DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 11/13/2025.
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13- 19, 21-23 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 8, 14 have been amended.
New claims 21-23 has been added and claims 7, 12, 20 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that combination of SI and QUAN, specifically, QUAN does not teach previously rejected dependent claim 7, a terminal device sends capability information to location management function (LDM) where “.. the capability information comprises identification of a protocol for performing positioning in the non- connected state supported by the terminal device”.
( See REMARKS).
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims merely recites, a terminal device sends capability information to location management function (LDM) where “.. the capability information comprises identification of a protocol for performing positioning in the non- connected state supported by the terminal device” without much detail.
Per paragraphs 0209-213 of QUAN (which is cited by the examiner along with other supporting paragraphs here) teaches that Server/Location Server requests and UE sends its capability information to server/location server, ie. “a network side transmits an positioning protocol (LPP) request capability message to request a relevant location capability of UE; and [0201] step S302, the UE transmits the relevant location capability to the network side, and the relevant location capability may contain a specific location method”: (Fig. 3)[0199]). Aforesaid UE capability information sends using positioning protocol (LPP) capability indication process : ([0202],[0198]- [0199]). Aforesaid UE’s capability information includes, inter alia, that UE supports to transmit sounding reference signal (SRS) in IDLE STATE or non-connected state (==a protocol for performing positioning in the non-connected state/IDLE state) ([0207]-[0209]). Thus QUAN teaches aforesaid claim limitation, the capability information comprises identification of a protocol (==SRS) for performing positioning in the non- connected state (IDLE STATE ) supported by the terminal device.
Thus claim limitation as written, clearly is taught by cited prior art QUAN.
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2025 IDS Considered have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 12-19, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SI et al. (US 20210337501 A1; hereinafter as “SI”; provided in IDS) in view of QUAN et al. (US 20230300942 A1; hereinafter as “QUAN”; which has a foreign priority date, July 22, 2020).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to SI unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 1, SI teaches, A communication method (see fig. 4, in a wireless communication system ; “To describe the non-connected-state uplink positioning method ”: [0101]), wherein the method comprises:
sending, by a terminal device (see fig. 5: Terminal Device/Location Measurement Unit [0102]), capability information to a location management function (LMF) device (==Positioning Server in fig. 4; Fig. 7: Positioning Server 700 ) , wherein the capability information indicates that the terminal device supports sending of a sounding reference signal (SRS) in a non-connected state
(see fig. 4 element 402; “ S402: Request, by a positioning server, capability information of a terminal device via a signaling message when the terminal device is in a connected state; send, by the terminal device, the capability information to the positioning server (==LMF Device in claim ) via another signaling message; and determine, by the positioning server, whether the terminal device supports non-connected-state uplink positioning according to the capability information of the terminal device. ”: [0102]; “When the terminal device enters the non-connected state, send a first uplink positioning signal via the first uplink positioning resource, so that a positioning server can determine a location of the terminal device according to measurement information in the first uplink positioning signal. ”: [0049]; Aforesaid the first uplink positioning resource is, inter alia, a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource, as defined in NR: [0046]; NOTE: terminal sends capacity information to positioning server informing that the terminal support SRS in non-connected state) ; and
the capability information comprises identification of a protocol for performing positioning in the non-connected state supported by the terminal device ( “ RRC protocol (==a protocol ) message is a UE capability information message ”: “ stopping transmitting the SRS by using the SRS resource and keeping in the idle state when the above UE determines that it is currently in the idle state and the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached. ”: [0209]-[0213]); Server/Location Server requests and UE sends its capability information to server/location server, ie. “a network side transmits an positioning protocol (LPP) request capability message to request a relevant location capability of UE; and [0201] step S302, the UE transmits the relevant location capability to the network side, and the relevant location capability may contain a specific location method”: (Fig. 3)[0199]). Aforesaid UE capability information sends using positioning protocol (LPP) capability indication process : ([0202],[0198]- [0199]). Aforesaid UE’s capability information includes, inter alia, that UE supports to transmit sounding reference signal (SRS) in IDLE STATE or non-connected state (==a protocol for performing positioning in the non-connected state/IDLE state) ([0207]-[0209]);
receiving, by the terminal device (see fig. 4; Location Measurement Unit or Terminal Device in Fig. 5), information about an SRS configuration from an access network device (==Network Device) (see fig. Fig. 4 element S404; Aforesaid Positioning Server sends instruction to Network Device (==access network device ) about terminal device’s capability information including periodic uplink position resources for the terminal device including when terminal devices in non-connected state: Aforesaid Network Devices “Send Configuration Information to terminal device” as shown in Fig. 4 : [0105]-[0-106]; “when the terminal device is in the connected state, the network device can send configuration information to the terminal device. The configuration information is used to indicate an uplink positioning resource when the terminal device is in the preset area and non-connected-state; and the terminal device can receive the configuration information sent by the network device. ”: [0105]-[0106]; Aforesaid the first uplink positioning resource is, inter alia, a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource, as defined in NR: [0046]; NOTE: uplink positioning resource can be SRS Configuration/Resource : [0046]);
receiving, by the terminal device (see fig. 4; Location Measurement Unit or Terminal Device in Fig. 5) from the access network device (==Network Device) , an access network device list identifying at least one access network device, the access network device list indicating a specific area corresponding to at least one access network device ( “when the terminal device is in the connected state, the network device (==receiving by the terminal device) can send configuration information to the terminal device. The configuration information is used to indicate an uplink positioning resource when the terminal device is in the preset area and non-connected-state; and the terminal device can receive the configuration information sent by the network device. The foregoing preset area may be one cell or one group of cells, for example, a plurality of cells in a cell list, and may alternatively be another preset area or the like.” [0106]-[0107]; NOTE: list of network access devices in includes a valid area for a network device /cell; “ first configuration information may also indicate the first uplink positioning resource when the terminal device is in the first preset area and the non-connected state, that is, when the terminal device is in the first preset area, the first configuration information is valid. The foregoing first preset area may be one cell or one group of cells, for example, a plurality of cells in a cell list,”: [0045]; “configuration information is valid when the terminal device is in the first preset area (==specific area corresponding to at least one access network device in claim)”: [0054]);
entering, by the terminal device , the non-connected state while the terminal device is located in the specific area (non-connected state means when terminal device is at idle state, non-connected state, inactive state: [0043]; terminal device moves way from coverage area for a cell out of plurality of cell in cell list and enter a non-connected state with the cell: [0058]-[0059]; “the terminal device is moved out of the second preset area, establishing an RRC connection with the network device, so as to determine a location of the terminal device in the connected state. Certainly, when the terminal device is in the connected state, another uplink positioning resource may be allocated to the terminal device based on an area to which it is moved, thereby positioning the terminal device in the non-connected state.”: [0060]); and
after determining that the terminal device moves out of the specific area, initiating, by the terminal device, random access to enter into a connected state ( “the terminal device is moved out of the second preset area, establishing an RRC connection with the network device, so as to determine a location of the terminal device in the connected state. Certainly, when the terminal device is in the connected state, another uplink positioning resource may be allocated to the terminal device based on an area ...”: [0060]).
While SI teaches, “receiving, by the terminal device, information about an SRS configuration from an access network device”; SI does not expressively disclose:
wherein the information about the SRS configuration indicates the terminal device to send the SRS based on the SRS configuration.
QUAN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the information about the SRS configuration indicates the terminal device to send the SRS based on the SRS configuration (see fig. 5 element S504; Base Station (==Access Network Node in claim) sends to UE (==Terminal Device in claim) RRC Connection Release Message carrying the SRS Resource Configuration Information to the UE/Terminal Device : “base station transmits an RRC connection release message carrying the SRS resource configuration information to the UE. the SRS resource configuration information carries a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource that is configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state.”: [0257]-[0259]; also Fig. 8 element S801, S802 : UE is “ receiving an RRC connection release message including SRS resource configuration information and transmitted by a communication base station, and the SRS resource configuration information carries an SRS resource for location; and, [0309] S802, (==UE) entering the idle state or the inactive state by releasing an RRC connection, and transmitting an SRS by using the SRS resource ”: [0307]-[0309).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 2 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SI teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, a first request from the LMF device, wherein the first request requests the terminal device to send the capability information ( terminal device is “receiving capability request information, where the capability request information may be sent by the positioning server; ”: “ sending capability information to the positioning server, where the capability information is used by the positioning server for determining whether the terminal device supports non-connected-state uplink positioning.”: [0072]-[0073]) .
Regarding claim 3, SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SI teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the non-connected state comprises an idle state or an inactive state ( “States other than the connected state, such as the idle state and the inactive state, may also be referred to as a non-connected state. ”: [0003]; “ The non-connected state in the embodiments of this application may be states, other than a connected state, of the terminal device. Specifically, for example, in an LTE system, the non-connected state includes an idle state; and in an NR system, the non-connected state includes an inactive state and an idle state. Certainly, in a subsequent evolution communications system, the non-connected state may further include other states different from the idle state and the inactive state. ”: [0043]).
Regarding claim 4 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, QUAN teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the information about the SRS configuration is received via a radio resource control (RRC) release message ( (==UE) entering the idle state or the inactive state by releasing an RRC connection, and transmitting an SRS by using the SRS resource ”: [0309]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 5 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, QUAN teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, from the access network device, information indicating the terminal device to send the SRS in the non-connected state based on the SRS configuration (see fig. 5 element S504; Base Station (==Access Network Node in claim) sends to UE (==Terminal Device in claim) RRC Connection Release Message carrying the SRS Resource Configuration Information to the UE/Terminal Device : “base station transmits an RRC connection release message carrying the SRS resource configuration information to the UE. the SRS resource configuration information carries a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource that is configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state.”: [0257]-[0258]; also Fig. 8 element S801, S802 : UE is “ receiving an RRC connection release message including SRS resource configuration information and transmitted by a communication base station, and the SRS resource configuration information carries an SRS resource for location; and, [0309] S802, (==UE) entering the idle state or the inactive state by releasing an RRC connection, and transmitting an SRS by using the SRS resource ”: [0307]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 6 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, SI teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the SRS configuration comprises at least one of an SRS sending periodicity, an SRS resource indicator, or a quantity of SRS symbols (SRS resource/uplink positioning resource is sent periodicity: [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 8, SI teaches, A communication method (see fig. 4), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a location management function (LMF) device (==Positioning Server in fig. 4; Fig. 7: Positioning Server 700 ), capability information from a terminal device (see fig. 5: Terminal Device/Location Measurement Unit),, wherein the capability information indicates that the terminal device supports sending of a sounding reference signal (SRS) in a non-connected state (see fig. 4 element 402; “ S402: Request, by a positioning server, capability information of a terminal device via a signaling message when the terminal device is in a connected state; send, by the terminal device, the capability information to the positioning server (==LMF Device in claim ) via another signaling message; and determine, by the positioning server, whether the terminal device supports non-connected-state uplink positioning according to the capability information of the terminal device. ”: [0102]; “When the terminal device enters the non-connected state, send a first uplink positioning signal via the first uplink positioning resource, so that a positioning server can determine a location of the terminal device according to measurement information in the first uplink positioning signal. ”: [0049]; Aforesaid the first uplink positioning resource is, inter alia, a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource, as defined in NR: [0046]; NOTE: terminal sends capacity information to positioning server informing that the terminal support SRS in non-connected state) ; and
the capability information comprises identification of a protocol for performing positioning in the non-connected state supported by the terminal device (“RRC protocol (==a protocol ) message is a UE capability information message ”: “ stopping transmitting the SRS by using the SRS resource and keeping in the idle state when the above UE determines that it is currently in the idle state and the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached. ”: [0209]-[0213]); Server/Location Server requests and UE sends its capability information to server/location server, ie. “a network side transmits an positioning protocol (LPP) request capability message to request a relevant location capability of UE; and [0201] step S302, the UE transmits the relevant location capability to the network side, and the relevant location capability may contain a specific location method”: (Fig. 3)[0199]). Aforesaid UE capability information sends using positioning protocol (LPP) capability indication process : ([0202],[0198]- [0199]). Aforesaid UE’s capability information includes, inter alia, that UE supports to transmit sounding reference signal (SRS) in IDLE STATE or non-connected state (==a protocol for performing positioning in the non-connected state/IDLE state) ([0207]-[0209]);
sending, by the LMF device (==Positioning Server in fig. 4; Fig. 7: Positioning Server 700 ), to an access network device (==Network Device), a message (==Network Device) (see fig. Fig. 4 element S404; Aforesaid Positioning Server sends instruction to Network Device about terminal device’s capability information including periodic uplink position resources for the terminal device including when terminal devices in non-connected state: Aforesaid Network Devices “Send Configuration Information to terminal device” as shown in Fig. 4 : [0105]-[0-106]; “when the terminal device is in the connected state, the network device can send configuration information to the terminal device. The configuration information is used to indicate an uplink positioning resource when the terminal device is in the preset area and non-connected-state; and the terminal device can receive the configuration information sent by the network device. ”: [0105]-[0106]; Aforesaid the first uplink positioning resource is, inter alia, a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource, as defined in NR: [0046]; NOTE: uplink positioning resource can be SRS Configuration/Resource : [0046]);
receiving, by the LMF device (==Positioning server in fig. 4 ) from the access network device , an access network device list identifying at least one access network device, the access network device (==network device in fig. 4 ) list indicating a specific area corresponding to at least one access network device ( “devices (may be at least three) that participate in positioning, such as a gNB, an eNB, a Location Measurement Unit (LMU), and/or the like, can receive the foregoing first uplink positioning signal, process the received first uplink positioning signal according to the first configuration information, and send a processing result to the positioning server. Then, the positioning server can calculate the location of the terminal device. In an LTE system, the positioning server is an Enhanced Serving Mobile Location Center (E-SMLC); and in an NR system, the positioning server is a Location Management Function (LMF) or another positioning entity.”: [0052]; [0058]-[0059], [0111]-[0113]; NOTE: positioning server receives list of Cells/eNB/gNB and terminal device ;
“when the terminal device is in the connected state, the network device (==receiving by the terminal device) can send configuration information to the terminal device. The configuration information is used to indicate an uplink positioning resource when the terminal device is in the preset area and non-connected-state; and the terminal device can receive the configuration information sent by the network device. The foregoing preset area may be one cell or one group of cells, for example, a plurality of cells in a cell list, and may alternatively be another preset area or the like.” [0106]-[0107]; NOTE: list of network access devices in includes a valid area for a network device /cell; “ first configuration information may also indicate the first uplink positioning resource when the terminal device is in the first preset area and the non-connected state, that is, when the terminal device is in the first preset area, the first configuration information is valid. The foregoing first preset area may be one cell or one group of cells, for example, a plurality of cells in a cell list,”: [0045]; “configuration information is valid when the terminal device is in the first preset area (==specific area corresponding to at least one access network device in claim)”: [0054]);
after receiving the access network device list, selecting, by the LMF device (==Positioning server in fig. 4 ), a specific access network device from the at least one access network device in the specific area (non-connected state means when terminal device is at idle state, non-connected state, inactive state: [0043]; terminal device moves way from coverage area for a cell out of plurality of cell in cell list and enter a non-connected state with the cell: [0058]-[0059]; “the terminal device is moved out of the second preset area, establishing an RRC connection with the network device, so as to determine a location of the terminal device in the connected state. Certainly, when the terminal device is in the connected state, another uplink positioning resource may be allocated to the terminal device based on an area to which it is moved, thereby positioning the terminal device in the non-connected state.”: [0060]); and
sending, by the LMF device (==Positioning server in fig. 4 ), a measurement request to the specific access network device to measure the SRS ( “the terminal device is moved out of the second preset area, establishing an RRC connection with the network device, so as to determine a location of the terminal device in the connected state. Certainly, when the terminal device is in the connected state, another uplink positioning resource may be allocated to the terminal device based on an area ...”: [0060]);
While SI teaches, “sending, by the LMF device, to an access network device (==Network Device), a message”; SI does not expressively disclose:
(LMF ) requesting the access network device to configure the terminal device to send the SRS.
QUAN, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
(LMF ) requesting the access network device to configure the terminal device to send the SRS ( “transmitting the SRS resource to the LMF entity, and the LMF entity transmits the SRS resource to a measurement base station, and the measurement base station performs an SRS measurement according to the SRS resource. ”: [0010; ]; “transmit the SRS resource to the LMF entity, and the LMF entity transmits the SRS resource to a measurement base station, and the measurement base station performs an SRS measurement according to the SRS resource. ”: [0056]; see fig. 5 element S504; Base Station (==Access Network Node in claim) sends to UE (==Terminal Device in claim) RRC Connection Release Message carrying the SRS Resource Configuration Information to the UE/Terminal Device : “base station transmits an RRC connection release message carrying the SRS resource configuration information to the UE. the SRS resource configuration information carries a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource that is configured for the UE and used for location in an idle state or an inactive state.”: [0257]-[0258]; also Fig. 8 element S801, S802 : UE is “ receiving an RRC connection release message including SRS resource configuration information and transmitted by a communication base station, and the SRS resource configuration information carries an SRS resource for location; and, [0309] S802, (==UE) entering the idle state or the inactive state by releasing an RRC connection, and transmitting an SRS by using the SRS resource ”: [0307]-[0309]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 9 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, QUAN teaches The communication method according to claim 8, wherein the message requesting the access network device to configure the terminal device to send the SRS comprises information requesting the access network device to configure the terminal device to send the SRS in the non-connected state ( “UE receives the RRC connection release message, releases the RRC connection and enters the idle state or inactive state, and uses the SRS resource to transmit an SRS. ”: Abstract]; [0044]-[0047]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 10 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, SI teaches, The communication method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the LMF device, to the access network device, information indicating that the terminal device supports sending of the SRS in the non-connected state (See Fig. 4 S404: Instruction Information from Positioning Server to Network Device “S404: Instruct, by the positioning server according to the capability information of the terminal device, a network device (for example, a gNB or an eNB) to configure periodic uplink positioning resources for the terminal device that are valid in preset areas; instruct the terminal device to periodically send uplink positioning signals when in the non-connected state; and instruct the terminal device to establish an RRC connection with the network device when the terminal device is moved out of the preset areas. ”: [0105]).
Regarding claim 11 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, SI teaches, The communication method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the LMF device from the access network device, information indicating that the terminal device enters the non-connected state (“S408: Send, by the positioning server via a signaling message, the configuration information to other gNBs, eNBs, LMUs, or the like that participate in positioning in the current area. FIG. 4 shows only a process of sending the configuration information to an LMU, but does not impose any specific limitation.
[0110] The terminal device enters an inactive state or idle state at a moment before or after that time. According to the foregoing configuration information, when in the inactive state or idle state and in the preset area indicated by the configuration information, the terminal device periodically sends uplink positioning signals. ”: [0108]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 13 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 8 as set forth above. Further, SI teaches, The communication method according to claim 8, wherein the non-connected state comprises an idle state or an inactive state ( “States other than the connected state, such as the idle state and the inactive state, may also be referred to as a non-connected state. ”; [0003]; “The non-connected state in the embodiments of this application may be states, other than a connected state, of the terminal device. Specifically, for example, in an LTE system, the non-connected state includes an idle state; and in an NR system, the non-connected state includes an inactive state and an idle state. Certainly, in a subsequent evolution communications system, the non-connected state may further include other states different from the idle state and the inactive state. ”: [0043]).
Regarding claim 14, SI teaches, A communication apparatus (see fig. 5: Terminal Device/Location Measurement Unit), comprising:
a transmitter, configured to send capability information to a location management function (LMF) device, wherein the capability information indicates that the communication apparatus supports sending of a sounding reference signal (SRS) in a non-connected state, and the capability information comprises identification of a protocol for performing positioning in the non-connected state supported by the communication apparatus; a receiver, configured to : receive information about an SRS configuration from an access network device, wherein the information about the SRS configuration indicates the communication apparatus to send the SRS based on the SRS configuration; and receive, from the access network device, an access network device list identifying at least one access network device, the access network device list indicating a specific area corresponding to at least one access network device; and at least one processor, configured to: enter the non-connected state while the communication apparatus is located in the specific area; and after determining that the communication apparatus moves out of the specific area, initiate random access to enter into a connected state (Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 21 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, QUAN teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the identification in the capability information identifies an uplink-time difference of arrival (UL-TDOA) method or an uplink-angle of arrival (UL-AOA) method for performing the positioning in the non-connected state supported by the terminal device ( “ link-time difference of arrival (NR UL-TDOA) method and a network-based new radio up link-arrival of angle (NR UL-AoA) method”: [0165]; “ The LMF entity transmits the configuration information of the SRS-Pos received from the base station to transmission or reception points (TRPs) around the UE. Each TRP detects the SRS-Pos transmitted by the UE according to the configuration information of the SRS-Pos, and obtains UL relative time of arrival (UL RTOA) of arrival time of the SRS-Pos and TRP's own reference time. The UL-TDOA generally adopts a network-based location mode, that is, each TRP transmits the measured UL RTOA to the LMF entity, and the LMF entity uses the UL RTOA provided by each TRP and other known information (such as geographical coordinates of each TRP) to calculate a position of the UE.”: [0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 22 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, QUAN teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, area information from the access network device (terminal receives area information from cell , “ positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list,” : [0041], [0089], [0185]; “ For example, the LMF entity may give suggestions on the quantity of times of transmitting the SRS or the valid duration of transmitting the SRS, the communication base station may determine the valid positioning area, the valid duration, the quantity of using times and the like for the UE to transmit the SRS according to the information transmitted by the LMF entity.”: [0195]),
wherein the area information enables the terminal device to determine when the terminal device moves out of the specific area (“ the communication base station may determine the valid positioning area, the valid duration, the quantity of using times and the like for the UE to transmit the SRS according to the information transmitted by the LMF entity.”: [195]; NOTE: determine the valid positioning area, ie. it UE is in specific area or moves out of the specific area),
the initiating comprising: initiating the random access in response to that the terminal device has moved out of the specific area based on the area information ( “ the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS; and/or [0043] the valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or an RNA.
[0044] In one embodiment of the present application provides an uplink signal location method, applied to a measurement base station, and including: [0045] receiving an SRS resource that is configured for UE by a communication base station, used in an idle state or an inactive state and transmitted by an LMF entity; and [0046] performing an SRS measurement on the UE according to the SRS resource.
[0047] In one embodiment, the method further includes: receiving at least one piece of the following information that is configured for the UE by the communication base station and transmitted by the LMF entity: [0048] a valid duration configured for the SRS resource; [0049] a valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource; or [0050] the quantity of using times configured for the SRS resource. ”: [0041]-[0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 23 , SI in view of QUAN teaches the invention of claim 1 as set forth above. Further, QUAN teaches, The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the SRS configuration comprises an SRS sending periodicity, an SRS resource indicator, and a quantity of SRS symbols (“the SRS resource configuration information includes a physical resource of an SRS (ie. an SRS resource indicator in claim ), a cycle (==a SRS periodicity in claim ) and an offset of the SRS; and/or the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SR”: [0021]-[0022] ; [0041]; “ Reaching the quantity of using times configured for the SRS resource may be used for determining whether the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached, that is, when the UE determines that the quantity of using times configured for the SRS resource is reached, the condition of stopping transmitting the SRS is reached.
For the quantity of using times configured for the above SRS resource, it may be configured as 10 times, 20 times, 50 times, etc. ”{0238]-[0239]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SI to include the above recited limitations as taught by QUAN. The suggestion/motivation would be to improve measurement time and location accuracy : (QUAN; [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411