form telescoping mechanism 200), wherein the outer strap portion is deformable about the inner strap portion ([0088] discloses “squeezing the outer sleeve member 202,” implying the sleeve member 202 is deformable), one of the outer and inner strap portions comprising a lock tooth ([0088] discloses one or more ridges on the inner passage of outer sleeve member 202), and the other of the outer and inner strap portions comprises a lock recess, wherein in a locked position the lock tooth engages the lock recess ([0088] discloses the inner arm 204 having recesses that engage with the ridges of the outer sleeve 202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Fig 1 of Walls wherein the adjustment mechanism comprising outer and inner strap portions configured to telescope relative to each other, wherein the outer strap portion is deformable about the inner strap portion, one of the outer and inner strap portions comprising a lock tooth, and the other of the outer and inner strap portions comprises a lock recess, wherein in a locked position the lock tooth engages the lock recess as taught by the embodiment of Fig 19 of Walls as this is a known mechanism for length adjustment of head worn straps.
Regarding claim 19, Walls teaches the outer strap portion configured to be squeezed by the user to disengage the lock tooth from the lock recess and allow for adjustment of a length of the top strap ([0088] discloses that squeezing of the outer sleeve 202 allows the inner arm 204 to translate relative to the outer sleeve 202).
Regarding claim 25, Walls teaches one of the first and second strap portions comprises an inner tube and another comprises a hollow outer tube (Fig. 19, inner sleeve 204 is an “inner tube” and outer sleeve 202 is a “hollow outer tube”)
Regarding claim 27, Walls teaches one of the first and second strap portions comprises a hollow outer rail and another of the first and second strap portions comprises an inner rail (Fig. 19, outer sleeve 202 is a “hollow outer rail” and inner sleeve 204 is an “inner rail”).
Regarding claim 29, Walls teaches a ring is coupled to an end of the hollow outer rail and disposed about the inner rail (Annotated Fig. 19 above highlights a ring at the end of outer sleeve 202).
Regarding claim 30, Walls teaches the ring is integrally formed with the end of the hollow outer rail (Annotated Fig. 19 depicts the ring as integrally formed with the outer sleeve 202).
Regarding claim 32, Walls teaches the ring is permanently coupled to the end of the hollow outer rail (Annotated Fig. 19 depicts the ring as permanently coupled with the end of outer sleeve 202).
Regarding claim 33, Walls teaches the lock tooth is integrally formed with one of the outer and inner strap portions ([0088] discloses that the inner passage of outer sleeve member 202 can include one or more ridges, wherein these ridges are considered “integrally formed” with the outer sleeve member 202).
Regarding claim 34, Walls teaches the adjustment mechanism is hidden (Fig. 19, the ridges and recesses of outer sleeve 202 and inner sleeve 204 are not visible).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 16, 17, 26 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record does not disclose the friction component “comprising at least one o-ring” (ln. 2).
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the friction component “comprises at least one roller carried by one of the first and second strap portions and that directly engages the other of the first and second strap portions” (ln. 1-3).
Regarding claim17, the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the friction component “comprises a single spring loaded arm carried by one of the first and second strap portions and located on a single side of the other of the first and second strap portions, the single spring loaded arm having a friction surface that contacts the single side of the other of the first and second strap portions” (ln. 1-5).
Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record does not disclose “wherein the inner tube includes a groove that extends around a circumference of an outer surface of the inner tube that at least one o-ring is disposed within” (ln. 1-3).
Regarding claim 31, the prior art of record does not disclose “the ring is removably coupled to the end of the hollow outer rail” (ln. 1-2).
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claims, these arguments are in regards to the amendments made to the claims and are addressed in the new or modified rejections entered above.
In regards to the arguments concerning the dependent claims, these arguments are in regards to their dependency on above argued independent claims and are addressed in the rejections entered above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLE WOLFF/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785